Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Thomas H. Macbride Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1845-1954
Creator: Macbride, Thomas H. (1882-1967)
Extent: 16.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.008
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Tenth president of the University of Iowa, 1914-1916.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were given to the University Archives by the family of Thomas H. Macbride in 1964, and by his grandson, T.H. Macbride, in 1979. Guide posted to the Internet October 2000; updated December 2006. Further revisions by Alexandra Drehman, June 2011.

Preferred Citation: Thomas H. Macbride Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Thomas Huston Macbride served as the tenth president of the University of Iowa, from 1914 to 1916.
 
Though he was president of the university for only two years, Macbride served the campus for more than a half-century as a scholar, conservationist, and administrator. The building that bears his name was constructed in 1904 as the Hall of Natural Science and was renamed in his honor in 1934.
 
Macbride received the Bachelor of Arts and, in 1873, the Master of Arts degrees from Monmouth College in Illinois. He joined the University of Iowa in 1878, becoming a professor of botany in 1883. In 1902, he was made head of the Department of Botany and served as secretary of the faculty from 1887 to 1893.
 
His love for the outdoors and its preservation inspired him to become the first president of the Iowa Park and Forestry Association, organized in 1901. He founded the Lakeside Laboratory at Lake Okoboji in northwest Iowa and promoted the development of state parks, including the lake and park that bear his name in Johnson County, north of Iowa City.
 
Macbride was born in Rogersville, Tennessee, on July 31, 1848. He married Harriet Diffenderfer on December 31, 1875, and they had four children. He died in Seattle, Washington, on March 27, 1934, at age 85.

The papers of Thomas H. Macbride consist of approximately eight linear feet of manuscripts (series I) dating from 1845 to 1954. They are organized alphabetically by format of material, and then chronologically within each format. They document his career as a professor and president of the University of Iowa from 1914 to 1916. The papers also include about eight linear feet of administrative records from the Office of the President of the University (series II).
 
Included in series I are letters from: Paul Bartsch, Charles E. Bessey, W.R. Boyd, Jay N. Darling, Harvey Ingham, Laurence C. Jones, Frank O. Lowden, G.W. Martin, Louis H. Pammel, Gifford Pinchot, Carl E. Seashore, Fred J. Seaver, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Bertha M.H. Shambaugh, Bohumil Shimek, John Springer, and Robert B. Wylie.
 
Macbride's work as botanist is reflected in items in series I such as speeches and lectures he delivered, articles he wrote, notebooks he kept, and his Iowa Lakeside Laboratory research. Also included are diaries and newspaper clippings which show his connections with University of Iowa Archives  Philip D. Macbride Papers, University of Washington  and the Nineteenth Century Club and Raphael Club records, State Historical Society of Iowa.
 
Other family members are represented in the Macbride papers, series I, such as Harriet D. Macbride's diaries and notebooks, and Jean Macbride's compositions.Note that this finding aid describes only the personal papers series of the Thomas H. Macbride papers. Not described here but also part of the papers are his presidential correspondence series (8.5 ft.), letters of appreciation volume (0.25 ft.), and publications series (1.0 ft.).
Conklin, Mary Winifred. "The History of the State University of Iowa: Thomas Huston Macbride." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1945. 119 pp. Main; Archives

Conard, Rebecca. Places of Quiet Beauty: Parks, Preserves, and Environmentalism. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1997. 382 pp., illus., map, tables, notes, bibliog. Includes Thomas H. Macbride and Bohumil Shimek.

Gallaher, Ruth A., Robert B. Wylie, and Thomas H. Macbride. "Thomas Huston Macbride." Palimpsest 15 (May 1934): 161-192, illus. Main.

Schertz, Mary Winifred Conklin, and Walter L. Myers. Thomas Huston Macbride. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1947. 77 pp., illus. Main; Iowa Authors; Archives

Shimek, B. "Thomas Huston Macbride." Iowa Academy of Science Proceedings 41 (1934): 33-37, illus. Main.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS FROM THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Address books
  • Botany notebooks - 1879
  • Compositions written in school by Jean Macbride
  • Conservation
  • Convocation notes - 1914
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence of T.H. Macbride
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1869, 1871
  • Correspondence - 1872
  • Correspondence - 1873
  • Correspondence, January-May - 1874
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence, July-December - 1874
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1875
  • Correspondence, March-December - 1875
  • Correspondence - 1876-1879
    Including letters from Samuel Calvin and W.O. Currier
  • Correspondence - 1880-1884
  • Correspondence - 1885
  • Correspondence - 1886-1889
  • Correspondence - 1890-1892
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence, January - 1893
  • Correspondence, February-November - 1893
  • Correspondence - 1894-1897
  • Correspondence - 1898
    Including letters from J.C. Arthur, Charles E. Bessey, Samuel Calvin, and Gifford Pinchot
  • Correspondence - 1899
    Including letters from Gifford Pinchot, W. B. Allison, C.M. Waterman, Frank O. Lowden, G.S. Schaeffer, and L.H. Pammel
  • Correspondence - 1900-1901
    Including letters from Gifford Pinchot, C.M. Waterman, and Frank O. Lowden
  • Correspondence - 1902-1904
    Including letters from Robert B. Wylie and L.H. Pammel
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence - 1905-1907
    Including letters from George E. MacLean, Nathan R. Leonard, Charles R. Leonard, and Horace E. Deemer
  • Correspondence - 1908-1909
    Including letters from Nathan R. Leonard, Robert B. Wylie, W. Anderson, and Henry Sabin
  • Correspondence, January-August - 1910
    Including letters from George E. MacLean
  • Correspondence, September-December - 1910
    Including letters from George E. MacLean, Charles E. Bessey, L.H. Pammel, Luther A. Brewer, Gifford Pinchot, and Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Correspondence, January-February - 1911
    Including letters from L.H. Pammel, Robert Hunter, Eli C. Perkins, Leslie E. Francis, George W. Koontz, C.E. Pickett, W.O. Finkbine, and J.C. Arthur
  • Correspondence, March - 1911
    Including letters from Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Gifford Pinchot, George W. Koontz, and Charles E. Bessey
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence, April - 1911
    Including letters from Frank O. Lowden
  • Correspondence, May - 1911
    Including letters from L.H. Pammel
  • Correspondence, June-September - 1911
    Including letters from Robert Hunter, W.O. Finkbine, George E. MacLean, William J. McChesney, Bohumil Shimek, Charles E. Bessey, and J.B. Weaver
  • Correspondence, October-December - 1911
    Including letters from J.C. Arthur, Charles E. Bessey, Forest C. Ensign, and Robert B. Wylie
  • Correspondence, undated - 1911
  • Correspondence, January-April - 1912
    Including letters from L.H. Pammel, J.C. Arthur, W.R. Boyd, and Charles E. Bessey
  • Correspondence, May-December - 1912
    Including letters from Edgar R. Harlan, J.B. Weaver, L.H. Pammel, Robert B. Wylie, Bohumil Shimek, Charles E. Bessey, Frederic Larrabee, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Frank C. Pellett, Anna M. Klinenhagen, and Frank O. Lowden
  • Correspondence - 1913
    Including letters from John G. Bowman, Bohumil Shimek, Robert B. Wylie, H.O. Bernbrock, Laurence C. Jones, Launcelot W. Andrews, W.O. Finkbine, Charles E. Bessey, G.W. Clarke, L.H. Pammel, and William S. Kenyon
  • Box 6:
  • Correspondence, January-April - 1914
    Including letters from Frank O. Lowden, L.B. Weaver, Robert Hunter, L.H. Pammel, and Benjamin F. Shambaugh
  • Correspondence, May-November - 1914
    Including letters from Charles Bundy Wilson, Charles E. Bessey, Bohumil Shimek, and Launcelot W. Andrews
  • Correspondence - 1915-1919
    Including letters from William H. Taft, Charles Bundy Wilson, G. W. Clarke, W.R. Boyd, J.R. Weaver, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Edgar R. Harlan, Walter A. Jessup, W.J. McChesney, George W. Patrick, Robert B. Wylie, W. O. Finkbine, L. H. Pammel, John Springer, and Gifford Pinchot
  • Correspondence - 1920-1921
    Including letters from Gifford Pinchot, Walter A. Jessup, Carl E. Seashore, Bohumil Shimek, Robert B. Wylie, L. H. Pammel, Launcelot W. Andrews, Edgar R. Harlan, W.O. Finkbine, Paul Bartsch, Harvey Ingham, E.T. Meredith, and W.R. Boyd
  • Correspondence - 1922
    Including letters from Robert B. Wylie, Edwin L. Sabin, John W. Kime, L. H. Pammel, and Walter A. Jessup
  • Correspondence - 1923-1924
    Including letters from John W. Kime, Gifford Pinchot, Forest C. Ensign, Laurence C. Jones, Robert B. Wylie, L. H. Pammel, Ada Knight Terrell, Carl E. Seashore, Harvey Ingham, John P. Irish, W.R. Boyd, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Jay N. Darling, and George F. Kay
  • Box 7:
  • Correspondence - 1925-1926
    Including letters from Walter A. Jessup, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, W.R. Boyd, Jay N. Darling, Carrie Chapman Catt, John Hammill, George W. Patrick, Carl E. Seashore, George W. Martin, and Bohumil Shimek
  • Correspondence - 1927
    Including letters from Bohumil Shimek, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, L. H. Pammel, Bertha M. H. Shambaugh, Walter A. Jessup, Charles Bundy Wilson, Robert Hunter, Robert B. Wylie, Carl E. Seashore, George E. MacLean, and Forest C. Ensign
  • Correspondence - 1928
    Including letters from Walter A. Jessup, Carl E. Seashore, Laurence C. Jones, Robert B. Wylie, L. H. Pammel, George W. Martin, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, and Charles Bundy Wilson
  • Correspondence - 1929
    Including letters from Carl E. Seashore, George W. Martin, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, George F. Kay, Walter A. Jessup, John Hammill, L. H. Pammel, Robert B. Wylie, Gifford Pinchot, Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, and Frank O. Lowden
  • Correspondence - 1930
    Including letters from George W. Martin, Carl E. Seashore, W. O. Finkbine, Forest C. Ensign, Walter A. Jessup, John Hammill, L. H. Pammel, Robert B. Wylie, Gifford Pinchot, Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, and Frank O. Lowden
  • Correspondence - 1931
    Including letters from Harvey Ingham, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, George E. MacLean, Forest C. Ensign, Bohumil Shimek, Charles H. Mayo, and Walter A. Jessup
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1932
    Including letters from George W. Martin, Paul Bartsch, Bohumil Shimek, and Walter A. Jessup
  • Correspondence - 1933
    Including letters from Robert B. Wylie, Walter A. Jessup, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Edgar R. Harlan, Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, J. B. Weaver, Harvey Ingham, Laurence C. Jones, and Bertha M. H. Shambaugh
  • Correspondence - 1934-1954
    Including letters from George W. Martin, Robert B. Wylie, and Harvey Ingham
  • Correspondence, undated
    Including letters from Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, Bertha M. H. Shambaugh, and Robert B. Wylie
  • Correspondence, undated
    2 folders
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence of the Macbride family
  • Box 8:
  • Correspondence - 1870-1887
  • Correspondence - 1888-1889
  • Box 9:
  • Correspondence - 1890-1891
  • Correspondence - 1892-1895
  • Correspondence - 1896-1927
    Including letters from Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer, Alice French, and Bertha M. H. Shambaugh
  • Correspondence, undated
    Including letters from Charles A. Schaeffer and Evelyn Schuyler Schaeffer
  • Correspondence, undated
  • Sub-Series: Books
  • Box 9:
  • Day Book - 1930-1931
  • Dayton, C. H., Laboratory journal, Conchology: Notes of Observations and Experiments made in the Laboratories. S.U.I., by James Lee, a student of T. H. Macbride - 1882
  • Sub-Series: Diaries
  • Box 10:
  • Diaries of Harriet D. Macbride - 1876, 1885
  • Diaries of Harriet D. Macbride - 1888, 1891
  • Diaries of Harriet D. Macbride - 1894, 1922
  • Diary of J. B. Macbride, father of T.H. Macbride - 1845
  • Diaries of Thomas H. Macbride - 1869-1899
  • Diaries of Thomas H. Macbride - 1903-1908
  • Diaries of Thomas H. Macbride - 1909-1917
  • Box 11:
  • Diaries of Thomas H. Macbride - 1918-1927
  • Sub-Series: General E-Z
  • Box 11:
  • Emerson and the Lyceum and Chautauqua - 1940
    7 documents with no photographs
  • Essays
    3 folders
  • Grade Books - 1872-1877
  • Harriet D. Macbride. Ancestry - 1897-1910
    Including "Some of the Descendants of John Michael Dubendorf, 1695 -- 1778, 1897 -- 1910," by Frank Ried Diffenderffer
  • Manuscript notes of In Cabins and Sod-houses
  • Journals of Harriet D. Macbride, undated
  • Box 12:
  • Journals of Harriet D. Macbride, undated
  • Leather pouch. T.H. Macbride, Monmouth College, Illinois
  • Lectures and lecture notes
    2 folders
  • Map of Iowa Lakeside Laboratory region, as a blueprint
  • Miscellaneous
  • Folder 7 - 1863-1933
  • Undated
  • Miscellaneous programs and invitations - 1874-1933
    To such events as a dinner to honor the new women's gymnasium in 1915, the opening of the first state park in Iowa in 1920, a 1922 luncheon to honor alumni explorers, and a brief history of Delta Tau Delta dated 1927-1928, among others
  • New Year’s cards from Macbride with photographs of trees - 1931-1934
  • Box 13:
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Appointment of T.H. Macbride to University of Iowa presidency - 1914
  • Book reviews - 1914-1929
  • Lake Macbride State Park - 1934
  • Macbride’s death - 1934
  • Miscellaneous - 1870-1934
  • Our Native Trees, a series of articles by Macbride
  • Nineteenth Century Club - 1883-1901
  • Nineteenth Century Club - 1901-1923
  • Notebooks, Harriet D. Macbride
    2 folders
  • Notes on religion
  • Philosophy of education - 1887-1932
  • Box 14:
  • Poetry notebook
  • Presidential journal - 1914-1915
  • Raphael Club - 1883-1908
  • Raphael Club - 1908-1922
  • Reprints of articles by T.H. Macbride, A-N
  • Reprints of articles by T.H. Macbride, O
  • Box 15:
  • Reprints of articles by T.H. Macbride, P-Z
  • Speeches - 1882-1912
  • Speeches, undated
  • Translations of Heinrich Heine by Macbride - 1892
    2 folders, includes letter concerning them from T.M. Coan
  • Tributes to T.H. Macbride - 1908-1935
    Includes Thirty years in the State University; a tribute to Thomas Huston Macbride, 1908
  • Zoological notebook
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS FROM THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY
  • Box 16:
  • Lakeside Lab - 1914
    2 folders
  • Public Health and hygiene - 1914
  • Water Analysis - 1914
  • Commencement - 1915-1916
  • Correspondence from Bethel and Ellsworth - 1914
  • Correspondence from Brenton, Charles R. - 1914
  • College of Medicine - 1914
  • Box 17:
  • National Association of State Universities - 1914
  • Coulter, John G. - 1914
  • Convocations and Commencement - 1914
  • Board of Educational Examiners - 1914
  • Ensign; Forest C. Dean of Men and Registrar - 1914
  • Eggert, C.A. - 1914
  • State Board of Education - 1914
  • Association of Collegiate Alumnae - 1914
  • Fisk; Grounds and Buildings - 1914
  • Letters of recommendations - 1914
  • Green, Wesley; Department of Agriculture - 1914
  • Campfire Girls - 1914
  • College of Education - 1914
  • Kuehnle, Carl F. - 1914
  • Kern, Frank D. - 1914
  • Personal Correspondence - 1914
  • Box 18:
  • Mayer, Max (Mrs. Julia B.) - 1914
  • Merriam, J.C. - 1914
  • College of Law - 1914
  • McMichael, T.H. - 1914
  • Department of Zoology - 1914
  • Macbride, J. Francis - 1914
  • Nollen, John S. - 1914
  • College of Applied Science - 1914
  • Pearson, Raymond; Iowa State College - 1914
  • Homeopathic Medicine - 1914
  • Library - 1914
  • Library Commission - 1914
  • Starbuck, Edwin D. - 1914
  • Schmitt, C.J. - 1914
  • Smith, Isaac B. - 1914
  • Holbrook, P.K. - 1914
  • Triangle Club - 1914
  • Department of Physics - 1914
  • Smith, Dr. Ferdinand J. - 1914
  • Trewin, J.H. - 1914
  • Y.M.C.A. - 1914
  • Walker, Henry G. - 1914
  • Employment Applications - 1914
  • Box 19:
  • Ansley, Carl F.; College of Fine Arts - 1914
  • Henry, Albert; Department of Pathology and Bacteriology - 1914
  • Burrill, T.J. - 1914
  • Bilgram, Hugo - 1914
  • Wilcox, W.C.; College of Liberal Arts - 1914
  • Block, Louis - 1914
  • Drake and Keokuk Universities affiliation of Medical Colleges - 1914
  • Department of Botany - 1914
  • Bowman, John G. - 1914
  • Inaugurations and celebrations - 1914
  • Bush, A.G. - 1914
  • Academic costume - 1914
  • Cooper, A.T. - 1914
  • Clarke, Charles H. - 1914
  • Carey, Gov. Joseph M. - 1914
  • Davenport, Charles B. - 1914
  • Deemer, Horace E. - 1914
  • Expense Account - 1914
  • Pickard, Funeral of President - 1914
  • Harper, R.A. - 1914
  • Harden, Arthur A. - 1914
  • Hufatlen, Sarah - 1914
  • Hill, Louis W. - 1914
  • Kenyon, W. S. - 1914
  • Box 20:
  • Extension Division - 1914
  • Political Economy and Sociology - 1914
  • Meyer, I.F., Board of Education Finance Committee; Law Bulletin; Asiatic Institute; Department of Chemistry; Misc. Correspondence - 1914
  • Shambaugh, B.F.; Breene F.T.; Misc. Correspondence - 1914
  • State Board of Education regarding College of Medicine; Beta Theta Pi; Calvin, Samuel - 1914
  • Photographs by Baylis, William; Larrabee, Anna; Department of Agriculture; Misc. Correspondence - 1914
  • Iowa Congress of Mothers; Child Welfare Committee; Physical Examiner of Women; Board of Education Finance Committee - 1914
  • Box 21:
  • Des Moines College; Board of Education finance committee; Rhodes Scholarship fund; Misc. bank correspondence - 1914
  • Iowa Equal Suffrage Association; Sigma Xi; Parker, George F.; International college correspondence; Iowa State Teachers College - 1914
  • Iowa Park and Forestry Association; Executive Department State of Iowa; Finkbine W.O.; SIU Military Department; College of Pharmacy; Young Men's Christian Association; Misc. correspondence - 1914
  • International Botanical Congress; Dr. Conniff, R.E.; College Standardization Church Boards of Education; American Institute of Electrical Engineers; Department of Political Science - 1914
  • Weaver, J.B.; State Board of Education Finance Committee correspondence and controversies; Iowa's Educational Problem; Course listings - 1914
  • Henry Strong Scholarship correspondence; Misc. Correspondence - 1914
  • Association of American Universities; Iowa State Board of Education; Societies and Organizations; Board of Deans misc. correspondence - 1914
  • Box 22:
  • Misc. correspondence; Income tax forms; State Board of Education minutes - 1914
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science; Churchill, Winston; Alumni correspondence; misc. correspondence - 1914
  • School of Music Applications - 1914
    2 folders
  • Box 23:
  • Lakeside Lab - 1915
  • Public Health and Hygiene - 1915
  • Water Analysis - 1915
    2 folders
  • Bethel, Ellsworth - 1915
  • College of Medicine - 1915
    2 folders
  • National Association of State Universities - 1915
  • Box 24:
  • Coulter, John C. - 1915
  • Convocations and Commencement - 1915
  • Board of Educational Examiners - 1915
  • Ensign, Forest C.; Registrar - 1915
  • Eggert, C.A. - 1915
  • State Board of Education - 1915
  • Holiday, Sadie - 1915
  • Fisk, Supt. Grounds and Buildings - 1915
  • Letters of Recommendation - 1915
  • Green, Wesley - 1915
  • Association of Collegiate Alumnae - 1915
  • College of Education - 1915
  • Kuehnle, Carl F. - 1915
  • Personal Correspondence - 1915
  • College of Law - 1915
  • Box 25:
  • McMichael, T.H. - 1915
  • Department of Zoology - 1915
  • Nollen, John S. - 1915
  • College of Applied Science - 1915
  • Iowa State College - 1915
  • Homeopathic Medicine - 1915
  • Library - 1915
  • Library Commission - 1915
  • Starbuck, E.D. - 1915
  • Holbrook, P.K. - 1915
  • Iowa Wesleyan College - 1915
  • Department of Physics - 1915
  • Trewin, J.H. - 1915
  • Y.M.C.A - 1915
  • Employment Applications - 1915
  • College of Fine Arts - 1915
  • Department of Pathology and Bacteriology - 1915
  • Burrill, T.J. - 1915
  • Bilgram, Hugo - 1915
  • College of Liberal Arts - 1915
  • Box 26:
  • Block, Louis - 1915
  • Affiliation of Keokuk Medical and Drake University Medical and Dental Colleges - 1915
  • Department of Botany - 1915
  • Bowman, John C. - 1915
  • Inaugurations and celebrations - 1915
  • Bush, A.G. - 1915
  • Academic Costume - 1915
  • Deemer, H.E. - 1915
  • Macbride Expense Account - 1915
  • Huftalen, Mrs. Sarah - 1915
  • Kenyon, WM. S. - 1915
  • Extension Division - 1915
  • Political Economy and Sociology - 1915
  • Iowa State Board of Education; Delaware County Farmers' Institute; Graduate College; Misc. Correspondence - 1915
  • Association of American Universities; College of Dentistry; Klingenhagen, Anna M.; Kay, George F. Bolton, Frederick E. and Anderson, David A. c/o University of Washington; Iowa Religious Education Association; Iowa Child Welfare Research Station; Senate Board on Publications - 1915
  • Box 27:
  • Invoices and company affiliated correspondence; Rhodes Scholarship examination correspondence; Sheerly, Mrs. Homer H.; Iowa State Teacher's Association - 1915
  • Bill: Proposed Medical Library; Perkins, Eli C.; Senate File No. 16; Finkbine, W.O.; War Department, Military Department, Armory; Teeters, W. J.; NCAA; Student Revolving Loan Fund; Journalism course introduction - 1915
  • Journalism; Merry, Glenn M, public speaking; Shambaugh, Benjamin F. - 1915
  • Bureau of Education; Summary of Expenditures; Departmental Data on Student Hours; Iowa Survey Commission - 1915
  • American Association of Universities and Auditing Committee; Iowa State Board of Education meeting absences - 1915
  • Box 28:
  • Iowa Federation of Women's Clubs; College of Medicine faculty meeting minutes; Misc. correspondence - 1915
  • College of Liberal Arts committees- Executive committee, graduate college, courses of study; Atkinson, W.I.; Iowa Child Welfare Research Stations; Coast, W.O.; letters concerning vivisection - 1915
  • Calvin, John; Board of Deans; Furst, Clyde; Freer, H.H.; Dunlap, J.H.; Allen, J.H; Misc. Correspondence - 1915
  • Post Graduate Association, Krall, J.A.; Hawkeye publishing; Savage, J.A. in regards to paintings by William Savage; Potter, M.C; Misc. Correspondence - 1915
  • Well, Cate Gilbert; Huebert, C.F; State Highway Commission; Whedon, A.D; Misc. Correspondence; Theta Xi incident letters; State Federation of Women's Clubs; Public Parks establishment; Ebersole, W.S; My Country Oh My Country A National Anthem; Misc. Correspondence - 1915
  • Box 29:
  • Misc. Correspondence, Peck, J.H; Second Pan American Scientific Congress; Parkinson, A.E. - 1915
  • Misc. Correspondence. Angell, J.R; Frederick, J.T; Finance Committee - 1915
  • Correspondence January- August - 1916
  • Confidential Information Regarding Outbreak, Dr. Boyd, Mark F., Public Health and Hygiene - 1916
    13 folders each holding one case file including typhoid and diphtheria
  • Water Analysis - 1916
  • Bethel, Ellsworth - 1916
  • Brenton, Charles R. - 1916
  • College of Medicine - 1916
  • National Association of State Universities - 1916
  • Coulter, John C. - 1916
  • Convocations and Commencements - 1916
  • Board of Educational Examiners - 1916
  • Box 30:
  • Ensign, Forest C. - 1916
  • State Board of Education - 1916
  • Association of Collegiate Alumnae - 1916
  • Fisk, J.M. Superintendent of Structures and Buildings - 1916
  • Letters of Recommendation - 1916
  • Holiday, Sadie - Camp for Girls - 1916
  • College of Education - 1916
  • Arthur, J.C. - 1916
  • Personal Correspondence - 1916
  • College of Law - 1916
  • McMichael, T.H. - 1916
  • Department of Zoology - 1916
  • College of Applied Science - 1916
  • Iowa State College - 1916
  • Homeopathic Medicine - 1916
  • Library - 1916
  • Library Commission - 1916
  • Starbuck, E.D. - 1916
  • Holbrook, P.K. - 1916
  • Department of Physics - 1916
  • Trewin, J.H. - 1916
  • Y.M.C.A. - 1916
  • Walker, Henry G. - 1916
  • Employment Applications - 1916
  • College of Fine Arts - 1916
  • Department of Pathology and Bacteriology - 1916
  • College of Liberal Arts - 1916
  • Block, Louis - 1916
  • Affiliation of Drake and Keokuk Medical Colleges - 1916
  • Department of Botany - 1916
  • Box 31:
  • Inaugurations and Celebrations - 1916
  • Academic Costume - 1916
  • Expense Account- President Macbride - 1916
  • Weld, L.G. - 1916
  • Harden, E.S. - 1916
  • Kenyon, W.A. - 1916
  • Extension Division - 1916
  • Political Economy and Sociology - 1916
  • Murphy, D.D; Rockwood, E.W; Walker, F.P; Shambaugh, B.F, State Historical Society of Iowa; Dental Faculties Association of American Universities, Breen, F.T; Iowa Academy of Science - 1916
  • Vesper Services and correspondence from attending Reverends, Wylie, D.W; Department of German; Graduation and degrees in absentia; Receipts; Schoentgen, E.P; Rhodes Scholarship; Suffrage - 1916
  • Forestry and Conservation Assoc.; Clarke, G.W; Perkins, E.C; Finkbine, W.O; Industrial Information by Means of the Cinematograph and correspondence; Military Science schools; Misc. Correspondence - 1916
  • Department of Public Speaking; Shambaugh, B.F; Senate Board on University Lectures; Richards, H.S; Capen, S.P; Conference on Iowa Educational Institutions, Commission of the north Central Association - 1916
  • Box 32:
  • Eicher, H.M; Ames, H.V, Assoc. of American Universities; Senate Board of Audit - 1916
  • College of Medicine and Pharmacy faculty meeting minutes; Board of Control and Corrections; Committee on Courses of Study; Executive Committee College of Liberal Arts; Misc. Correspondence - 1916
  • Whedon, A.D; Gist, W.W; Kenyon, W.S; McNider, C.H; Publishing correspondence - 1916
  • Peck, J.H, Tuberculosis Association; Pan American Union; Laughlin, E.D; Council on Medical Education; Angell, J.R; Clubs and Culture Macbride lecture; Department of Zoology; Misc. Correspondence - 1916
  • Student Government; Macbride biography for Who's Who In America; Blackburn, M; Atherton, L.G; Duniway, C.A; Williams, Ora; U.S. Civil Service Commission; Misc. Correspondence - 1916
  • Perkins Scholarship; Permanent Blind Relief War Fund; Women's Forensic League; Misc. Correspondence - 1916
  • Misc. Correspondence - 1916
  • Sub-Series: Unboxed
  • Box 32A:
  • Bound volume of letters of appreciation - 1912
  • Three scrapbooks containing letters - 1892-1928