Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Newspapers Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1868-
Creator: Newspapers
Extent: 81.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0011.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access:

Use:

Acquisition:

Preferred Citation: Newspapers Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Five student-produced newspaper titles: The Daily Iowan, the University Reporter, the Vidette, the Vidette-Reporter, and the University Mirror.

The Daily Iowan, which began publishing under this name in September 21, 1901, was preceded by four other student-produced newspapers: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901), and the University Mirror (1888).

Back issues of the Daily Iowan and its predecessor publications are available online as part of the Iowa Digital Library. This digital collection spans 1868 to the current year and is searchable by date. See the back issues here: dailyiowan.lib.uiowa.edu/.

Back issues of the Daily Iowan are also available on microfilm in Media Services of the Main Library. In addition, the Archives maintains bound volumes of all five titles; issues may be researched by date of publication. A portion of the Archives' set of the Daily Iowan is closed for research due to fragile condition. A card index of the University Reporter and the Vidette-Reporter is maintained by the Archives; limited indexing of the Daily Iowan is available at the Iowa City Public Library. Both indexes are searchable by name and subject.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • University Reporter: v. I-XIII (1868/69-1880/81 school years)
    The University Reporter published 13 volumes before it merged with the Vidette in Fall 1881
  • Vidette: v. I-II (1879/80-1880/81 school years)
  • Vidette-Reporter: v. XIV-XXXIII (1881/82-1900/01 school years)
  • University Mirror: v. I no. 1-12 (September-December 1888)
  • The Daily Iowan: v. XXXIV-present (1901/02-present)
    Missing issues: 1918/19 school and Summer 1984

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life