Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Eugene A. Gilmore Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1934-1940
Creator: Gilmore, Eugene A. (1871-1953)
Extent: 55.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.010
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Twelfth president of the University of Iowa, 1934-1940.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President; date undetermined.

Preferred Citation: Eugene A. Gilmore Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Eugene Allen Gilmore served as the twelfth president of the University of Iowa, from 1934 to 1940.

He was born on the family farm near Brownsville, Nebraska, on July 4, 1871, and he attended high school at Aburn, Nebraska. In 1893, Gilmore earned his undergraduate degree at DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana, and then attended Harvard Graduate School, followed by Harvard Law School, earning his LL. B. degree in 1899.

He met Blanche Bayse of Rockport, Indiana, while attending DePauw University. Blanche graduated in 1896 - three years behind Eugene - and they married December 27, 1899 following his graduation at Harvard. The couple first lived in Boston, where he practiced law immediately after graduation. According to Mrs. Gilmore, her husband did not enjoy working in the civil courts, and decided he would like to teach. He pursued a position at the University of Wisconsin, and the couple moved to Madison in the summer of 1902. The Gilmore family grew to include Eugene A. Gilmore, Jr., born in 1902, Elizabeth in 1905, and John Andrew in 1910. In 1909, the family moved into their new home, designed and built for them by "a young architect named Frank Lloyd Wright", according to Mrs. Gilmore's 1970 memoir titled Recollections. Their home was called the Airplane house, and was the first home designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in Madison.

Gilmore was Professor of Law at the University of Wisconsin Law School 1902-1922, and acting dean of the law school 1912-1913. Gilmore was an advisor to the Wisconsin state legislature regarding the drafting of laws for workmen's compensation, public utility, and railroad rate. The University of Wisconsin granted him a leave of absence in January 1922 to serve as Vice Governor-General in the Philippine Islands, as appointed by U.S. President Warren G. Harding.

Gilmore remained in the Philippines until March 1930, serving as acting Governor-General during 15 months of those eight years. The Filipino people were surprised to learn in early March 1930, that Governor Gilmore would not return to the Philippines after a U.S. visit, because he had accepted a position at the University of Iowa College of Law. He was admired and respected in the Philippines for the changes he brought about in public health and education.

At the University of Iowa he first served as Professor of Law, and on July 1, 1930 was named Dean of the College of Law. Professor Gilmore taught constitutional law at the University of Iowa, and was considered an authority in that field. He served as President of the University of Iowa from October 4, 1934 until July 1, 1940. He was succeeded in his Presidency by acting President Chester A. Phillips during the summer of 1940, with Virgil M. Hancher assuming the presidency in the fall of that year. During President Gilmore's nearly six years in office, four buildings were constructed on campus: the Law Center in 1935; the Art Building and University Theatre Building in 1936; and Hillcrest dormitory in 1938.

Following his retirement as UI President, Gilmore served as Law Dean at the University of Pittsburgh from 1940-1942, and then again taught at the UI College of Law until 1952. Eugene A. Gilmore died of a heart attack at his home in Iowa City on November 4, 1953 at the age of 82.

[D. Anderson; 03/2005].

Folder, "Gilmore, Eugene A.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Links to a portrait gallery, and a table of University of Iowa presidents, may be found at the University presidents page.

Gilmore, Blanche Basye. Recollections. Iowa City, 1970. 53 pp., illus. Archives.

Carrington, Paul D., and Erika King. "Law and the Wisconsin Idea." Journal of Legal Education 47 (September 1997): 297-340, notes. Law Library .

Menocal, Narciso G. "Taliesin, the Gilmore House, and the Flower in the Crannied Wall." Wright Studies 1 (1992): 66-97, illus., plans, notes. Art Library.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: PERSONAL PAPERS

  • Series 1: PRESIDENTIAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • Folders 1-4 - 1934-1935
  • Box 2:
  • Folders 5-11B - 1934-1935
  • Box 3:
  • Folders 11C-13A - 1934-1935
  • Box 4:
  • Folders 14-15 - 1934-1935
  • Box 5:
  • Folders 15-19 - 1934-1935
  • Box 6:
  • Folders 20-28 - 1934-1935
  • Box 7:
  • Folders 28-34A - 1934-1935
  • Box 8:
  • Folders 35-43A - 1934-1935
  • Box 9:
  • Folders 44-49 - 1934-1935
  • Box 10:
  • Folders 50, 52 - 1934-1935
  • Box 11:
  • Folders 53-55, 57 - 1934-1935
  • Box 12:
  • Folders 57A-57C, 73A - 1934-1935
  • Box 13:
  • Folders 59-65 - 1934-1935
  • Box 14:
  • Folders 65-67 - 1934-1935
  • Box 15:
  • Folders 67A-67B - 1934-1935
  • Box 16:
  • Folders 67C3-67C5 - 1934-1935
  • Box 17:
  • Folders 68-73 - 1934-1935
  • Box 18:
  • Folders 73C, 73E-79A - 1934-1935
  • Box 19:
  • Folders 80-85, 87-91 - 1934-1935
  • Box 20:
  • Folders 91C3-91C4 - 1934-1935
  • Box 21:
  • Folders 91-91C - 1934-1935
  • Box 22:
  • Folder: Inauguration - 1934-1935
  • Box 23:
  • Folders 93-100 - 1934-1935
  • Box 24:
  • Folders 101-111 - 1934-1935
  • Box 25:
  • Folders 112-125 - 1934-1935
  • Box 26:
  • Folders 1-4, 6-10 - 1935-1936
  • Box 27:
  • Folders 11-14 - 1935-1936
  • Box 28:
  • Folders 14-15 - 1935-1936
  • Box 29:
  • Folders 15-15A - 1935-1936
  • Box 30:
  • Folders 16-22 - 1935-1936
  • Box 31:
  • Folder 23 - 1935-1936
  • Box 32:
  • Folders 24-37 - 1935-1936
  • Box 33:
  • Folders 38-39 - 1935-1936
  • Box 34:
  • Folders 40-44 - 1935-1936
  • Box 35:
  • Folders 45-52 - 1935-1936
  • Box 36:
  • Folders 52-55 - 1935-1936
  • Box 37:
  • Folders 56-59D - 1935-1936
  • Box 38:
  • Folder 59 (Inaugurations) - 1935-1936
  • Box 39:
  • Folders 60-69 - 1935-1936
  • Box 40:
  • Folders 69A-71, 73 - 1935-1936
  • Box 41:
  • Folders 73A-80B - 1935-1936
  • Box 42:
  • Folders 81-87 - 1935-1936
  • Box 43:
  • Folders 87-94 - 1935-1936
  • Box 44:
  • Folders 95-101 - 1935-1936
  • Box 45:
  • Folders 101-112, 114-115 - 1935-1936
  • Box 46:
  • Folders 116-121, 123, 125, 127 - 1935-1936
  • Box 47:
  • Folders 1-6 - 1936-1937
  • Box 48:
  • Folders 7-12A - 1936-1937
  • Box 49:
  • Folders 13-15 - 1936-1937
  • Box 50:
  • Folders 16-20 - 1936-1937
  • Box 51:
  • Folders 21-23 - 1936-1937
  • Box 52:
  • Folders 24-38 - 1936-1937
  • Box 53:
  • Folders 39-42, 44 - 1936-1937
  • Box 54:
  • Folders 45, 45A-49, 50-52 - 1936-1937
  • Box 55:
  • Folders 52, 53, 55, 57 - 1936-1937
  • Box 56:
  • Folders 57A-58A - 1936-1937
  • Box 57:
  • Folder 59 - 1936-1937
  • Box 58:
  • Folders 59A-67B - 1936-1937
  • Box 59:
  • Folder 67 - 1936-1937
  • Box 60:
  • Folder 67 - 1936-1937
  • Box 61:
  • Folders 68-73 - 1936-1937
  • Box 62:
  • Folders 73B-73H, 73L-80A - 1936-1937
  • Folder: Governor's Day and Review (luncheon worksheets)
  • Folder: Governor's Day Guests - 1937
  • Box 63:
  • Folders 80A-80B - 1936-1937
  • Box 64:
  • Folders 81-91 - 1936-1937
  • Folder: Pharmacy, College of (budget material)
  • Box 65:
  • Folders 91-100A - 1936-1937
  • Box 66:
  • Folders 101-109 - 1936-1937
  • Box 67:
  • Folders 110-125 - 1936-1937
  • Box 68:
  • Folders 1-4, 6-7 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Alumni Service material - 1937-1938
  • Box 69:
  • Folders 7A-13 - 1937-1938
  • Box 70:
  • Folders 14-15 - 1937-1938
  • Box 71:
  • Folder 15 - 1937-1938
  • Box 72:
  • Folders 16-22, 24 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Child Welfare Research Station
  • Folder: Commerce (all budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 73:
  • Folders 25, 27-29, 31-39 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Dean of Men and Housing Service
  • Folder: Dean of Women
  • Folder: Dentistry
  • Folder: Education (all budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 74:
  • Folders 40-44 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Extension Division (budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 75:
  • Folders 45-52 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Graduate College (budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 76:
  • Folders 52-57 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Homecoming Letters (legislators)
  • Folder: Homecoming Replies (President's Office)
  • Folder: Homecoming Game, Minnesota - 1937 November 6
  • Box 77:
  • Folders 57B-57Z, 60-61A - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Marcella Hotz (treasurer)
  • Box 78:
  • Folder 59 - 1937-1938
  • Box 79:
  • Folders 63-67 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Report on Liberal Students Alliance
  • Folder: Law (budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 80:
  • Folder 68 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Liberal Arts Annual Report - 1936-1937
  • Box 81:
  • Folders 69-71, 73C, 73F, 73H, 73I, 73L - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Libraries
  • Folder: Medicine
  • Folder: Psychopathic Hospital (all budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 82:
  • Folders 73M-87A - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Iowa Memorial Union
  • Folder: Museum
  • Folder: Pharmacy
  • Folder: Physical Education (all budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Legion Day - 1937 November 13
  • Folder: Football Dinner
  • Folder: National Iowa Night Broadcast (correspondence)
  • Box 83:
  • Folders 88-93 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: President's Office (budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 84:
  • Folders 94-100A - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Publications
  • Folder: Registrar's Office (all budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 85:
  • Folders 101-106, 108, 109 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: School of Religion (budget material) - 1937-1938
  • Box 86:
  • Folders 110-125 - 1937-1938
  • Folder: State University Association meeting
  • Box 87:
  • Folders 1, 2, 4-8 - 1938-1939
  • Box 88:
  • Folders 9-14A - 1938-1939
  • Box 89:
  • Folder 15 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Business Office (budget) - 1938-1939
  • Box 90:
  • Folders 16-24 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Child Welfare budget - 1938-1939
  • Box 91:
  • Folders 24A-29, 31-37 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Dean of Men's budget - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Dean of Women's budget - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Dentistry budget - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Dormitories and Dining Services budget - 1937-1938
  • Folder: Education budget - 1937-1938
  • Box 92:
  • Folders 38-43 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Engineering budget - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Extension Division budget - 1938-1939
  • Box 93:
  • Folders 44-52 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Graduate College budget - 1938-1939
  • Box 94:
  • Folder 52 (Grounds and Buildings) - 1938-1939
  • Box 95:
  • Folders 52A-57B - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Homecoming - 1938
  • Folder: Homecoming game - 1938 October 8
    Section E, west side
  • Box 96:
  • Folder 59 - 1938-1939
  • Box 97:
  • Folders 57B-57Z, 59A, 59B, 59D-60, 62-66 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Law budget - 1938-1939
  • Box 98:
  • Folders 66A-67 - 1938-1939
  • Box 99:
  • Folders 67-67A - 1938-1939
  • Box 100:
  • Folder 67A - 1938-1939
  • Box 101:
  • Folders 67A-69A - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Liberal Arts budget - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Library budget - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Libraries annual report - 1938 June 30
  • Box 102:
  • Folders 70-71, 73B, 73D, 73F, 73G, 73I, 73J, 73M, 73O-73Z, 74-75 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Medicine budget - 1938-1939
  • Box 103:
  • Folders 76-86A - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Pharmacy budget - 1938-1939
  • Box 104:
  • Folders 87-93 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Administration
  • Box 105:
  • Folders 94-100A - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Publications budget - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Registrar's Office budget - 1938-1939
  • Box 106:
  • Folders 101-112A - 1938-1939
  • Box 107:
  • Folders 113-119, 121-125 - 1938-1939
  • Folder: Senator Clyde Herring
  • Box 108:
  • Folders 1-4, 5A, 5C-9, 10A - 1939-1940
  • Box 109:
  • Folders 11-12 - 1939-1940
  • Box 110:
  • Folders 13-15 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Treasurer's Office budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Business Office budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Special and trust funds
  • Box 111:
  • Folders 15A-17 - 1939-1940
  • Box 112:
  • Folders 18, 20-27 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Child Welfare budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Commerce budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 113:
  • Folders 28, 29, 31, 33-39 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Dean of Men's budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Dean of Women's budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Dentistry budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Dormitories and Dining Services budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Education budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Engineering budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 114:
  • Folders 40-48, 50 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Extension Division budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Graduate College budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 115:
  • Folder 51 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Physical Plant budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 116:
  • Folders 52-55, 56B-57I - 1939-1940
  • Folder: H-Mrs. H.C. Houghton
  • Box 117:
  • Folders 58-59C - 1939-1940
  • Box 118:
  • Folders 60-62, 64-69 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Law College budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 119:
  • Folders 70-72A, 72C, 72D, 72F, 72G, 72I-72K, 72N-73Z, 75-78 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Medicine budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Psychopathic Hospital budget
  • Box 120:
  • Folders 79-87A - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Pharmacy budget - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Division of Physical Education and Intercollegiate Athletics budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 121:
  • Folders 88-92, 94, 96, 97 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: President's Office - 1939-1940
  • Folder: University publications budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 122:
  • Folders 99-101 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Registrar's budget - 1939-1940
  • Box 123:
  • Folders 101, 102, 104-106, 108-110 - 1939-1940
  • Box 124:
  • Folders 113-119, 121-123 - 1939-1940
  • Folder: Untitled and unnumbered
  • Series 2: PERSONAL PAPERS
  • Box 1:
  • Vice-Governor of Philippines Clippings
  • Box 2:
  • Vice-Governor of Philippines Clippings
  • Box 3:
  • Vice-Governor of Philippines Clippings
  • Box 4:
  • Vice-Governor of Philippines Clippings
  • Box 5:
  • Vice-Governor of Philippines Clippings
  • Box 6:
  • Vice-Governor of Philippines Clippings
  • Box 7:
  • Addresses and Speeches
  • Box 8:
  • Articles
  • Diaries
  • Speeches
  • Box 9:
  • Gilmore
  • Box 10:
  • Appointment as Governor-General of the Philippines
  • Box 11:
  • Photographs
  • Box 12:
  • Stimson Letters
  • Box 13:
  • Scrapbook
  • Photographs
  • Box 14:
  • Articles
  • Books