Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hunter R. Rawlings III Papers

Collection Overview
Date Span:1988-1994
Creator:Rawlings, Hunter R.
Extent:74.75 linear feet.
Collection Number:RG05.0001.16
Repository:University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Hunter R. Rawlings III served as the seventeenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1988 to 1995.
 
A classics scholar, Rawlings was a noted author and editor as well as professor when he was named university president in 1988. His book, The Structure of Thucydides? History, was published in 1981.
 
Rawlings is a 1966 graduate of Haverford College, with honors in classics. He received a Ph.D. in 1970 from Princeton University, where he was a Woodrow Wilson Fellow and National Defense Education Act Fellow.
 
In 1970 Rawlings joined the classics faculty at the University of Colorado at Boulder and, in 1978, became department chair. He was named full professor in 1980 and served as associate vice chancellor for instruction from 1980 to 1984. He received the University of Colorado Teaching Excellence Award in 1979.
 
While president at Iowa, Rawlings chaired the Governor?s Commission on Foreign Language Studies and International Education for the State of Iowa from 1988 to 1991. In 1995 as he completed his presidency, he was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. During the same year he was named president of Cornell University.
 
Rawlings was born in Norfolk, Virginia, in 1944 and is married to Elizabeth Trapnell Rawlings. They have four children.

The collection consists of three series: Correspondence, Publications, and Speeches and Articles. The Correspondence series is closed to research 30 years after date of creation. The Publications and Speeches/Articles series are open for research.

Access: The Correspondence Series is closed to research for 30 years after date of creation. The remaining series (Publications, Speeches and Articles) are open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 1996. Preliminary container list prepared April 4, 1997. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Hunter R. Rawlings III Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository:University of Iowa Archives
Address:100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:319-335-5921
Curator:David McCartney
Email:david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website:http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/archives

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.