Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Writers' Workshop Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1965-
Creator: Iowa Writers' Workshop
Extent: 693.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG06.0012.008
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: Series I, II, X, XI, XII, and XIII are open for research; reproduction from Series I and II requires students' and applicants' written permission. Access to Series III-IV and VI-IX is granted only by permission of authorized Iowa Writer's Workshop staff. Series V (box 1) is closed until January 1, 2024.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials have been transferred to the University Archives from the Iowa Writers' Workshop administrative office at various times. Additions to the collection continue to accrue. Preliminary inventory prepared by David McCartney 2004; guide posted to the Internet 2004, revised January 2007 and October 2009.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Writers' Workshop Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Iowa Writers' Workshop, long distinguished as America's premier program in creative writing, was founded in 1936. It was the nation's first creative writing degree program, a result of the University of Iowa's pioneering decision in 1922 to accept creative work as a means to fulfill graduate degree requirements. The following is excerpted from the Workshop's Web site (http://www.uiowa.edu/~iww/about.htm):
 
Verse-Making, the first creative writing class at Iowa, was offered in the spring semester of 1897. In 1922, Carl Seashore, dean of the Graduate College, introduced a new model for the academic study of the arts when he announced that the University of Iowa would accept creative work as theses for advanced degrees. The School of Letters began to offer regular courses in writing in which selected students were tutored by resident and visiting writers. The Workshop as an entity began in 1936, with the gathering together of poets and fiction writers under the direction of Wilbur Schramm. From the outset the program enjoyed a series of distinguished visitors, among them Robert Frost and Robert Penn Warren, who would lecture and stay for several weeks to discuss students' work. John Berryman, Robert Lowell, and others came to teach for a full year.
 
One of the first students to receive an M.A. in creative writing was Paul Engle. He offered as his dissertation a collection of poems, Worn Earth, which won him the Yale Younger Poets prize. Paul Engle assumed the directorship of the Workshop in 1941 and held it for 25 years, a period which saw it flourish and become a significant force in American letters. During World War II enrollment was no more than a dozen students, but after the war it grew, attaining in a few years a strength of over a hundred students, and dividing into the fiction and poetry sections which exist today.

The Records of the Iowa Writers' Workshop consist of thirteen series.
 
Series I: Student Coursework, Student Coursework, consists of photocopies of students' works arranged by semester and class section within each semester. It is the largest series in the collection, dating from Fall 1965 to the present. Note that a few of the semesters are filed out of chronological sequence.
 
Series II, Award Competitions, consists of writing entries from individuals vying for scholarships and other awards.
 
Series III, Students and Alumni, consists of files containing correspondence, applications, and other material, arranged alphabetically by name of individual within each accrual. Note that accrual dates cover academic years  e.g., 1986-91 covers the 1986-87 to 1991-92 academic years. Restricted access.
 
Series IV, Faculty, is arranged alphabetically by name of individual. Restricted access
 
Series V, Director's Files, consists of correspondence and other material created and received by the Office of the Director. Restricted access.
 
Series VI, Administrative Files. Restricted access.
 
Series VII, Accepted  Not Coming. Restricted access
 
Series VIII, Rejected Applicants' Evaluation Sheets. Restricted access
 
Series IX, Applicants' Letters of Recommendation. Restricted access.
 
Series X, Ephemera, includes posters and other printed matter, dating from 1982 to present.
 
Series XI, Stephen Wilbers Project, consists of correspondence and interview notes prepared by an alumnus of the Workshop who prepared a history of the program in 1980.
 
Series XII, Jean Wylder Project, consists of survey responses obtained from numerous alumni during the early 1970's as part of a history project. The responses are arranged by era of attendance/graduation.
 
Series XIII, Newsletters, consists of newsletters released once or twice yearly since 1970 chronicling the publishing activity of Workshop alumni and students, as well as Workshop programs and events.
Papers of Paul Engle (MsC 514)

Papers of John Towner Frederick (MsC 513)

Papers of Jack Leggett (MsC 503)

Papers of Wilbur Schramm (RG 99.0118)

Conroy, Frank, editor. The Eleventh Draft: Craft and the Writing Life From the Iowa Writers' Workshop, 1999, 235 pp.

Dana, Robert, ed. A Community of Writers: Paul Engle and the Iowa Writers' Workshop. University of Iowa Press, 1999. 294 pp.

Wilbers, Stephen McCoy. "Emergence of the Iowa Writers' Workshop." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1978. 210 pp. Dissertation Abstracts International 39: 3587-A.

Wilbers, Steve. "Inside the Iowa Writers' Workshop: Interviews with Three of Its Teachers." North American Review 262, no. 2 (summer 1977): 7-15, illus. Marvin Bell, Vance Bourjaily, and Donald Justice.

Wilbers, Stephen. The Iowa Writers' Workshop: Origins, Emergence, & Growth. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1980. 153 pp., illus., notes, bibliog.

In addition, numerous biographies of noted graduates of the Workshop have been published, many of which include references to the Workshop and the Iowa City community. See the Archives' online bibliography, Writing Programs category.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: STUDENT COURSEWORK
Series 2: AWARD COMPETITIONS
Series 3: STUDENTS AND ALUMNI
Series 4: FACULTY
Series 5: DIRECTOR'S FILES
Series 6: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
Series 7: ACCEPTED, NOT COMING
Series 8: REJECTED APPLICANTS' EVALUATION SHEETS
Series 9: APPLICANTS' LETTERS OF RECOMMENDATION
Series 10: EPHEMERA
Series 11: STEPHEN WILBERS PROJECT
Series 12: JEAN WYLDER PROJECT
Series 13: NEWSLETTERS

  • Series 1: STUDENT COURSEWORK
  • Box 1:
  • Fall - 1965
  • Box 2:
  • Spring - 1966
  • Box 3:
  • Spring - 1969
  • Box 4:
  • Spring - 1966
  • Box 5:
  • Fall - 1966
  • Box 6:
  • Fall - 1966
  • Box 7:
  • Spring - 1967
  • Box 8:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1967
  • Box 9:
  • Spring, Spring, Fall - 1967, 1968
  • Box 10:
  • Spring - 1968
  • Box 11:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1968
  • Box 12:
  • Spring, Fall, Spring, Fall - 1967, 1968
  • Box 13:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1968
  • Box 14:
  • Fall, Spring, Summer, Fall - 1968, 1969
  • Box 15:
  • Spring - 1969
    See also box 3
  • Box 16:
  • Spring, Fall - 1969
  • Box 17:
  • Fall - 1969
  • Box 18:
  • Fall, Fall - 1968, 1969
  • Box 19:
  • Spring, Fall, Spring - 1969, 1970
  • Box 20:
  • Spring - 1970
  • Box 21:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1970
  • Box 22:
  • Spring - 1970
  • Box 23:
  • Spring, Summer - 1970
  • Box 24:
  • Fall - 1970
  • Box 25:
  • Fall - 1970
  • Box 26:
  • Fall, Spring - 1970, 1971
  • Box 27:
  • Spring - 1971
  • Box 28:
  • Spring, Summer - 1971
  • Box 29:
  • Summer, Fall - 1971
  • Box 30:
  • Fall, Spring, Summer, Fall - 1971, 1972
  • Box 31:
  • Fall - 1972
  • Box 32:
  • Fall, Spring - 1972, 1973
  • Box 33:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1973
  • Box 34:
  • Fall - 1973
  • Box 35:
  • Spring - 1974
  • Box 36:
  • Spring, Fall - 1974
  • Box 37:
  • Fall - 1974
  • Box 38:
  • Fall - 1974
  • Box 39:
  • Fall, Spring - 1974, 1975
  • Box 40:
  • Spring - 1975
  • Box 41:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1975
  • Box 42:
  • Fall - 1975
  • Box 43:
  • Fall - 1975
  • Box 44:
  • Fall, Spring - 1975, 1976
  • Box 45:
  • Spring - 1976
  • Box 46:
  • Spring - 1976
  • Box 47:
  • Spring, Summer - 1976
  • Box 48:
  • Summer, Fall - 1976
  • Box 49:
  • Fall - 1976
  • Box 50:
  • Fall - 1976
  • Box 51:
  • Fall, Spring - 1976, 1977
  • Box 52:
  • Spring - 1977
  • Box 53:
  • Spring - 1977
  • Box 54:
  • Spring - 1977
  • Box 55:
  • Spring, Fall - 1977
  • Box 56:
  • Fall - 1977
  • Box 57:
  • Fall - 1977
  • Box 58:
  • Fall - 1977
  • Box 59:
  • Fall, Spring - 1977, 1978
  • Box 60:
  • Spring - 1978
  • Box 61:
  • Spring - 1978
  • Box 62:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1978
  • Box 63:
  • Fall - 1978
  • Box 64:
  • Fall - 1978
  • Box 65:
  • Fall - 1978
  • Box 66:
  • Fall, Spring - 1978, 1979
  • Box 67:
  • Spring - 1979
  • Box 68:
  • Spring - 1979
  • Box 69:
  • Spring - 1979
  • Box 70:
  • Spring, Fall - 1979
  • Box 71:
  • Fall - 1979
  • Box 72:
  • Fall - 1979
  • Box 73:
  • Fall - 1979
  • Box 74:
  • Fall, Spring - 1979, 1980
  • Box 75:
  • Spring - 1980
  • Box 76:
  • Spring - 1980
  • Box 77:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1980
  • Box 78:
  • Fall - 1980
  • Box 79:
  • Fall - 1980
  • Box 80:
  • Fall - 1980
  • Box 81:
  • Fall, Spring - 1980, 1981
  • Box 82:
  • Spring - 1981
  • Box 83:
  • Spring - 1981
  • Box 84:
  • Spring - 1981
  • Box 85:
  • Spring, Summer - 1981
  • Box 86:
  • Summer - 1981
  • Box 87:
  • Summer, Fall - 1981
  • Box 88:
  • Fall - 1981
  • Box 89:
  • Fall - 1981
  • Box 90:
  • Fall - 1981
  • Box 91:
  • Fall, Spring - 1981, 1982
  • Box 92:
  • Spring - 1982
  • Box 93:
  • Spring - 1982
  • Box 94:
  • Spring - 1982
  • Box 95:
  • Spring, Summer - 1982
  • Box 96:
  • Summer, Fall - 1982
  • Box 97:
  • Fall - 1982
  • Box 98:
  • Fall - 1982
  • Box 99:
  • Fall - 1982
  • Box 100:
  • Fall, Spring - 1982, 1983
  • Box 101:
  • Spring - 1983
  • Box 102:
  • Spring, Summer - 1983
  • Box 103:
  • Summer, Fall - 1983
  • Box 104:
  • Fall - 1983
  • Box 105:
  • Fall - 1983
  • Box 106:
  • Fall, Spring - 1983, 1984
  • Box 107:
  • Spring - 1984
  • Box 108:
  • Spring - 1984
  • Box 109:
  • Spring, Summer - 1984
  • Box 110:
  • Summer, Fall - 1984
  • Box 111:
  • Fall - 1984
  • Box 112:
  • Fall - 1984
  • Box 113:
  • Fall, Spring - 1984, 1985
  • Box 114:
  • Spring - 1985
  • Box 115:
  • Spring - 1985
  • Box 116:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1985
  • Box 117:
  • Fall - 1985
  • Box 118:
  • Fall - 1985
  • Box 119:
  • Fall, Spring - 1985, 1986
  • Box 120:
  • Spring - 1986
  • Box 121:
  • Spring - 1986
  • Box 122:
  • Spring, Summer - 1986
  • Box 123:
  • Summer, Fall - 1986
  • Box 124:
  • Fall - 1986
  • Box 125:
  • Fall - 1986
  • Box 126:
  • Fall, Spring - 1986, 1987
  • Box 127:
  • Spring - 1987
  • Box 128:
  • Spring - 1987
  • Box 129:
  • Spring, Summer - 1987
  • Box 130:
  • Summer, Fall - 1987
  • Box 131:
  • Fall - 1987
  • Box 132:
  • Fall - 1987
  • Box 133:
  • Fall, Spring - 1987, 1988
  • Box 134:
  • Spring - 1988
  • Box 135:
  • Spring - 1988
  • Box 136:
  • Spring, Summer - 1988
  • Box 137:
  • Summer, Fall - 1988
  • Box 138:
  • Fall - 1988
  • Box 139:
  • Fall - 1988
  • Box 140:
  • Fall - 1988
  • Box 141:
  • Spring - 1989
  • Box 142:
  • Spring - 1989
  • Box 143:
  • Spring - 1989
  • Box 144:
  • Summer - 1989
  • Box 145:
  • Fall - 1989
  • Box 146:
  • Fall - 1989
  • Box 147:
  • Fall - 1989
  • Box 148:
  • Fall - 1989
  • Box 149:
  • Fall, Spring - 1989, 1990
  • Box 150:
  • Spring - 1990
  • Box 151:
  • Spring - 1990
  • Box 152:
  • Spring, Summer - 1990
  • Box 153:
  • Summer - 1990
  • Box 154:
  • 1980's including Leggett - 1980-1989
  • Box 155:
  • Mid1990's - 1991-1998
  • Box 156:
  • Fall - 1986
  • Box 157:
  • Spring, Summer - 1988
  • Box 158:
  • Spring, Fall - 1988
  • Box 159:
  • Fall, Spring - 1988, 1989
  • Box 160:
  • Spring - 1989
  • Box 161:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1989
  • Box 162:
  • Fall - 1989
  • Box 163:
  • Fall - 1989
  • Box 164:
  • Spring - 1990
  • Box 165:
  • Spring - 1990
  • Box 166:
  • Summer, Fall - 1990
  • Box 167:
  • Summer, Fall - 1990
  • Box 168:
  • Fall - 1990
  • Box 169:
  • Fall - 1990
  • Box 170:
  • Fall, Spring - 1990, 1991
  • Box 171:
  • Spring - 1991
  • Box 172:
  • Spring - 1991
  • Box 173:
  • Spring, Summer - 1991
  • Box 174:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1991
  • Box 175:
  • Fall - 1991
  • Box 176:
  • Fall - 1991
  • Box 177:
  • Fall - 1991
  • Box 178:
  • Fall, Spring - 1991, 1992
  • Box 179:
  • Spring - 1992
  • Box 180:
  • Spring - 1992
  • Box 181:
  • Spring - 1992
  • Box 182:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 1992
  • Box 183:
  • Fall - 1992
  • Box 184:
  • Fall - 1992
  • Box 185:
  • Fall - 1992
  • Box 186:
  • Fall, Spring - 1992, 1993
  • Box 187:
  • Spring - 1993
  • Box 188:
  • Spring - 1993
  • Box 189:
  • Spring, Summer - 1993
  • Box 190:
  • Spring, Summer - 1993
  • Box 191:
  • Summer, Fall - 1993
  • Box 192:
  • Fall - 1993
  • Box 193:
  • Fall - 1993
  • Box 194:
  • Fall - 1993
  • Box 195:
  • Fall - 1993
  • Box 196:
  • Fall - 1993
  • Box 197:
  • Fall, Spring - 1993, 1994
  • Box 198:
  • Spring - 1994
  • Box 199:
  • Spring - 1994
  • Box 200:
  • Spring - 1994
  • Box 201:
  • Spring - 1994
  • Box 202:
  • Spring, Summer - 1994
  • Box 203:
  • Spring, Summer - 1994
  • Box 204:
  • Summer, Fall - 1994
  • Box 205:
  • Fall - 1994
  • Box 206:
  • Fall - 1994
  • Box 207:
  • Fall - 1994
  • Box 208:
  • Fall - 1994
  • Box 209:
  • Fall - 1994
  • Box 210:
  • Spring - 1995
  • Box 211:
  • Spring - 1995
  • Box 212:
  • Spring - 1995
  • Box 213:
  • Spring - 1995
  • Box 214:
  • Spring, Summer - 1995
  • Box 215:
  • Spring, Fall - 1995
  • Box 216:
  • Spring, Fall - 1995
  • Box 217:
  • Summer - 1995
  • Box 218:
  • Fall - 1995
  • Box 219:
  • Fall - 1995
  • Box 220:
  • Fall - 1995
  • Box 221:
  • Spring, Fall, Spring, Fall - 1995, 1996
  • Box 222:
  • Spring - 1996
  • Box 223:
  • Spring - 1996
  • Box 224:
  • Spring - 1996
  • Box 225:
  • Spring - 1996
  • Box 226:
  • Spring, Summer - 1996
  • Box 227:
  • Spring, Summer - 1996
  • Box 228:
  • Fall - 1996
  • Box 229:
  • Fall - 1996
  • Box 230:
  • Fall - 1996
  • Box 231:
  • Fall - 1996
  • Box 232:
  • Fall - 1996
  • Box 233:
  • Spring - 1997
  • Box 234:
  • Spring - 1997
  • Box 235:
  • Spring - 1997
  • Box 236:
  • Spring - 1997
  • Box 237:
  • Spring - 1997
  • Box 238:
  • Spring, Fall - 1997
  • Box 239:
  • Summer, Fall - 1997
  • Box 240:
  • Fall - 1997
  • Box 241:
  • Fall - 1997
  • Box 242:
  • Fall - 1997
  • Box 243:
  • Fall - 1997
  • Box 244:
  • Fall, Spring - 1997, 1998
  • Box 245:
  • Spring - 1998
  • Box 246:
  • Spring - 1998
  • Box 247:
  • Spring - 1998
  • Box 248:
  • Spring - 1998
  • Box 249:
  • Spring - 1998
  • Box 250:
  • Spring - 1998
  • Box 251:
  • Spring - 1998
  • Box 252:
  • Spring, Summer - 1998
  • Box 253:
  • Spring, Summer - 1998
  • Box 254:
  • Spring, Fall - 1998
  • Box 255:
  • Fall - 1998
  • Box 256:
  • Fall - 1998
  • Box 257:
  • Fall - 1998
  • Box 258:
  • Fall - 1998
  • Box 259:
  • Spring - 1999
  • Box 260:
  • Spring - 1999
  • Box 261:
  • Spring - 1999
  • Box 262:
  • Spring, Fall - 1999
  • Box 263:
  • Fall - 1999
  • Box 264:
  • Fall - 1999
  • Box 265:
  • Fall - 1999
  • Box 266:
  • Fall - 1999
  • Box 267:
  • Fall - 1999
  • Box 268:
  • Fall - 1999
  • Box 269:
  • Spring - 2000
  • Box 270:
  • Spring - 2000
  • Box 271:
  • Spring - 2000
  • Box 272:
  • Spring - 2000
  • Box 273:
  • Spring - 2000
  • Box 274:
  • Summer, Fall - 2000
  • Box 275:
  • Summer, Summer - 2000, 2001
  • Box 276:
  • Fall - 2000
  • Box 277:
  • Fall - 2000
  • Box 278:
  • Fall - 2000
  • Box 279:
  • Fall - 2000
  • Box 280:
  • Fall - 2000
  • Box 281:
  • Spring - 2001
  • Box 282:
  • Spring - 2001
  • Box 283:
  • Spring - 2001
  • Box 284:
  • Spring - 2001
  • Box 285:
  • Spring - 2001
  • Box 286:
  • Summer, Fall - 2001
  • Box 287:
  • Fall - 2001
  • Box 288:
  • Fall - 2001
  • Box 289:
  • Fall - 2001
  • Box 290:
  • Spring - 2002
  • Box 291:
  • Spring - 2002
  • Box 292:
  • Spring, Summer - 2002
  • Box 293:
  • Summer, Fall - 2002
  • Box 294:
  • Summer, Fall - 2002
  • Box 295:
  • Fall - 2002
  • Box 296:
  • Fall - 2002
  • Box 297:
  • Fall - 2002
  • Box 298:
  • Spring - 2003
  • Box 299:
  • Spring - 2003
  • Box 300:
  • Spring - 2003
  • Box 301:
  • Summer, Fall - 2003
  • Box 302:
  • Fall - 2003
  • Box 303:
  • Fall - 2003
  • Box 304:
  • Fall - 2003
  • Box 305:
  • Fall - 2003
  • Box 306:
  • Conroy's theses manuscripts, Spring - 2004
  • Box 307:
  • Spring - 2004
  • Box 308:
  • Spring - 2004
  • Box 309:
  • Spring - 2004
  • Box 310:
  • Spring - 2004
  • Box 311:
  • Spring, Summer, Fall - 2004
  • Box 312:
  • Summer - 2004
  • Box 313:
  • Summer - 2004
  • Box 314:
  • Summer, Fall - 2004
  • Box 315:
  • Fall - 2004
  • Box 316:
  • Fall - 2004
  • Box 317:
  • Fall - 2004
  • Box 318:
  • Fall - 2004
  • Box 319:
  • Fall, Spring - 2004, 2005
  • Box 320:
  • Spring - 2005
  • Box 321:
  • Spring - 2005
  • Box 322:
  • Spring - 2005
  • Box 323:
  • Spring - 2005
  • Box 324:
  • Spring, Summer - 2005
  • Box 325:
  • Fall - 2005
  • Box 326:
  • Fall - 2005
  • Box 327:
  • Fall - 2005
  • Box 328:
  • Fall - 2005
  • Box 329:
  • Spring - 2006
  • Box 330:
  • Spring - 2006
  • Box 331:
  • Spring - 2006
  • Box 332:
  • Spring, Summer - 2006
  • Box 333:
  • Summer - 2006
  • Box 334:
  • Fall - 2006
  • Box 335:
  • Fall - 2006
  • Box 336:
  • Fall - 2006
  • Box 337:
  • Spring - 2007
  • Box 338:
  • Spring - 2007
  • Box 339:
  • Spring - 2007
  • Box 340:
  • Summer, Fall - 2007
  • Box 341:
  • Summer - 2007
  • Box 342:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 343:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 344:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 345:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 346:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 347:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 348:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 349:
  • Fall - 2007
  • Box 350:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 351:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 352:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 353:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 354:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 355:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 356:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 357:
  • Spring - 2008
  • Box 358:
  • Summer, Fall - 2008
  • Box 359:
  • Fall - 2008
  • Box 360:
  • Fall - 2008
  • Box 361:
  • Spring - 2009
  • Box 362:
  • Spring - 2009
  • Box 363:
  • Spring - 2009
  • Box 364:
  • Summer, Fall - 2009
  • Box 365:
  • Fall - 2009
  • Box 366:
  • Fall - 2009
  • Box 367:
  • Fall - 2009
  • Box 368:
  • Fall, Spring - 2009, 2010
  • Box 369:
  • Spring - 2010
  • Box 370:
  • Spring - 2010
  • Box 371:
  • Spring - 2010
  • Box 372:
  • Spring, Fall - 2010
  • Box 373:
  • Fall - 2010
  • Box 374:
  • Fall - 2010
  • Box 375:
  • Fall - 2010
  • Box 376:
  • Spring - 2011
  • Box 377:
  • Spring - 2011
  • Box 378:
  • Spring - 2011
  • Box 379:
  • Spring - 2011
  • Box 380:
  • Summer - 2011
  • Series 2: AWARD COMPETITIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Al-Ay - 1984-1988
  • Box 2:
  • Ba-Be - 1984-1988
  • Box 3:
  • Bi-Br - 1984-1988
  • Box 4:
  • Bu-Ci - 1984-1988
  • Box 5:
  • De-En - 1984-1988
  • Box 6:
  • Es-Fi - 1984-1988
  • Box 7:
  • Fl-Hae - 1984-1988
  • Box 8:
  • Har - 1984-1988
  • Box 9:
  • He-Ho - 1984-1988
  • Box 10:
  • Ho-Hu - 1984-1988
  • Box 11:
  • Ja-Ke - 1984-1988
  • Box 12:
  • Ki-Le - 1984-1988
  • Box 13:
  • Lou - 1984-1988
  • Box 14:
  • M-N - 1984-1988
  • Box 15:
  • O'D-O'R - 1984-1988
  • Box 16:
  • Pa-Pe - 1984-1988
  • Box 17:
  • Pi-Re - 1984-1988
  • Box 18:
  • Ri-Ru - 1984-1988
  • Box 19:
  • Sa-So - 1984-1988
  • Box 20:
  • Sp-St - 1984-1988
  • Box 21:
  • Su-Wh - 1984-1988
  • Box 22:
  • Wh-Y - 1984-1988
  • Box 23:
  • Applicants - 1989
  • Box 24:
  • Applicants - 1989
  • Box 25:
  • Applicants - 1990
  • Box 26:
  • Applicants - 1990
  • Box 27:
  • Applicants - 1991
  • Box 28:
  • Applicants - 1991
  • Box 29:
  • Applicants - 1991-1992
  • Box 30:
  • Applicants - 1992-1994
  • Box 31:
  • Applicants - 1994
  • Box 32:
  • Applicants and winners - 1994
  • Box 33:
  • Other award applicants, theses - 1998
  • Box 34:
  • Applicants - 1997
  • Box 35:
  • Applicants - 1997
  • Box 36:
  • Applicants - 1997
  • Box 37:
  • Applicants - 1999
  • Box 38:
  • Applicants - 1998
  • Box 39:
  • Applicants - 1998
  • Box 40:
  • Applicants - 1998
  • Box 41:
  • Applicants - 1998
  • Box 42:
  • Applicants - 1998
  • Box 43:
  • Winners - 1999
  • Box 44:
  • Applicants - 1999
  • Box 45:
  • Applicants - 1999
  • Box 46:
  • Applicants - 1999
  • Box 47:
  • Applicants - 2000
  • Box 48:
  • Applicants - 2000
  • Box 49:
  • Applicants - 2000
  • Box 50:
  • Applicants - 2001
  • Box 51:
  • Applicants - 2001
  • Box 52:
  • Applicants - 2001
  • Box 53:
  • Applicants - 2001
  • Box 54:
  • Applicants - 2001
  • Box 55:
  • Rejected - 2003
  • Box 56:
  • Rejected - 2003
  • Box 57:
  • Rejected - 2003
  • Box 58:
  • Rejected - 2002
  • Box 59:
  • Rejected - 2002
  • Box 60:
  • Rejected - 2002
  • Box 61:
  • Past Michener and Schaefer award winners
