Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Peter E. Nathan Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1994-1995
Creator: Nathan, Peter E. (1935-)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.017
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Vice president for academic affairs, dean of the faculties, and provost. Also interim president of the University of Iowa. 1994-1995.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 1995. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Peter E. Nathan Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Peter E. Nathan was born on April 18, 1935, in St. Louis, Missouri. He received the B.A. in social relations from Harvard College in 1957 and the Ph.D. in clinical psychology from Washington University in 1962. He was a member of the Harvard Medical School faculty from 1962 to 1969 and from 1969 to 1987 served as director of clinical training in psychology in the Graduate School at Rutgers, The State University. From 1987 to 1989 he was a program officer with the MacArthur Foundation.
 
In 1990 Nathan was appointed University of Iowa Foundation Distinguished Professor of Psychology. During the same year he was named Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculties at the University of Iowa, a position he held until 1993 when he was appointed Provost. In 1995 he was Acting President of the university between the Rawlings and Coleman administrations.

Biographical file in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches - 1994-1995

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Nathan, Peter E.

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Department of Psychology

Topics:
Education, Higher

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration