Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Willard L. Boyd Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1969-1976
Creator: Boyd, Willard L.
Extent: 108.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.013
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: President of the University of Iowa, 1969-1981.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President at various times. Partial inventory by Xuefan Sun, July 16, 1996. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Willard L. Boyd Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"Willard Lee ('Sandy') Boyd served as the fifteenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1969 to 1981.

In 1969, at age 42, Boyd became one of the youngest University of Iowa presidents to assume office. He did so during one of the most tumultuous periods of student unrest in the history of the school.

Boyd received the Bachelor of Science degree in law from the University of Minnesota in 1949 and the L.L.B. in 1951. He received the L.L.M. from the University of Michigan in 1952 and the S.J.D. in 1962. After practicing law in Minneapolis, he became a professor of law at Iowa in 1954, serving on the faculty until 1964, at which time he was named vice president for academic affairs. As president of the university, Boyd supported increased funding for the institution, including higher faculty salaries. During the student unrest of the early 1970s, Boyd was credited with maintaining dialogue between the administration and student leaders. An advocate of human rights, he was appointed in 1962 as the first chair of the university's Human Rights Committee.

From 1981 to 1996, Boyd was president of the Field Museum in Chicago. In 1996, he returned to Iowa to teach law. Among his many honors, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2000. In 2002, he was named acting president of the university following the resignation of Mary Sue Coleman, who accepted the presidency of the University of Michigan. In 2003, he received the Rawlings-Miller professorship, the highest honor for a University of Iowa faculty member.

Boyd was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, on March 29, 1927. He married Susan Kuehn on August 28, 1954, and they have three children.

Since the Walter Jessup administration in 1916, the President's Office has maintained an index of Presidential Correspondence in the form of a Kardex file to which name and subject entries are posted. A new alphabetical sequence is begun approximately each fiscal year. These cards files have been photocopied and a bound copy is available in the University Archives; these primary files are not yet available on-line. They are, clearly, essential to tracing correspondence on specific subjects.

The Kardex entries consist of the name or subject and reference to a folder number (which may change from year to year for a particular subject although in a short span of years it often remains the same). To find the current physical location of the referenced folder, readers must consult the photocopied Kardex entries, note the number of any folder they wish to review, and then determine from the list which follows the number of the storage box in which the folder has been placed.
Green, Judith, and Roxanne T. Mueller. "A Portrait of the Artist--and the Subject." Iowa Alumni Review 35, no. 2 (February-March 1982): 10-12, illus. Portraits of Willard L. Boyd and other UI presidents.

Boyd, Willard. "Oral History Interview." Iowa City, 1981. 16 pp. Concerns Iowa Child Welfare Research Station. Oral History Collection, University Archives.

Biographical file in Faculty and Staff Vertical Files, University Archives

Boyd is the author of numerous monographs and articles. Subjects include legal responsibilities and management of non-profit organizations, and museum administration.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE INDEX
Series 2: ADDENDUM
Series 3: SPEECHES

  • Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE INDEX
  • Box 1:
  • Folders 1-4B - 1969-1970
  • Box 2:
  • Folders 4B-6E - 1969-1970
  • Box 3:
  • Folders 6E-6P - 1969-1970
  • Box 4:
  • Folders 6P-9 - 1969-1970
  • Box 5:
  • Folder 9 - 1969-1970
  • Box 6:
  • Folders 9-9C - 1969-1970
  • Box 7:
  • Folders 9C-12 - 1969-1970
  • Unnumbered folder: Tuition
  • Box 8:
  • Folders 12A-16 - 1969-1970
  • Box 9:
  • Folders 17-26 - 1969-1970
  • Box 10:
  • Folders 26-30B - 1969-1970
  • Box 11:
  • Folders 31-37C - 1969-1970
  • Box 12:
  • Folders 38-42 - 1969-1970
  • Box 13:
  • Folders 42-48 - 1969-1970
  • Box 14:
  • Folders 48-54 - 1969-1970
  • Box 15:
  • Folders 55-60N - 1969-1970
  • Box 16:
  • Folders 60O-60Y - 1969-1970
  • Unnumbered folder: Athletic letters
  • Box 17:
  • Folders 60Z-64 - 1969-1970
  • Unnumbered folder: Fox
  • Box 18:
  • Folders 65-73 - 1969-1970
  • Box 19:
  • Folders 74-80C - 1969-1970
  • Box 20:
  • Folders 80D-81 - 1969-1970
  • Unnumbered folder: Postage Stamps
  • Unnumbered folder: Printing
  • Unnumbered folder: General Stores
  • Unnumbered folder: Iowa Memorial Union food service
  • Unnumbered folder: Car pool
  • Box 21:
  • Folders 82-91 - 1969-1970
  • Box 22:
  • Folders 92-93 - 1969-1970
  • Unnumbered folder: "Strike" letters [W.L. Boys, 1964-1970]
  • Unnumbered folder: "Strike" letters [W.L. Boys, 1964-1968]
  • Box 23:
  • Folder 93 - 1969-1970
  • Unnumbered folders: May demonstrations
    2 folders
  • Box 24:
  • Folders 93B-105A - 1969-1970
  • Box 25:
  • Folders 105A-200 - 1969-1970
  • Box 26:
  • Folders 1-5 - 1970-1971
  • Box 27:
  • Folders 6-6C - 1970-1971
  • Box 28:
  • Folders 6D-6M - 1970-1971
  • Box 29:
  • Folders 6N-10 - 1970-1971
  • Box 30:
  • Folders 10A-11 - 1970-1971
  • Box 31:
  • Folders 11A-23 - 1970-1971
  • Box 32:
  • Folders 24-27A - 1970-1971
  • Box 33:
  • Folders 28-32 - 1970-1971
  • Box 34:
  • Folders 33-38 - 1970-1971
  • Box 35:
  • Folders 38-43 - 1970-1971
  • Box 36:
  • Folders 43-49 - 1970-1971
  • Box 37:
  • Folders 49A-57 - 1970-1971
  • Box 38:
  • Folders 60-60P - 1970-1971
  • Box 39:
  • Folders 60P-60T - 1970-1971
  • Box 40:
  • Folders 60U-64 - 1970-1971
  • Box 41:
  • Folders 64-74 - 1970-1971
  • Box 42:
  • Folders 75-78N - 1970-1971
  • Box 43:
  • Folders 79-85 - 1970-1971
  • Box 44:
  • Folders 86-93A - 1970-1971
  • Box 45:
  • Folders 93A-97B - 1970-1971
  • Box 46:
  • Folders 98-113 - 1970-1971
  • Box 47:
  • Folders 2-4B - 1971-1972
  • Box 48:
  • Folders 4B-6H - 1971-1972
  • Box 49:
  • Folders 6I-6Q - 1971-1972
  • Box 50:
  • Folders 6R-6U - 1971-1972
  • Box 51:
  • Folders 7-10A - 1971-1972
  • Box 52:
  • Folders 10A-10B - 1971-1972
  • Box 53:
  • Folders 11-16 - 1971-1972
  • Box 54:
  • Folders 17-25 - 1971-1972
  • Box 55:
  • Folders 26-28B - 1971-1972
  • Box 56:
  • Folders 29-30 - 1971-1972
  • Box 57:
  • Folders 31-35 - 1971-1972
  • Box 58:
  • Folders 37-41 - 1971-1972
  • Box 59:
  • Folders 41A-46 - 1971-1972
  • Box 60:
  • Folders 47-49F - 1971-1972
  • Box 61:
  • Folders 49G-60I - 1971-1972
  • Box 62:
  • Folders 60J-60V - 1971-1972
  • Box 63:
  • Folders 60X-64 - 1971-1972
  • Box 64:
  • Folders 64-73 - 1971-1972
  • Box 65:
  • Folders 74-78G - 1971-1972
  • Box 66:
  • Folders 78H-86 - 1971-1972
  • Box 67:
  • Folders 87-93C - 1971-1972
  • Box 68:
  • Folders 94-106 - 1971-1972
  • Box 69:
  • Folders 108-112 - 1971-1972
  • Box 70:
  • Folders 1-3B - 1972-1973
  • Box 71:
  • Folders 3B1-6J - 1972-1973
  • Box 72:
  • Folders 6J1-6P3 - 1972-1973
  • Box 73:
  • Folders 6Q-10 - 1972-1973
  • Box 74:
  • Folders 10A-10C - 1972-1973
  • Box 75:
  • Folders 10C-16 - 1972-1973
  • Box 76:
  • Folders 17-27 - 1972-1973
  • Box 77:
  • Folders 27-29 - 1972-1973
  • Box 78:
  • Folders 29-32 - 1972-1973
  • Box 79:
  • Folders 33-40 - 1972-1973
  • Box 80:
  • Folders 41-42D - 1972-1973
  • Box 81:
  • Folders 43-49B - 1972-1973
  • Box 82:
  • Folders 49C-54 - 1972-1973
  • Box 83:
  • Folders 55-60A - 1972-1973
  • Box 84:
  • Folders 60B-60V - 1972-1973
  • Box 85:
  • Folders 60W-64 - 1972-1973
  • Box 86:
  • Folder 64Z - 1972-1973
  • Box 87:
  • Folders 66-79 - 1972-1973
  • Box 88:
  • Folders 79-84 - 1972-1973
  • Unnumbered folder: Activity fee
  • Box 89:
  • Folders 86-93A - 1972-1973
  • Box 90:
  • Folders 93A-102 - 1972-1973
  • Box 91:
  • Folders 102-106 - 1972-1973
  • Box 92:
  • Folders 106-111 - 1972-1973
  • Box 93:
  • Folders 2-3B2 - 1973-1974
  • Box 94:
  • Folders 4-6B - 1973-1974
  • Box 95:
  • Folders 6C-6E - 1973-1974
  • Box 96:
  • Folders 6G-6L3 - 1973-1974
  • Box 97:
  • Folders 6M-9B - 1973-1974
  • Box 98:
  • Folders 10-10A - 1973-1974
  • Box 99:
  • Folders 10A1-11 - 1973-1974
  • Box 100:
  • Folders 12-23 - 1973-1974
  • Box 101:
  • Folders 24-28 - 1973-1974
  • Box 102:
  • Folders 28-31A - 1973-1974
  • Box 103:
  • Folders 33-41 - 1973-1974
  • Box 104:
  • Folders 41-47 - 1973-1974
  • Box 105:
  • Folders 48-49K - 1973-1974
  • Box 106:
  • Folder 49L - 1973-1974
  • Box 107:
  • Folders 50-57J - 1973-1974
  • Box 108:
  • Folders 57K-57ZD - 1973-1974
  • Box 109:
  • Folders 57ZE-60I - 1973-1974
  • Box 110:
  • Folders 60J-70D - 1973-1974
  • Box 111:
  • Folders 70E-71A - 1973-1974
  • Box 112:
  • Folders 71A-81 - 1973-1974
  • Box 113:
  • Folders 82-82D - 1973-1974
  • Box 114:
  • Folders 82E-93B - 1973-1974
  • Box 115:
  • Folders 93C-97 - 1973-1974
  • Box 116:
  • Folders 1-2D - 1974-1975
  • Box 117:
  • Folders 2D-7B - 1974-1975
  • Box 118:
  • Folders 8-8H - 1974-1975
  • Unnumbered folder: American Bar Association
  • Box 119:
  • Folders 8I-8M - 1974-1975
  • Box 120:
  • Folders 9A-10A - 1974-1975
  • Box 121:
  • Folders 10A-11 - 1974-1975
  • Box 122:
  • Folders 12-22 - 1974-1975
  • Unnumbered folder: Committees
  • Box 123:
  • Folders 22-24D - 1974-1975
  • Box 124:
  • Folders 24E-28 - 1974-1975
  • Box 125:
  • Folders 28-34 - 1974-1975
  • Box 126:
  • Folders 34A-37E - 1974-1975
  • Box 127:
  • Folders 37F-55 - 1974-1975
  • Box 128:
  • Folders 57-57W - 1974-1975
  • Box 129:
  • Folders 57Y-60 - 1974-1975
