Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the State University of Iowa Board of Trustees and Board of Regents Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1847-1909
Creator: State University of Iowa Board of Trustees and Board of Regents
Extent: 9.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG04.0001.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives at various times, mainly during 1931-1935. Guide posted to the Internet October 2006; finding aid completed December 2008.

Preferred Citation: State University of Iowa Board of Trustees and Board of Regents Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

On February 25, 1847, the First General Assembly of the State of Iowa established the State University of Iowa at Iowa City. The law provided for a 15-member Board of Trustees. With little initial financial support, the Board's early business was confined to land selection for the new institution. By 1855, the first year of classes, however, the Board became fully engaged in the business of managing a small but growing public university. In 1870 the Board of Trustees was reorganized as the Board of Regents.
 
The State University of Iowa Board of Trustees and Board of Regents records, 1847-1909, document oversight activity of the University's governing boards prior to the state's reorganization of its Regents institutions in 1909. Prior to that time, each of Iowa's public institutions of higher learning was governed locally by an autonomous board, independent of other institutions. Establishment of the Iowa State Board of Education in 1909 (later re-named the Iowa State Board of Regents in 1954) brought a coordinated, state level of authority to the institutions at Iowa City, Ames, and Cedar Falls.

The Records of the State University of Iowa Board of Trustees and Board of Regents, 1847-1909, consist of seven series: Building Committee, Executive Committee, Reports, Office of the Secretary, Minutes, Record Books, and Indexes. William J. Haddock served as secretary to the regents from 1865 until 1902, a tenure that is largely reflected in this collection.
Fogdall, Vergil S. "History of the State University of Iowa: The Governing Boards, 1847-1947." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1947.

Mahan, Bruce E. "University of Iowa." The Palimpsest LII, 2: p. 33-129. (February 1971). Des Moines: State Historical Society of Iowa.

Manuscript File Collection on Early University History (RG01.0001.001)

Records of the Iowa State Board of Education and Board of Regents, 1909-1981 (RG04.0002.001)

Springer, John. "William J. Haddock." Iowa Alumnus 3 (March 1906).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: BUILDING COMMITTEE
Series 2: EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
Series 3: REPORTS
Series 4: OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Series 5: MINUTES
Series 6: RECORDS
Series 7: INDEXES

  • Series 1: BUILDING COMMITTEE
  • Box 1:
  • Trustees and Regents Building Committee (fragile), June 1-July 17 - 1858-1885
    See also: Series II: Executive Committee, Minutes of the Executive Committee, June 14, 1878-May 8, 1886 volume, for additional Building Committee minutes, July 15, 1879-December 15, 1879
  • Series 2: EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes of the Executive Committee, September 24-April 1 - 1863-1868
  • Minutes of the Executive Committee, June 24-April 21 - 1868-1877
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes of the Executive Committee, June 14-May 8 - 1878-1886
  • Minutes of the Executive Committee, August 5-February 23 - 1886-1893
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes of the Executive Committee, March 29-February 24 - 1893-1899
  • Minutes of the Executive Committee, Marxh 29-April 9 - 1899-1903
  • Memoranda of Report Prepared by Order of the Chairman of the Executive Committee, undated
  • Executive Committee's and Secretary's Reports - 1896, 1898
  • Series 3: REPORTS
  • Box 5:
  • Report of the Regents - 1870-1886
  • Report of the Regents - 1887-1905
  • Twenty-Fifth Report of the Board of Regents - 1905-1906
  • Twenty-Sixth Report of the Board of Regents - 1908
  • Business Docket of the Board of Regents: Committees and Memoranda, July - 1882
  • Series 4: OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
  • Box 6:
  • Contracts (fire-damaged, fragile) - 1878-1898
  • Box 7:
  • Meeting notes draft book, June 21-March 6 - 1886-1889
  • Correspondence of the Secretary, August 16-July 11 - 1886-1898
    Spine reads 1886-1891
  • Box 8:
  • Board of Regents correspondence - 1903-1905
  • Board of Regents correspondence - 1906
  • Board of Regents correspondence - 1907
  • Board of Regents correspondence - 1908-1909
  • Board of Regents meetings - 1908-1910
  • Search for new president - 1904
  • Abernathy, Alonzo
  • Allen, J.H.
  • Babb, W.I.
  • Boyd, W.R.
  • Carroll, B.F.
  • Clark, Charles A.
  • Cummins, Albert
  • Hanley T.B.
  • Healy, Thomas D.
  • Holbrook, P.K.
  • Lane, Joe R.
  • Lauder, J.W.
  • Pickett, C.E.
  • Proudfoot and Bird, architects
  • Seerley, John J.
  • Tisdale, W.D.
  • Treynor, V.L.
  • Turner, Dan
  • Wright, Carroll
  • Box 9:
  • Library fire recovery (fire-damaged, fragile), June - 1898
  • Response to student petition protesting Dr. L.W. Littig, August 16 - 1898
  • Resolution passed upon death of President Schaeffer (fire-damaged, fragile), September - 1898
  • Statement Showing the List of Unsold Lands Belonging to the State University of Iowa as Reported by the Former Treasurer, Lovell Swisher, undated
  • Various documents: Telephone exchange contract, board roll call lists, appropriation bill - 1896-1898
  • Meeting notes draft book (fire-damaged, fragile), March 29-September 27 - 1898
  • Meeting notes draft book (fire-damaged, fragile), January 26-October 3 - 1899-1902
  • Box 10:
  • Correspondence of William J. McChesney, November 14-June 17 - 1902-1904
  • Series 5: MINUTES
  • Box 1: Oversized
  • Board of Trustees, Record Book A, July 15 - 1847
  • Board of Regents, March 2 - 1876
  • Box 2: Oversized
  • Board of Regents, Record Book B, June 15-April 26 - 1876-1894
  • Box 3: Oversized
  • Board of Regents, Record Book C, June 12-October 3 - 1894-1902
  • Series 6: RECORDS
  • Box 4: Oversized
  • Record of the Board of Regents and Executive and Building Committees, Record Book D, March 29-June 26 - 1898-1900
  • Record of the Board of Regents and Executive and Building Committees, Record Book E, July 18-October 24 - 1900-1902
    Includes index to the Records of the Board of Regents, Record Books A-E, July 15, 1847-October 3, 1902
  • Record of the Board of Regents and Executive and Building Committees, Record Book E, April 8-June 14 - 1903-1905
    Includes index
  • Record of the Board of Regents and Executive and Building Committees, Record Book E, July 21-June 16 - 1905-1908
    Includes index
  • Record of the Board of Regents and Executive and Building Committees, Record Book E, July 1-June 16 - 1908-1909
    Includes index
  • Series 7: INDEXES
  • Box 5: Oversized
  • Chronological - 1847-1897
  • Supplemental index - 1876-1894

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Governing Boards