Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Virgil M. Hancher Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1964
Creator: Hancher, Virgil M. (1896-1965)
Extent: 278.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.011
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 19.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President at various times. The collection inventory below was prepared by Xuefan Sun on July 3, 1996. Guide posted to the Internet 2000; revised December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Virgil M. Hancher Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Virgil Melvin Hancher served as the thirteenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1940 to 1964.
 
A Rhodes scholar and a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Hancher led the university for a quarter-century, a period of unprecedented growth for the campus.
 
Trained in the law, Hancher received the B.A. degree in 1919 and the degree of Juris Doctor in 1924 from the University of Iowa. From Oxford University in England, he received the Bachelor of Arts degree in jurisprudence in 1922 and the Master of Arts degree in 1927.
 
A strong advocate of higher education, Hancher often appeared before the Iowa Legislature to appeal for greater funding for the university during the post-World War II enrollment boom. He was nationally recognized for his service to higher education, including terms as chairman of the American Council of Education and as president of both the State Universities Association and the National Association of State Universities.
 
Hancher was born on a farm near Rolfe, Iowa, on September 4, 1896. He married Susan Cannon on June 9, 1928. They had three children. Hancher died on January 30, 1965, in New Delhi, India, while serving as a consultant in higher education for the Ford Foundation. He was 68.

Material related to Virgil Hancher's term as thirteenth president of the University of Iowa, 1940-1964.
Freimuth, Vicki Sue Beckman. "An Analysis of Virgil M. Hancher's Methods of Speech Preparation and Revision in Three Representative Addresses." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1967. 126 pp. Includes biographical sketch. Main.

Hancher, Susan. "Oral History Interview." University of Iowa Oral History Project, 19. 54 pp. 1976. Archives.

Hancher, Virgil M. "The Summing up." Iowa Business Digest 35, no. 2 (February 1964): 3-8. Also in Iowa Alumni Review 17, no. 4 (June 1964): 4-8, illus. Includes reminiscences of freshman year, 1914-1915. Main; Archives (Iowa Alumni Review only).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: ADDENDUM 1
Series 3: ADDENDUM 2

  • Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Folders 1-10 - 1940-1941
  • Box 2:
  • Folders 11-21 - 1940-1941
  • Box 3:
  • Folders 22-22A - 1940-1941
  • Box 4:
  • Folders 23-part of 25 - 1940-1941
  • Box 5:
  • Folder 25 (continued)-25A - 1940-1941
  • Box 6:
  • Folder 25A (continued) - 1940-1941
  • Box 7:
  • Folders 26-26A - 1940-1941
  • Box 8:
  • Folders 327-37 - 1940-1941
  • Box 9:
  • Folders 38-47 - 1940-1941
  • Box 10:
  • Folders 48-55 - 1940-1941
  • Box 11:
  • Folders 55-59 - 1940-1941
  • Box 12:
  • Folders 60-71 - 1940-1941
  • Box 13:
  • Folders 76-78C (part) - 1940-1941
  • Box 14:
  • Folders 78C (continued)-82 - 1940-1941
  • Box 15:
  • Folders 83-89 - 1940-1941
  • Box 16:
  • Folders 90-104 - 1940-1941
  • Box 17:
  • Folders 105-107D - 1940-1941
  • Box 18:
  • Folders 107E-118 - 1940-1941
  • Box 19:
  • Folders 118 (continued)-118D - 1940-1941
  • Box 20:
  • Folders 118D-120 - 1940-1941
  • Unnumbered folder: Inauguration (citations and addresses) - 1941
  • Unnumbered folder: Inaugural luncheon and dinner
  • Unnumbered folder: President's reception given by deans and wives to President and Mrs. Hancher - 1940
  • Box 21:
  • Folders 121-127 - 1940-1941
  • Box 22:
  • Folder: 127-145 (part) - 1940-1941
  • Box 23:
  • Folders 145 (continued)-155 - 1940-1941
  • Box 24:
  • Folders 1-9 - 1941-1942
  • Box 25:
  • Folders 10-17 - 1941-1942
  • Box 26:
  • Folders 18-23 - 1941-1942
  • Box 27:
  • Folders 24-25B (part) - 1941-1942
  • Box 28:
  • Folder 25B (parts 2-7) - 1941-1942
  • Box 29:
  • Folder 25B (parts 8-9) - 1941-1942
  • Box 30:
  • Folders 25B (end)-26A - 1941-1942
  • Unnumbered folder: University Hospitals budget - 1941-1942
  • Unnumbered folder: Psychopathic Hospital
  • Box 31:
  • Folders 27C-34 - 1941-1942
  • Box 32:
  • Folders 35-46 (part 1) - 1941-1942
  • Box 33:
  • Folders 46 (part 2)-49 - 1941-1942
  • Box 34:
  • Folders 50-57 - 1941-1942
  • Box 35:
  • Folders 58-61 (part 1) - 1941-1942
  • Box 36:
  • Folders 61 (part 2)-79 - 1941-1942
  • Box 37:
  • Folders 80-90 - 1941-1942
  • Unnumbered folder: Liberal Arts budget - 1941-1942
  • Box 38:
  • Folders 91-107 - 1941-1942
  • Box 39:
  • Folders 108-113 - 1941-1942
  • Unnumbered folder: Medicine budget - 1941-1942
  • Box 40:
  • Folders 114-119C - 1941-1942
  • Box 41:
  • Folders 119D-125 (part 2) - 1941-1942
  • Box 42:
  • Folders 125 (part 3)-132 - 1941-1942
  • Box 43:
  • Folders 132B-153 - 1941-1942
  • Box 44:
  • Folders 154-175 - 1941-1942
  • Box 45:
  • Folders 1-4 - 1942-1943
  • Box 46:
  • Folders 5-16 - 1942-1943
  • Box 47:
  • Folders 17-22 - 1942-1943
  • Box 48:
  • Folders 22A-25 (part 1) - 1942-1943
  • Box 49:
  • Folders 25 (continued)-25B - 1942-1943
  • Box 50:
  • Folders 25B (continued) - 1942-1943
  • Box 51:
  • Folders 25B-26 - 1942-1943
  • Box 52:
  • Folders 26A-30A - 1942-1943
  • Box 53:
  • Folders 31-44 (part 1) - 1942-1943
  • Box 54:
  • Folders 44 (part 2)-45 (part 3) - 1942-1943
  • Box 55:
  • Folders 46-56 - 1942-1943
  • Box 56:
  • Folders 57-60 - 1942-1943
  • Box 57:
  • Folders 61-79 - 1942-1943
  • Box 58:
  • Folder 79 - 1942-1943
  • Box 59:
  • Folders 79-80 - 1942-1943
  • Unnumbered folder: Liberal Arts budget - 1942-1943
  • Box 60:
  • Folders 81-106 - 1942-1943
  • Box 61:
  • Folders 107-118 - 1942-1943
  • Unnumbered folder: Medicine budget - 1942-1943
  • Box 62:
  • Folders 118-199 - 1942-1943
  • Box 63:
  • Folders 120-124 - 1942-1943
  • Box 64:
  • Folders 125-131 (part 1) - 1942-1943
  • Box 65:
  • Folders 131 (part 2)-155 - 1942-1943
  • Box 66:
  • Folders 155B-156 - 1942-1943
  • Box 67:
  • Folders 157-164 - 1942-1943
  • Box 68:
  • Folders 164A-177 - 1942-1943
  • Box 69:
  • Folders 178-190 - 1942-1943
  • Box 70:
  • Folders 1-8 - 1943-1944
  • Box 71:
  • Folders 9-15 (part ) - 1943-1944
  • Box 72:
  • Folders 15 (part)-22 - 1943-1944
  • Box 73:
  • Folders 22-25 (part) - 1943-1944
  • Box 74:
  • Folders 25 (part)-25B - 1943-1944
  • Box 75:
  • Folder 25B - 1943-1944
  • Box 76:
  • Folder 25B (continued) - 1943-1944
  • Box 77:
  • Folders 25B-26A - 1943-1944
  • Box 78:
  • Folders 27-35 - 1943-1944
  • Box 79:
  • Folders 36-44 - 1943-1944
  • Box 80:
  • Folders 45-53 - 1943-1944
  • Unnumbered folder: Graduate College budget - 1943-1944
  • Box 81:
  • Folders 54-57B - 1943-1944
  • Unnumbered folder: University Hospitals budget - 1943-1944
  • Box 82:
  • Folders 58-57B - 1943-1944
  • Box 83:
  • Folders 71-84 - 1943-1944
  • Unnumbered folder: Liberal Arts budget - 1943-1944
  • Box 84:
  • Folders 85-106 - 1943-1944
  • Unnumbered folder: Libraries budget - 1943-1944
  • Box 85:
  • Folders 101-118 - 1943-1944
  • Unnumbered folder: Medicine budget - 1943-1944
  • Box 86:
  • Folders 118-119D - 1943-1944
  • Box 87:
  • Folders 120-123 - 1943-1944
  • Box 88:
  • Folders 124-130 - 1943-1944
  • Box 89:
  • Folders 131-145 - 1943-1944
  • Box 90:
  • Folders 146-164 - 1943-1944
  • Box 91:
  • Folders 164 (A-C) - 1943-1944
  • Box 92:
  • Folders 164D-182 - 1943-1944
  • Box 93:
  • Folders 183-190 - 1943-1944
  • Folder: Room Reservation Lists - 1940-1942
  • Box 94:
  • Folders 1-9 - 1944-1945
  • Box 95:
  • Folders 10-32 - 1944-1945
  • Box 96:
  • Folders 23-23B - 1944-1945
  • Box 97:
  • Folder 23C - 1944-1945
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1944-1945
  • Unnumbered folder: Grants
  • Box 98:
  • Folder 23C (continued) - 1944-1945
  • Box 99:
  • Folder 23C (continued) - 1944-1945
  • Box 100:
  • Folders 23C-25A - 1944-1945
  • Box 101:
  • Folders 25B-32 - 1944-1945
  • Box 102:
  • Folders 32A-45 - 1944-1945
  • Box 103:
  • Folders 46-57 - 1944-1945
  • Box 104:
  • Folders 58-60 - 1944-1945
  • Box 105:
  • Folders 61-67 - 1944-1945
  • Box 106:
  • Folders 68-75A - 1944-1945
  • Box 107:
  • Folders 76-81 - 1944-1945
  • Box 108:
  • Folders 81-82 - 1944-1945
  • Box 109:
  • Folders 82-91 - 1944-1945
  • Box 110:
  • Folders 92-110 - 1944-1945
  • Box 111:
  • Folders 111-122 - 1944-1945
  • Box 112:
  • Folders 122-124 - 1944-1945
  • Box 113:
  • Folders 125-129 - 1944-1945
  • Unnumbered folder: Class registration records - 1944-1945
  • Box 114:
  • Folders 130-145 - 1944-1945
  • Box 115:
  • Folders 145A-163 - 1944-1945
  • Box 116:
  • Folders 165-198 - 1944-1945
  • Box 117:
  • Folders 198-206 - 1944-1945
  • Box 118:
  • Folders 1-3A - 1945-1946
  • Box 119:
  • Folders 3A-15 - 1945-1946
  • Box 120:
  • Folders 16-23 - 1945-1946
  • Box 121:
  • Folders 23-23B - 1945-1946
  • Box 122:
  • Folders 23B-24 - 1945-1946
  • Box 123:
  • Folder 24 - 1945-1946
  • Box 124:
  • Folders 24-24A - 1945-1946
  • Box 125:
  • Folder 24B - 1945-1946
  • Box 126:
  • Folder 24B - 1945-1946
  • Box 127:
  • Folder 24B - 1945-1946
  • Box 128:
  • Folders 25-25A - 1945-1946
  • Box 129:
  • Folders 25A-30A - 1945-1946
  • Box 130:
  • Folders 31-45 - 1945-1946
  • Box 131:
  • Folders 45-54 - 1945-1946
  • Box 132:
  • Folders 54-58 - 1945-1946
  • Unnumbered folder: Harnwell, Gaylord P.
  • Box 133:
  • Folders 58-61 - 1945-1946
  • Box 134:
  • Folders 61-71 - 1945-1946
  • Box 135:
  • Folders 72-86 - 1945-1946
  • Box 136:
  • Folders 87-101 - 1945-1946
  • Box 137:
  • Folders 102-111G - 1945-1946
  • Box 138:
  • Folders 111H-122B - 1945-1946
  • Box 139:
  • Folders 122B-127 - 1945-1946
  • Box 140:
  • Folders 128-129 - 1945-1946
  • Box 141:
  • Folders 129-135 - 1945-1946
  • Box 142:
  • Folders 136-151 - 1945-1946
  • Box 143:
  • Folders 152-168 - 1945-1946
  • Box 144:
  • Folders 169-182 - 1945-1946
  • Box 145:
  • Folders 183-192 - 1945-1946
  • Box 146:
  • Folders 1-3A - 1946-1947
  • Box 147:
  • Folders 3B-10 - 1946-1947
  • Box 148:
  • Folders 11-19 - 1946-1947
  • Box 149:
  • Folders 20-23 - 1946-1947
  • Box 150:
  • Folder 23A - 1946-1947
  • Box 151:
  • Folder 23A - 1946-1947
  • Box 152:
  • Folders 23A-24 - 1946-1947
  • Box 153:
  • Folder 24 - 1946-1947
  • Box 154:
  • Folder 24 - 1946-1947
  • Box 155:
  • Folder 24 - 1946-1947
  • Box 156:
  • Folder 24 - 1946-1947
  • Box 157:
  • Folder 24 - 1946-1947
  • Box 158:
  • Folders 24-24B - 1946-1947
  • Box 159:
  • Folders 25-25A - 1946-1947
  • Box 160:
  • Folders 25B-39 - 1946-1947
  • Box 161:
  • Folders 40-48 - 1946-1947
  • Box 162:
  • Folders 49-58 - 1946-1947
  • Box 163:
  • Folders 58B-60 - 1946-1947
  • Box 164:
  • Folders 60-69 - 1946-1947
  • Box 165:
  • Folder 69 (Audit) - 1946-1947
  • Box 166:
  • Folder 70 - 1946-1947
  • Box 167:
  • Folders 71-81 - 1946-1947
  • Box 168:
  • Folders 81-88 - 1946-1947
  • Box 169:
  • Folders 89-105 - 1946-1947
  • Box 170:
  • Folders 106-114 - 1946-1947
  • Box 171:
  • Folders 115-122 (A & C) - 1946-1947
  • Box 172:
  • Folders 122B-125 - 1946-1947
  • Box 173:
  • Folders 126-129 - 1946-1947
  • Box 174:
  • Folders 129-137 - 1946-1947
  • Box 175:
  • Folders 138-159 - 1946-1947
  • Box 176:
  • Folders 160-178 - 1946-1947
  • Box 177:
  • Folders 178-182 - 1946-1947
  • Folder: Proposed Adult Welfare Research Station - 1946-1947
  • Box 178:
  • Folders 1-4 - 1947-1948
  • Box 179:
  • Folders 5-9A - 1947-1948
  • Box 180:
  • Folders 10-22 - 1947-1948
  • Box 181:
  • Folders 23-23A - 1947-1948
  • Box 182:
  • Folders 23B-23B1 - 1947-1948
  • Box 183:
  • Folders 23C-24 - 1947-1948
  • Unnumbered folder: Administration - general expenses - student services
  • Unnumbered folder: Teaching and research
  • Unnumbered folder: Extension - libraries - museum - physical plant - summer session
  • Unnumbered folder: Hospitals - psychopathic hospital - state laboratory
  • Box 184:
  • Folder 24 - 1947-1948
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget Committee
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget recommendations - 1947-1948
  • Box 185:
  • Folders 24A-25 - 1947-1948
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget requests - 1947-1948
  • Unnumbered folder: New positions, budget - 1947-1948
  • Box 186:
  • Folder 25A - 1947-1948
  • Box 187:
  • Folders 25A-30A - 1947-1948
  • Box 188:
  • Folders 31-40A - 1947-1948
  • Box 189:
  • Folders 41-45 - 1947-1948
  • Box 190:
  • Folders 46-57 - 1947-1948
  • Box 191:
  • Folders 57-68 - 1947-1948
  • Box 192:
  • Folders 69-72 - 1947-1948
  • Box 193:
  • Folders 72-82 - 1947-1948
  • Box 194:
  • Folders 82-93 - 1947-1948
  • Box 195:
  • Folders 94-99A - 1947-1948
  • Box 196:
  • Folders 100-112 - 1947-1948
  • Box 197:
  • Folders 112A-123 - 1947-1948
  • Box 198:
  • Folder 124A - 1947-1948
  • Box 199:
  • Folders 124B-127 - 1947-1948
  • Box 200:
  • Folders 128-131 - 1947-1948
  • Box 201:
  • Folders 131-138 - 1947-1948
  • Box 202:
  • Folders 138-149 - 1947-1948
  • Box 203:
  • Folders 151-176 - 1947-1948
  • Box 204:
  • Folders 177-181 - 1947-1948
  • Box 205:
  • Folders 1-5 - 1948-1949
  • Box 206:
  • Folders 6-11 - 1948-1949
  • Box 207:
  • Folders 12-24 - 1948-1949
  • Box 208:
  • Folders 24-24A - 1948-1949
  • Box 209:
  • Folders 24A-25 - 1948-1949
  • Box 210:
  • Folder 25 - 1948-1949
  • Box 211:
  • Folders 25A-27A - 1948-1949
  • Box 212:
  • Folders 25A-29 - 1948-1949
  • Box 213:
  • Folders 30-32A - 1948-1949
  • Unnumbered folder: Catalog copy
  • Box 214:
  • Folders 32A-32B - 1948-1949
  • Box 215:
  • Folders 31-42 - 1948-1949
  • Box 216:
  • Folders 43-54 - 1948-1949
  • Box 217:
  • Folders 54-63 - 1948-1949
  • Box 218:
  • Folders 63-80 - 1948-1949
  • Box 219:
  • Folders 81-84 - 1948-1949
  • Box 220:
  • Folder 85 - 1948-1949
  • Box 221:
  • Folder 85 - 1948-1949
  • Unnumbered folder: Auditor's report
  • Box 222:
  • Folder 85 - 1948-1949
  • Unnumbered folder: Old data - legislative - 1949
  • Box 223:
  • Folder 85 - 1948-1949
  • Box 224:
  • Folder 85 - 1948-1949
  • Box 225:
  • Folder 85 - 1948-1949
  • Box 226:
  • Folders 86-93 - 1948-1949
  • Box 227:
  • Folders 94-113 - 1948-1949
  • Box 228:
  • Folders 114-119 - 1948-1949
  • Box 229:
  • Folders 120-128 - 1948-1949
  • Box 230:
  • Folders 128A-128D - 1948-1949
  • Unnumbered folder: Dinner event - 1948 November 16
  • Unnumbered folder: Faculty reception - 1948-1949
  • Box 231:
  • Folders 130-133A - 1948-1949
  • Box 232:
  • Folders 134-141 - 1948-1949
  • Box 233:
  • Folders 142-162 - 1948-1949
  • Box 234:
  • Folders 163-186 - 1948-1949
  • Box 235:
  • Folders 1-4 - 1949-1950
  • Box 236:
  • Folders 4-7 - 1949-1950
  • Box 237:
  • Folders 7-15 - 1949-1950
  • Box 238:
  • Folders 16-22 - 1949-1950
  • Box 239:
  • Folders 22-22C - 1949-1950
  • Box 240:
  • Folders 22C-23 - 1949-1950
  • Box 241:
  • Folder 23 - 1949-1950
  • Unnumbered folder: Legislative askings for biennium - 1949-1951
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget miscellaneous - 1948-1949
  • Unnumbered folder: Promotions in rank - 1949-1950
  • Box 242:
  • Folders 23A-29A - 1949-1950
  • Box 243:
  • Folders 30-43 - 1949-1950
  • Box 244:
  • Folders 43-49 - 1949-1950
  • Box 245:
  • Folders 50-60 - 1949-1950
  • Box 246:
  • Folder 60 - 1949-1950
  • Box 247:
  • Folders 61-72 - 1949-1950
  • Box 248:
  • Folders 73-83 - 1949-1950
  • Box 249:
  • Folders 83-92 - 1949-1950
  • Box 250:
  • Folders 93-114A - 1949-1950
  • Box 251:
  • Folder 115 - 1949-1950
  • Box 252:
  • Folders 115-116 - 1949-1950
  • Box 253:
  • Folders 117-126 - 1949-1950
  • Box 254:
  • Folders 126-126D - 1949-1950
  • Box 255:
  • Folders 127A-131 - 1949-1950
  • Box 256:
  • Folders 131A-143 - 1949-1950
  • Box 257:
  • Folders 144-176 - 1949-1950
  • Box 258:
  • Folders 177-184 - 1949-1950
  • Box 259:
  • Folders 1-5 - 1950-1951
  • Box 260:
  • Folder 6 - 1950-1951
  • Box 261:
  • Folders 6-18 - 1950-1951
  • Box 262:
  • Folders 18-21C - 1950-1951
  • Box 263:
  • Folders 21-21F - 1950-1951
  • Box 264:
  • Folder 22A - 1950-1951
  • Unnumbered folder: Psychopathic Hospital
  • Unnumbered folder: Psychiatry medical staff
  • Unnumbered folder: Psychiatry fee reserve - general expense
  • Unnumbered folder: Key personnel - data sheets
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget: material used for printing - 1950-1951
  • Box 265:
  • Folders 23-25 - 1950-1951
  • Unnumbered folder: Askings
  • Box 266:
  • Folders 26-40 - 1950-1951
  • Box 267:
  • Folders 41-44 - 1950-1951
  • Box 268:
  • Folders 45-54 - 1950-1951
  • Box 269:
  • Folders 53-72 - 1950-1951
  • Box 270:
  • Folders 74-94 - 1950-1951
  • Box 271:
  • Folders 97-108B - 1950-1951
  • Box 272:
  • Folders 109-120 - 1950-1951
  • Box 273:
  • Folders 118-120C - 1950-1951
  • Box 274:
  • Folders 122-126 - 1950-1951
  • Unnumbered folder: Deans' Dinner and Hostess Reception - 1950
  • Unnumbered folder: Invitation List for President's Reception - 1950
  • Unnumbered folder: President's Office: Social Events
  • Unnumbered folder: New Year's Day Open House - 1951 January 1
  • Box 275:
  • Folders 127-132 - 1950-1951
  • Box 276:
  • Folders 133-147 - 1950-1951
  • Box 277:
  • Folders 149-153 - 1950-1951
  • Unnumbered folder: U.S. Navy Questionnaire of Facilities
  • Box 278:
  • Folders 154-160 - 1950-1951
  • Box 279:
  • Folders 1-4 - 1951-1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Table Arrangements - 1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Guest List - 1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Acceptances - 1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Regrets - 1952
  • Box 280:
  • Folders 5-10 - 1951-1952
  • Box 281:
  • Folders 11-20 - 1951-1952
  • Box 282:
  • Folders 21-23 - 1951-1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Married Student Housing Problem - Mrs. Sonius
  • Box 283:
  • Folders 23-23A (Board of Education Blue Book) - 1951-1952
  • Box 284:
  • Folders 23B-24 - 1951-1952
  • Box 285:
  • Folder 24 - 1951-1952
  • Box 286:
  • Folder 24 - 1951-1952
  • Box 287:
  • Folders 24-28 - 1951-1952
  • Box 288:
  • Folders 29-42 - 1951-1952
  • Box 289:
  • Folders 43-50 - 1951-1952
  • Box 290:
  • Folders 51-56 - 1951-1952
  • Box 291:
  • Folders 57-87 - 1951-1952
  • Box 292:
  • Folders 88-102 - 1951-1952
  • Box 293:
  • Folders 103-116 - 1951-1952
  • Box 294:
  • Folders 117-127 - 1951-1952
  • Box 295:
  • Folders 128-135 - 1951-1952
  • Box 296:
  • Folders 136-146 - 1951-1952
  • Box 297:
  • Folders 147-148 - 1951-1952
  • Box 298:
  • Folders 148-155 - 1951-1952
  • Box 299:
  • Folders 156-163 - 1951-1952
  • Box 300:
  • Folders 1-5 - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Dr. Virgil M. Hancher
  • Unnumbered folder: Joint Committee on Educational Television
  • Box 301:
  • Folders 5R-7 - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Relatively active
  • Unnumbered folder: Relatively inactive
  • Unnumbered folder: Institutional Research Meeting
  • Box 302:
  • Folders 8-17 - 1952-1953
  • Box 303:
  • Folders 18-23 - 1952-1953
  • Box 304:
  • Folders 23-23A - 1952-1953
  • Box 305:
  • Folders 23B-23T - 1952-1953
  • Box 306:
  • Folder 24 - 1952-1953
  • Box 307:
  • Folders 24-27 - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Promotion Materials - 1952-1953
  • Box 308:
  • Folders 28-43 - 1952-1953
  • Box 309:
  • Folders 43-52
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Guest List - 1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Regrets - 1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Acceptances - 1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Programs, requisitions, etc. - 1953
  • Box 310:
  • Folders 53-58 - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Polio Epidemic
  • Box 311:
  • Folders 58-74 - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Legislature: Budget and Financial Committee (Interim)
  • Unnumbered folder: SUI Inspection Tour - 1952 October 22-23
  • Unnumbered folder: SUI Inspection Tour - Interim Committee - 1952 October 22-23
  • Box 312:
  • Folders 75-76 - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Legislature: Representatives
  • Unnumbered folder: Legislature: Renrollment
  • Unnumbered folder: Legislature: Senators
  • Box 313:
  • Folders 76-87 - 1952-1953
  • Box 314:
  • Folders 88-110A - 1952-1953
  • Box 315:
  • Folders 110A-114 - 1952-1953
  • Box 316:
  • Folders 115-121C - 1952-1953
  • Box 317:
  • Folders 122-127 - 1952-1953
  • Unnumbered folder: Publicity and invitations - 1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Hostesses and seating at Dean's Dinner - 1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Summer Session Reception - 1952
  • Unnumbered folder: Reception - 1952
  • Box 318:
  • Folders 128-138 - 1952-1953
  • Box 319:
  • Folders 139-153 - 1952-1953
    See also box 320
  • Box 320:
  • Folders 147-162 - 1952-1953
    See also box 319
  • Box 321:
  • Folders 1-5 - 1953-1954
  • Box 322:
  • Folders 5-10 - 1953-1954
  • Unnumbered folder: Annual meeting of the American Council of Education - 1953 October 8-9
  • Box 323:
  • Folders 11-15 - 1953-1954
  • Unnumbered folder: NASU file
  • Box 324:
  • Folders 16-23 - 1953-1954
  • Box 325:
  • Folders 23-23A - 1953-1954
  • Box 326:
  • Folders 23B-24 - 1953-1954
  • Box 327:
  • Folders 24-34 - 1953-1954
  • Box 328:
  • Folders 35-43 - 1953-1954
  • Box 329:
  • Folders 44-52 - 1953-1954
  • Box 330:
  • Folders 53-66A - 1953-1954
  • Box 331:
  • Folders 66-83 - 1953-1954
  • Box 332:
  • Folders 84-104 - 1953-1954
  • Box 333:
  • Folders 105-117 - 1953-1954
  • Box 334:
  • Folders 117A-125B - 1953-1954
  • Box 335:
  • Folders 125B-125G - 1953-1954
  • Box 336:
  • Folders 125G-135 - 1953-1954
  • Box 337:
  • Folders 136-144 - 1953-1954
  • Box 338:
  • Folders 146-171 - 1953-1954
  • Box 339:
  • Folders 1-5 - 1954-1955
  • Box 340:
  • Folder 5 - 1954-1955
  • Unnumbered folder: ACE-Inst Res Report - 1954 September
  • Box 341:
  • Folders 6-14A - 1954-1955
  • Box 342:
  • Folders 15-24 - 1954-1955
  • Box 343:
  • Folders 24-24A - 1954-1955
  • Box 344:
  • Folders 24A-24B - 1954-1955
  • Unnumbered folder: President's biennial report - 1954
  • Box 345:
  • Folders 24C-25 - 1954-1955
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1954-1955
    2 folders
  • Box 346:
  • Folder 25 - 1954-1955
  • Box 347:
  • Folders 26-40 - 1954-1955
  • Box 348:
  • Folders 41-45 - 1954-1955
  • Box 349:
  • Folders 46-56A - 1954-1955
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Regrets - 1955
  • Unnumbered folder: Rebates - Tuition
  • Box 350:
  • Folders 56H-63 - 1954-1955
  • Box 351:
  • Folders 63A-79 - 1954-1955
  • Box 352:
  • Folders 80-83 - 1954-1955
  • Box 353:
  • Folders 84-115 - 1954-1955
  • Box 354:
  • Folders 116-121 - 1954-1955
  • Box 355:
  • Folders 122-130B - 1954-1955
  • Box 356:
  • Folders 130B-130E - 1954-1955
  • Unnumbered folder: Reception - Hostesses, Dinner, etc. - 1954
  • Unnumbered folder: Reception - Invitation List - 1954
  • Box 357:
  • Folders 130G-136 - 1954-1955
  • Box 358:
  • Folders 137-148 - 1954-1955
  • Box 359:
  • Folders 149-164 - 1954-1955
  • Box 360:
  • Folders 165-174 - 1954-1955
  • Box 361:
  • Folders 1-5A - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Virgil M. Hancher, Chairman - Memos and Worksheets for General Session and Business Session
  • Unnumbered folder: American Council on Education Annual Meeting - 1955 October 6-7
  • Box 362:
  • Folders 5A-12 - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Council of State Governments Conference Mackinaw (Mackinac) Island - 1955 July 25
  • Box 363:
  • Folders 13-14A - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: MURA -reorganization
  • Unnumbered folder: Atomic Energy Commission meeting with MURA presidents - 1955 August 3
  • Box 364:
  • Folders 14A-18 - 1955-1956
  • Box 365:
  • Folders 19-21 - 1955-1956
  • Box 366:
  • Folders 22-24A - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Iowa State Board of Regents letters - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Board letter #6 and enclosures: Memorial Union dedication materials - 1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Letter to Dean Nelson - relation of Psychopathic Hospital to College of Medicine and General Hospital
  • Box 367:
  • Folders 24B-25 - 1955-1956
  • Box 368:
  • Folder 25 - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Promotions
  • Box 369:
  • Folders 26-27 - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: State University of Iowa Hospitals Budget - first copy
  • Box 370:
  • Folders 27A-44 - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget and Financial Control Committee, State University of Iowa - Capital Appropriations and Projects - 1955 October 14
  • Box 371:
  • Folders 45-47A - 1955-1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Guests - 1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Program, Seating Chart, Requisitions - 1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Correspondence - 1956
  • Unnumbered folder: Finkbine Dinner - Permanent ODK Lists
  • Box 372:
  • Folders 51-63 - 1955-1956
  • Box 373:
  • Folders 64-70 - 1955-1956
  • Box 374:
  • Folder 70A - 1955-1956
  • Box 375:
  • Folders 70A-72 - 1955-1956
  • Box 376:
  • Folders 73-90 - 1955-1956
  • Box 377:
  • Folders 91-112 - 1955-1956
  • Box 378:
  • Folders 113-123 - 1955-1956
  • Box 379:
  • Folders 124-132 - 1955-1956
  • Box 380:
  • Folders 133-133E - 1955-1956
  • Box 381:
  • Folders 133G-141 - 1955-1956
  • Box 382:
  • Folders 142-168 - 1955-1956
  • Box 383:
  • Folders 169-178 - 1955-1956
  • Box 384:
  • Folders 1-4C - 1956-1957
  • Box 385:
  • Folders 4D-4I - 1956-1957
  • Box 386:
  • Folders 4J-4N - 1956-1957
  • Box 387:
  • Folders 4O-4S - 1956-1957
  • Box 388:
  • Folders 6-6D - 1956-1957
  • Box 389:
  • Folders 6D-7 - 1956-1957
  • Box 390:
  • Folders 8-16A - 1956-1957
  • Box 391:
  • Folders 16B-28 - 1956-1957
  • Box 392:
  • Folders 29-38 - 1956-1957
  • Box 393:
  • Folders 39-48 - 1956-1957
  • Box 394:
  • Folders 48-48B - 1956-1957
  • Box 395:
  • Folders 48B1-60P - 1956-1957
  • Box 396:
  • Folders 60Q1-60Q2 - 1956-1957
  • Box 397:
  • Folders 60Q3-61F - 1956-1957
  • Box 398:
  • Folders 62-69A - 1956-1957
  • Box 399:
  • Folders 69A-80C - 1956-1957
  • Box 400:
  • Folders 80D-80K - 1956-1957
  • Box 401:
  • Folders 80R-88 - 1956-1957
  • Box 402:
  • Folders 89-95D - 1956-1957
  • Box 403:
  • Folders 95E-112 - 1956-1957
  • Box 404:
  • Folders 1-4B1 - 1957-1958
  • Unnumbered folder: Virgil M. Hancher
  • Box 405:
  • Folders 4Bi-4H1 - 1957-1958
  • Unnumbered folder: Council of State Governments - 1958 April 28-30
  • Box 406:
  • Folders 4H2-4M1 - 1957-1958
  • Box 407:
  • Folder 4N - 1957-1958
  • Box 408:
  • Folders 4O-4P2 - 1957-1958
  • Box 409:
  • Folders 4P3-6C - 1957-1958
  • Box 410:
  • Folders 6C-6D - 1957-1958
  • Box 411:
  • Folders 6D-8 - 1957-1958
  • Unnumbered folder: Promotions material
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1957-1958
  • Box 412:
  • Folders 8-9.1 - 1957-1958
  • Unnumbered folder: Big 10 Faculty Members Comparable to SUI
  • Unnumbered folder: Toledo Meetings Data
  • Unnumbered folder: Biennial Askings - 1957-1959
  • Unnumbered folder: Budgets
  • Box 413:
  • Folders 9.1A-17 - 1957-1958
  • Box 414:
  • Folders 18-27 - 1957-1958
  • Box 415:
  • Folders 27A-35 - 1957-1958
  • Box 416:
  • Folders 36-43 - 1957-1958
  • Box 417:
  • Folders 43-47 - 1957-1958
  • Box 418:
  • Folders 48-58 - 1957-1958
  • Box 419:
  • Folders 60-60Q2 - 1957-1958
  • Box 420:
  • Folders 60Q2-62 - 1957-1958
  • Box 421:
  • Folders 63-74 - 1957-1958
  • Box 422:
  • Folders 77-80E - 1957-1958
  • Box 423:
  • Folders 80F-88 - 1957-1958
  • Box 424:
  • Folders 89-102 - 1957-1958
  • Box 425:
  • Folders 104-112 - 1957-1958
  • Box 426:
  • Folders 1-4B1 - 1958-1959
  • Box 427:
  • Folders 4B1-4D - 1958-1959
  • Unnumbered folder: AUBC Committee Expenses
  • Unnumbered folder: AUBC Iowa City visit - 1958 September 13-15
  • Unnumbered folder: AUBC - Canada-U.S. trips
  • Unnumbered folder: AAU - Annual Meeting - 1958 October 28-29
  • Box 428:
  • Folders 4D-4L - 1958-1959
  • Box 429:
  • Folders 4M-4P3 - 1958-1959
  • Box 430:
  • Folders 4P2-6A - 1958-1959
  • Box 431:
  • Folders 6B-6C - 1958-1959
  • Unnumbered folder: Utilization
  • Box 432:
  • Folders 6C-8 - 1958-1959
  • Unnumbered folder: University Hospital
  • Box 433:
  • Folders 9-20 - 1958-1959
  • Box 434:
  • Folders 20.1-28 - 1958-1959
  • Box 435:
  • Folders 29-40 - 1958-1959
  • Box 436:
  • Folders 41-48E1 - 1958-1959
    Conservation problem here
  • Box 437:
  • Folders 48E2-60L - 1958-1959
  • Box 438:
  • Folders 60M-60Z - 1958-1959
  • Box 439:
  • Folders 61-73 - 1958-1959
  • Box 440:
  • Folders 74-80D - 1958-1959
  • Box 441:
  • Folders 80E-86 - 1958-1959
  • Box 442:
  • Folders 86-95D - 1958-1959
  • Box 443:
  • Folders 95E-105B - 1958-1959
  • Box 444:
  • Folders 105C-112 - 1958-1959
  • Box 445:
  • Folders 1-4B - 1959-1960
  • Box 446:
  • Folders 4B1-4I - 1959-1960
  • Box 447:
  • Folders 4J-4R - 1959-1960
  • Box 448:
  • Folders 4S-6B - 1959-1960
  • Box 449:
  • Folders 6B-6D - 1959-1960
  • Box 450:
  • Folders 6D-8 - 1959-1960
  • Box 451:
  • Folder 8 - 1959-1960
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1959-1960
  • Box 452:
  • Folders 9-22 - 1959-1960
  • Box 453:
  • Folders 23-27C - 1959-1960
  • Box 454:
  • Folders 28-34 - 1959-1960
  • Unnumbered folder: Deanship for Extension Division
  • Box 455:
  • Folders 35-39 - 1959-1960
  • Unnumbered folder: 14th General Assembly - 1960 January 20
  • Box 456:
  • Folders 40-47 - 1959-1960
  • Box 457:
  • Folders 48-58 - 1959-1960
  • Box 458:
  • Folders 60-69Q1 - 1959-1960
  • Box 459:
  • Folders 60Q1-60R - 1959-1960
  • Box 460:
  • Folders 60S-68 - 1959-1960
  • Box 461:
  • Folders 69-80E - 1959-1960
  • Box 462:
  • Folders 80F-85 - 1959-1960
  • Unnumbered folder: Unfinished business
  • Unnumbered folder: Diary
  • Box 463:
  • Folders 86-105C - 1959-1960
  • Box 464:
  • Folders 105D-112 - 1959-1960
  • Box 465:
  • Folders 1-4B - 1960-1961
  • Box 466:
  • Folders 4B1-4D - 1960-1961
  • Box 467:
  • Folders 4C-4D - 1960-1961
  • Box 468:
  • Folders 4D-4I - 1960-1961
  • Unnumbered folder: AAU - 1960 October 25-26
  • Unnumbered folder: Association of American Universities Meeting, Chicago - 1961 April 25
  • Box 469:
  • Folders 4J-5 - 1960-1961
  • Unnumbered folder: NASU Annual Meeting - 1960-1961
  • Unnumbered folder: NASU Mods Letter - 1958 January 6
  • Box 470:
  • Folders 6-6B - 1960-1961
  • Unnumbered folder: Memo to the Board - 1960-1961
  • Box 471:
  • Folders 6C-14 - 1960-1961
  • Box 472:
  • Folders 15-27 - 1960-1961
  • Box 473:
  • Folders 27A-36 - 1960-1961
  • Box 474:
  • Folders 36A-46 - 1960-1961
  • Box 475:
  • Folders 47-48B1 - 1960-1961
  • Box 476:
  • Folder 47 - 1960-1961
  • Box 477:
  • Folders 48E1-60O - 1960-1961
  • Box 478:
  • Folders 60N-61B - 1960-1961
  • Box 479:
  • Folders 61C-65T - 1960-1961
  • Box 480:
  • Folders 66-80B - 1960-1961
  • Box 481:
  • Folders 80C-80R - 1960-1961
  • Box 482:
  • Folders 80S-88 - 1960-1961
  • Box 483:
  • Folders 89-105 - 1960-1961
  • Box 484:
  • Folders 105A-107 - 1960-1961
  • Box 485:
  • Folders 108-112 - 1960-1961
  • Box 486:
  • Folders 1-4B - 1961-1962
  • Box 487:
  • Folders 4B1-4E - 1961-1962
  • Unnumbered folder: AAU - Bills
  • Unnumbered folder: AAU - Executive Officer
  • Unnumbered folder: AAU - 1962 April 3-5
  • Box 488:
  • Folders 4F-4M1 - 1961-1962
  • Unnumbered folder: AAU - Annual Meeting - 1961 October 24-25
  • Box 489:
  • Folders 4N-6A - 1961-1962
  • Box 490:
  • Folders 6-6B - 1961-1962
  • Box 491:
  • Folders 6C-6D - 1961-1962
  • Box 492:
  • Folders 6D-8 - 1961-1962
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1961-1962
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget materials - 1960-1961
  • Unnumbered folder: Promotions
  • Unnumbered folder: Salary Adjustment Recommendations - Liberal Arts
  • Unnumbered folder: Salary Adjustments and Promotions
  • Unnumbered folder: Budget - 1961-1962
  • Unnumbered folder: SUI Proposed Budgets - 1961-1962
  • Box 493:
  • Folders 9-23 - 1961-1962
  • Box 494:
  • Folders 25-31 - 1961-1962
  • Box 495:
  • Folders 32-33D - 1961-1962
  • Unnumbered folder: Faculty Activities - 1962
  • Box 496:
  • Folders 33E-42 - 1961-1962
  • Box 497:
  • Folders 43-48 - 1961-1962
  • Box 498:
  • Folders 46B-56 - 1961-1962
  • Unnumbered folder: State University of Iowa Budget and Financial Control Committee Visit - 1961 November 9-10
    Volume II: General Operations - Background information
  • Unnumbered folder: State University of Iowa Budget and Financial Control Committee Visit - 1961 November 9-10
    Volume I: Capital Appropriations Report
  • Box 499:
  • Folders 56-60P - 1961-1962
  • Box 500:
  • Folders 60Q1-62 - 1961-1962
  • Box 501:
  • Folders 63-77 - 1961-1962
  • Box 502:
  • Folders 80B-80E - 1961-1962
  • Box 503:
  • Folders 78-80R - 1961-1962
    Except 80B-80E
  • Box 504:
  • Folders 80R-81 - 1961-1962
  • Box 505:
  • Folders 82-84 - 1961-1962
  • Box 506:
  • Folders 85-93 - 1961-1962
  • Box 507:
  • Folders 94A-105A - 1961-1962
  • Box 508:
  • Folders 105B-107 - 1961-1962
  • Box 509:
  • Folders 108-112 - 1961-1962
  • Box 510:
  • Folders 1-2C - 1962-1963
  • Box 511:
  • Folders 3-4C - 1962-1963
  • Box 512:
  • Folders 4D-4M1 - 1962-1963
  • Box 513:
  • Folders 4N-5 - 1962-1963
  • Box 514:
  • Folder 6 - 1962-1963
  • Box 515:
  • Folders 6-6D - 1962-1963
  • Box 516:
  • Folders 7-14 - 1962-1963
  • Box 517:
  • Folders 15-23 - 1962-1963
  • Box 518:
  • Folders 24-28 - 1962-1963
  • Box 519:
  • Folders 29-39 - 1962-1963
  • Unnumbered folder: Extension Statement #I-1 a
  • Box 520:
  • Folders 40-43 - 1962-1963
  • Unnumbered folder: Hospital Discount Policy
  • Box 521:
  • Folders 43-48B - 1962-1963
  • Box 522:
  • Folders 48B1-60 - 1962-1963
  • Box 523:
  • Folders 60A-61B - 1962-1963
  • Box 524:
  • Folders 61C-69A - 1962-1963
  • Unnumbered folder: Oakdale conversion
  • Unnumbered folder: Oakdale Rehabilitation Center - State Sanitorium
  • Box 525:
  • Folders 69-78 - 1962-1963
  • Unnumbered folder: NASA - Space Lab
  • Unnumbered folder: NASA - 1963 April 9
  • Box 526:
  • Folders 79-80E - 1962-1963
  • Box 527:
  • Folders 80F-82A - 1962-1963
  • Box 528:
  • Folders 82B-92 - 1962-1963
  • Box 529:
  • Folders 93-105 - 1962-1963
  • Box 530:
  • Folders 105A-106 - 1962-1963
  • Box 531:
  • Folders 107-112 - 1962-1963
  • Box 532:
  • Folders 1-4B - 1963-1964
  • Box 533:
  • Folders 4B2-4E - 1963-1964
  • Box 534:
  • Folders 4F-4N - 1963-1964
  • Box 535:
  • Folders 4N1-6 - 1963-1964
  • Box 536:
  • Folders 6-6A - 1963-1964
  • Unnumbered folder: ELF
  • Box 537:
  • Folders 6B-8 - 1963-1964
  • Unnumbered folder: Salary Studies
  • Box 538:
  • Folders 8-9 - 1963-1964
  • Box 539:
  • Folders 9-22 - 1963-1964
  • Box 540:
  • Folders 23-28 - 1963-1964
  • Box 541:
  • Folders 29-35 - 1963-1964
  • Box 542:
  • Folders 36-40 - 1963-1964
  • Box 543:
  • Folders 41-47 - 1963-1964
  • Box 544:
  • Folders 48B-53 - 1963-1964
  • Unnumbered folder: A Report to Governor Hughes: Resignations, Recruitment and Retention Efforts Involving the State University of Iowa Faculty - 1959-1963
  • Box 545:
  • Folders 54-60R - 1963-1964
  • Box 546:
  • Folders 60S-65A - 1963-1964
  • Box 547:
  • Folders 65B-79 - 1963-1964
  • Box 548:
  • Folders 80-80E - 1963-1964
  • Box 549:
  • Folders 80E-84 - 1963-1964
  • Unnumbered folder: Photo Service
  • Box 550:
  • Folders 85-94D - 1963-1964
  • Box 551:
  • Folders 94F-105G - 1963-1964
  • Box 552:
  • Folders 106-112 - 1963-1964
  • Series 2: ADDENDUM 1
  • Box 1:
  • Speeches
  • Box 2:
  • Speeches
  • Box 3:
  • Speeches
  • Box 4:
  • Speeches
  • Box 5:
  • Speeches
  • Box 6:
  • Speeches
  • Box 7:
  • Speeches
  • Box 8:
  • Speeches
  • Box 9:
  • Speeches
  • Box 10:
  • Speeches
  • Box 11:
  • Speeches
  • Box 12:
  • Speeches
  • Box 13:
  • Speeches
  • Box 14:
  • Speeches
  • Box 15:
  • Speeches
  • Box 16:
  • Speeches
  • Box 17:
  • Speeches, cataloged/titled
  • Box 18:
  • Speech materials - 1940-1964
  • Box 19:
  • Statements - 1945-1965
  • Box 20:
  • Published articles, speeches, reports
  • Box 21:
  • Articles, uncataloged
  • Box 22:
  • Diaries, travel notes, travel letters (unpublished)
  • Box 23:
  • Memoranda, correspondence - 1932-1964
  • Box 24:
  • Press releases - 1940-1966
  • Box 25:
  • Press material
  • Box 26:
  • Drafts of Report to Alumni - 1956-1957
  • MSS of proposed book and ten-year report
  • Correspondence on speeches - 1944-1945
  • Series 3: ADDENDUM 2
  • Box 1:
  • Personal papers, A-B - 1940-1964
  • Box 2:
  • Personal papers, B-C
  • Box 3:
  • Personal papers, Church correspondence
  • Box 4:
  • Personal papers, D-E
  • Box 5:
  • Personal papers, F-H
  • Box 6:
  • Personal papers, H-Hancher family
  • Box 7:
  • Personal papers, Earl Hall correspondence
  • Box 8:
  • Personal papers, "Illness"; estate matters; Mrs. Hancher (Susan); Virgil, Jr. - 1957
  • Box 9:
  • Personal papers, Income tax; Mrs. M.P. Hancher; John Heuss
  • Box 10:
  • Personal papers, I-Mc
  • Box 11:
  • Personal papers, M-N
  • Box 12:
  • Personal papers, N-P
  • Box 13:
  • Personal papers, Q-S
  • Box 14:
  • Personal papers, Sigma Nu fraternity
  • Box 15:
  • Personal papers, S-T
  • Box 16:
  • Personal papers, U-Z
  • Box 17:
  • Personal papers, Cards and notes received; foreign universities materials
  • Box 18:
  • Personal papers, English letters; genealogy; India letters
  • Box 19:
  • Personal papers, Anglican Congress; book lists; family clippings; foreign brochures; photographs (President Hancher)
  • Box 20:
  • Personal papers, Letters to Board of Education; speeches - 1954-1958
  • Box 21:
  • Personal papers, Letters to Board of Education; speeches - 1954-1958
  • Diary, trip to England - 1956
  • Diary
  • Fitzgerald Letters
  • Inauguration
  • New York University Offer
  • World Affairs
  • Miss Wormer Letters
  • Box 22:
  • Biographical materials
  • Personal papers
  • Box 23:
  • Biographical materials
  • Personal papers
  • Box 24:
  • Scrapbooks
  • Box 25:
  • Scrapbooks
  • Box 26:
  • Scrapbooks

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration