Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Howard Bowen Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1964-1969
Creator: Bowen, Howard R. (1884-1955)
Extent: 67.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.012
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Nineteenth president of the University of Iowa, 1964-1969.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President at various times between 1975 and 1978. Inventory by Xuefan Sun, July 1996. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; revised December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Howard Bown Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The fourteenth president of the University of Iowa, Howard Rothmann Bowen was born in Spokane, Washington, on October 27, 1908. He received his B.A. degree from the State College of Washington in 1929, and his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Iowa in 1933 and 1935, respectively. He and his wife, Lois, raised two children.

Mr. Bowen held a variety of academic and government positions before assuming the university presidency in 1964. From 1935 until 1942, he was a member of the faculty of the University of Iowa's College of Commerce. During World War II, he was employed by the U.S. Department of Commerce and served as chief economist for the U.S. House Ways and Means and Senate Finance committees. In 1945, he joined Irving Trust in New York as an economist. From 1947 until 1952, he was a member of the faculty of the University of Illinois and served on the Williams College faculty in Massachusetts from 1952 until 1955. He returned to Iowa that year to become president of Grinnell College, a post he held until 1964, when he was named University of Iowa president.

In 1969, he joined the Claremont Graduate School in California as a member of the economics faculty, serving as the school's president and chancellor from 1970 to 1974. At the time of his death he was a professor emeritus at Claremont. Howard Bowen died on December 22, 1989.

D. Anderson, March 2005.

Since the Walter Jessup administration in 1916, the President's Office has maintained an index of Presidential Correspondence in the form of a Kardex file to which name and subject entries are posted. A new alphabetical sequence is begun approximately each fiscal year. These cards files have been photocopied and a bound copy is available in the University Archives; these primary files are not yet available on-line. They are, clearly, essential to tracing correspondence on specific subjects.

The Kardex entries consist of the name or subject and reference to a folder number (which may change from year to year for a particular subject although in a short span of years it often remains the same). To find the current physical location of the referenced folder, readers must consult the photocopied Kardex entries, note the number of any folder they wish to review, and then determine from the list which follows the number of the storage box in which the folder has been placed. Please note that folder numbers are not necessarily sequential in Archives holdings, and some folders may have been withdrawn from the sequence by the Office of the President.
Bowen, Howard R. Academic Recollections. Washington, D.C.: American Association for Higher Education and American Council on Education, 1988. 155 pp.

Bowen, Howard R. "Oral History Interview." University of Iowa Oral History Project, 29. 49 pp. 1977.

Solberg, Winton U., and Robert W. Tomilson. "Academic McCarthyism and Keynesian Economics: The Bowen Controversy at the University of Illinois." History of Political Economy 29 (spring 1997): 55-81, notes. Howard R. Bowen and George D. Stoddard.

Bowen was also the author of numerous articles and monographs pertaining to economics.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: ADDENDUM

  • Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Folders 1-2D - 1964-1965
  • Unnumbered folder: Old Gold Development Fund Materials
  • Unnumbered folder: UI Foundation
  • Box 2:
  • Folders 2D-4A - 1964-1965
  • Box 3:
  • Folders 4B-4O - 1964-1965
  • Box 4:
  • Folders 4P-6 - 1964-1965
  • Box 5:
  • Folders 6-10 - 1964-1965
  • Box 6:
  • Folders 11-23 - 1964-1965
  • Box 7:
  • Folders 24-27C - 1964-1965
  • Unnumbered folder: Student Housing
  • Box 8:
  • Folders 28-35 - 1964-1965
  • Box 9:
  • Folders 36-46 - 1964-1965
  • Unnumbered folder: Spriestersbach, Materials regarding
  • Box 10:
  • Folders 47-55 - 1964-1965
  • Box 11:
  • Folders 56-60Q - 1964-1965
  • Unnumbered folder: Zuberi file
  • Box 12:
  • Folders 60R-64 - 1964-1965
  • Box 13:
  • Folders 65-74 - 1964-1965
  • Box 14:
  • Folders 75-79 - 1964-1965
  • Box 15:
  • Folders 80-80E - 1964-1965
  • Box 16:
  • Folders 80F-80Q - 1964-1965
  • Box 17:
  • Folders 81-84 - 1964-1965
  • Unnumbered folder: SUI - Congratulations and Personal
  • Box 18:
  • Folders 85-97B - 1964-1965
  • Box 19:
  • Folders 98-105C - 1964-1965
  • Unnumbered folder: National Committee on Technology
  • Box 20:
  • Folders 105D-112 - 1964-1965
  • Box 21:
  • Folders 1-3 - 1965-1966
  • Box 22:
  • Folders 4-4N - 1965-1966
  • Box 23:
  • Folders 4P-5B - 1965-1966
  • Box 24:
  • Folder 6, letters to State Board of Regents - 1965-1966
  • Box 25:
  • Folders 6-6B - 1965-1966
  • Box 26:
  • Folders 6B-16 - 1965-1966
  • Box 27:
  • Folders 17-25 - 1965-1966
  • Box 28:
  • Folders 27-31 - 1965-1966
  • Box 29:
  • Folders 32-43 - 1965-1966
  • Box 30:
  • Folders 43-47 - 1965-1966
  • Box 31:
  • Folders 48-51 - 1965-1966
  • Unnumbered folder: Measurement Research Center
  • Box 32:
  • Folders 52-60M - 1965-1966
  • Box 33:
  • Folders 60N-61A - 1965-1966
  • Box 34:
  • Folders 61B-61F - 1965-1966
  • Box 35:
  • Folders 62-70 - 1965-1966
  • Box 36:
  • Folders 71-80B - 1965-1966
  • Box 37:
  • Folders 80E-82 - 1965-1966
  • Box 38:
  • Folders 84-93 - 1965-1966
  • Box 39:
  • Folders 93-104 - 1965-1966
  • Box 40:
  • Folders 105-112 - 1965-1966
  • Box 41:
  • Folders 1A-4A - 1966-1967
  • Box 42:
  • Folders 4B-4I - 1966-1967
  • Box 43:
  • Folders 4J-5B - 1966-1967
  • Box 44:
  • Folders 6-9B - 1966-1967
  • Box 45:
  • Folders 10-25 - 1966-1967
  • Box 46:
  • Folders 25-28 - 1966-1967
  • Box 47:
  • Folders 29-40 - 1966-1967
  • Box 48:
  • Folders 41-47 - 1966-1967
  • Box 49:
  • Folders 48-54 - 1966-1967
  • Box 50:
  • Folders 55-60R - 1966-1967
  • Box 51:
  • Folders 60S-62 - 1966-1967
  • Box 52:
  • Folders 63-69 - 1966-1967
  • Box 53:
  • Folders 69-79 - 1966-1967
  • Box 54:
  • Folders 80A-85R - 1966-1967
  • Box 55:
  • Folders 87-93B - 1966-1967
  • Box 56:
  • Folders 94-105H - 1966-1967
  • Box 57:
  • Folders 106, 108, 110W, 111, remodeling projects - 1966-1967
  • Box 58:
  • Folders 1-4B - 1967-1968
  • Box 59:
  • Folders 4B2-4P - 1967-1968
  • Box 60:
  • Folders 4D-5 - 1967-1968
  • Box 61:
  • Folders 6-6A1 - 1967-1968
  • Box 62:
  • Folders 6A1-20 - 1967-1968
  • Box 63:
  • Folders 21-29 - 1967-1968
  • Box 64:
  • Folders 29-36A - 1967-1968
  • Box 65:
  • Folders 38-46 - 1967-1968
  • Box 66:
  • Folders 47-51A - 1967-1968
  • Box 67:
  • Folders 51B-60P2 - 1967-1968
  • Box 68:
  • Folders 60P3-65 - 1967-1968
  • Box 69:
  • Folders 65-76 - 1967-1968
  • Box 70:
  • Folders 76-80F; Personnel matters, civil services, etc. - 1967-1968
  • Box 71:
  • Folders 80G-90 - 1967-1968
  • Box 72:
  • Folders 91-93B - 1967-1968
  • Box 73:
  • Folders 94-105C - 1967-1968
  • Box 74:
  • Folders 105D-112, 200 - 1967-1968
  • Box 75:
  • Folders 1-4 - 1968-1969
  • Box 76:
  • Folders 4A-4P - 1968-1969
  • Box 77:
  • Folders 4Q-6 - 1968-1969
  • Box 78:
  • Folders 6A-9 - 1968-1969
  • Box 79:
  • Folders 9-20 - 1968-1969
  • Box 80:
  • Folders 21-28 - 1968-1969
  • Unnumbered folder: Haisman Case
  • Box 81:
  • Folders 29-38H - 1968-1969
  • Box 82:
  • Folders 39-43 - 1968-1969
  • Box 83:
  • Folders 44-48D; Dongguk University - 1968-1969
  • Box 84:
  • Folders 48E-60M - 1968-1969
  • Box 85:
  • Folders 60N-60Z11 - 1968-1969
  • Box 86:
  • Folders 62-65J - 1968-1969
  • Box 87:
  • Folders 65K-74 - 1968-1969
  • Box 88:
  • Folders 76-80E - 1968-1969
  • Box 89:
  • Folders 80E-82 - 1968-1969
  • Box 90:
  • Folders 84-93A - 1968-1969
  • Box 91:
  • Folders 93B-105H - 1968-1969
  • Box 92:
  • Folders 106-113 - 1968-1969
  • Series 2: ADDENDUM
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches
  • Box 2:
  • Speeches
  • Box 3:
  • Speeches
  • Box 4:
  • Speeches
  • Box 5:
  • Speeches
  • Box 6:
  • Speeches
  • Box 7:
  • Speeches
  • Box 8:
  • Inauguration - 1964
  • Box 9:
  • Inauguration, news releases
  • Box 10:
  • University News Service Bowen folders
  • Box 11:
  • University News Service Bowen folders
  • Box 12:
  • Letters to Regents - 1964
  • Box 13:
  • Letters to Regents - 1965-1967
  • Box 14:
  • Letters to Regents - 1967-1969
  • Box 15:
  • Correspondence - 1969-1972
  • Box 16:
  • Correspondence - 1973-1974
  • Box 17:
  • Commissions and Studies
  • Box 18:
  • Publications, Higher Education
  • Box 19:
  • Publications - 1970-1979
  • Box 20:
  • Publications, Iowa, Small Business, Analyses of Current Business Conditions, Economics of Health, Technology
  • Box 21:
  • Publications, Social and General Economics, Business and Society, Taxation and Public Finance, Thailand (2 photographs)
  • Box 22:
  • Notes, Humanistic
  • Box 23:
  • Resignation
  • Box 24:
  • Statements and Press Clippings
  • Box 25:
  • Inauguration, Correspondence with Office of Public Information
  • Box 26:
  • "University Report 1968", "University Report 1969", WMT - TV - 1968, 1969

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bowen, Howard Rothmann, 1908-

Occupations:
College presidents

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Speeches
Archives
Correspondence
Presidential papers

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration