Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John G. Bowman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1911-1914
Creator: Bowman, John G. (1881-1981)
Extent: 8.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.007
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Ninth president of the University of Iowa, 1911-1914.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives from the Office of the President; date undetermined. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: John. G. Bowman Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"The first University of Iowa alumnus to become its president, John Gabbert Bowman was also the school's first Iowa-born chief administrator. The Davenport native received the B.A. degree in 1899, the M.A. in 1904, and the Litt.D. in 1934.

While university president, Bowman oversaw the formation of the colleges of Education and Fine Arts, the latter existing as a college for only a few years until it was reorganized as a school within the College of Liberal Arts. He also promoted the work of the University's Extension Division. Following his departure from Iowa, he became the first director of the American College of Surgeons in 1915. From 1921 to 1945 he was chancellor of the University of Pittsburgh and was its president from 1945 until retiring in 1947.

A controversial educator, Bowman promoted construction of the 42-story Cathedral of Learning at Pittsburgh, over the objections of many faculty members. Completed in 1929, it was at the time the tallest educational structure in the world.

Bowman was born in Davenport in 1877. He married Florence Ridgway Berry in 1908, and they had two children. He died on December 2, 1962, at age 85.

Bowman, John Gabbert. The World That Was. New Brunswick, New Jersey: Rutgers University Press, 1947.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Presidential correspondence

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Bowman, John G. (John Gabbert), 1877-1962

Occupations:
Educators
College presidents

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Correspondence
Presidential papers

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration