Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Liberal Arts and Sciences Committee Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1911-2000
Creator: Committee Records (1893-1967)
Extent: .00 .
Collection Number: RG06.0002.004
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet January 2007. The materials were reprocessed, with additional accessions, in May-June 2011.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Administrative Structure Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Report - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Admissions Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1985 May-1996 September
  • Sub-Series: Adjustment Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1935; 1952; 1954
  • Minutes - 1942 June-1948 November
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1949 January-1962 May
    Bound
  • Sub-Series: Area of Concentration Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Report - Undated
  • Sub-Series: Classroom and Office Space Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1929-1930
  • Sub-Series: Computer-Based Education Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1979-1980
  • Sub-Series: Computer Operations Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1979-1980
  • Sub-Series: Coordination of Student Personnel Services Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1952-1959
  • Sub-Series: Courses of Study Committee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1919-1943
  • Materials - 1944-1950
  • Minutes - 1948 January-1949 June
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1944 March-1950 May
  • Reference Materials - 1929; 1944-1949; 1954
  • Sub-Series: Courses of Study Committee: Basic Skills Subcommittee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1945; 1949-1950
  • Sub-Series: Courses of Study Committee: Core Courses Subcommittee
  • Box 1:
  • Materials - 1943-1944 January-June
  • Materials - 1944 July-December
  • Box 2:
  • Materials - 1945-1946
  • Materials - 1947-1948
  • Materials - 1949
  • Materials - 1950-1953
  • Materials - Undated
  • Reports - 1949
  • Report from Chairman W.F. Loehwing - 1949
  • Advisory Program - 1944
  • Areas of Concentration - Undated
  • Budget Requests and Estimates for General Studies - 1947
  • Budget Needs - 1947
  • General Studies Committee - 1948
  • Tabulated Enrollment for Core and Skill Courses - 1945-1948
  • Sub-Series: Course of Study Committee: Non-Degree Curricula Subcommittee
  • Box 2:
  • Report - 1945
  • Sub-Series: Curriculum Revision Committee
  • Box 2:
  • Materials - 1938-1941
  • Materials - 1942-1943
  • Materials - 1944-1945
  • Sub-Series: Curriculum Revision Committee: Subcommittees
  • Box 2:
  • Fine Arts - 1942-1943
  • Foreign Languages - 1944
  • History - 1942-1943
  • Literature - 1942-1943
  • Science - 1942-1943
  • Social Studies - 1942
  • Sub-Series: Dean Search Committee to Replace Dean Stuit
  • Box 2:
  • Materials - 1975
  • Sub-Series: Dean Search Committee to Replace Dean Tait
  • Box 2:
  • Materials - 1983-1984
  • Sub-Series: Department Executive Officers, Meetings of
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes - 1946 October-1964 June
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1942 February; 1950 July; 1950 October; 1951 March
  • Minutes - 1951 July-1957 December
  • Minutes - 1958 January-1964 November
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1965 January-1969 December
  • Minutes - 1970 January-1976 April
  • Miscellaneous Materials - 1976-1979
  • Informal Guide to Administrative Procedures - 1950-1951; 1959; 1962; 1966; 1972; 1975
  • Sub-Series: Department Heads, Chairmen and Directors, Meetings of
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes and Materials - 1942-1943; 1949-1950
    Incomplete
  • Sub-Series: Educational Policy Committee
  • Box 3:
  • Materials: Core Course Requirements - 1952-1954
  • Materials: General Education Requirements - 1978 January-1979 November
  • Materials: General Education Requirements - 1979 December-1980 December
  • Minutes - 1959
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1959-1964
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1950-1964
  • Minutes - 1965-1971
  • Minutes - 1972-1979
  • Minutes - 1980-1981
  • Minutes - 1982-1986
  • Minutes - 1987-1990
  • Minutes - 1991-1994
  • Minutes - 1995-2000
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence - 1951; 1953; 1965; 1967; 1973 January-1980 August
  • Correspondence - 1980 September-1985 September
  • Memoranda - 1952-1953; 1977 January-1979 April
  • Memoranda - 1979 May-1980 March
  • Memoranda - 1980 April-1985 December
  • Various Documents - 1967; 1979-1981
  • Various Reports - 1965; 1970; 1978-1981
  • Sub-Series: Examination Procedures Committee
  • Box 4:
  • Report - 1942
  • Sub-Series: Executive Committee
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes - 1911-1927
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1927-1942
    Also includes minutes for Committee on Admission and Classification, 1939-1942. Bound
  • Minutes - 1944-1949
    Bound
  • Minutes - 1956-1964
    Also includes minutes of Joint Meetings of Executive and Educational Policy Committees. Bound
  • Box 5:
  • Minutes - 1911-1913
  • Minutes - 1913-1915
  • Minutes - 1915-1916
  • Minutes - 1918-1920
  • Minutes - 1920-1921
  • Minutes - 1922-1924
  • Minutes - 1925-1926
  • Minutes - 1927-1928
  • Minutes - 1928-1930
  • Minutes - 1930-1932
  • Minutes - 1934-1937
  • Minutes - 1937-1940
  • Minutes - 1941-1942
  • Minutes - 1942-1949
  • Minutes - 1949-1951
  • Minutes - 1951-1954
  • Minutes - 1954-1957
  • Minutes - 1957-1962
  • Minutes - 1962-1968
  • Minutes - 1979-1984
  • Minutes - 1985-1988
  • Minutes - 1989-1990
  • Minutes - 1991-1993
  • Box 6:
  • Minutes - 1994-1997
  • Minutes - 2000-2010
  • Meeting Materials: Correspondence - 1917-1982
  • Meeting Materials: Memoranda - 1978-1980
  • Meeting Materials: Memoranda - 1981-1989
  • Meeting Materials: Miscellaneous - 1917-1988
  • Report on Student Army Training Corps - 1918
  • Sub-Series: Faculty Meetings
  • Box 6:
  • Materials - 1919-1924
  • Minutes and Materials - 1946 May-1949 December
  • Minutes and Materials - 1950 January-1956 December
  • Minutes and Materials - 1957 March-1963 December
  • Minutes and Materials - 1964 April-1969 December
  • Minutes and Materials - 1970 February-1975 December
  • Minutes and Materials - 1976 January-1980 December
  • Minutes and Materials - 1981 February-1988 November
  • Minutes and Materials - 1989 February-1996 December
  • Sub-Series: Faculty Meetings, Graduate
  • Box 6:
  • Minutes - 1950 April-May; 1958 January; 1958 June; 1959 January; 1959 May
  • Sub-Series: Freshman Studies Committee
  • Box 6:
  • Materials - 1935-1938
  • General Committee Information - 1985
  • Sub-Series: General Education Requirements Committee
  • Box 6:
  • Assorted Materials: General, Physical Education, Rhetoric - 1978
  • Assorted Materials: Historical Cultural Core, Natural Science Core - 1978
  • Box 7:
  • Assorted Materials: Mathematics, Foreign Languages, Social Science Core, Literature Core - 1977-1978
  • Assorted Materials from Within U - 1977-1980
  • Correspondence and Memoranda - 1977-1979
  • Minutes - 1978
  • Proposals - 1978
  • Reference Documents (non-UI) - 1977-1978
  • Box 8:
  • Reports and Responses - 1967-1978
  • Reports and Responses - 1979
  • Sub-Series: Military Affairs Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1946
  • Sub-Series: National Defense and Military Service Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1941-1942; 1944
  • Sub-Series: Nominating Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1916-1924; 1931-1943
  • Sub-Series: Occupational Therapy Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1946-1947
  • Sub-Series: Presidential Search and Screen Advisory Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Roster - 1995
  • Sub-Series: Program Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1917-1924; 1937
  • Sub-Series: School of Letters Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1930-1932
  • Sub-Series: Social Studies Education Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1949
  • Sub-Series: Standing Committees
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1916; 1925-1936; 1950-1952; 1980
  • Sub-Series: Stewart (G.W.) Committee (Educational Discussion Group)
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1948-1953
  • Sub-Series: Structure of the College of Liberal Arts Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1965-1966
  • Sub-Series: University Council
  • Box 8:
  • Minutes - 1949-1950; 1959
    Incomplete
  • Sub-Series: Various Committees
  • Box 8:
  • Materials - 1918-1974

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences