Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa Print Group Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1947-2008
Creator: Iowa Print Group
Extent: 3.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG06.0007.002
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Slides in Box 5.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: This collection was donated by Virginia Myers of the UI School of Art and Art History in 2008. A small additional accession was processed in July-August 2011.

Preferred Citation: Iowa Print Group Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The printmaking program has been an active component of the UI School of Art (later the School of Art and Art History) for many decades. It was initially established by Argentina-born artist Mauricio Lasansky. Lasansky came to the United States in 1943, with a Guggenheim Fellowship to study printmaking at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. Printmaking was undergoing a significant renaissance at the time, with the emphasis shifting to new technical and stylistic approaches. During the 1940s, fresh spins on old techniques, especially involving intaglio, elevated the original handmade print to a new status that encouraged purchases by museums and private collectors. Lasansky, though experienced with a wide variety of printmaking techniques, was captivated by the intaglio process and dedicated his career as an artist and as a teacher to expanding the aesthetic possibilities of that technique.

In 1943, Lasansky was hired as an art professor at the University of Iowa. He promised the departmental chair, Lester Longman, that if Longman would give him four years, he would make Iowa's printmaking program the best in the United States. Longman took Lasasnky up on the challenge. Through his New York connections, Lasansky was able to organize exhibits of his and his students' work at prestigious museums. When World War II ended, and masses of veterans began attending college under the G.I. Bill, many enrolling at Iowa signed up as printmaking majors. Many former students went on to establish similar programs and departments at other colleges and universities. This helped to further lift the stature of intaglio printmaking at schools and universities as well as at museums and galleries.

The Iowa Print Group was, and is, notable for its commitment to active artistic practice. As Virginia Myers, one of Lasansky's students and later a professor herself in the IPG, put it, "The early successes of the Iowa art program depended entirely on this idea to hire active professional artists as faculty teachers." Lasansky was devoted to establishing a group ideal among his faculty artists and his students, understanding that any artistic movement depends on the work and inspiration supplied by many different creators. Hence, the designation of the department as the "Iowa Print Group".

Lasansky retired as director of the IPG in 1985. He was succeeded by his student Keith Achepohl.

Today, emphasis is placed on teaching students about significant historical print concepts and helping them discover new ways of adding to the printmaking tradition. Students also learn about artistic self-analysis through group and individual critiques. Required course work in intaglio and relief, lithography, monotype, paperworks, and foil-stamping is supplemented by annual seminars that focus on such topics as preparation for professional life, issues in print history, theory, and technical considerations. National and international visiting artists invited to the department bring diverse styles that complement the teaching and images done by the printmaking faculty.

The University's tradition of exhibiting graduate work has led to prints in juried shows throughout the United States and abroad. Group exhibits of student work often are sent to other schools on an exchange basis. Faculty work is exhibited regularly in juried national and international exhibitions, and some are permanently placed in some of the world's major museums. The IPG is regularly ranked by U.S. News & World Report as the top printmaking department in the nation.

This collection contains records from and relating to the Iowa Print Group - the renowned printmaking program within the University of Iowa's School of Art and Art History. Included in the collection are correspondence, documentation of departmental finances, records relating to the IPG's annual Travelling Show and other exhibitions, and IPG annual and biennial reports, among other materials.
LASANSKY, MAURICIO, 1914-. Papers of Mauricio Lasansky. 0.25 ft.

Professor, University of Iowa School of Art and Art History, from 1945 until 1986. Well-known for intaglio printmaking. Biography and photographs of his prints. (RG99.0030)

Records of the School of Art and Art History (RG06.0007.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: OVERSIZED MATERIALS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Annual and Biennial Reports - 1960-1965
  • Art Forms Programs, undated
  • Articles, Reviews, Advertisements re: IPG Faculty and Students - 1959-2007
  • Sub-Series: Artists
  • Box 1:
  • Makouchi, Munio; Marks, Claude, undated
  • Matthews, Wanda - 1953-1960, 1982
  • Matthews, Wanda: Exhibitions - 1958-1963, 1982-1983
  • Richards, Jeanne Herron - 1952-1959
  • Rush, Andrew - 1956, 1959-1960
  • Amith, Moishe - 1955, 1961, 1965, 1972-1975
  • Steward, Donn - 1950-1954
  • Sub-Series: Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Budget and Equipment Committee - 1973-1974, 1976
  • Sub-Series: Article and evaluations
  • Box 1:
  • "The Care and Display of Prints", undated
  • Class Evaluations by Students [Anonymous] - 1947-1948
  • Class Evaluations by Students [Anonymous], Spring - 1949
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 1:
  • Lasansky, Mauricio - David Taylor and Guadalajara/Specialists Grant - 1962-1963
  • Lasansky, Mauricio - Exhibition Judging - 1955, 1958, 1962, 1966
  • Miscellaneous - 1948, 1952-1958, 1961-1962, 1965-1966, 1969-1970, 1974-1978, 1980-1982, 1985-1992
  • Miscellaneous from Museums, Collections, Art Galleries - 1949-1969
  • Correspondence - 1949-1968
  • Myers, Virginia - 1958-1961, 1967-1976
  • Myers, Virginia - 1977-1992
  • Print Sales - 1955-1962
  • Print Sales - 1963-1966
  • Sub-Series: Reports, Budgets, Ledgers
  • Box 1:
  • Exhibition Summary Report - 1959-1960
  • Financial: Budget Reports - 1969-1978
    Incomplete
  • Financial: Departmental Ledger - 1957-1958, 1961-1970
    Incomplete
  • Financial: Departmental Ledger - 1961-1966
  • Financial: Lithography Budget - 1983-1991
  • Financial: Scholarship Fund Record - 1959-1966
  • Sub-Series: Foil Imaging
  • Box 1:
  • Foil Imaging (Virginia Myers) - 2006
  • Foil Imaging Workshop - 2003, 2006, 2008
  • Sub-Series: Biography
  • Box 1:
  • IPG Departmental Biography - 1956-1965
  • Sub-Series: Lasansky
  • Box 1:
  • Lasansky, Mauricio - Vita and Farewell Correspondence - 1983-1984
  • Sub-Series: Myers, Virginia
  • Box 1:
  • Myers, Virginia - 1971, 1977-1979, 1981-1982, 1984
  • Sub-Series: Papermaking
  • Box 1:
  • Papermaking - 1986-1989
  • Arjormari-Prioux Paper - 1966-1977
  • Papermaking Workshop (Takeshi Takahara) - 1978-1979
  • Sub-Series: Classes and requirements
  • Box 1:
  • Plate Lithography, undated
  • Printmaking Requirements for Degree - 1975
  • Seminar Lists - 1974, 1978, 1980
  • Sub-Series: Shows
  • Box 1:
  • Blake (William) Exhibition - 1961
  • Correspondence on Entry Fees and Irregularities - 1958-1962
  • Correspondence on Entry Fees and Irregularities - 1963-1967
  • International Print Show - 1955
  • Invitations/Calls for Entries to Exhibitions - 1986-1990
  • Box 2:
  • IPG Travelling Show, General - 1983, 1987-1988
  • IPG Travelling Show (1950-1954) - 1948-1954
  • IPG Travelling Show (1955-1956) - 1954-1956
  • IPG Travelling Show (1956-1957) - 1955-1957
  • IPG Travelling Show (1957-1958) - 1957-1958
  • IPG Travelling Show (1958-1959) - 1957-1958
  • IPG Travelling Show (1959-1960) - 1958-1960
  • IPG Travelling Show (1960-1961) - 1958-1961
  • IPG Travelling Show (1961-1962) - 1960-1962
  • IPG Travelling Show (1962-1963) - 1962-1963
  • IPG Travelling Show (1963-1964) - 1962-1964
  • IPG Travelling Show (1964-1965) - 1963-1965
  • IPG Travelling Show (1965-1966) - 1964-1965
  • IPG Travelling Show (1966-1967) - 1965-1967
  • IPG Travelling Show - Canada - 1966-1967
  • IPG Travelling Show (1967-1968, 1968-1969) - 1968-1969
  • IPG Travelling Show (1969-1970) - 1968-1970
  • IPG Travelling Show (1987-1988) - 1986-1988
  • IPG Travelling Show (Spring 1989) - 1988-1989
  • IPG Travelling Show - Canada - 1966-1967
  • IPG Travelling Show - Germany and Italy - 1961-1964
  • IPG Travelling Show - Various - 1990-1991
  • Prints Received for Various Shows - 1959-1965
  • Student/Alumni Shows - 1949-1971
  • Student/Alumni Shows - 1972-1976
  • Student Shows - 1977-1996
  • Student Shows - Pratt Graphics Center Show - 1972-1973, 1976
  • Various Exhibitions - 1961-1963, 1988, 2001
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 2:
  • Students Receiving Grants and Fellowships Lists - 1948-1965
  • Syllabi
  • Foil Shaping I & II - 1997
  • Undergraduate Intaglio & Relief I, undated
  • Veterans and Class Procedures/Supplies - 1948-1956
  • Visiting Artists/Lecturers - 1985-1990
  • Woodcut Repair Demonstration - 1991
  • Sub-Series: Print Card File [cards containing images of prints made by students/alumni as well as information about the works]
  • Box 3:
  • Achepohl - Eurard
  • Box 4:
  • Fidler - Kruse
  • Box 5:
  • Lambros - Tyler
  • Sub-Series: Slides
  • Box 5:
  • Slides of prints from J.L. Ochs, dates various
  • Series 2: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
  • Box 1:
  • Poster for Exhibition at Iowa Hall Gallery, Kirkwood Community College - Virginia Myers: Silver, Gold and Foil Imaging, 1966-2002 - 2002
  • Encapsulated News Article from The Jersey Journal on IPG Alumnus Kelly B. Darr (inscribed by Darr), May 23 - 2003

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences