Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Administrative Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1912-2006
Creator: College of Liberal Arts & Sciences (1894-1949)
Extent: 9.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG06.0002.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet February 2007. Materials reprocessed February 2011.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

This collection includes various documents relating to the general administration of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Iowa. Materials include budgets and budgetary documents, individual program and departmental reviews, and self-studies/reviews for the College as a whole. There are also numerous files relating to assorted CLAS subjects. .The materials relating to the 1986 - 1987 CLAS Self-Study, most of which are reference documents, were originally the property of Professor Robert Cruden, who served on the study committee.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: REPORTS
Series 2: BUDGETS
Series 3: PROGRAM REVIEWS [By Department]
Series 4: EXTERNAL REVIEWS
Series 5: SELF-STUDIES [CLAS]
Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS

  • Series 1: REPORTS
  • Box 1:
  • Annual report
  • Annual Report of the College of Liberal Arts - 1939-1940
  • "Needs of the College" - 1941-1943
  • Series 2: BUDGETS
  • Sub-Series: Budget Summaries
  • Box 1:
  • School of Fine Arts to School of Letters, FY - 1916-1939
  • Botany to Military Science, FY - 1916-1939
  • Philosophy to Zoology, FY - 1916-1939
  • College of Liberal Arts, FY - 1938-1943
  • Box 2:
  • College of Liberal Arts, FY - 1943-1946
  • Sub-Series: Budget Documents
  • Box 2:
  • Budget Year - 1912-1913
  • Budget Year - 1917-1919
  • Budget Year - 1919-1920
  • Budget Year - 1920-1921
  • Budget Year - 1921-1922
  • Budget Year - 1922-1923
  • Budget Year - 1923-1924
  • Budget Year - 1924-1925
  • Budget Year - 1925-1926
  • Box 3:
  • Budget Year - 1926-1927
  • Budget Year - 1927-1928
    2 folders
  • Budget Year - 1928-1929
    2 folders
  • Budget Year - 1929-1930
    2 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Budget Year - 1930-1931
    2 folders
  • Budget Year - 1931-1932
  • Budget Year - 1932-1933
    2 folders
  • Budget Year - 1933-1934
  • Box 5:
  • Budget Year - 1934-1935
  • Budget Year - 1936-1937
  • Budget Year [General] - 1937-1938
  • Budget Year [By Department] - 1937-1938
    2 folders
  • Box 6:
  • Budget Year [By Department] - 1937-1938
    2 folders
  • Budget Year [CLAS Administration, Departments B-C] - 1938-1939
  • Budget Year [Departments G-J] - 1938-1939
  • Box 7:
  • Budget Year [Departments M-P] - 1938-1939
  • Budget Year [Departments P-R] - 1938-1939
  • Budget Year [Departments S-Z] - 1938-1939
  • Budget Year [Admin., Classical Languages, English, German, Romance Languages, Phonetics Lab] - 1938-1939
  • Budget Year [School of Fine Arts] - 1938-1939
  • Budget Year [CLAS Administration, Departments B-C] - 1939-1940
  • Budget Year [Departments G-J] - 1939-1940
  • Budget Year [Home Economics] - 1939-1940
  • Budget Year [Departments M-P] - 1939-1940
  • Box 8:
  • Budget Year [Departments P-R] - 1939-1940
  • Budget Year [Departments S-Z] - 1939-1940
  • Budget Year [Admin., Languages, English, Phonetics Lab] - 1939-1940
  • Budget Year [School of Fine Arts] - 1939-1940
  • Budget Year - 1939-1941
  • Budget Year - 1940-1942
  • Budget Year - 1941-1943
  • Budget Year - 1944-1946
  • Budget Year - 1947-1948
  • Budget Year - 1950-1951
  • Budget Year - 1952-1953
  • Budget Year - 1953-1954
  • Budget Year - 1954-1955
  • Box 9:
  • Budget Year - 1955-1956
  • Budget Year - 1956-1957
  • Budget Year - 1957-1958
  • Budget Year - 1958-1959
  • Budget Year - 1959-1960
  • Budget Year - 1960-1961
  • Budget Year - 1961-1962
  • Budget Year - 1962-1963
  • Budget Year - 1963-1964
  • Budget Year - 1964-1965
  • Budget Year - 1965-1966
  • Budget Year - 1966-1967
  • Budget Year - 1967-1968
  • Budget Year - 1969-1970
  • Series 3: PROGRAM REVIEWS [By Department]
  • Box 10:
  • Aerospace Studies and Military Science - 1996-1997
    and 1996 Self-Study
  • African Studies - 1996
  • African Studies, Self-Study - 1995-1996
  • Aging Studies - 1993-1994
    and 1993 Self-Study
  • American Studies - 1995
  • American Studies, Self-Study - 1994
  • Anthropology - 1993-1994
  • Anthropology, Self-Study - 1993
  • Anthropology - 2001
  • Art and Art History - 1998-1999
  • Art and Art History, Self-Study - 1998
  • Asian Languages and Literatures - 1992-1993
  • Asian Languages and Literatures, Self-Study - 1992
  • Biological Sciences - 1998-1999
    and 1998 Self-Study
  • Center for the Book - 1994
  • Center for the Book, Self-Study - 1993
  • Chemistry - 1994-1995
  • Chemistry, Self-Study - 1994
  • Classics - 1995-1996
    and 1995 Self-Study
  • Communication Studies - 1992
  • Communication Studies, Self-Study - 1991
  • Comparative Literature - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Computer Science - 1995
  • Computer Science, Self-Study - 1994
  • Dance - 1995-1996
    and 1995 Self-Study
  • English - 1991-1992
  • English, Self-Study - 1991
  • English As A Second Language - 1994
  • English As A Second Language, Self-Study - 1993
  • Box 11:
  • Exercise Science - 1992-1993
  • Exercise Science, Self-Study - 1992
  • French and Italian - 1993-1994
  • French and Italian, Self-Study - 1993
  • Geography - 1994-1995
  • Geography, Self-Study - 1994
  • Geology - 1997-1998
  • Geology, Self-Study - 1997
  • Global Studies - 1995-1996
    and 1995 Self-Study
  • History - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Honors Program - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Honors Program - 2003-2004
  • Interdepartmental Studies - 1997-1998
    and 1997 Self-Study
  • International Writers Program - 1994-1995, 1999
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Iowa Social Science Institute - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Iowa Social Science Institute - 2002
  • Journalism and Mass Communication - 1997
  • Journalism and Mass Communication, Self-Study - 1996
  • Language and Media Center - 1995-1996
    and 1995 Self-Study
  • Latin American Studies - 1995-1996
    and 1995 Self-Study
  • Liberal Studies - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Library and Information Science - 1991-1992
    and 1991 Self-Study
  • Library and Information Science - 1999
  • Box 12:
  • Linguistics - 1992-1993
    and 1992 Self-Study
  • Literature, Science and the Arts - 1995-1996, 2006
    and 1995 Self-Study
  • Mathematics - 1991-1992
    and 1991 Self-Study
  • Museum Studies - 1998-1999
  • Philosophy - 1993-1994
    and 1993 Self-Study
  • Physics and Astronomy - 1992-1993
    and 1992 Self-Study
  • Political Science - 1996-1997
    and 1996 Self-Study
  • Psychology - 1992-1993
    and 1992 Self-Study
  • Psychology - 2000-2001
    and 2000 Self-Study
  • Religion - 1991-1992
    and 1991 Self-Study
  • Rhetoric - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Russian - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies - 1995-1996
    and 1995 Self-Study
  • Social Work - 1991-1992
    and 1991 Self-Study
  • Sociology - 1993-1994
    and 1993 Self-Study
  • Sociology - 2002-2003
    and 2002 Self-Study
  • Spanish and Portuguese - 1995-1996
  • Spanish and Portuguese, Self-Study - 1995
  • Speech Pathology and Audiology - 1994
  • Box 13:
  • Speech Pathology and Audiology, Self-Study - 1993
  • Sport, Health, Leisure and Physical Studies - 1997-1998
    and 1997 Self-Study
  • Statistics and Actuarial Science - 1996-1997
    and 1996 Self-Study
  • Theatre Arts - 1994-1995
    and 1994 Self-Study
  • Box 14:
  • Unified Program, Self-Study - 1996
  • Women's Studies - 1992-1993
    and 1992 Self-Study
  • Writer's Workshop - 1992-1994
    and 1992 Self-Study
  • Series 4: EXTERNAL REVIEWS
  • Box 15:
  • External Review: Evaluation Visit Report, April - 1978
  • External Review: Documentation and Review - 1984-1985
  • Series 5: SELF-STUDIES [CLAS]
  • Box 15:
  • Self-Study: "The State of the College," April - 1983
    2 copies
  • Self-Study: FYI (Assorted Issues) - 1986-1987
  • Self-Study: Governance Committee - Reports and Proposals - 1982-1987
  • Self-Study: Manuals of Procedure - 1966-1986
  • Self-Study: Miscellaneous - 1986-1987
  • Self-Study: Mission and Structure of UI - 1987
  • Self-Study: Mission and Structure Subcommittee - 1986-1987
  • Box 16:
  • Self-Study: Mission Statements from Various Universities - 1986
  • Self-Study: Report on Long-Range Academic Planning, April - 1986
  • Self-Study: Responses to NCA Criteria - 1986
  • Self-Study: Self-Study Committee Reports, October-December - 1986
  • Box 17:
  • Self-Study: Self-Study Plan - 1986-1987
  • Self-Study: Self-Study Report Outline - Report from Ombudsperson - 1987
  • Self-Study: Subcommittee Reports - 1987
  • Self-Study: UI Mission Statement - 1987
  • Series 6: MISCELLANEOUS
  • Box 17:
  • Absence Rules - 1935, 1937, 1941-1942, 1957
  • Academic Programs Office - 1985-1986, 1992
  • Advisors - 1994-1950, 1955, 1973-1974
  • Assorted Correspondence - 1918-1975
  • Assorted Documentation - 1936-1987
  • Cooperative Education Internship News, November - 1981
  • Courses - 1932, 1947, 1950, 1952
  • Enrollments - 1917-1938
  • Box 18:
  • Faculty Statistics - 1945-1946
  • Freshman Policies - 1934-1935, 1938
  • General Education Requirements - 1943, 1948
  • History of the Collegiate Department from 1879-1900 [William C. Lang] - 1941
  • Instruction and Administrative Lists - 1963-1973
  • Manual of Rules and Procedure - 1949-1974
  • The Next Decade: Plans and Programs [Preliminary Draft] - 1965, 1969
  • The New Program in Liberal Arts - 1945
  • Performance Appraisal and Functional Job Analysis, undated
  • Personnel Data Forms [Blank] - 1952, 1955
  • Questionnaires - 1938, 1940, 1942
  • Registration - 1946-1948
  • Rules and Regulations - 1906-1931
  • Box 19:
  • Rules and Regulations - 1932-1959, 1966, 1976
  • Scholarship Report of Undergrad Males - 1916-1917
  • Sophomore Year Course Rule, undated
  • A Study of the Relationship Between the Educational Background of Seniors and Their Performance in the Area Tests of the Graduate Record Examination - 1955
  • Veterans - 1936, 1941, 1944

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences