Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Emil Rinderspacher Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1967-1977
Creator: Rinderspacher, Emil
Extent: 1.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.030
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Papers of Emil Rinderspacher were donated to the University Archives by Mr. Rinderspacher in April 2011 as Accession 2011-32.

Preferred Citation: Emil Rinderspacher Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Papers of Emil Rinderspacher chronicle his political activism as an opponent of U.S. policy in Vietnam during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Included are notes, meeting schedules with lawmakers, and other documents pertaining to a June 1970 effort to lobby members of Congress (Citizens' Lobby to End the War) newspaper clippings about protests on the University of Iowa campus in late 1967 and posters and other ephemera pertaining to the Vietnam Moratorium in 1969. The two objects in Box 2 are molded plastic human heads created by students in the UI School of Art and Art History in spring 1970, among hundreds of similar objects displayed on the Pentacrest lawn as part of a protest event. Each head was accompanied by a small banner reading End the War.
Records of the Center for Draft Information and Counseling (RG02.0002.002)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Center for Draft Information and Counseling flier mock-up - 1970
  • Citizens' Lobby to End the War, Washington, D.C., June - 1970
  • Fliers promoting Living Theatre, "In the Year of the Pig" film, correspondence regarding Sigma Pi fraternity - 1970
  • Newspaper clippings - 1967
  • Newspaper clippings - 1969
  • Newspaper clippings - 1970
  • Daily Iowan report on draft resisters and amnesty, January - 1977
  • "Special Report: The Military-Industrial Complex in Iowa," undated
  • Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) newpapers - 1972
  • Vietnam Moratorium in Iowa City, November and April - 1969, 1970
  • Box 2:
  • Two human head-shaped plastic forms, with banner, "End the War"

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life