Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Hunter R. Rawlings III Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1988-1994
Creator: Rawlings, Hunter R.
Extent: 74.75 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.016
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: The Correspondence Series is closed to research for 30 years after date of creation. The remaining series (Publications, Speeches and Articles) are open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 1996. Preliminary container list prepared April 4, 1997. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Hunter R. Rawlings III Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Hunter R. Rawlings III served as the seventeenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1988 to 1995.

A classics scholar, Rawlings was a noted author and editor as well as professor when he was named university president in 1988. His book, The Structure of Thucydides' History, was published in 1981.

Rawlings is a 1966 graduate of Haverford College, with honors in classics. He received a Ph.D. in 1970 from Princeton University, where he was a Woodrow Wilson Fellow and National Defense Education Act Fellow.

In 1970 Rawlings joined the classics faculty at the University of Colorado at Boulder and, in 1978, became department chair. He was named full professor in 1980 and served as associate vice chancellor for instruction from 1980 to 1984. He received the University of Colorado Teaching Excellence Award in 1979.

While president at Iowa, Rawlings chaired the Governor's Commission on Foreign Language Studies and International Education for the State of Iowa from 1988 to 1991. In 1995 as he completed his presidency, he was elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. During the same year he was named president of Cornell University.

Rawlings was born in Norfolk, Virginia, in 1944 and is married to Elizabeth Trapnell Rawlings. They have four children.

The collection consists of three series: Correspondence, Publications, and Speeches and Articles. The Correspondence series is closed to research 30 years after date of creation. The Publications and Speeches/Articles series are open for research.
Biographical file in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives

Rawlings, Hunter R. "The University and the Public." Iowa City: The University of Iowa, 1992.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS
Series 3: SPEECHES AND ARTICLES

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • 1-39.1 - 1988
  • Box 2:
  • 39.3-43
  • Box 3:
  • 44-50
  • Box 4:
  • 50-53
  • Box 5:
  • Pres. Off. (1-46.13?) - 1989
  • Box 6:
  • 46.14-53.7
  • Box 7:
  • Athletics
  • Box 8:
  • 1.0-1.10 - 1991
  • Box 9:
  • 1.10-40.0
  • Box 10:
  • 7.8, 1.19-5.0
  • Box 11:
  • 7.0-7.28
  • Box 12:
  • 7.31-8
  • Box 13:
  • 8.4-9
  • Box 14:
  • 10.0-19
  • Box 15:
  • 20-23
  • Box 16:
  • 23.1-23.8
  • Box 17:
  • 24-29
  • Box 18:
  • 30-32
  • Box 19:
  • 32.31-34
  • Box 20:
  • 40.7-46.11
  • Box 21:
  • 41-41.6
  • Box 22:
  • 46.12-51
  • Box 23:
  • 51.0-54.0
  • Box 24:
  • V.P. for research, 1 of 2
  • Box 25:
  • V.P. for research search
  • Box 26:
  • Internal audit, 2 of 2
  • Box 27:
  • Program closings; German
  • Box 28:
  • 1.0-53 - 1992
  • Box 29:
  • Liberal arts - student - 1993
  • Box 30:
  • Thru law
  • Box 31:
  • V.P. finance - pharmacy
  • Box 32:
  • UIHC - Big 10
  • Box 33:
  • Chair/council of 10 + NCAA
  • Box 34:
  • NCAA thru associations/boards
  • Box 35:
  • NCAA thru associations/boards
  • Box 36:
  • NCAA thru associations/boards
  • Box 37:
  • Councils thru UI Foundation
  • Box 38:
  • Councils thru UI Foundation
  • Box 39:
  • #1 - 1994
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 40:
  • Publications
  • Series 3: SPEECHES AND ARTICLES
  • Box 41:
  • Speeches and articles

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Rawlings, Hunter R.

Occupations:
College presidents

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Articles
Correspondence

Local Term:
Publications

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration