Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Faculty Senate and Council Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1902-2003
Creator: Faculty Senate and Council
Extent: 56.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG03.0001.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Series V, Sub-series B.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives by Faculty Senate office staff and former Faculty Senate members in numerous accessions, beginning September 1975.

Preferred Citation: Faculty Senate and Council Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

To understand the history of the Faculty Senate at the University of Iowa, it is helpful to know the environment during the twenty years preceding its founding in 1967.

President Virgil M. Hancher appointed the University Committee on Communication between the Faculty and the President on May 14, 1947. The committee was charged with the task of establishing the University Council (later called University Faculty Council) as a means to represent faculty views to the president of the University. After one year of meetings during which members were elected and proposals were drawn up, the first meeting of the Faculty Council was held on May 4, 1948.

From October 1959 through May 1960, Faculty Council's main focus was to decide whether the establishment of a University Senate would promote understanding between faculty and administration, and provide direction to University policies. Finally, on January 17, 1967, the University Faculty Council, by a vote of 8 to 4, decided to recommend a document to the faculty, which would establish a University Faculty Senate. President Howard Bowen and the Regents approved the constitution of the Senate and the Council on April 4, 1967.

Stow Persons wrote in The University of Iowa in the Twentieth Century (Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1990) that Bowen gave faculty members a stronger voice in the guidance of the University in order to combat low faculty morale. This gesture did not align faculty opinions with Bowen's, however, as is evident in the first issue to involve large numbers of faculty members: the Senate voted against ROTC presence on campus, a stand which the administration and the State Board of Regents rejected.

The relationship of the Senate to the Council was set in December, 1960, in anticipation of the formation of a Senate: the Senate would be the representative and deliberative organization of the faculty, and the Council would act as the administrative agency of the body, disseminating reports and minutes of the Senate.

As of 2004, the Council considered and amended reports of the Senate, and prepared the agenda for the Senate. To view current Faculty Senate membership, constitution, committees, agenda, and minutes, visit their Web site at http://www.uiowa.edu/~facsen/.

The records of the Faculty Senate and Council are arranged into five series: Administrative, Governing Bodies, Committees, Departmental, and Ephemera. The collection relates to all areas of University of Iowa governance, including the state Board of Regents, Board in Control of Athletics, Board of Deans, and AFSCME collective bargaining. Papers include such documents as committee reports, meeting minutes, agendas, correspondence, membership lists, election records, policies, newspaper clippings, speeches and photographs. Patrons may wish to search the same dates in more than one series for completeness. For example, a topic in a 1960 report may correspond to information in the 1960 minutes.

The Faculty Senate and Council papers document the central issues that have shaped administrative policy and the lives of faculty, staff and students since 1948. Examples of matters addressed by this body are:

--the formation of collective bargaining for state of Iowa employees (see Governing Bodies series, Collective Bargaining) --the evolution of a smoking policy on campus (see the Administrative series, within Policies, 1977) --faculty promotion procedures (see the Administrative series, Procedures)

--the history of TIAA/CREF benefits plan (see the Committees series, 1976)

--the reorganization of the Board in Control of Athletics in order to include women?s athletics (see Governing Bodies, Board in Control of Athletics, 1981)

--commissions formed in 1969 and 1975 to address concerns of Black students (see the Departmental series, Reports for those years)

--information about percentages of UI staff by ethnicity and gender in a 1976 report (see the Departmental series, Reports for that year)

--mandatory faculty retirement age (see the Committees series, 1977, for history of UI retirement)

--changing the name of the University (see the Administrative series Minutes dated May 12, 1959, and within the Departmental series, see Reports, 1961)

--correspondence with the University of Tokyo regarding nuclear weapons in 1958 (see the Administrative series, Correspondence, 1958)

--the refusal of a professor to give grades in 1967

--the Selective Service practice of considering student grades in 1966 (see the Administrative series, Procedures, 1966)

Series I, the Administrative records consists of eight sub-series: Correspondence, Minutes, Searches, Committee Members, Member Assignments to Committees, Meeting Announcements and Agenda, Policies, and Procedures. Each sub-series is arranged chronologically. Faculty Senate minutes are inter-filed with Faculty Council minutes. Regular meeting minutes and special meeting minutes are also inter-filed.

Series II, the Governing Bodies records includes the Board of Regents (1972-1975), Board in Control of Athletics (1960-1981), Board of Deans (1955-1979), and AFSCME Collective bargaining (1971-1977). These are organized chronologically within each body.

Series III, the Committees records are organized chronologically and by committee name within each year beginning in 1946. Many committees were ad hoc and therefore produced records intermittently. The Committees series includes advisory councils and boards as well, such as American Association of University Professors (AAUP), the Council on Teaching, the Board of Trustees of Student Publications, and the University Research Council. Some newspaper clippings and magazine articles are dated as early as 1940. Correspondence pertaining to work of the committees is included.

Series IV, the Departmental records consists of five sub-series: Reports Produced by the Senate, Awards Presented by the Senate, Reviews Conducted by the Senate, Speeches, and Studies / Self-Studies. Each of these sub-series is organized chronologically.

Series V, the Ephemera records consists of two sub-series: Newspaper Clippings and Photographs.

Collections of the Board of Regents records, Board in Control of Athletics minutes, and Student Senate records. Presidential papers, from the Virgil Hancher administration through the present, also include relevant correspondence. These are located in University Archives.

Papers of Philip G. Hubbard (RG99.0248)

Records of the Committee on Student Life (RG05.0003.019)

Records of the Committee on Human Rights (RG05.0003.040)

Papers of Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte, located in Iowa Women's Archives. Related to the Faculty Senate Committee on Budgetary Planning and Review.

Bennett, Mary. "Student Unrest at the University of Iowa, 1967 to 1971." In Historical Papers Collection (RG 01.01.03); also at the State Historical Society of Iowa.

Brownstein, Andrew. "Keeping the Lid On." Iowa Alumni Quarterly 51, no. 1 (spring 1998): 32-36, illus. Student protest, 1969-1971.

Luck, David J. Student Protest at Iowa. Iowa City: Typography Laboratory, University of Iowa School of Journalism, 1969. 10 pp., illus. Photographic essay.

Collier, Paul Stanley. A Study of Housing Conditions in a Small City: Some Phases of the Housing Problem in Iowa City. M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1912. 81 pp. Student rooms, pp. 26-30.

Hubbard, Philip G. New Dawns: A 150-Year Look at Human Rights at the University of Iowa. Iowa City: Sesquicentennial Committee, University of Iowa, 1996. 210 pp., illus., notes.

Hubbard, Philip G. My Iowa Journey: The Life Story of the University of Iowa's First African American Professor. University of Iowa Press, 1999. 193 pp., illus.

Hubbard, Philip G. "UI: The Early Years." In The Iowa State Bystander, 1894-1994: 100 Years of Black Achievement, Robert V. Morris, ed., pp. 17-19. Des Moines, Iowa: Morris Communications Group, 1994.

Clara Oleson's interview in More Strong-Minded Women: Iowa Feminists Tell Their Stories, by Louise R. Noun, page 269, refers to discrimination against married female faculty/staff regarding University benefits, and is related to the following folder title in this collection: Committees, in Funded Retirement and Insurance, 1966

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
Series 2: GOVERNING BODIES
Series 3: COMMITTEES
Series 4: DEPARTMENTAL
Series 5: EPHEMERA
Series 6: ADDENDUM 2006

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1949-1961
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence - 1962-1972
  • Box 3:
  • Correspondence - 1973-1990
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence of the Faculty Senate president - 1987-1988
  • 4a:
  • Correspondence - 1969-1986
  • 4b:
  • Correspondence - 1985-1989
  • 4c:
  • Correspondence - 1988-1989
  • 4d:
  • Correspondence - 1989-1990
  • 4e:
  • Correspondence - 1990-1993
  • 4f:
  • Correspondence - 1993-1997
  • Sub-Series: Minutes
  • Box 6:
  • Minutes, April - 1954
    Informal discussion, no action taken on petition to protest a Proctor & Gamble factory located in Iowa City. Includes newspaper clipping.
  • Minutes, undated
    Council proposal to publish mimeographed bulletin of faculty news, dated between 1952 and 1958
  • Minutes of council secretary Charles W. Davidson - 1960-1962
    2 folders, including Iowa City housing desegregation resolution; establishment by Hancher of the Division of Special Services without consulting Faculty Council
  • Minutes - 1959-1969
  • Box 7:
  • Minutes - 1970-1975
    Including accomplishments of Senate (1972?)
  • Box 8:
  • Minutes - 1976-1978
  • Box 9:
  • Minutes - 1979-1991
  • 9a:
  • Minutes - 1967-1987
    Including November 17, 1987, Faculty Senate minutes where Opportunity at Iowa was proposed
  • 9b:
  • Minutes - 1986-1990
  • 9c:
  • Minutes - 1990-1991
  • 9d:
  • Minutes - 1991-1994
  • 9e:
  • Minutes - 1994-1995
  • 9f:
  • Minutes - 1995-1997
  • Sub-Series: Searches
  • Box 10:
  • Searches - 1962, 1981-1987
  • 10a:
  • Searches - 1989, 1994
  • 10b:
  • Searches - 1994, 1998
  • Sub-Series: Committee members
  • Box 11:
  • Members - 1948-1973
    26 folders
  • Attendance of members - 1972-1988
    14 folders
  • 11a:
  • Members - 1986-1997
  • 11b:
  • Box 11b
  • Arnold
  • Bollinger
  • Booth
  • Brandt
  • Garthwaite
  • Gates
  • Hayles
  • Horowitz
  • Lopiano
  • McKay
  • Minsky
  • Mora
  • Noble
  • Ruiz
  • Saario
  • Spelman
  • Stern
  • Sussman
  • Trow
  • Zinn
  • Sub-Series: Member assignments to committees
  • Box 12:
  • Committee assignments through elections - 1948-1959
    5 folders
  • Deans and Directors - 1959-1970
    9 folders
  • Deans and Directors voting list - 1972-1978
    5 folders
  • Deans and Directors - 1977-1987
    4 folders
  • Surveys regarding committee preference and topics to address - 1962-1967
    7 folders
  • Member’s terms expiring within each committee - 1967-1975
    6 folders
  • Committees and chairpersons - 1952-1953
  • Committees and chairpersons - 1972-1973, 1975
    2 folders
  • Charter and list of all committees - 1973-1974
  • Functions and responsibilities of all committees - 1988
  • 12a:
  • Box 12a Committee member assignments - 1950-1989
  • 12b:
  • Box 12b Committee member assignments - 1983-1993
  • 12c:
  • Box 12c Committee member assignments - 1994-1996
  • Sub-Series: Meeting announcements and agenda
  • Box 13:
  • Agenda - 1948-1980
    1967 and 1968 not included
  • Box 14:
  • Agenda - 1981-1993
  • Sub-Series: Policies
  • Box 15:
  • Public Relations - 1952
  • Travel Expense reimbursement - 1952
  • Sabbatical leaves - 1953-1954
  • Travel Expense reimbursement - 1955
  • Purchasing - 1956
  • Travel and vacation - 1956
  • Other policies - 1956
  • Employee policies - 1957
  • Academic year defined; summer salaries - 1957
  • Building use - 1958
  • Student housing - 1958
  • Faculty salary funding - 1959
  • Teaching loads - 1959
  • Charges for meeting rooms - 1960
  • Selection of presidents - 1961
  • Dormitory system; report deadlines - 1963
  • Charities - 1966
  • Guide for administrative officers - 1967
  • Graduate assistant dismissal - 1968
  • Graduate assistant dismissal - 1969
  • Code of Student Life - 1968-1969
  • Charities - 1969
  • Funded Retirement requirements for substitute contracts - 1969
  • Conduct and ethics - 1970
  • Use of Pentacrest - 1970-1971
  • Faculty grievances - 1970-1972
  • Professional ethics and academic responsibility - 1971
  • Faculty appointment and promotion - 1971
  • Controversial speaker’s policy - 1972
  • Optional student fees - 1972
    Including Iowa Student Public Interest Research Group (ISPIRG)
  • Faculty promotions - 1972
  • Smoking and food consumption in academic facilities - 1973
  • Operational manual revision - 1973
  • Charities - 1974
  • Faculty transfers; part-time faculty; definition of adjunct - 1974
  • Faculty transfers; depositing Senate documents in University Archives - 1975-1976
  • Charities - 1976
  • Nepotism - 1977
  • Student records - 1977
  • Building use - 1977
  • Student records confidentiality - 1977
  • Non-smoking policy - 1977-1978
  • Conflict of interest - 1978
  • Solicitation - 1978
  • Bribery and gift law - 1980
  • University-sponsored educational materials - 1980
  • Academic reviews - 1981
  • Charities, article about United Way - 1981
  • Recommendations for changes in policy - 1981
  • Policy on Intellectual Property - 1982
  • Charities task force - 1982
  • Intellectual property - 1983
  • Research policy - 1984
  • Press relations - 1984-1985
  • Depositing Senate records in University Archives - 1985
  • Faculty review - 1985
  • 15a:
  • CIA On-Campus Recruitment Policy - 1985-1986
  • Committees - 1986-1989
  • University Reallocation Policy - 1988
  • Policy on Academic Review of Central Administration Officers by faculty committees - 1984-1988
  • Parental Leave Policy - 1991
  • UI Policy on Violence - 1991
  • Sexual Harassment Policy - 1986-1993
  • Policy on Nepotism - 1993
  • Sub-Series: Procedures
  • Box 16:
  • Faculty dismissal - 1958
  • Faculty dismissal - 1959
  • Appointment of deans, proposed - 1959
  • Sabbatical leaves - 1960
  • Selection of deans - 1960
  • Building projects priorities and costs - 1961
  • Questionnaire to graduate student teachers - 1962
  • Free classes for staff - 1963
  • Human rights procedures recommended for community - 1963
  • Governing University committees - 1963
  • Selection of presidents - 1962-1963
  • Deadlines for reports - 1963
  • Standard Operating Procedure for Iowa Memorial Union - 1965
  • Selective Service. Student records - 1966
  • Awarding of honorary degrees - 1966
  • Meeting rooms - 1966-1967
  • Tenure - 1966-1967
  • Awarding of honorary degrees - 1968
  • Nominations to boards - 1968
  • Hearings for faculty dismissals - 1969
  • Nominations and committee structure - 1969
  • Hearing faculty charges and grievances - 1970-1972
  • Hearing procedures - 1971
    2 folders
  • Hearing student misconduct cases - 1971
  • Guidelines for preparing Biennium Analyses of Needs and Department Reviews - 1971
  • Faculty recognition dinner - 1972
  • Hearing procedures - 1972
  • "Regulations Governing the Security of University Employment Contracts" - 1973
  • Hearing procedures draft - 1973
  • Faculty review for tenure and promotion - 1973
  • Grievances - 1973-1974
  • Hearing procedures - 1975-1976
  • 16a:
  • Procedures - 1953-1954, 1960
  • Regulations, governance of the committees (proposal) - 1959
  • Committee searches for deans - 1960
  • Proposal to operate classes on the semester plan, February - 1961
  • Deans; censorship of The Daily Iowan; sabbatical; line of authority - 1961
  • Committee on Committees - 1969
  • Revised rules of personal conduct, May - 1971
  • Rules of personal conduct, June - 1971
  • Proposed student regulations - 1971
  • Procedure for hearing charges against faculty - 1971
  • Faculty hearing procedures, September-June - 1972-1973
  • Judicial Commission regulations - 1975-1976
  • Rules from Committee on Conduct and Ethics - 1970-1973
  • 16b:
  • Procedures - 1982-1992
  • Sub-Series: Resolutions
  • 16c:
  • Summary of faculty actions - 1902-1913
  • Class book, undated
  • Various resolutions - 1949-1992
  • Senate recommendation rejected, September - 1987
    Interim UI President Richard D. Remington rejected Senate's recommendation to implement renewable term appointments for academic administrators
  • Sub-Series: Constitution and by-laws
  • 16d:
  • Basic document for Faculty Senate, undated draft #7
  • Constitution and history - 1947-1967
    3 folders
  • Constitution vote to revise wording of provision for the University Council - 1949
  • Constitution and by-laws - 1950
  • Basic document for Faculty Council - 1953, 1959
    2 folders
  • Benefits of having a Faculty Senate - 1959-1961
    See also Meeting Minutes, 1959-1961
  • Basic document and principles for University Senate - 1960
  • Basic document for Senate and Council - 1960
    Drafts
  • Constitution and by-laws - 1960
  • Constitution drafts - 1960
  • Drafts for Faculty Senate - 1960-1961
    2 folders
  • Basic document comparing elements of Senate with Council - 1961
  • Document for a Faculty Council, December 27 - 1961
  • Constitution and by-laws - 1962
  • Basic document for a proposed University Council - 1962
  • Faculty Council and University Council comparison - 1963
  • Faculty Senate, establishment - 1967
  • Senate and Council proposed constitution, February - 1967
  • Constitution, proposed amendment to - 1969
  • Senate and Council constitution - 1969, 1970
    2 folders
  • Basic document for University Faculty Council - 1970-1971
  • Senate and Council constitution - 1970-1971
    2 folders
  • Senate and Council by-laws - 1971
  • Constitution - 1973-1974
    2 folders
  • Senate and Council proposed by-laws - 1973, 1976
    2 folders
  • Constitution of Senate and Council - 1966
  • Charter for University committees - 1974, 1976
    2 folders
  • Senate and Council by-laws, September - 1976
  • Constitution and by-laws for Senate and Council - 1978
  • Faculty Senate proposed by-laws, January - 1986
  • Series 2: GOVERNING BODIES
  • Sub-Series: Board of Regents
  • Box 1:
  • Financial Requirements to General Assembly - 1957-1959
  • Published photos and biographical information for regent members - 1971
  • Biographical information for regent members - 1973
  • Agenda - 1972-1973
  • Meeting Minutes - 1973
  • Itinerary - 1973
  • Budget preparation - 1973
  • Itinerary - 1974
  • Biographical information for regent members - 1973-1975
  • Agreement - 1981-1983
  • Correspondence - 1981-1985
  • Sub-Series: Board in Control of Athletics
  • Box 1:
  • Rules and Regulations - 1960
  • Correspondence - 1962 1967
  • Agenda - 1966-1967
  • Correspondence - 1971-1973
  • Meeting Minutes, December-May - 1972-1973
  • Correspondence - 1977-1979
  • Members - 1976-1978
  • Incorporating Women’s Athletics into the Board in Control of Athletics - 1981
  • Correspondence and reports - 1980-1991
  • Sub-Series: Board of Deans
  • Box 1:
  • Meeting Minutes - 1955
  • Deans Faculty Personnel Committee - 1959
  • Meeting Minutes - 1957-1959
  • Topics for discussion - 1958
  • Elections - 1959-1979
  • Work of Board of Deans, records management, March - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Collective bargaining
  • Box 1:
  • Regents position on collective bargaining - 1971
  • Michigan State University report on collective bargaining, January - 1972
  • Report of Committee on collective bargaining, January - 1972
  • Newspaper clippings - 1972
  • Correspondence - 1973
  • A copy of Senate File 531 (SF 531) - 1973
  • Faculty Senate position on collective bargaining scheduled hearing in the House, January-February - 1974
  • IHEA Communique, Vol.3: No. 3, March - 1974
    Cover reads "Bargaining Passes!”
  • Newspaper clippings - 1974
  • Meeting Minutes - 1974
  • Correspondence - 1974
  • Chairman’s Reports - 1974
  • Chairman’s Report - 1975
  • Meeting Minutes - 1976
  • Public Employment Relations Board - 1976
  • Special Report, Update on Collective Bargaining, February 16 - 1977
  • Newspaper and journal articles - 1977
  • Series 3: COMMITTEES
  • Box 1:
  • Board of Trustees of Student Publications. Policy for The Daily Iowan - 1946
  • Public Relations. Work of the committee - 1949
  • Committee on Staff Resignations, form - 1951
  • Committee on Academic Programs, issues addressed - 1952-1954
  • Iowa Study Committee, correspondence - 1953
  • Inter-Institutional Committee, correspondence - 1953
  • Library Committee, correspondence and meeting minutes - 1953
  • Committee on Staff Resignations, key to resignation files - 1953-1961
  • Committee on Staff Resignations, correspondence - 1954
  • Library Committee, meeting minutes - 1954
  • Committee on Academic Programs. Summary of activities - 1954
  • Graduate Assistantships. Statement regarding increased support - 1954-1962
  • Teaching and Research Committee of AAUP resolutions - 1954-1955
  • Joint Committee on Salaries of the University Faculty Council and the AAUP - 1954, 1956, 1961
  • Committee on Faculty Bibliography, correspondence - 1955
  • Academic Programs Committee, correspondence - 1955
  • Retirement programs, chart for the Big Ten - 1955
  • Retirement programs, correspondence - 1955-1967
  • Committee on Staff Resignations, correspondence - 1955
  • Committee on Academic Programs, meeting minutes - 1955
  • Public Relations Committee, correspondence - 1956-1957
  • Campus Security and Parking Committee, correspondence - 1956
  • Calendar Committee. Proposed 1958-1959 calendar - 1957
  • Old Gold Days Committee. Meeting minutes, correspondence - 1957-1958
  • Public Relations Committee. Resolutions, correspondence, meeting minutes - 1957-1958
  • Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC), history of - 1958
  • Honorary Degrees Committee, agenda and correspondence - 1958
  • American Association of University Professors (AAUP). Meeting announcement and agenda - 1959
  • Committee on Social and Economic Development in Iowa, formation of - 1959
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee. Work of the committee - 1959
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee. Charge to the committee - 1959
  • Academic Programs Committee. Meeting minutes, correspondence, and report - 1959
  • Academic Procedures Committee. Motion regarding the name of the University - 1959
  • Committee on Economic and Social Developments, correspondence - 1959
  • Student Affairs Committee. Student-faculty common rooms - 1959
  • Committee on Social and Economic Development in Iowa. Purpose and procedures for the committee - 1959
  • Deans Faculty Personnel Committee. Items for consideration - 1959
  • Box 2:
  • Committee on Faculty Resignations, survey results - 1960-1961
  • Committee on an Exchange Program with a Foreign University - 1960-1961
  • Public Relations Committee - 1960-1961
  • Academic Programs Committee - 1961
  • Radio WSUI Committee. Teachers’ manual and newspaper clipping - 1960-1961
  • Committee on Cooperation with a Foreign University - 1960-1961
  • Executive Committee, meeting minutes - 1960, 1962
  • Educational Policy Committee, meeting minutes - 1960, 1962
  • University Research Council - 1961
  • Subcommittee on Selection of President, survey - 1961
  • Academic Procedure Committee, correspondence and report - 1962
  • Academic Programs Committee - 1962
    Nominees to Board in Control of Athletics
  • Committee on the Haefner Report regarding censorship of The Daily Iowan - 1962
  • Academic Funds Committee. Report on proposal of tuition-free classes for staff - 1962-1963
  • Council on Teaching, meeting minutes - 1962-1963
  • Council on Teaching, correspondence and proposal - 1962-1963
  • Council on Teaching. Formation of Council on Teaching - 1963
  • Alumni Programs Committee. Purpose and membership guidelines - 1962-1963
  • Facilities and Planning Committee, correspondence - 1963
    Regarding housing resolution
  • Academic Programs Committee. Improving Negro colleges - 1963
  • Academic Programs Committee? Programs and Functions of UI, January - 1966
  • Committee on Alumni Programs, meeting minutes - 1963
  • Committee on Operations, proposals - 1963
  • Faculty Appellate Committee on Parking Violations, how structured - 1963-1964
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee recommendation - 1963-1964
  • Library Committee, statement of function - 1965
  • Museum Committee, assessment - 1965
  • Auditorium Committee, correspondence - 1965
  • Calendar Committee. Establishment of the University Administrative Calendar - 1965-1967
  • Security and Parking Committee - 1965-1969
    Minutes, memos, pamphlets of regulations
  • University Research Council, correspondence - 1966
  • Faculty Participation Committee. Council and senate committee responsibilities - 1966
  • AAUP "Statement on Professional Ethics” - 1966
  • AAUP "Statement on Government of Colleges and Universities” - 1966
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee - 1966
    Addresses the practice of considering all married female staff as temporary employees when determining University benefits in cases where their husbands were students, because it was believed they would leave upon graduation.
  • Resignations Committee - 1966
    Academic year report for 1964-1965
  • Council on University Relations, correspondence - 1966
  • Committee on Faculty Participation, proposed constitution - 1966
  • Radio WSUI Committee, correspondence - 1966
  • Council on Teaching, correspondence - 1966-1967
  • Committee to Revise the Faculty Handbook, correspondence - 1966-1967
  • University Research Council nominees - 1967
  • AAUP "Joint Statement on Rights and Freedoms of Students” - 1967
  • Committee on Human Rights, correspondence - 1967
  • Library Committee, correspondence - 1967
  • Security and Parking Committee, correspondence - 1967
  • Security and Parking Committee, parking information - 1967-1968
  • Security and Parking Committee, parking information - 1968-1969
    Ludwig's copy
  • Security and Parking Committee, parking information and campus map - 1968-1969
  • Security and Parking Committee report, "Land Use Planning: Parking in Iowa City," January 17 - 1968
    Written by John D. Dooley; Ludwig's copy
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics. College of Liberal Arts Classroom Manual - 1968
  • Committee on the Future of the University, meeting minutes - 1968
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee - 1968
    The University of Iowa Insurance Plans for Total Disability, Life and Major Medical
  • Library Committee, meeting minutes - 1968
  • Committee on Honorary Degrees. Procedure for the awarding of honorary degrees - 1968
  • Box 3:
  • Black Concerns Committee, correspondence - 1969
  • Board of Trustees of Student Publications. Articles of incorporation, report, correspondence - 1969
  • Election Committee. Work of the committee - 1969-1972
  • Election Committee, correspondence - 1969
  • Committee on Committees, correspondence - 1969
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics. Excerpts from Manual of Business Procedures - 1969
  • Committee on the Future of the University. Correspondence - 1969
  • Committee on the Future of the University. Draft of "Informal Progress Report on Higher Education Study Design” - 1969
  • Recreation Advisory Committee. Work of the committee - 1969
  • Recreation Advisory Committee, correspondence - 1968-1970
  • Committee on Long Range Planning, correspondence - 1969
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee. History of the committee - 1969
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee, correspondence - 1969
  • Committee on the Future of the University meeting minutes - 1969
  • Committee on Elections. Work of the committee - 1969
  • University Relations Committee. Work of the committee - 1969
  • University Relations Committee, meeting minutes - 1969
  • Committee on Selection of Central Academic Officials. Proposed amendment - 1969
  • Security and Parking Committee. Report to President Howard R. Bowen - 1969
  • Security and Parking Committee, parking information - 1969-1970
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics, establishment of - 1969-1970
  • Subcommittee on Continuing Faculty Role in University Governance. Correspondence - 1969-1973
  • Subcommittee on Continuing Faculty Role in University Governance. History of, and questionnaire - 1969-1973
  • Educational Policy Committee. Meeting minutes and ROTC vote - 1969
  • Committee on the ROTC Program, correspondence - 1969
  • Student Life Committee. Articles and statements regarding rights for students to live off-campus, and removal of Jerry Sies from the committee - 1969-1970
  • Student Life Committee, correspondence - 1968-1970
  • Student Life Committee, meeting minutes - 1969
  • Human Rights Committee. Affirmative Action for Women, meeting minutes - 1969-1973
  • Correspondence from Boyd to Wilmeth and Foxley to Council regarding a proposed letter to female faculty. Gillespie to Council regarding Matched-Pair results dated October - 1972
  • Correspondence from Foxley to Council regarding minority student enrollment. HEW 18-page letter of findings dated February 2 - 1973
  • Guidelines for application of U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare (HEW) Executive Order 11246 regarding equal employment opportunity, October 1 - 1972
  • Guidelines for application of Executive Order 11246 to Higher Education Institutions regarding equal employment opportunity requirements, October 4 - 1972
  • Material for November 21, 1972 Council meeting on Affirmative Action and the Status of Faculty Women and Minorities - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Committee on the ROTC Program
  • Box 4:
  • Correspondence, September-April - 1969-1970
  • College of Liberal Arts, meeting minutes - 1970
  • Faculty Senate vote on ROTC, May 12 - 1970
  • Faculty body vote on ROTC - 1970
  • Status of "ROTC in Review,” May 18 - 1970
  • Newspaper article states the Board of Regents predict ROTC will remain on campus, May - 1970
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Final report of ROTC ad hoc committee, June 30 - 1970
  • Box 4:
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics, report, June - 1970
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics. Case of Professor Fox, Department of Psychology - 1970
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics, correspondence - 1970
  • Executive-Advisory Library Committee - 1970
    Draft
  • Committee T on College and University Government. "Student Participation in College and University Government: Report of Committee T” - 1970
  • Future of the University, correspondence - 1970
  • Faculty Welfare Committee. Investigation recommendations - 1970
  • Calendar Committee, correspondence - 1970
  • Council on Teaching, correspondence - 1970
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee, correspondence - 1970
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee. Annual report and correspondence on benefits for student spouses - 1970
    See also Committee on Human Rights
  • Committee on the Future of the University, meeting minutes - 1970
  • Budgetary and Review Committee, recommendation - 1970
  • Budgetary and Review Committee, meeting minutes - 1970
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, general statement - 1970
  • Social Concerns Committee, meeting minutes - 1970
  • Student Development Center Council. Correspondence and background material - 1970
  • Board of Trustees of Student Publications, correspondence - 1970-1971
  • Library Committee, correspondence - 1970
  • Campus Planning Committee, correspondence - 1970
  • Budgetary, Planning, and Review Committee. Correspondence and policy drafts - 1970-1972
  • Election Committee, correspondence - 1970
  • Committees on Committees, correspondence - 1970
  • Watch and Study Committee on Academic Freedom, correspondence - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Committee on Conduct and Ethics
  • Box 4:
  • Meeting minutes - 1970
  • Board of Regents policy and Student Handbook - 1970-1971
  • Correspondence - 1970
  • Faculty Code of Ethics, draft by Stuit - 1970
  • Faculty statements - 1970
  • Report on Regents’ rules - 1970-1971
  • Board of Regents policy - 1970
  • Box 5:
  • Committee on Campus Disorder, recommendations - 1971
  • University Security Committee. Campus unrest, May 10-11 - 1971
    Protests
  • Recreation Advisory Committee, meeting minutes - 1971
  • University Security Committee. Correspondence and work of the committee - 1971-1972
  • Inner-Institutional Committee. Meeting minutes and draft of procedures for Code of Ethics - 1971
  • Inner-Institutional Committee, correspondence - 1970-1971
  • Campus Planning Committee, correspondence - 1971
  • Judicial Study Committee, reports - 1971
  • Judicial Study Committee, correspondence - 1971
  • Judicial Study Committee, drafts - 1971
  • Calendar Committee, correspondence - 1971
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee, correspondence - 1971
  • Social Concerns Committee. Material on Iowa City ordinance regarding civil disorder - 1971
  • University Relations Committee, meeting minutes - 1971
  • Committee on Elections - 1971
  • Honorary Degrees Committee, correspondence - 1971
  • Student Development Center Council. Meeting minutes and correspondence - 1971-1972
  • Parking Committee, correspondence - 1971
  • Faculty Welfare Committee. Donald Woolley case and correspondence - 1969-1973
    Journalism Department
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, correspondence - 1968-1980
  • Committee on Committees. Work of the committee - 1971-1972
  • Committee on Committees, correspondence - 1971
  • Election Committee, correspondence - 1971
  • Committee of Three. Howard Ehrlich case and correspondence - 1971
    Abandoned duties September 1971
  • Committee (name not provided). Professor Stephen Ford case and correspondence - 1971-1972
    Damage to UI property in May 1970
  • Sub-Series: Conduct and Ethics Committee
  • Box 6:
  • American Association of University Professors (AAUP). Policy Documents and reports - 1969
  • Reports in AAUP Bulletin - 1970
  • Protecting Teacher Rights: a summary of constitutional developments 1970 - 1970
  • Work of the committee - 1970-1971
  • Correspondence - 1971
  • AAUP Bulletin articles, and "Academic Freedom and Tenure: 1940 Statement of Principles” - 1940, 1966-1968
  • Reports and policies from other universities - 1970-1971
  • Establishment of the committee - 1970
  • Resolution adopted regarding means to preserve institutional continuity - 1970-1971
  • Grievance procedures - 1970-1971
  • Meeting minutes - 1971
  • Rules of procedure, draft - 1971
  • Rules of conduct, draft - 1970-1971
  • Ethics policy, University of Northern Iowa - 1971
  • Ethics policy, Iowa State University - 1971
  • Drafts and handbooks, Iowa State University - 1969-1971
  • "Rules for Procedure for Hearing Faculty Misconduct Cases” Draft by Stuit - 1971
  • Personal conduct rules revision - 1971
  • Student misconduct cases, procedure for hearing - 1971
  • Box 7:
  • Hearing Committee. Drury Wall case and correspondence - 1972
    Math professor
  • Campus Housing Committee, correspondence - 1972
  • Budget Committee, meeting minutes - 1972
  • Budget Committee, correspondence - 1972
  • Social Concerns Committee. Requesting Iowa City to form an area concerns committee - 1972
  • Social Concerns Committee. Newspaper clipping regarding Iowa City Area Social Concerns Committee June - 1972
  • Area Social Concerns Committee membership list - 1972
  • Area Social Concerns Committee, subcommittees - 1972
  • Area Social Concerns Committee, by-laws, procedures, rules - 1972
  • Budget and Finance Committee, meeting minutes - 1972
  • Committee on Academic Reviews A. Meeting announcement and agenda - 1972
  • American Association of University Professors (AAUP) meeting announcement - 1972
  • Research Council, correspondence - 1972-1973
  • Library Committee. Contents of Library suggestion box - 1972-1973
  • Library Committee, correspondence - 1972
  • Committee on University Services, meeting minutes, November - 1972
  • Committee on University Services. Correspondence, August-May - 1972-1973
  • Lecture Series Committee, meeting minutes, November-March - 1972-1973
  • Lecture Series Committee, correspondence - 1972
  • University Cultural Affairs Committee, correspondence, May-May - 1972-1973
  • University Cultural Affairs Committee. Committee’s role and membership - 1972
  • University Cultural Affairs Committee, newspaper clippings - 1972
  • Campus Planning Committee, meeting minutes - 1972
  • Campus Planning Committee, correspondence, November-May - 1972-1973
  • Recreation Advisory Committee, meeting minutes - 1972
  • Election Committee, correspondence - 1972
  • Committee on Committees, correspondence - 1972
  • Box 8:
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics, regarding Herrnstein case - 1972
  • Parking Committee, meeting minutes - 1972
  • Parking Committee, correspondence - 1972
  • Parking Committee, members - 1972-1973
  • Committee on the Future of the University. Function of the committee - 1972
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee. Correspondence and newspaper clipping - 1972
    Including gender determined retirement benefits. See also Human Rights Committee, Affirmative Action for women, 1970-1973
  • Environmental Executive Committee. Correspondence and report - 1972
  • Student Awards and Aids Committee, meeting minutes - 1972
  • Commission on Committees and Governance, meeting minutes - 1972
  • Budget Committee, agenda item - 1972
  • Budget Committee, report and proposal - 1972
  • Committee on Future of the University, correspondence - 1972
  • Committee on Future of the University, working paper - 1969-1972
  • Committee on Part-time Faculty - 1972
  • Joint Study Commission on Committees and Governance (JSCCG). Charter for campus governance - 1972
  • Calendar Committee, questionnaire - 1972-1973
  • Elections Committee, correspondence - 1972
  • Recreation Advisory Committee, correspondence - 1972-1973
    2 folders
  • Committee on Committees. Reports and member list - 1972-1973
  • Committee on Committees, correspondence - 1972
  • Parking and Transportation Committee. Correspondence regarding Cambus - 1972
  • Parking and Transportation Committee. History of campus parking problems and the founding of Cambus - 1972
  • Sub-Series: Social Concerns Committee
  • Box 8:
  • Iowa City ordinance regarding civil disorder - 1972
  • Meeting minutes and agenda - 1972
  • Correspondence - 1972
  • List of student organizations - 1972
  • List of Iowa City organizations - 1972
  • Box 9:
  • Human Rights Committee, meeting minutes - 1973-1974
  • Board of Trustees of Student Publications, correspondence - 1973
  • Budget Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Budget Committee, correspondence - 1973
  • University Computer Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Parking Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Parking Appeals Committee, correspondence - 1972-1973
    2 folders
  • Parking Appeals Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Parking and Transportation Committee, correspondence - 1973
  • Recreation Advisory Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Campus Planning Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Committee on University Services. Report, "Public Dining Facilities on the West Campus” - 1973
  • Library Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Library Committee, correspondence - 1973
  • Joint Study Commission on Committees and Governance (JSCCG). List of committee members - 1973
  • Committee on the Future of the University, correspondence - 1973
  • Charters for recognized committees - 1973
  • Committee on Faculty Welfare, correspondence - 1973
  • Committee on Committees, correspondence - 1973
  • Human Rights Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Budgetary Planning and Review Committee, report - 1973
  • Higher Education Study Committee. Testimony, reactions, and study summary - 1973
  • Committee on Human and Industrial Relations. Senate File 531 - 1973
  • Committee on Committees, correspondence - 1973
  • Elections Committee, correspondence - 1973
  • Elections Committee. Work of the committee - 1973
  • AAUP response to "Hearing Regulations for Alleged Violations of Regents’ Rules” - 1973
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics. Explanation of five documents - 1973
  • Draft of "A Statement on Professional Ethics and Academic Responsibility” - 1973
  • Committee on Faculty Welfare. "Proposal for Establishment of a University Ombudsman” - 1973
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee, correspondence - 1973
  • Committee on Honorary Degrees. History of the College of Education - 1873-1973
  • Committee on Honorary Degrees. Distinguished Service Award Program - 1973
  • University Security Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • University Security Committee, correspondence, August-May - 1972-1973
  • Faculty Judicial Commission, correspondence - 1973
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, correspondence - 1973
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, motion and questionnaire - 1973-1974
  • Recreation Advisory Committee, meeting minutes - 1973
  • UI Student Association Senate (UISAS), meeting minutes - 1973
  • Parking and Transportation Committee, meeting minutes, August 2 - 1973
  • Budgetary Planning and Review Committee, meeting minutes - 1973-1974
  • Sub-Series: Committees, unprocessed
  • Box 10:
  • Tenure Statement - 1974
  • Committee on Committees - 1973-1974
  • Committees - 1974-1975
  • Box 11:
  • University Security Committee, meeting minutes - 1973-1974
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee, correspondence - 1974
  • Committee on Elections, correspondence - 1973-1974
  • Campus Planning Committee, meeting minutes - 1973-1974
  • Campus Planning Committee, correspondence - 1973
  • Committee on Public Information and University Relations, charter - 1973-1974
  • University Security Committee, meeting minutes - 1974
  • Committees on Rules and Bylaws - 1973-1974
  • Committee on Resignations, correspondence - 1973-1974
  • Committee on Recreational Services, charter - 1973-1974
  • Parking Committee, meeting minutes - 1974
  • Parking Committee, correspondence - 1974
  • Parking Appeals Committee, meeting minutes - 1974
  • Judicial Commission, correspondence - 1974
  • Judicial Commission, membership and assignments - 1974
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, recommendation - 1974
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, correspondence - 1974
  • Academic Salary Committee, correspondence - 1974
  • Academic Salary Committee. Work of the committee - 1974
  • Black Concerns Committee. Response of colleges and universities to higher enrollment of black students - 1975-1976
  • Committee on Committees. Work of the committee - 1974
  • Committee on Committees, members - 1975
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, reports - 1975-1976
  • Budget Review Committee, recommendation - 1976
  • Computer committees - 1976-1977
  • Committee on Elections. Work of the committee - 1976
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee. History of TIAA-CREF at the University of Iowa - 1976
  • Committee on Committees, report - 1977
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee, agenda, correspondence - 1977
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee. History of UI retirement - 1977
  • Faculty Retirement Funding, motion approved - 1977
  • Faculty Welfare Committee survey - 1978-1980
    3 folders
  • Box 12:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1978-1979
  • Survey with criteria by gender, age, and academic rank, November - 1978
  • Survey with criteria by gender, age, and college, November - 1978
  • Survey with criteria by length of time in academic rank and by appointment at other universities, November 1978 - 1978
  • Results from 1978 survey. April, June - 1979
  • Faculty Welfare Committee report, recommendations - 1981
    2 folders
  • Elections Committee list of eligible member nominees - 1983
  • Nominations Committee, procedure - 1983
  • Human Rights Committee, memorandum - 1984
  • Committee on Committees, recommendations - 1984-1985
    2 folders
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1986
    "Faculty Compensation at Iowa, 1955-1986”
  • Rules and Bylaws Committee, correspondence - 1982
  • Committee to Review Faculty Development Program - 1985
    Handbook on Faculty Development Programs
  • Rules and Bylaws Committee, April 16 - 1987
    Committee activities for academic year 1986-87
  • PROFS Committee. Meeting minutes and correspondence - 1986-1987
  • Faculty Welfare Committee, report - 1987
  • Committee on Public Relations, interviews - 1987
  • Public Relations Committee, correspondence - 1987
  • Committee on Committees, recommendations - 1986
  • Committee on Committees, nominees - 1987
  • Campus Planning Committee, correspondence - 1990
  • Box 13:
  • Budgetary Planning and Review Committee - 1973-1978
  • Cultural Affairs Committee - 1977-1978
  • Committee on Committees - 1976-1980
  • Elections Committee - 1978-1979
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1978-1981
  • Nominating Committee - 1977-1979
  • Campus Planning - 1977-1979
  • Council on Teaching - 1976-1978
  • Academic Computer Services - 1977-1978
  • Committee on Selection of Central Administrative Officials - 1979
  • Box 14:
  • Judicial Commission - 1973-1979
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1975-1976
  • Committee on Committees - 1975-1976
  • University Committees - 1975-1976
  • Security and Parking Committee - 1975-1976
    Report and summary of security activities
  • Box 15:
  • AAUP - 1976-1977
  • Judicial Commission - 1976-1977
  • Rules and Bylaws Committee - 1976-1978
  • Human Rights Committee - 1977-1979
  • Student Publications - 1977-1978
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance - 1974-1979
    2 folders
  • Iowa Memorial Union - 1977-1979
  • Parking and Transportation - 1977-1979
  • Public Information and University Relations - 1977-1978
  • Recreational Services - 1977-1978
  • Research Council - 1977-1979
  • Student Health Services - 1978-1979
  • Student Services - 1976-1978
  • University Libraries - 1977-1979
  • University Security - 1977-1979
  • Cambus - 1976-1977
  • Committee on Employment of Relatives - 1977
    Nepotism
  • Parking Appeals - 1977-1978
  • Non-resident Fee Review - 1977-1978
  • Lecture Committee - 1976-1978
  • Box 16:
  • Committee on Committees - 1980-1983
    2 folders
  • Judicial Commission - 1981
  • AAUP - 1987
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1980-1989
    2 folders
  • 16a:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1969-1986
  • 16b:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1986-1988
  • 16c:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1987-1989
  • 16d:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee  - 1989-1990
  • 16e:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1990-1992
  • 16f:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1992-1995
  • 16g:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1996-1997
  • Series 4: DEPARTMENTAL
  • Sub-Series: Reports
  • Box 1:
  • Reports - 1946-1962
    2 folders
  • Committee on Academic Programs, reports - 1954
  • Reports - 1954-1955
    2 folders
  • Committee on Salaries, reports - 1955-1956
  • Reports - 1956-1962
  • Box 2:
  • Reports - 1963-1973
    9 folders
  • Iowa Human Rights Committee, annual report - 1967
    Includes numbers of Negro students and employees at the University
  • Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee - 1967
  • Election Committee - 1967
  • Reports - 1968
  • Subcommittee Resolution - 1968
  • Recreation Advisory Committee - 1969
  • Reports - 1969
  • University Relations Committee - 1970
  • Committee on the ROTC Program - 1970
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics - 1970
  • Cultural Affairs Committee. Subcommittees and members - 1970
  • Committee on the Future of the University - 1970
  • University Research Council - 1970
  • Committee on Conduct and Ethics - 1971
  • Commission on The Daily Iowan, May - 1971
  • Reports - 1971
  • Committee on Women’s Recreation, May - 1972
  • Reports - 1972
  • Recreation Advisory Committee - 1972-1973
  • Welfare Committee - 1971
  • Inter-institutional Committee on Educational Coordination - 1972
  • Academic Salary - 1973
  • Box 3:
  • Budgetary Planning and Review Committee - 1972-1973
    2 folders
  • Resignations and Change in Status, reports - 1972-1973
  • Human Rights Committee - 1973
  • Committee on Undergraduate and Professional Education - 1973
  • Committee on Faculty Welfare - 1973
  • Committee on Committees - 1973
  • Judicial Commission, report and members list - 1973
  • Legislative Higher Education Study Committee, consultant's report - 1973
  • Committee on Elections, chairman’s report - 1973-1974
  • Faculty Senate Chairman, reports - 1973
  • Board of Regents, report - 1973
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1974
  • University Faculty Council Chairman - 1974
  • Reports, including "White Institutions Response to Black Students Entry” - 1975-1976
  • Budgetary Justification Review - 1973-1975
  • Faculty Welfare Committee - 1974-1976
  • UI Work Force Utilization Report - 1976
    Staff by ethnicity and gender
  • Reports - 1976-1977
  • Committee on Committees, reports - 1969-1978
  • Reports - 1979
  • Reports - 1985
  • Reports - 1987-1988
    2 folders
  • 3a:
  • Annual reports - 1954-1973
    7 folders
  • Library Committee, annual report - 1973
  • Parking and Transportation Committee, annual report - 1973-1974
  • Annual report - 1974-1975
  • Reports - 1987, 1994
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Retirement, report - 1979
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Legislative Action - 1981
  • University Relations Committee, report - 1969-1970
    Revised draft
  • General Education Fund, draft of budget summary - 1971-1973
  • Ad Hoc Committee on the Effectiveness of Faculty Resolutions, report - 1985
  • Faculty resignations, report - 1986-1987
  • Faculty governance, report - 1988
  • P & S staff, report - 1988-1990
  • Report of the Faculty Senate Task Force on Affirmative Action - 1989
  • Ad Hoc Committee on Search Procedures for Collegiate Deans, report - 1990
  • Ad Hoc Working Group on Oral Communication Competency & Teaching Efficiency - 1991
    Final report and general files
  • 3b:
  • Faculty Welfare, survey - 1978
    2 folders
  • North Central Association (NCA), accreditation report - 1978
  • Faculty Welfare Committee reports on Survey of Faculty Interests, March-April - 1979
  • University Campus Security Committee, Subcommittee on Arming Campus Security Officers, March - 1980
  • Information and Communications Technology Task Force, report to President - 1982
    Includes tuition and salary relationship, 2 folders
  • State Board of Regents Committee on Efficiency and Cost Effectiveness, final report, May - 1984
  • Faculty salary, report - 1984
  • Report to Faculty Senate, April 20 - 1985
  • Committee to Review Faculty Development Program, final summary report, October - 1985
  • 3c:
  • Faculty Welfare Committee report, "Family Compensation at Iowa, 1955-1986,” April - 1986
    3 folders
  • Recreation Services annual report, submitted by Harry R. Ostrander - 1987-1988
  • Task Force on the Periodic Assessment of Administrators, report, December - 1989
  • Faculty Workload Study, final report of CPA Peat Marwick, May - 1989
  • White paper on Oakdale Pathological Waste Incineration Facility, January - 1991
  • Faculty Senate Task Force on Faculty Spouses & Partners, report and form letters - 1992
  • Faculty Spouses & Partners, research - 1991-1993
    2 folders
  • 3d:
  • Final reports of Senate and charter committees - 1991
    2 folders
  • Final reports - 1991
  • Master copies of committee annual reports - 1989-1990
  • Final committee reports - 1991
    2 folders
  • Final committee reports - 1992-1993
  • Final reports - 1993-1994
  • Sub-Series: Awards
  • 3e:
  • Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award - 1963-1973
  • Faculty Excellence in Service Awards - 1990
  • Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence, nominees - 1991
    2 folders
  • 3f:
  • Michael J. Brody Award - 1991
    2 folders
  • Michael J. Brody Award - 1992
  • 3g:
  • Michael J. Brody Award - 1993
  • 3h:
  • Michael J. Brody Award - 1994
  • Michael J. Brody Award - 1995
  • 3i:
  • Michael J. Brody Award - 1996
  • Sub-Series: Reviews
  • 3j:
  • College of Engineering - 1972
  • Academic planning - 1972
  • Budgetary planning and review - 1979-1983
  • Central Administration review process - 1981-1984
  • Collegiate and academic review - 1981-1986
  • Office of the Ombudsperson, review, April - 1989
  • 3k:
  • Faculty salaries, review - 1979-1986
    2 folders
  • University Counseling Service, March - 1987
  • Women’s Resource Action Center, April - 1987
  • Office of the Registrar, August - 1987
  • Office of Campus Programs and Student Activities, February - 1988
  • Office of Services for Persons with Disabilities, May - 1988
  • Evaluation and Examination Service, July - 1988
  • Iowa Memorial Union Post-Renovation Administrative Planning Proposals, June - 1989
  • Hancher Auditorium, August - 1989
  • Student Services Program, December - 1989
  • Office of Affirmative Action, January - 1990
  • Office of Academic Affairs, review - 1991
  • Office of Academic Affairs, follow-up review - 1993
  • 3L:
  • Office of Vice President for Academic Affairs (Brodbeck) - 1981
  • Office of Vice President for Education Development and Research (Spriestersbach) - 1982
    2 folders
  • Office of Student Services (Hubbard) - 1985
  • Office of Vice President of Finance (Dan Ellis) - 1984-1985
  • 3m:
  • Institutional Audit, State Board of Regents - 1988
    2 folders
  • Review of the Office of the President, August 26 - 1991
  • 3n:
  • Review of Vice President for Research, April - 1993
    3 folders
  • Sub-Series: Speeches
  • 3p:
  • Council accomplishments - 1948-1959
  • Speeches - 1967
  • Speeches - 1970
  • Speeches - 1971
  • Howard R. Bowen - 1972
  • Speeches - 1972
  • Speeches - 1973
  • Speeches - 1976
  • President Freedman’s proposal for the Future of the University - 1983
  • N. Peg Burke speech to the Board of Regents on faculty salaries - 1982
  • Willard L. Boyd Presidential Address, September 16 - 1969
  • Willard L. Boyd Presidential Address, "Our Mutual Future,” September 1 - 1976
  • Willard L. Boyd Presidential Address, August 31 - 1977
  • Willard L. Boyd Presidential Address, "Our Open Commitment to Learning," August 31 - 1978
  • Willard L. Boyd Presidential Address, "The University in the 1980s" - 1979
  • Willard L. Boyd speech draft, "Iowa: The University in the State" - 1980
  • Willard L. Boyd address, "Iowa: The University and the State" - 1980
    Announcement of address and correspondence
  • D. C. Spriestersbach address, September 3 - 1981
    Correspondence about
  • James O. Freedman Presidential Address, September 17 - 1984
  • Campus speakers program - 1964, 1973, 1985
  • Larry Gelfand final address as Chair of Faculty Senate and other speeches - 1984-1987
    Includes N. Peg Burke address, April 30, 1984
  • Sub-Series: Studies
  • 3q:
  • Freshman enrollment - 1965-1966
  • Faculty workload - 1972
  • Campus planning for pedestrians - 1973
  • Student Services and Academic Affairs Self-study by Philip G. Hubbard, May - 1976
  • Office for Vice President for Student Services and Dean of Academic Affairs, review, January - 1985
    3 copies
  • University Accreditation Self-Study - 1986
  • Study on Governance - 1972
    JSGCG documents
  • Series 5: EPHEMERA
  • Box 1:
  • Newspaper clippings, news releases - 1954-1987
  • Photographs
  • Board of Regents group photo - 1965-1966
    See also Regents’ 1971 photos in Governing Bodies series
  • Series 6: ADDENDUM 2006
  • Box 1:
  • Correspondence - 1997-2000
  • Box 2:
  • Minutes - 1995-1999
  • Box 3:
  • Minutes - 1999-2000
  • Box 4:
  • Minutes - 2000-2002
  • Box 5:
  • Committee members - 1975-2002
  • Box 6:
  • Policies - 1993-2000
  • Box 7:
  • Policies - 1995-2002
  • Box 8:
  • Procedures - 1996-2001
  • Box 9:
  • Constitution, By-laws - 1972-2000
  • Box 10:
  • Board of Regents; Board in Control of Athletics - 1999-2000
  • Box 11:
  • Committees, video and audio cassette tapes about retaining faculty - 1989, 1992, 1994
  • Box 12:
  • Committees - 1992-1999
  • Box 13:
  • Committees - 2000-2003
  • Box 14:
  • Reports - 1987-2000
  • Box 15:
  • Reviews - 1997-2001
  • Box 16:
  • Awards, speeches, studies - 1987-2000
  • Box 17:
  • Clippings, news releases - 1998-2003

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Organizations