Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Walter A. Jessup Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1916-1934
Creator: Jessup, Walter A. (1877-1944)
Extent: 170.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.009
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Eleventh president of the University of Iowa, 1916-1934.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives by the Office of the President; date undetermined. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Walter A. Jessup Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Walter A. Jessup served as the eleventh president of the University of Iowa, from 1916 to 1934.
 
First as an educator and later as university president, Jessup won important support to improve and enlarge the University of Iowa. He later led the Carnegie Corporation in New York.
 
Jessup received the Bachelor of Arts degree from Earlham College in 1903 and the Master of Arts degree from Hanover College in 1908, both in Indiana. In 1911, he received the Doctorate of Philosophy degree from Columbia University.
 
He became professor and dean of Iowa's School of Education in 1912. During his 18 years as president, the campus expanded from 42 to 324 acres, the faculty nearly doubled from 273 to about 500, and the student body nearly tripled to 10,000. Within the College of Liberal Arts, several schools emerged: Journalism, Religion, Fine Arts, and Letters.
 
In 1934, Jessup became president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching in New York, and, in 1941, took on the additional duty of president of the Carnegie Corporation.
 
Jessup was born in Richmond, Indiana, on August 12, 1877. He married Eleanor Hines on June 28, 1898, and they adopted two children. He died in New York City on July 5, 1944, at age 66.

Since the Walter Jessup administration in 1916, the President's Office has maintained an index of Presidential Correspondence in the form of a Kardex file to which name and subject entries are posted. A new alphabetical sequence is begun approximately each fiscal year. These cards files have been photocopied and a bound copy is available in the University Archives  these primary files are not yet available on-line. They are, clearly, essential to tracing correspondence on specific subjects. The Kardex entries consist of the name or subject and reference to a folder number (which may change from year to year for a particular subject although in a short span of years it often remains the same). To find the current physical location of the referenced folder, readers must consult the photocopied Kardex entries, note the number of any folder they wish to review, and then determine from the list which follows the number of the storage box in which the folder has been placed.
Carstensen, Vernon. "Jessup, Walter Albert." Dictionary of American Biography, suppl. 3 (1941-1945): 386-388, bibliog. Main reference.
 
In Memory of President Emeritus Walter Albert Jessup, 1877-1944. Iowa City: State University of Iowa, 1944. 30 pp. Main.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: 1916-1917
Series 2: 1917-1918
Series 3: 1918-1919
Series 4: 1919-1920
Series 5: 1920-1921
Series 6: 1921-1922
Series 7: 1922-1923
Series 8: 1923-1924
Series 9: 1924-1925
Series 10: 1925-1926
Series 11: 1926-1927
Series 12: 1927-1928
Series 13: 1928-1929
Series 14: 1929-1930
Series 15: 1930-1931
Series 16: 1931-1932
Series 17: 1932-1933
Series 18: 1933-1934

  • Series 1: 1916-1917
  • Box 1:
  • Folders 1-4
  • Box 2:
  • Folders 5-9
  • Box 3:
  • Folders 10-21
  • Box 4:
  • Folders 22-35
  • Box 5:
  • Folder 45
  • Box 6:
  • Folders 36-44, 46-74
  • Box 7:
  • Folders 75-113
  • Box 8:
  • Folders 114-194
  • Box 9:
  • Folders 95-234
  • Box 10:
  • Folders 235-271
  • Box 11:
  • Folders 272-293, 295-369
  • Box 12:
  • Folder 294 in legal-size box
  • Folder 399 in legal-size box
  • Folder 631 in legal-size box
  • Box 13:
  • Folders 370-398, 400-550
  • Box 14:
  • Folders 551-600
  • Box 15:
  • Folders 601-630, 632-679, 712
  • Box 16:
  • Folders 745, 753-808
  • Box 17:
  • Folder 762 in legal-size box
  • Folders 810-813
  • Box 18:
  • Folder 813A (Registration) - 1916-1917
  • Original Figures of budget - 1914-1915, 1915-1916
  • Annual Income of the State University of Iowa - 1916-1917
  • Box 19:
  • Budget Figures - 1916-1917
  • Association of Separated State Universities
  • Series 2: 1917-1918
  • Box 20:
  • Folder 1
  • Box 21:
  • Folders 2-21
  • Box 22:
  • Folders 22-30, 32-36
  • Box 23:
  • Folder 31 in legal-size box
  • Box 24:
  • Folders 37-45
  • Box 25:
  • Folders 46-53
  • Box 26:
  • Folders 54-82
  • Box 27:
  • Folders 83-127
  • Box 28:
  • Folders 128-164
  • Box 29:
  • Folders 165-210
  • Box 30:
  • Folders 211-229
  • Box 31:
  • Folders 230-236, 251-322, 324-340
  • Box 32:
  • Folder 237 in legal-size box
  • Folder 323 in legal-size box
  • Folder 379 in legal-size box
  • Box 33:
  • Folders 341-378, 380-495
  • Box 34:
  • Folders 496-630
  • Box 35:
  • Folders 631-669 (B)
  • Series 3: 1918-1919
  • Box 36:
  • Folders 1-2
  • Box 37:
  • Folders 3-6
  • Box 38:
  • Folders 7-17
  • Box 39:
  • Folder 18 in legal-size box
  • Folder 30 in legal-size box
  • Folders 84-86 in legal-size box
  • Folder 100 in legal-size box
  • Box 40:
  • Folders 19-28
  • Box 41:
  • Folders 29, 31-43
  • Box 42:
  • Folders 44-46
  • Box 43:
  • Folders 47-57
  • Box 44:
  • Folders 58-82, 87-95
  • Box 45:
  • Folders 96-99, 101-110
  • Box 46:
  • Folders 111-125
  • Box 47:
  • Folders 126-166b
  • Box 48:
  • Folders 166c-197
  • Box 49:
  • Folders 198-230
  • Box 50:
  • Folders 231-268
  • Series 4: 1919-1920
  • Box 51:
  • Folder 1
  • Box 52:
  • Folders 2-4a
  • Box 53:
  • Folders 4b, 5-7
  • Box 54:
  • Folders 8-14
  • Box 55:
  • Folders 15-16
  • Box 56:
  • Folder 4c in legal size box
  • Folder 18 in legal size box
  • Folder 19 in legal size box
  • Box 57:
  • Folders 17, 20-28
  • Box 58:
  • Folders 28-38
  • Box 59:
  • Folders 39-45
  • Box 60:
  • Folders 46-52
  • Box 61:
  • Folders 53-70
  • Box 62:
  • Folders 71-85
  • Box 63:
  • Folders 86-99
  • Box 64:
  • Folders 100-119
  • Box 66:
  • Folders 120-135
  • Series 5: 1920-1921
  • Box 65:
  • Folder 1
  • Box 66:
  • Folder 1a
    Also has 1919-1920 folders #120-135
  • Box 67:
  • Folders 2-6
  • Box 68:
  • Folders 7-10, 11c
  • Box 69:
  • Folders 11-11b
  • Box 70:
  • Folders 12-15a, 16a
  • Box 71:
  • Folders 15b-19
  • Box 72:
  • Folders 18a, 30
  • Box 73:
  • Folders 20-29, 31-35
  • Box 74:
  • Folders 36-39
  • Box 75:
  • Folders 40-46
  • Box 76:
  • Folders 47-54
  • Box 77:
  • Folders 55-70
  • Box 78:
  • Folders 71-93
  • Box 79:
  • Folder 76
  • Box 80:
  • Folders 94-99
  • Box 81:
  • Folders 100-115
  • Box 82:
  • Folders 116-121
  • Box 83:
  • Folder 121 (Budget)
  • Box 84:
  • Folders 121a-133
  • Series 6: 1921-1922
  • Box 85:
  • Folder 1
  • Box 86:
  • Folders 1-4
  • Box 87:
  • Folders 5-10
  • Box 88:
  • Folders 11-14
  • Box 89:
  • Folders 15-17
  • Box 90:
  • Folder 18c in legal-size box
  • Folder 28 in legal-size box
  • Folder 30 in legal-size box
  • Box 91:
  • Folders 18a-b, 19-26
  • Box 92:
  • Folders 27, 29, 31-38
  • Box 93:
  • Folders 39-45
  • Box 94:
  • Folders 46-58
  • Box 95:
  • Folders 59-75
    Note: Folder 63 has letters marked 52 and 64, the latter at least indexed as 64
  • Box 96:
  • Folders 76-94
  • Box 97:
  • Folder 91
  • Box 98:
  • Folders 95-99
  • Box 99:
  • Folders 100-121
  • Box 101:
  • Folders 122-130
  • Series 7: 1922-1923
  • Box 100:
  • Folder 1
  • Box 101:
  • Folder 1
  • Box 102:
  • Folders 2-5
  • Box 103:
  • Folders 6-10, 12-15a
  • Box 104:
  • Folder 11
  • Box 105:
  • Folders 11a, 11b
  • Box 106:
  • Folders 15b-17, 19-26
  • Box 107:
  • Folder 18 (payroll)
  • Box 108:
  • Folder 18
  • Box 109:
  • Folders 27-30
  • Box 110:
  • Folder 30
  • Box 111:
  • Folders 31-38
  • Box 112:
  • Folder 399 in legal-size box
  • Box 113:
  • Folders 40-52
  • Box 114:
  • Folders 53-64
  • Box 115:
  • Folder 80
  • Box 116:
  • Folders 65-79, 81-83
  • Box 117:
  • Folders 84-92
  • Box 118:
  • Folders 93-99
  • Box 119:
  • Folders 100-112, 116, 126-129
    (117-122, 123-125 are omitted)
  • Box 120:
  • Folders
  • Series 8: 1923-1924
  • Box 121:
  • Folders 1-11
  • Box 122:
  • Folders 12-13
  • Box 123:
  • Folders 14-16
  • Box 124:
  • Folders 16-21
  • Box 125:
  • Folders 22-32
  • Box 126:
  • Folders 33-38
  • Box 127:
  • Folders 39-51
  • Box 128:
  • Folders 52-57
  • Box 129:
  • Folder 58
  • Box 130:
  • Folders 58-60
  • Box 131:
  • Folders 61-73
  • Box 132:
  • Folder 74 (Medicine: A-P)
  • Box 133:
  • Folders 74-85
  • Box 134:
  • Folders 86-90
  • Box 135:
  • Folders 91-99
  • Box 136:
  • Folders 99a-106
  • Box 137:
  • Folders 106a-116a
  • Box 138:
  • Folders 116b-123
  • Series 9: 1924-1925
  • Box 139:
  • Folders 1-13
  • Box 140:
  • Folders 13-16
  • Box 141:
  • Folder 16 (Budget)
  • Box 142:
  • Folders 16a-25
  • Box 143:
  • Folders 25a-35
  • Box 144:
  • Folders 36-41
  • Box 145:
  • Folders 42-51a
  • Box 146:
  • Folders 52-59
  • Box 147:
  • Folder 57
  • Box 148:
  • Folders 60-72
  • Box 149:
  • Folder 73 (Medicine)
  • Box 150:
  • Folders 73-87
  • Box 151:
  • Folders 88-96
  • Box 152:
  • Folders 97-101
  • Box 153:
  • Folders 102-110
  • Box 154:
  • Folders 110a-120
  • Box 155:
  • Folders 121-131
    Also has 1925-1926 folders #1-10
  • Series 10: 1925-1926
  • Box 155:
  • Folders 1-10
    Also has 1924-1925 folders #121-131
  • Box 156:
  • Folders 11-13 (Boyd)
  • Box 157:
  • Folders 13-16
  • Box 158:
  • Folders 16-20
  • Box 159:
  • Folders 21-27
  • Box 160:
  • Folders 28-35
  • Box 161:
  • Folders 35-42
  • Box 162:
  • Folders 43-52a
  • Box 163:
  • Folders 53-57
  • Box 164:
  • Folders 57-57a (Hospital Payroll)
  • Box 165:
  • Folders 57b-59 (pt. 1)
  • Box 166:
  • Folders 59-70
  • Box 167:
  • Folders 70-73 (Med-General)
  • Box 168:
  • Folders 73-74 (pt. 1)
  • Box 169:
  • Folders 74-87a
  • Box 170:
  • Folders 87a-91
  • Box 171:
  • Folders 92-100
  • Box 172:
  • Folders 101-109
  • Box 173:
  • Folders 110a (pt), 115a
  • Box 174:
  • Folders 110-112
  • Box 175:
  • Folders 112a-130
  • Series 11: 1926-1927
  • Box 176:
  • Folders 1-10
  • Box 177:
  • Folders 11-12
  • Box 178:
  • Folders 12-15
  • Box 179:
  • Folders 15-22
  • Box 180:
  • Folders 23-32
  • Box 181:
  • Folders 33-38
  • Box 182:
  • Folders 39-50
  • Box 183:
  • Folders 51-56
  • Box 184:
  • Folder 57
  • Box 185:
  • Folders 57a-57b
  • Box 186:
  • Folders 57c-60a
  • Box 187:
  • Folders 61-69
  • Box 188:
  • Folders 67a, 67b
  • Box 189:
  • Folders 69-73
  • Box 190:
  • Folders 73-86
  • Box 191:
  • Folders 87-96
  • Box 192:
  • Folders 97-100
  • Box 193:
  • Folders 101-107
  • Box 194:
  • Folders 108, 110a
  • Box 195:
  • Folders 109-114, 121-129
  • Box 196:
  • Folders 117-120b
  • Series 12: 1927-1928
  • Box 197:
  • Folders 1-8
  • Box 198:
  • Folders 9-11
  • Box 199:
  • Folders 11-14
  • Box 200:
  • Folders 15-23
  • Box 201:
  • Folders 24-35
  • Box 202:
  • Folders 36-42
  • Box 203:
  • Folders 43-51
  • Box 204:
  • Folders 52-56
  • Box 205:
  • Folder 57
  • Box 206:
  • Folders 57a-57b
  • Box 207:
  • Folders 57b-59
  • Box 208:
  • Folders 60-68
  • Box 209:
  • Folders 679-73
  • Box 210:
  • Folders 73-75
  • Box 211:
  • Folders 76-81a
  • Box 212:
  • Folders 82-87a
  • Box 213:
  • Folders 88-96
  • Box 214:
  • Folders 97-100
  • Box 215:
  • Folders 101-103
  • Box 216:
  • Folders 104-110a
  • Box 217:
  • Folders 111-130
  • Series 13: 1928-1929
  • Box 218:
  • Folders 1-8
  • Box 219:
  • Folders 9-11
  • Box 220:
  • Folders 11-18
  • Box 221:
  • Folders 19-24
  • Box 222:
  • Folders 25-38
  • Box 223:
  • Folders 39-49
  • Box 224:
  • Folders 50-54a
  • Box 225:
  • Folders 55-57a
  • Box 226:
  • Folders 57b-57e
  • Box 227:
  • Folders 58-62b
  • Box 228:
  • Folders 63-67
  • Box 229:
  • Folders 67-67a
  • Box 230:
  • Folder 67
  • Box 231:
  • Folders 68-72
  • Box 232:
  • Folders 73-78
  • Box 233:
  • Folders 79-87
  • Box 234:
  • Folders 87a-96
  • Box 235:
  • Folders 97-101
  • Box 236:
  • Folders 101-108
  • Box 237:
  • Folders 109-110a
  • Box 238:
  • Folders 110a-129
  • Series 14: 1929-1930
  • Box 239:
  • Folders 1-5
  • Box 240:
  • Folders 5A-11
  • Box 241:
  • Folders 11-12A
  • Box 242:
  • Folders 13-21
  • Box 243:
  • Folders 22-33
  • Box 244:
  • Folders 34-39
  • Box 245:
  • Folders 40-51
  • Box 246:
  • Folders 50-52
  • Box 247:
  • Folders 53-57A
  • Box 248:
  • Folders 57A-59
  • Box 249:
  • Folders 59A-61
  • Box 250:
  • Folders 62-68
  • Box 251:
  • Folders 69-73
  • Box 252:
  • Folders 73-86
  • Box 253:
  • Folders 87-90
  • Box 254:
  • Folders 91-97
  • Box 255:
  • Folders 98-101
  • Box 256:
  • Folders 101a-110
  • Box 257:
  • Folders 110-110aa
  • Box 258:
  • Folders 111-122
  • Box 259:
  • Folders 123-129
    May also have some 1930-1931
  • Series 15: 1930-1931
  • Box 260:
  • Folders 1-9
  • Box 261:
  • Folders 10-11
  • Box 262:
  • Folders 11-14b
  • Box 263:
  • Folders 15-23
  • Box 264:
  • Folders 24-36
  • Box 265:
  • Folders 36a-43
  • Box 266:
  • Folders 44-50
  • Box 267:
  • Folders 51-57
  • Box 268:
  • Folders 57a-57b
  • Box 269:
  • Folders 57c-63a
  • Box 270:
  • Folders 64-66, 67a1-67a2
  • Box 271:
  • Folder 67
  • Box 272:
  • Folders 67a3-67a4
  • Box 273:
  • Folders 67a-67a8
  • Box 274:
  • Folders 67a9-67a11
  • Box 275:
  • Folders 67a12-67a14
  • Box 276:
  • Folder 67a
  • Box 277:
  • Folders 67a14, 67a16-67a17
  • Box 278:
  • Folders 67a18-67a19
  • Box 279:
  • Folder 67a (Legislative Investigation Record Vols. 1 & 2)
  • Box 280:
  • Folder 67a (Legislative Investigation Record Vol. #4)
  • Box 281:
  • Folder 67a (Legislative Investigation newspapers)
  • Box 282:
  • Folders 67a (Legislative Investigation Record Vol. #6), 67B-68
  • Box 283:
  • Folder 67a
  • Box 284:
  • Folders 69-73
  • Box 285:
  • Folders 73-78
  • Box 286:
  • Folders 79-87
  • Box 287:
  • Folders 88-96
  • Box 288:
  • Folders 97-100
  • Box 289:
  • Folders 101-109
  • Box 290:
  • 110-110a
  • Box 291:
  • Folders 110a-116
  • Box 292:
  • Folders 117-129
  • Series 16: 1931-1932
  • Box 293:
  • Folders 1-5a
  • Box 294:
  • Folders 6-11
  • Box 295:
  • Folder 11
  • Box 296:
  • Folders 11-14a
  • Box 297:
  • Folders 14A-18
  • Box 298:
  • Folders 19-28
  • Box 299:
  • Folders 29-36
  • Box 300:
  • Folders 36a-41
  • Box 301:
  • Folders 42-44
  • Box 302:
  • Folders 44a-52
  • Box 303:
  • Folders 52-57
  • Box 304:
  • Folders 57a-58a
  • Box 305:
  • Folders 59-60
  • Box 306:
  • Folders 61-69
  • Box 307:
  • Folders 70-74
  • Box 308:
  • Folders 75-86
  • Box 309:
  • Folders 87-90
  • Box 310:
  • Folders 91-92
  • Box 311:
  • Folders 93-100
  • Box 312:
  • Folders 100-101
  • Box 313:
  • Folders 102-110
  • Box 314:
  • Folder 110a
  • Box 315:
  • Folders 111-129
  • Series 17: 1932-1933
  • Box 316:
  • Folders 1-6
  • Box 317:
  • Folders 7-11
  • Box 318:
  • Folder 11
  • Box 319:
  • Folders 11-14
  • Box 320:
  • Folders 14a-22a
  • Box 321:
  • Folders 23-34
  • Box 322:
  • Folders 35-40
  • Box 323:
  • Folders 41-45a
  • Box 324:
  • Folders 46-52
  • Box 325:
  • Folders 52-57
  • Box 326:
  • Folders 57-57a (Hospital Payroll)
  • Box 327:
  • Folders 57b-59c
  • Box 328:
  • Folders 60-67
  • Box 329:
  • Folders 67-67b
  • Box 330:
  • Folders 67c-73
  • Box 331:
  • Folders 73-76
  • Box 332:
  • Folders 76a-90
  • Box 333:
  • Folders 91-97
  • Box 334:
  • Folders 98-101
  • Box 335:
  • Folders 101-110
  • Box 336:
  • Folders 110-111
  • Box 337:
  • Folders 112-129
  • Series 18: 1933-1934
  • Box 338:
  • Folders 1-4
  • Box 339:
  • Folders 5-11
  • Box 340:
  • Folders 11-11c
  • Box 341:
  • Folders 12-14a
  • Box 342:
  • Folders 16-26
  • Box 343:
  • Folders 27-36
  • Box 344:
  • Folders 37-43a
  • Box 345:
  • Folders 44-50
  • Box 346:
  • Folders 50-52
  • Box 347:
  • Folders 52-57
  • Box 348:
  • Folders 57-58a
  • Box 349:
  • Folders 59-67a
  • Box 350:
  • Folders 68-73
  • Box 351:
  • Folders 73c-76
  • Box 352:
  • Folders 76-87a
  • Box 353:
  • Folders 88-95
  • Box 354:
  • Folders 95-97
  • Box 355:
  • Folders 98-101
  • Box 356:
  • Folders 102-110
  • Box 357:
  • Folders 111-129

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Administration