Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Clubs and Association Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1885-1980
Creator: Clubs and Associations (1893-1967)
Extent: 5.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG06.0002.005
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007. The materials were processed in August-September 2011.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The materials in this collection include records of clubs and other organizations whose membership is comprised primarily of CLAS faculty and graduate students. Materials include foundational records, membership lists, minutes, and administrative records.Also included are some scattered publications produced by the Liberal Arts Student Association.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Baconian Club [Natural and Physical Sciences]
  • Box 1:
  • Article on Club History and List of Papers/Reports - 1911
    2 copies
  • Constitution - 1885
    Original, Handwritten
  • Constitution - 1887; 1889; 1895
    Printed
  • Constitution - 1891
    Printed, Bound
  • Constitution - Undated
    Typewritten
  • Minutes - 1885-1892
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes - 1892-1898
  • Minutes - 1898-1906
  • Minutes - 1906-1911
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1911-1926
  • Miscellaneous - 1926; 1944
  • Sub-Series: Humanities Society [Languages, later General Humanities]
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes - 1897-1917
    Note: The Humanities Society was originally formed in 1897 as the Whitney Society and was devoted to the study of Languages. In 1907 it changed its name and focus and became the Humanist Society, devoted to general humanities. The name changed again in 1945 to the Humanities Society
  • Minutes - 1917-1938
  • Minutes - 1939-1963
  • Sub-Series: Political Science Club
  • Box 5:
  • Constitution - 1900
  • History of Club - 1906?
  • Meeting Lists and Announcements - 1896-1902; 1932; 1934-1936
  • Meeting Notices - 1931
  • Membership Lists - 1900-1933
    Incomplete
  • Minutes - 1896-1932
  • Miscellaneous - 1903; 1925; 1938
  • Officers Lists - 1896-1907
  • Papers Read Before Club - 1896-1906; 1916
  • President's Retirement Address - 1901
  • Receipts - 1920; 1926-1931
  • Sub-Series: Sigma Xi [National Honor Society, Science and Engineering]
  • Box 6:
  • By-Laws - 1940
    Revised
  • "Confidential Lists" of Accepted Nominations - 1962-1963
  • Invitation and Dinner Programs - 1930; 1940
  • Manual of Procedure - 1956?
    Printed
  • Membership Lists - 1954
  • Minutes - 1900-1922
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1922-1941
    Bound
  • Box 7:
  • Miscellaneous - 1947; 1952-1956
  • Nominations for Membership - 1921-1955
  • Nominations for Membership (University of South Dakota) - 1952
  • Petitions for Establishment of Sigma Xi Chapters - 1952-1953
  • Petitions for Establishment of Sigma Xi Chapters - 1955-1956
  • Box 8:
  • Record and History of Sigma Xi - 1886-1936
    Published
  • Box 9:
  • Secretary's Notes [Containing correspondence, forms, membership lists, etc.] - 1948-1960
  • Secretary's Notes - 1960-1962
  • Secretary's Notes - 1962-1965
  • Secretary's Notes - 1965-1967
  • Secretary's Notes - 1967-1969
  • Secretary's Notes - 1969-1970
  • Secretary's Notes - 1970-1971
  • Box 10:
  • Signature Book of Initiates - 1901-1918
  • Treasurer's Books - 1933-1954
  • Year Books - 1921-1922; 1934-1935; 1937-1938; 1940-1941; 1944-1945; 1947-1948
  • Box 11:
  • Corresponding Secretary's Record - 1901-1953
  • Sub-Series: Liberal Arts Student Association
  • Box 12:
  • Course Evaluation Booklet - 1974-1975
  • Course Guide - 1976
  • Materials - 1972
  • New Liberal Arts Review - 1980 December
  • New Student Record - 1980

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences