Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Committee on Human Rights Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1952-
Creator: Committee on Human Rights (1886-1976)
Extent: 3.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0003.040
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times. Processed by David McCartney and guide posted to the Internet in 2002; revised December 2006.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

In January 1963, President Virgil Hancher established the University Committee on Human Rights to implement the newly-adopted University Policy on Human Rights set forth in the Code of Student Life. The policy and committee were established in part as a response to the problem of off-campus housing discrimination against students on account of race.

Multi-faceted in its functions, the committee in its first year included six subcommittees: consumer service, employment, education, public affairs, housing, and legal procedures. Members of the full committee during the 1963-1964 academic term included Sara Brogan, Edward Bennett, Michael Carver, Philip Hubbard, Donald Johnson, William Nusser, and chairman Willard Boyd.

Throughout its existence, the Committee has formulated or influenced the University's official policies with respect to discrimination and equal opportunity. In 1972, with the establishment of the Office of Affirmative Action, the function of receiving, hearing and resolving complaints of discrimination was gradually transferred from the Committee to the OAA.

As a Charter Committee of the University, the Human Rights Committee reports directly to the Office of the President. Its administrative officers during the 2002-2003 academic term consisted of the Director of Student Services, the General Counsel, and the Director of the Office of Affirmative Action.

The records of the Human Rights Committee date from 1952 to 1986 and measure about 3.0 linear feet (six boxes). They are arranged in 11 series: Minutes and Agendas, Committee Member Lists, Policies, Annual Reports, Administrative, Printed Matter, News Clippings and Releases, Student Organizations, Inter-University Relations, Correspondence, and Memoranda.Topics addressed in the collection include issues of discrimination with respect to race, creed, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, sexual orientation, and gender identity in the areas of housing, admissions, and access to other educational opportunities at the University.Organizational HistoryIn January 1963, President Virgil Hancher established the University Committee on Human Rights to implement the newly-adopted University Policy on Human Rights set forth in the Code of Student Life. The policy and committee were established in part as a response to the problem of off-campus housing discrimination against students on account of race.Multi-faceted in its functions, the committee in its first year included six subcommittees: consumer service, employment, education, public affairs, housing, and legal procedures. Members of the full committee during the 1963-1964 academic term included Sara Brogan, Edward Bennett, Michael Carver, Philip Hubbard, Donald Johnson, William Nusser, and chairman Willard Boyd.
Papers of Philip G. Hubbard (RG99.0248)

Records of the Office of Student Life (RG05.0003.019)

Records of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union (RG02.0003.018)

Florman, Jean C. "Traces: Personal Accounts of a History Nearly Lost." Iowa City Magazine 6, no. 1 (January 1995): 14-21, illus. Includes black student housing.

Hubbard, Philip G. New Dawns: A 150-Year Look at Human Rights at the University of Iowa. Iowa City: Sesquicentennial Committee, University of Iowa, 1996. 210 pp., illus., notes.

"The Iowa Federation Home." In Lifting as They Climb, by Elizabeth Lindsay Davis, pp. 151-155. Washington, D.C.: National Association of Colored Women, 1933; New York: G.K. Hall, 1996. Also, as "A Home for Black Women at the University of Iowa, 1908-1929." In Black Women in Higher Education: An Anthology of Essays, Studies, and Documents, edited by Elizabeth L. Ihle, pp. 93-97. New York: Garland, 1992.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: MINUTES AND AGENDAS
Series 2: COMMITTEE MEMBERS
Series 3: POLICIES
Series 4: ANNUAL REPORTS
Series 5: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 6: PRINTED MATTER
Series 7: NEWS CLIPPINGS AND RELEASES
Series 8: STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS
Series 9: INTER-UNIVERSITY RELATIONS
Series 10: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 11: MEMORANDA

  • Series 1: MINUTES AND AGENDAS
  • Box 1:
  • Other Committees - 1963-1976
  • Chronological - 1963-1971
  • Chronological - 1972-1973
  • Chronological - 1977
  • Chronological - 1978
  • Chronological - 1978-1979
    Colleen Jones
  • Chronological - 1979
  • Chronological - 1980
  • Chronological - 1983
  • Chronological, undated
  • Series 2: COMMITTEE MEMBERS
  • Box 1:
  • Various dates
  • Series 3: POLICIES
  • Box 1:
  • Chronological - 1958-1986
  • Chronological, undated
  • Series 4: ANNUAL REPORTS
  • Box 1:
  • Chronological - 1963-1967, 1992-
    Incomplete
  • Series 5: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 2:
  • Chronological - 1962-1981
  • Undated
  • Series 6: PRINTED MATTER
  • Box 2:
  • Publications, including "The Fraternity Way" - 1963
  • Publications on discrimination in higher education - 1952-1963
  • Booklets
  • American Council on Education Studies
  • Proposals for state civil rights statutes
  • Pamphlets and Brochures
  • Newsletters
    Including Iowa City Human Rights Commission, Iowa Defender
  • Articles: Newspaper, journal, magazine
  • Box 3:
  • Reports: external
  • Reports
  • Monograph: “Educational Directions for Student Services” by Philip Hubbard - 1978
  • Monograph: “Case Study in Educational Decision-Making” by Will McCarther - 1974
  • Monograph: “The First Ten Years of the University of Iowa Human Rights Committee” - 1975
  • Series 7: NEWS CLIPPINGS AND RELEASES
  • Box 3:
  • Scrapbook (fragile) - 1956-1964
  • Box 4:
  • News clippings - 1960-1969
  • News clippings - 1961-1964
  • News clippings - 1964-1979
  • News releases - 1956-1965
  • Series 8: STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS
  • Box 4:
  • Student organizations
  • Series 9: INTER-UNIVERSITY RELATIONS
  • Box 4:
  • Southern University Exchange - 1963-1964
  • Committee on Institutional Cooperation - 1962-1964
  • Series 10: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 5:
  • Chronological, undated
  • Chronological - 1953-1962
  • Chronological - 1963
    folder 1
  • Chronological - 1963
    folder 2
  • Chronological - 1963
    Willared Boyd, chair
  • Chronological - 1964
  • Chronological - 1965
  • Chronological - 1966
  • Chronological - 1967
  • Chronological - 1968
  • Chronological - 1971
  • Chronological - 1972
  • Chronological - 1978
  • Chronological - 1978-1980
    Colleen Jones, chair
  • Chronological - 1979
  • Chronological - 1980
  • Chronological - 1981
  • Series 11: MEMORANDA
  • Box 6:
  • Chronological - 1963
  • Chronological - 1964-1965
  • Chronological - 1966-1969
  • Chronological - 1971
  • Chronological - 1972
  • Chronological - 1973-1974
  • Chronological - 1978-1979
  • Chronological, undated

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration