Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Birney C. Woolley Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1888-1889
Creator: Woolley, Birney C. (1867-unknown)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.019
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created in August 2009.

Preferred Citation: Birney C. Woolley Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Birney C. Woolley was born on September 6, 1867. He attended the State University of Iowa during the fall 1888 and spring 1889 semesters as a civil engineering student from Yankton, South Dakota. Woolley served in the House of Representatives from 1899 to 1900, as representative from Yankton County, South Dakota. Woolley married Minnie Lower on October 18, 1893.
 
[D. Anderson; 08/2009].

The Birney C. Woolley papers house four notebooks containing Woolley's civil engineering lecture notes recorded during fall 1888 and spring 1889. The instructor of the courses was professor Charles D. Jameson. The course titles and semesters of enrollment are identified in the box list.
Folder, "Philbrick, Philetus Harvey," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Papers of Joseph Homer Howe(RG02.0009.005)

Persons, Stow. "The College of Engineering." Iowa City, 1997. 30 pp. Archives, in Historical Papers Collection (RG01.0001.003).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: LECTURE NOTES

  • Series 1: LECTURE NOTES
  • Box 1:
  • "Structural Drawing," October - 1888
  • "Advanced Theory of Railroad Location," January-February - 1889
  • "Tunnels," January-February - 1889
  • "Bridge Design," February-March - 1889

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life