Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Mary Sue Coleman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1995-2001
Creator: Coleman, Mary Sue (1943-)
Extent: 3.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.018
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Eighteenth president of the University of Iowa.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Please read The University of Iowa Libraries' statement on Property Rights, Copyright Law, and Permissions to Use Unpublished Materials.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 2001. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Mary Sue Coleman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The first woman to lead the University of Iowa, Mary Sue Coleman held academic appointments as professor of biochemistry in the College of Medicine and of biological sciences in the College of Liberal Arts while university president.
 
A native of Kentucky, Coleman attended junior high and high school in Cedar Falls, Iowa. In 1965 she earned a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Grinnell College and in 1969 received a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of North Carolina.
 
For 19 years Coleman was a member of the biochemistry faculty at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, where her research focused on the immune system and malignancies. In 1990 she was named associate provost and dean of research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and in 1992 became its vice chancellor for graduate studies and research. From 1993 until her return to Iowa, she was provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of New Mexico.
 
She has been a member or chair of scientific review panels for the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, and the editorial board of the Journal of Biological Chemistry. She was named president of the University of Michigan in 2002 after serving seven years as president at Iowa.
 
Coleman was born October 2, 1943, and is married to Kenneth Coleman, a political scientist. They have one son.

Folder in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches - 1995-2001

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Coleman, Mary Sue

Topics:
Universities and colleges

Occupations:
College administrators
College presidents

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Sources

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration