Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the James Freedman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1982-1987
Creator: Freedman, James (1935-2006)
Extent: 7.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.014
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Sixteenth president of the University of Iowa, 1982-1987

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President in 1989. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: James Freedman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

A strong supporter of liberal arts education, James O. Freedman has cited its role in preparing students for community and national leadership. His 1996 book, Idealism and Liberal Education, was a call for such preparation.

Freedman received his B.A. cum laude from Harvard College in 1957 and his L.L.B. cum laude from Yale Law School in 1962. He was a law clerk to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall, practiced law in New York, and, in 1964, joined the University of Pennsylvania law school faculty, becoming the school's dean in 1979.

During his five years as president at Iowa, Freedman promoted international participation by U.S. universities, particularly in East Asia. He also advocated coupling academic research with economic development.

In 1987, Freedman was named president of Dartmouth College, a position he held for nearly 11 years. In 1998, he returned to teaching at Dartmouth and, in 2000, was elected the 42nd president of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Freedman was born in Manchester, New Hampshire, on September 21, 1935, and died March 21, 2006. He and his wife, Bathsheba, had two children.

Freedman, James O. Finding the Words: The Education of James O. Freedman. Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2007.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Inauguration - 1982
    2.0 ft.
  • Box 2:
  • Speeches and publications - 1982-1987
    4.75 ft.
  • Box 3:
  • International Alumni - 1984
    .025 ft.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration