Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Silas Totten Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1859-1862
Creator: Totten, Silas (1804-1873)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG05.0001.002
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These papers were transferred to the University Archives by the Office of the President; date unknown. Guide posted to the Internet December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Silas Totten Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Silas Totten served as the second president of the State University of Iowa, from 1859 to 1862.

The outlook for the future of the university was very discouraging when Totten assumed the presidency. The treasury was empty, most courses were temporarily closed, land sales to raise funds were not proceeding as expected, and tensions leading to the Civil War were mounting. Amid these difficulties, the university's Board of Trustees elected Totten and requested that he prepare a new plan of organization for the institution. For the first time, the university developed independent departments, each with its own distinct classes and course of study.

Like his predecessor, Amos Dean, Totten graduated from Union College in Schenectady, New York. In 1833, he was ordained as an Episcopal minister and joined the faculty of Trinity College in Hartford, Connecticut, becoming its president in 1841. From 1841 until moving to Iowa City in 1859, he was a member of the faculty at William and Mary College in Virginia.

Totten had publicly expressed sympathy with the South during the Civil War, prompting angry local reaction. In 1862 a pro-Union crowd pursued his son, a university student also sympathetic to the Confederacy. Totten's son escaped, never to return again. The incident caused Totten to resign on August 19 of that year. Totten returned to the ministry in Illinois, and, later, Kentucky.

Totten was born on March 26, 1804, in Scoharie County, New York. He died on October 7, 1873, at age 69.

Catalogs of the University, 1859-1862 (RG01.0008.001)

Records of the Board of Trustees and Board of Regents, 1847-1909 (RG04.0001.001)

Manuscript File Collection (RG01.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Publications

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Totten, Silas, 1804-1873

Occupations:
College presidents

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Manuscripts (Document genre)

Browse:
University of Iowa Administration