  • Box 62:
  • Rejected - 2004
  • Box 63:
  • Rejected - 2004
  • Box 64:
  • Rejected - 2004
  • Box 65:
  • Rejected - 2004
  • Box 66:
  • Award winners - 2000-2003
  • Box 67:
  • Rejected - 2005
  • Box 68:
  • Rejected - 2005
  • Box 69:
  • Rejected - 2005
  • Box 70:
  • Rejected - 2006
  • Box 71:
  • Rejected - 2006
  • Box 72:
  • Rejected - 2006
  • Box 73:
  • Rejected - 2007
  • Box 74:
  • Rejected - 2007
  • Box 75:
  • Third year fellowship rejects - 2008
  • Box 76:
  • Third year fellowship rejects - 2008
  • Box 77:
  • Third year fellowship rejects - 2008
  • Series 3: STUDENTS AND ALUMNI
  • Box 1:
  • Aa-Bat - 1968-1978
  • Box 2:
  • Bau-Cah - 1968-1978
  • Box 3:
  • Cai-Cos - 1968-1978
  • Box 4:
  • Cot-Dow - 1968-1978
  • Box 5:
  • Doc-Fer - 1968-1978
  • Box 6:
  • Fes-Gow - 1968-1978
  • Box 7:
  • Gra-Har - 1968-1978
  • Box 8:
  • Har-Hol - 1968-1978
  • Box 9:
  • Hom-Joh - 1968-1978
  • Box 10:
  • Joh-Kro - 1968-1978
  • Box 11:
  • Kru-Lin - 1968-1978
  • Box 12:
  • Lip-Met - 1968-1978
  • Box 13:
  • May-O'Do - 1968-1978
  • Box 14:
  • O'Gr-Pro - 1968-1978
  • Box 15:
  • Pru-San - 1968-1978
  • Box 16:
  • Sar-Sim - 1968-1978
  • Box 17:
  • Sim-Sym - 1968-1978
  • Box 18:
  • Tag-Wan - 1968-1978
  • Box 19:
  • War-Zyk - 1968-1978
  • Box 20:
  • A-Gar (with some earlier) - 1980-1982
  • Box 21:
  • Gay-Lon (with some earlier) - 1980-1982
  • Box 22:
  • Mag-Ses (with some earlier) - 1980-1982
  • Box 23:
  • Sha-Wol (with some earlier) - 1980-1982
  • Box 24:
  • Alt-Che - 1982-1985
  • Box 25:
  • Chi-Fon - 1982-1985
  • Box 26:
  • Foo-Hav - 1982-1985
  • Box 27:
  • Hav-Mad - 1982-1985
  • Box 28:
  • Mag-Reg - 1982-1985
  • Box 29:
  • Ren-Str - 1982-1985
  • Box 30:
  • Stu-Yra - 1982-1985
  • Box 31:
  • Alb-Ber - 1986-1991
  • Box 32:
  • Ber-Cas - 1986-1991
  • Box 33:
  • Cha-Dra - 1986-1991
  • Box 34:
  • Dra-Gee - 1986-1991
  • Box 35:
  • Ger-Her - 1986-1991
  • Box 36:
  • Hil-Jon - 1986-1991
  • Box 37:
  • Jud-Lov - 1986-1991
  • Box 38:
  • Lun-Moo - 1986-1991
  • Box 39:
  • Mor-Pot - 1986-1991
  • Box 40:
  • Pre-Roe - 1986-1991
  • Box 41:
  • Roh-Ste - 1986-1991
  • Box 42:
  • Ste-Whi - 1986-1991
  • Box 43:
  • Whi-Zuc - 1986-1991
  • Box 44:
  • A-Z, Summer - 1993
  • Box 45:
  • A-Z, Summer - 1992, 1999
  • Series 4: FACULTY
  • Box 1:
  • Benedict, Dianne
  • Bock, Sue
  • Gilchrist, Ellen
  • Helprin, Mark
  • Henry, Dewitt
  • Hollo, Anselm
  • Howard, Jane
  • Ignatow, David
  • McPherson, Sandra
  • Miller, Susan and Bauer, Doug
  • Pesetsky, Bette
  • Pickering, Nancy
  • Sacks, Peter
  • Sadoff, Ira
  • Schwartz, Lynne Sharon
  • Settle, Mary Lee
  • Singer, Brett
  • Southwick, Marcia
  • Vivante, Arturo
  • Vogelsang, Arthur
  • Wilner, Eleanor
  • Wilson, Angus
  • Wilson, Robley
  • Series 5: DIRECTOR'S FILES
  • Box 1:
  • A-Z
  • Series 6: ADMINISTRATIVE FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Administrative - 1968-1986
  • Box 2:
  • Administrative - 1968-1986
  • Box 3:
  • Administrative, to - 1986
  • Box 4:
  • Bloc allocations - 1972-1989
  • Box 5:
  • Foundation correspondence - 1991
  • Box 6:
  • Administrative - 1981-1991
  • Box 7:
  • Administrative subject files - 1980-1989
  • Box 8:
  • Administrative subject files - 1980-1989
  • Box 9:
  • Administrative correspondence - 1984-1989
  • Box 10:
  • Payroll listings, account statements - 1978-1985
  • Box 11:
  • Payroll listings, account statements - 1980-1989
  • Box 12:
  • Administrative - 1989-1995
  • Box 13:
  • Administrative - 1987-1995
  • Box 14:
  • Administrative - 1990-1995
  • Box 15:
  • Expense records - 1990-1996
  • Box 16:
  • Subject files - 1989-1998
  • Box 17:
  • Subject files - 1984-1997
  • Box 18:
  • Subject files, including student directories - 1987-1997, 1975-1986
  • Box 19:
  • Subject files - 1982-1993
  • Box 20:
  • Correspondence
  • Series 7: ACCEPTED, NOT COMING
  • Box 1:
  • A-Har - 1980-1984
  • Box 2:
  • Har-Per - 1980-1984
  • Box 3:
  • Phi-Yat - 1980-1984
  • Box 4:
  • A-Cra - 1985-1993
  • Box 5:
  • Cre-Le - 1985-1993
  • Box 6:
  • Ma-Sch - 1985-1993
  • Box 7:
  • Sh-Y - 1985-1993
  • Series 8: REJECTED APPLICANTS' EVALUATION SHEETS
  • Box 1:
  • Evaluation sheets - 1980-1982
  • Box 2:
  • Evaluation sheets - 1983-1984
  • Box 3:
  • Evaluation sheets - 1985
  • Box 4:
  • Evaluation sheets - 1986-1988
  • Box 5:
  • Evaluation sheets - 1989-1990
  • Series 9: APPLICANTS' LETTERS OF RECOMMENDATION
  • Box 1:
  • Letters of recommendation - 1983-1989
  • Box 2:
  • Letters of recommendation - 1988-1989
  • Box 3:
  • Letters of recommendation - 1988-1989
  • Box 4:
  • A-J - 1990-1991
  • Box 5:
  • K-T - 1990-1991
  • Box 6:
  • T-V - 1990-1991
  • Box 7:
  • A-E - 1992-1996
  • Box 8:
  • E-Ki - 1992-1996
  • Box 9:
  • Ki-Peri - 1992-1996
  • Box 10:
  • Perr-U - 1992-1996
  • Box 11:
  • Ue-Z - 1992-1996
  • Box 12:
  • Summer, Summer - 1999, 1992
  • Series 10: EPHEMERA
  • Box 1:
  • Posters and other printed matter - 1982
    Also undated
  • Series 11: STEPHEN WILBERS PROJECT
  • Box 1:
  • Survey administrative files
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence, A-D
  • Correspondence, I-O
  • Correspondence, P-S
  • Correspondence, T-Z
  • Series 12: JEAN WYLDER PROJECT
  • Box 1:
  • Workshop history notes: administrative files, general Workshop history
  • Reminiscences
    Prior to 1950: John Hospers, Barbara Spargo, Norman Foerster, Wilbur Schramm, Jean Wylder on Flannery O'Connor (from North American Review, Spring 1970 issue), William De Witt Snodgrass and Donald T. Torchiana (from Northwestern University Tri-Quarterly, Spring 1960 issue), Clarke Fisher Ansley, Margaret Walker Alexander, George Abbe
  • Reminiscences - 1950-1954
    Early 1950's: James Sunwall, Ray West on Dylan Thomas's 1951 visit, William Stafford, Morgan Gibson, Richard Stern, Oakley Hall, Ogden Plumb, James B. Hall, Joseph Langland, Gene Brzenk
  • Reminiscences - 1955-1959
    Late 1950's: John Gilgun, Morgan Gibson, Ogden Plumb, Jerry Bumpus
  • Reminiscences - 1960-1964
    Early 1960's: Harry Barba, Lewis Turco ("Portrait of Donald Justice"), Philip O'Connor ("Max Yocum's Horse"), Jack Welch ("A Parable"), Warren Slesinger, John Clellon Holmes, Edmund Keeley, B.C. Hall
  • Reminiscences - 1965-1969
    Late 1960's: Bruce Dobler ("All About Algren"), William Richard Keough, Brian Salchert ("A Traveler from the Dunes"), Max Collins, Rochelle Holt
  • Series 13: NEWSLETTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Newsletters - 1970-2010