Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Thomas H. Macbride Papers

Collection Overview
Date Span:1845-1954
Creator:Macbride, Thomas H. (1882-1967)
Extent:16.50 linear feet.
Collection Number:RG05.0001.08
Repository:University of Iowa Archives
Summary:Tenth president of the University of Iowa, 1914-1916.

Thomas Huston Macbride served as the tenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1914 to 1916.
 
Though he was president of the university for only two years, Macbride served the campus for more than a half-century as a scholar, conservationist, and administrator. The building that bears his name was constructed in 1904 as the Hall of Natural Science and was renamed in his honor in 1934.
 
Macbride received the Bachelor of Arts and, in 1873, the Master of Arts degrees from Monmouth College in Illinois. He joined the University of Iowa in 1878, becoming a professor of botany in 1883. In 1902, he was made head of the Department of Botany and served as secretary of the faculty from 1887 to 1893.
 
His love for the outdoors and its preservation inspired him to become the first president of the Iowa Park and Forestry Association, organized in 1901. He founded the Lakeside Laboratory at Lake Okoboji in northwest Iowa and promoted the development of state parks, including the lake and park that bear his name in Johnson County, north of Iowa City.
 
Macbride was born in Rogersville, Tennessee, on July 31, 1848. He married Harriet Diffenderfer on December 31, 1875, and they had four children. He died in Seattle, Washington, on March 27, 1934, at age 85.

The papers of Thomas H. Macbride consist of approximately eight linear feet of manuscripts (series I) dating from 1845 to 1954. They are organized alphabetically by format of material, and then chronologically within each format. They document his career as a professor and president of the University of Iowa from 1914 to 1916. The papers also include about eight linear feet of administrative records from the Office of the President of the University (series II).
 
Included in series I are letters from: Paul Bartsch, Charles E. Bessey, W.R. Boyd, Jay N. Darling, Harvey Ingham, Laurence C. Jones, Frank O. Lowden, G.W. Martin, Louis H. Pammel, Gifford Pinchot, Carl E. Seashore, Fred J. Seaver, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Bertha M.H. Shambaugh, Bohumil Shimek, John Springer, and Robert B. Wylie.
 
Macbride's work as botanist is reflected in items in series I such as speeches and lectures he delivered, articles he wrote, notebooks he kept, and his Iowa Lakeside Laboratory research. Also included are diaries and newspaper clippings which show his connections with University of Iowa Archives  Philip D. Macbride Papers, University of Washington  and the Nineteenth Century Club and Raphael Club records, State Historical Society of Iowa.
 
Other family members are represented in the Macbride papers, series I, such as Harriet D. Macbride's diaries and notebooks, and Jean Macbride's compositions.Note that this finding aid describes only the personal papers series of the Thomas H. Macbride papers. Not described here but also part of the papers are his presidential correspondence series (8.5 ft.), letters of appreciation volume (0.25 ft.), and publications series (1.0 ft.).

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University Archives by the family of Thomas H. Macbride in 1964, and by his grandson, T.H. Macbride, in 1979. Guide posted to the Internet October 2000; updated December 2006. Further revisions by Alexandra Drehman, June 2011.

Preferred Citation: Thomas H. Macbride Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository:University of Iowa Archives
Address:100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone:319-335-5921
Curator:David McCartney
Email:david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website:http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/spec-coll/archives

Browse by Series:
The detailed description has not been entered into the repository.
To view the content list, please follow this link.