Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Amos Noyes Currier Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1885-1905
Creator: Currier, Amos Noyes (1881-1953)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.005
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were donated to the University Archives by the Office of the President; date undetermined. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Amos Noyes Currier was born on October 3, 1832, in Canaan, New Hampshire, the son of Eben F. and Sophia Noyes Currier. After graduating from Dartmouth College with the A.B. and A.M. degrees, he was named a professor of ancient languages at Central College in Pella, Iowa, in 1857. Following military service in the 8th Iowa Infantry and 11th Missouri Calvary during the Civil War, he returned to Central College and, in 1867, was appointed professor of ancient languages (later Latin) at the University of Iowa.

Currier remained with the University for the next 42 years, until his death in 1909. In addition to serving as professor of Latin, Greek, and literature, he was dean of the Collegiate Department (later the College of Liberal Arts), from 1887 to 1907 and was the University's acting president between the Schaeffer and MacLean administrations (1898-99). He was also the University Librarian from 1870 to 1879.

Currier died on May 16, 1909.

Amos Noyes Currier. Iowa Alumnus 6 (June 1909): 257-279, illus. Main.

Berryhill, Virginia J. "Amos Noyes Currier." Annals of Iowa, 3d ser. 10 (July 1911): 90-118, illus. Main.

Wright, Luella Margaret. Amos Noyes Currier. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1947. 71 pp., illus. Main; Iowa Authors; Archives, in "Centennial Memoirs (State University of Iowa)."

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Papers
  • Presidential Correspondence