Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Policies and Procedures of the University Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1966-2004
Creator: Policies and Procedures of the University
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0006.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of University Relations and other sources at various times.

Preferred Citation: Policies and Procedures of the University Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The collection consists of three series: University Operations Manual, University Organization Charts, and Other Policies.

Series I: First issued in 1966, the Operations Manual addressed all aspects of University policies and procedures. The series includes the original 1966 manual, together with the various pages superceded over the years from 1967-1986. Also included are the later editions of the manual (bound and loose) from 1993-2004.

Series II: The administrative offices of the University's colleges and other units prepared the organization charts at the request of the Office of the President in 1988. The charts identify positions by title. The charts also rank the positions based upon their hierarchical relationships with other positions within their respective units. The files of charts are arranged alphabetically by name of college or unit and occupy one box (0.25 lin. ft.).

Series III: Other policies, including human rights and academic-related.
Additional information about the organizational structure of the University may be obtained from the general catalogs, faculty/staff directories, and the Operations Manual, all housed at the University Archives. In addition, individual departmental records at the archives may contain information about the organization of those respective offices.

A discussion of the University's organization with an emphasis on the relationship between administration and faculty is in Stow Persons. The University of Iowa in the Twentieth Century: An Institutional History (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1990).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: UNIVERSITY OPERATIONS MANUAL
Series 2: UNIVERSITY ORGANIZATION CHARTS
Series 3: OTHER POLICIES

  • Series 1: UNIVERSITY OPERATIONS MANUAL
  • Box 1:
  • Operations Manual (First Issuance) - 1966
  • Operations Manual: Cover Letter - 1966
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part I. University Organization
  • Revision Dates for Part I - 1967-1970, 1972-1973, 1975-1981, 1983, 1986
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part II. Personnel
  • Revision Dates for Part II - 1968-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part II. Personnel
  • Revision Dates for Part II - 1976-1983, 1985
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part III. Financial
  • Revision Dates for Part III - 1968-1969, 1971-1973, 1975-1983, 1985
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part IV. Services
  • Revision Dates for Part IV - 1969, 1971, 1973, 1975, 1977-1979, 1981-1982, 1985
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part V. Students
  • Revision Dates for Part V - 1966, 1969, 1973, 1975, 1978-1979, 1982
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part VI. Buildings and Campus Facilities
  • Revision Dates for Part VI - 1966-1968, 1970-1973, 1975, 1977-1979, 1983
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part VII. Miscellaneous
  • Revision Dates for Part VII - 1968-1969, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1979, 1983, 1986
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Part VIII. Forms
  • Revision Dates for Part VIII - 1966, 1968-1969, 1971-1973, 1975-1983
    Arranged by form #
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Appendix
  • Revision Dates for - 1975-1981
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Index
  • Revision Dates for Index - 1969-1980
  • Box 3:
  • Operations Manual (Superceded Pages): Index
  • Revision Dates for Index - 1981-1986
  • Operations Manual: Instructions for Changes - 1970-1990
  • Box 4:
  • Operations Manual (Bound) - 1993, 1998-1999
  • Addenda for 1994-1996
  • Box 5:
  • Operations Manual (Bound) - 2000-2001
  • Box 6:
  • Operations Manual (3 folders) - 2003
  • Operations Manual - 2004
  • Series 2: UNIVERSITY ORGANIZATION CHARTS
  • Academic Affairs, Office of - 1988
  • Alumni Association - 1988
  • Business Administration, College of - 1988
  • Continuing Education, Office of - 1988
  • Dentistry, College of - 1988
  • Education, College of - 1988
  • Educational Development and Research - 1988
  • Engineering, College of - 1988
  • Finance and University Services, Office of - 1988
  • Graduate College - 1988
  • Law, College of - 1988
  • Liberal Arts, College of - 1988
  • Medicine, College of - 1988
  • Nursing, College of - 1988
  • Pharmacy, College of - 1988
  • President, Office of the - 1991, 1993
  • Series 3: OTHER POLICIES
  • Human Rights Policy
  • Explicit Materials Policy
  • Academic Policies and Other Useful Information for Students - 2003-2007

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration