Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Iowa State Board of Education / Board of Regents Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1909-1982
Creator: Iowa State Board of Education / Board of Regents
Extent: 47.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG04.0002.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These records have been transferred to the University Archives at various times. Guide posted to the Internet October 2006; updated February 2009.

Preferred Citation: Iowa State Board of Education / Board of Regents Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

On February 25, 1847, the First General Assembly of the State of Iowa established the State University of Iowa at Iowa City. The law provided for a 15-member Board of Trustees. With little initial financial support, the Board's early business was confined to land selection for the new institution. By 1855, the first year of classes, however, the Board became fully engaged in the business of managing a small but growing public university. In 1870 the Board of Trustees was reorganized as the Board of Regents.
 
In 1909, the Iowa State Board of Education was organized to administer the state's three public institutions of higher learning: The State University of Iowa at Iowa City (in 1964 its name was shortened to The University of Iowa for common use); Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts at Ames (renamed Iowa State University of Science and Technology in 1959); and the Iowa State Teachers College at Cedar Falls (renamed the State College of Iowa in 1961 and the University of Northern Iowa in 1967). The state board succeeded the functions of these individual institutions' governing bodies in 1909.
 
The state Board of Education was renamed the Iowa State Board of Regents in 1954.

The Records of the Iowa State Board of Education and Board of Regents, 1909-1982, consist of seven series: Board Minutes, Reports and Other Printed Matter, Administrative, Legislative Relations, Committees, Finance and Budget, and Regents Member Files.
Fogdall, Vergil S. "History of the State University of Iowa: The Governing Boards, 1847-1947." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1947.

Mahan, Bruce E. "University of Iowa." The Palimpsest LII, 2: p. 33-129. (February 1971). Des Moines: State Historical Society of Iowa.

Records of the Board of Trustees and Board of Regents, 1847-1909 (RG04.0001.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BOARD MINUTES
Series 2: REPORTS AND OTHER PRINTED MATTER
Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 4: LEGISLATIVE RELATIONS
Series 5: COMMITTEES
Series 6: FINANCE AND BUDGET
Series 7: REGENTS MEMBER FILES

  • Series 1: BOARD MINUTES
  • Board Record - April 20 1909-June 30, 1936
    29 bound volumes
  • State Board of Education Minutes - September 24, 1935-June 17, 1937
    Incomplete, 1 document box
  • State Board of Education Minutes - September 14, 1937-June 30, 1947
    9 bound volumes
  • State Board of Education Minutes - October 10, 1947-June 10, 1960
    13 binders
  • State Board of Regents Minutes - July 14, 1960-July 12, 1968
    7 document boxes
  • State Board of Regents Minutes - September 12, 1968-June 16, 1972
    4 binders
  • State Board of Regents Minutes - July 13, 1972-June 17, 1982, June 21-22, 1989
  • Board of Regents and Finance Committee Minutes Index - 1916-1977
    6 document boxes
  • Board of Regents Minutes Subject Index - 1916-1973
    3 flat boxes
  • Series 2: REPORTS AND OTHER PRINTED MATTER
  • Box 1:
  • Regents, Facts About - 1970-1971
  • Box 2:
  • Biennial Report of the State of Iowa Board of Education - 1910-1926
  • Box 3:
  • Biennial Report of the State of Iowa Board of Education - 1928-1940
  • Box 4:
  • Biennial Report of the State of Iowa Board of Education - 1942-1952
  • Box 5:
  • Biennial Report of the State Board of Regents - 1954-1970
  • Box 6:
  • Biennial Report of the State Board of Regents - 1974-1976
  • Box 7:
  • Reports from the Office of the President - 1969-1975
  • Series 3: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Box 1:
  • Procedural Guide - 1973-1980
  • Box 2:
  • Rules of the Regents Merit System - 1973, 1977
  • Box 3:
  • Regents Seminar Academic Planning - 1973
  • Series 4: LEGISLATIVE RELATIONS
  • Box 1:
  • Legislative Askings; Legislative Requests; Financial Requirements - 1919-1923, 1940, 1953-1975
  • Box 2:
  • Legislative Notes and Other Reports - 1952-1971
  • Box 3:
  • Legislative Notes - 1971
  • Series 5: COMMITTEES
  • Box 1:
  • Intercollegiate Standing Committee - 1919-1943
  • Series 6: FINANCE AND BUDGET
  • Box 1:
  • State University of Iowa Finance Committee Minutes - July 1935-June 1936
  • State University of Iowa Finance Committee Minutes: Fourteen bound volumes - July 1937-June 1960
  • Box 2:
  • State University of Iowa Finance Committee Minutes - July 1960-June 1966
  • Box 3:
  • State University of Iowa Finance Committee: Gifts and Scholarships, Budget - 1952-1960
  • Box 4:
  • Iowa State University Finance Committee - July 1947-June 1951
  • Box 5:
  • Iowa State University Finance Committee - July 1951-June 1955
  • Box 6:
  • Iowa State University Finance Committee - July 1955-June 1960
  • Box 7:
  • Iowa State University Finance Committee - July 1960-June 1966
  • Box 8:
  • University of Northern Iowa Finance Committee - July 1947-June 1966
  • Box 9:
  • State Braille and Sightsaving School Finance Committee - July 1947-June 1966
  • Box 10:
  • State School for the Deaf Finance Committee - July 1947-June 1966
  • Box 11:
  • State Sanitorium Finance Committee - July 1947-June 1965
  • Box 12:
  • Financial Exhibits - 1912-1919
  • Box 13:
  • Financial Exhibits - 1964-1966
  • Box 14:
  • Financial Exhibits - 1965-1969
  • Box 15:
  • Detailed Computation of Operating and Capital Funds Requests - 1969-1971
  • Box 16:
  • Financial Requirements - 1963-1969
  • Series 7: REGENTS MEMBER FILES
  • Box 1:
  • Stanley Redeker - 1965-1979
  • Box 2:
  • Stanley Redeker - 1965-1969
  • Box 3:
  • Joseph Anderson - 1934-1938

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Governing Boards