Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Richard D. Remington Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1987-1988
Creator: Remington, Richard D. (1931-1992)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.015
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives by the Office of the President in 1989.

Preferred Citation: Richard D. Remington Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Richard Delleraine Remington was born Aug. 2, 1931, in Nampa, Idaho. He married Betty Brooks Morrison on Dec. 28, 1952. He received bachelors and masters degrees, both in mathematics, from the University of Montana in Missoula and an M.P.H. (1957) and a Ph.D. in Public Health Statistics (1958) from the University of Michigan.
 
He came to the University of Iowa in 1982 as vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculties. He held that post until August 1988 and also served as interim president in 1987-88 after James O. Freedman resigned. In 1988 he returned to full-time teaching and research in the UI College of Medicine and served as director of the Institute for Health, Behavior and Environmental Policy.
 
Remington died July 26, 1992, in Iowa City. At the time of his death he was UI Foundation Distinguished Professor of Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health.

This collection includes Remington's speeches and research notes.
Folder, "Remington, Richard D.," in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files (RG01.0015.003).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches, research notes - 1987-1988

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Remington, Richard D.

Occupations:
College administrators

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Notebooks
Sources

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration
University of Iowa College of Medicine