Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charlotte Enger Jones Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1995-1996
Creator: Jones, Charlotte Enger (1925-)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.014
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa alumna, B.A. in history 1947 and M.A. in education 1965. Compiled a history of student life in cooperative dormitories. Correspondence.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Charlotte Enger Jones in July 1997.

Preferred Citation: Charlotte Enger Jones Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Charlotte Enger Jones was born February 11, 1925, in Aberdeen, South Dakota. Her family moved to What Cheer, Iowa, in April 1934. Ms. Jones attended the University of Mississippi for one year before transferring to the State University of Iowa in fall 1944, when she moved into a shared room at the Dean House cooperative dormitory. She received a B.A. in history in February 1947 and began graduate work during the summer in 1948. Her studies were interrupted when she started a family. Charlotte Jean Enger married John Paul Jones of Des Moines on February 4, 1949. After her marriage, Charlotte worked as a ward clerk in Nursing Service at University Hospitals and at the University Libraries. Mr. Jones received his B.F.A. in June 1949 and M.F.A. in printmaking in February 1951. His teaching positions included the University of Iowa, 1950-1951, as a Research Assistant in the School of Fine Arts; the University of Oklahoma; the University of California, Los Angeles; and the University of California at Irvine.

In 1963, Charlotte divorced and moved her two children back to Iowa City, where she continued her education. She received her M.A. in Special Education and Educational Psychology in August 1965. In 1970, she earned a certificate in counseling at the University of Iowa. Jones served as a counselor and taught psychology courses at Southeastern Community College in Keokuk, Iowa, for 23 years. When she retired in 1990, she moved back to Coralville. During the 1990s, she attended the Iowa Summer Writing Festival and Elderhostel courses and continued writing her genealogy, memoirs, and short stories.

Historical Note

Kellogg Elementary School was located at the current site of the Veteran's Administration Hospital in Iowa City, Iowa. It closed in 1926 when it became University of Iowa property. A tent city for summer school students existed near the former site of the Kellogg School building at other times of the year, with no utilities available. This unauthorized occupation was due to the financial hardships experienced during the Great Depression. In response, Robert E. Rienow, Dean of Men, called for the establishment of cooperative dormitories in 1931, to alleviate student housing difficulties. Rienow first established Kellogg House for men. Adelaide L. Burge, Dean of Women, soon established similar housing for women. The number of coop dorms grew to at least sixteen. World War II also affected coop dorms. The University of Iowa Navy Pre-flight School took over Whetstone and Grover houses for use by cadets during summer 1942, requiring tenants t move into other coop dorms.

The Charlotte Enger Jones papers consist of correspondence from State University of Iowa alumni to Ms. Jones. Correspondence is dated 1995 and 1996 from alumni who lived in cooperative dormitories between 1931 and 1955. Ms. Jones solicited the correspondence and compiled a history about student life in cooperative housing, (RG01.0001.003).
Jones, Charlotte Enger. "Memories of Co-op Dorm Living: 1931 -- 1955." University of Iowa Historical Papers Collection (RG01.0001.003) Berger, Elizabeth A. "The Student Cooperative Dormitory and Democratic Group Life as Illustrated by Russell House." Master's thesis, State University of Iowa, 1939. Cutter number T1939.B49, located in Main storage and in University Archives. Coop housing, Subject Vertical Files (RG01.0015.005) Papers of Everett E. Sterner (RG02.0009.009) Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs, Iowa City Town and Campus Scenes Digital Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Sub-Series: Bloomington House, 22 East Bloomington
  • Box 1:
  • Harry C. Eyre, Fall - 1933
  • Sub-Series: Chesley House, 3 East Market
  • Box 1:
  • Robert Day - 1936-1940
    Also The Manse and Wilson House
  • Earl R. Shostrom, Fall-Spring - 1939-1942
    Also Whetstone House
  • Sub-Series: Coast House for women, 530 North Clinton
  • Box 1:
  • Georgia (Gaddis) Nelson - 1938
  • Alice Marie (Pemberton) Smith (Mrs. Virgil Smith), Fall - 1942
    Nursing School in Spring 1943
  • Sub-Series: Dean House, at various times for men or for women, 7 East Bloomington
  • Box 1:
  • Luella (McReynolds) Yannaccone, Spring - 1949
  • Caryl (Walmsley) Wayne (Mrs. Robert Wayne), Fall-Spring - 1949-1951
  • Phyllis (Apland) Land - 1945-1949
    Howard House during junior and senior years
  • Betty Jane (Rehemke) Thumma (Mrs. Robert L. Thumma), Fall-Spring - 1946-1950
  • (Phyllis) June Kern - 1948-1951
  • Mr. Thor Swanson - 1942-1943
    Whetstone House during Fall 1939-Spring 1942
  • Marion Russell Miller - 1940-1941
    Grover House 1939-1940; graduated 1943
  • Sub-Series: Fairchild House, at various times for men or for women, 9 East Fairchild
  • Box 1:
  • Dorothy Oakman - 1946-1950
  • Gene L. Tujetsch, Fall-Spring - 1940-1942
    U.S. Army 1942
  • Sub-Series: Folsom House, Kellogg Annex
  • Box 1:
  • Louis Schwartz - 1939-1942
    Whetstone House and Jefferson House also
  • Sub-Series: The Gables for men, northeast of Quadrangle
  • Box 1:
  • Francis F. Wall - 1937-1941
  • Everett E. Sterner, Fall-Spring - 1934-1940
  • Sub-Series: The Grover House for men, 30 Byington Road
  • Box 1:
  • Marvin F. Chevalier, Fall-Spring - 1939-1941
  • Marion Russell Miller - 1939-1940
    Dean House 1940-1941; graduated 1943
  • Sub-Series: Howard House, 8 East Bloomington
  • Box 1:
  • Phyllis (Apland) Land, junior and senior years - 1946-1953
    Dean House during the late 1940s
  • Sub-Series: Jefferson House for men, 26 East Jefferson
  • Box 1:
  • George Willoughby - 1933-1936
  • Louis Schwartz - 1939-1942
    Also Whetstone House and Folsom House
  • Sub-Series: Kellogg House for men, Kellogg Annex
  • Box 1:
  • William S. Miletich until graduation - 1940
  • H. C. (Chuck) Scharnweber, Fall-Spring - 1935-1937
  • Ronald L. Stowe - 1932-1933
  • Sub-Series: The Manse for men, 4 East Market
  • Box 1:
  • Jerome J. Tujetsch, Fall-Spring - 1943-1944
  • Robert Day - 1936-1940
    Also Wilson House and Chesley House
  • Sub-Series: Russell House for women, 3 East Davenport
  • Box 1:
  • Pat Dee, Fall-Spring - 1950-1951
  • Marjorie (Johnson) Luther (Mrs. G. G. Luther) - 1950-1954
  • Betty McKray, Fall-Spring - 1939-1942
    Wilson House during first year
  • Connie (Shrauger) Day (Mrs. Robert Day) - 1936-1940
  • Sub-Series: Tudor House for women, 17 East Fairchild
  • Box 1:
  • Maryetta (Baker) Harrington (Mrs. Rex R. Harrington) - 1936-1938
  • Sub-Series: Whetstone House for men, 20 Byington Road, northeast of Quadrangle
  • Box 1:
  • Thor Swanson, Fall-Spring - 1939-1942
    Dean House during 1942-1943
  • Correspondence to Thor Swanson's parents from UI Dean of Men regarding financial aid - 1941
  • Louis Schwartz - 1939-1942
    Also Folsom House and Jefferson House
  • Derio Dalasta, Fall-Spring - 1937-1941
    Includes grocery list and dining seating arrangements
  • Earl R. Shostrom, Fall-Spring - 1939-1942
    Also Chesley House 1942-1943
  • Sub-Series: Wilson House, at various times for men or for women, 323 North Capitol
  • Box 1:
  • Betty McKray, Fall-Spring - 1938-1939
    Russell House during following three years
  • Robert Day
    Also Chesley House and The Manse during 1936-1940

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life