  • Box 130:
  • Folders 60-70 - 1974-1975
  • Box 131:
  • Folders 70B-78 - 1974-1975
  • Box 132:
  • Folders 78-80B - 1974-1975
  • Box 133:
  • Folders 80B-84 - 1974-1975
  • Box 134:
  • Folders 1-2D - 1975-1976
  • Box 135:
  • Folders 2A-3A - 1975-1976
  • Box 136:
  • Folders 4-8 - 1975-1976
  • Box 137:
  • Folders 8-8C - 1975-1976
  • Box 138:
  • Folders 8D-8M - 1975-1976
  • Box 139:
  • Folders 8N-9B - 1975-1976
  • Box 140:
  • Folders 9C-10A - 1975-1976
  • Box 141:
  • Folders 10B-16 - 1975-1976
  • Box 142:
  • Folders 17-22 - 1975-1976
  • Box 143:
  • Folders 22-22E - 1975-1976
  • Box 144:
  • Folders 22G-23 - 1975-1976
  • Box 145:
  • Folders 24-31 - 1975-1976
  • Box 146:
  • Folders 31-32E - 1975-1976
  • Box 147:
  • Folders 33-37I - 1975-1976
  • Box 148:
  • Folders 37J-41 - 1975-1976
  • Box 149:
  • Folders 41-42O - 1975-1976
  • Box 150:
  • Folders 42P-42.9 - 1975-1976
  • Box 151:
  • Folders 42.10-44.6 - 1975-1976
  • Box 152:
  • Folders 44.7-49 - 1975-1976
  • Box 153:
  • Folders 50J-54D - 1975-1976
  • Box 154:
  • Folders 54E-60 - 1975-1976
  • Unnumbered folders: Personnel
    2 folders
  • Box 155:
  • Folders 61-62K - 1975-1976
  • Box 156:
  • Folders 62L-64D - 1975-1976
  • Box 157:
  • Folders 65C - 1975-1976
  • Box 158:
  • Folders 66-68 - 1975-1976
  • Series 2: ADDENDUM
  • Sub-Series: Senate Commission
  • Box 1:
  • Senate Commission
  • Box 2:
  • Senate Commission
  • Box 3:
  • Senate Commission
  • Box 4:
  • Senate Commission
  • Box 5:
  • Senate Commission
  • Box 6:
  • Senate Commission
  • Box 7:
  • Senate Commission
  • Sub-Series: General
  • Box 1:
  • Papers on the Arts
  • Box 2:
  • Papers on the Arts
  • Box 3:
  • Papers on the Arts
  • Box 4:
  • Papers on the Arts
  • Box 5:
  • Papers on the Arts
  • Box 6:
  • Papers on the Arts
  • Box 7:
  • Memos
  • Addresses
  • Letters to others
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence as Interim President - 2002-2003
  • Box 9:
  • Articles
  • Box 10:
  • Books
  • Sub-Series: The Hague Conference
  • Box 1:
  • The Hague Conference
  • Box 2:
  • The Hague Conference
  • Box 3:
  • The Hague Conference
  • Series 3: SPEECHES
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches - 1966-1970 October 22
  • Box 2:
  • Speeches - 1970 October 24-1972 June 17
  • Box 3:
  • Speeches - 1972 July-1973 June 16
  • Box 4:
  • Speeches - 1973 January 28-1974 June
  • Box 5:
  • Speeches - 1974 July-1975 August 20
  • Box 6:
  • Speeches - 1975 August 28-December
  • Box 7:
  • Speeches - 1976 January-September
  • Box 8:
  • Speeches - 1976 Fall-December
  • Box 9:
  • Speeches - 1977 January-June
  • Box 10:
  • Speeches - 1977 July-1978 March
  • Box 11:
  • Speeches - 1978 April-August 23
  • Box 12:
  • Speeches - after 1979 January

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Boyd, Willard L. (Willard Lee), 1927-

Occupations:
College presidents

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Presidential papers

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration