Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Office of the Provost Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-1969
Creator: Office of the Provost (1886-1962)
Extent: 5.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0002.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Preliminary processing June 13, 1988; inventory by Earl M. Rogers. Guide posted to the Internet 1997; revised December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Office of the Provost Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Office of the Provost is responsible for overseeing the University's academic programs, faculty matters, student academic affairs, and strategic academic planning. The office has existed in some form since the University opened for classes in 1855, but was not so named until 1950 when Harvey Henry Davis, formerly executive dean of the Division of Research and Teaching, was appointed Provost. The title of the position has changed over the years, though the office's function has remained essentially the same.

In 1963, following Dean Davis's retirement, the position was renamed Vice President for Instruction and Dean of Faculties, and Ray L. Heffner, Jr., was appointed to the post. He was succeeded in 1965 by Willard L. Boyd as Vice President for Academic Affairs. The title of Provost was restored in 1969 when Mr. Heffner was again named to the position soon after Mr. Boyd was inaugurated as the University's 15th president.

In 1973, May Brodbeck was appointed by President Boyd to succeed Mr. Heffner as Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculties, a position she held until 1981. Richard Remington followed Ms. Brodbeck, serving until 1989, when he was succeeded by Peter E. Nathan. In 1993, the title of Provost was reinstated a third time and Mr. Nathan continued to serve in that capacity until 1996. Jon Whitmore served as Provost from 1996 to 2004, and Michael Hogan succeeded him in 2004.

[D. McCartney; 12/2006].

Preliminary processing June 13, 1988. There are one or more unnumbered folders under each heading. Records document the service of Willard L. Boyd, academic vice president of the University, and his successor, Ray L. Heffner, Jr. University provost. Organizational History: The Office of the Provost is responsible for overseeing the University's academic programs, faculty matters, student academic affairs, and strategic academic planning. The office has existed in some form since the University opened for classes in 1855, but was not so named until 1950 when Harvey Henry Davis, formerly executive dean of the Division of Research and Teaching, was appointed Provost. The title of the position has changed over the years, though the office's function has remained essentially the same.

In 1963, following Dean Davis's retirement, the position was renamed Vice President for Instruction and Dean of Faculties, and Ray L. Heffner, Jr., was appointed to the post. He was succeeded in 1965 by Willard L. Boyd as Vice President for Academic Affairs. The title of Provost was restored in 1969 when Mr. Heffner was again named to the position soon after Mr. Boyd was inaugurated as the University's 15th president.In 1973, May Brodbeck was appointed by President Boyd to succeed Mr. Heffner as Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculties, a position she held until 1981. Richard Remington followed Ms. Brodbeck, serving until 1989, when he was succeeded by Peter E. Nathan. In 1993, the title of Provost was reinstated a third time and Mr. Nathan continued to serve in that capacity until 1996. Jon Whitmore served as Provost from 1996 to 2004, and Michael Hogan succeeded him in 2004.

[D. McCartney 12/2006].
Papers of Howard R. Bowen (RG05.0001.012)

Papers of Willard L. Boyd (RG05.0001.013)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Institute of Child Behavior
  • Child Development - Ames
  • Graduate College
  • Collegiate Deans
  • Nursing
  • Box 2:
  • Nursing
  • Administrative Council
  • Academic Board Minutes
  • Law
  • School Finance Study Commission
  • Mr. Heffner (Budget?)
  • Faculty Council
  • Business Administration
  • Business Administration Deanship
  • Salary
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  • Interinstitutional Committee on Environmental Studies
  • Box 3:
  • Interinstitutional Committee on Educational Cooperation
  • Toledo Meeting
  • Council on Teaching
  • Community and Environmental Health
  • Medicine
  • Box 4:
  • Medicine
  • ROTC
  • Miscellaneous
  • Box 5:
  • Miscellaneous

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration