Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marilyn Nesper Hewlett Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1942-1946
Creator: Hewlett, Marilyn Nesper (1923-2005)
Extent: .75 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.013
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa student, 1942-1947. Received B.A. with major in Speech and Dramatic Art in 1945, and M.A. in 1947. Course notes and papers.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Marilyn Nesper Hewlett in July 1997. Finding aid created in November 2008.

Preferred Citation: Marilyn Nesper Hewlett Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Marilyn Eloise Nesper Hewlett was born in Toledo, Ohio, on December 10, 1923. She received her B.A. in Speech and Dramatic Art at the State University of Iowa in 1945 and her M.A. in 1947. After receiving her master's degree, she moved to Chicago, Illinois, to teach at Pestalozzi-Froebel Teachers College and the University of Illinois. In 1946 she married Richard G. Hewlett, also of Toledo, Ohio. Marilyn Nesper Hewlett died May 28, 2005, in Bethesda, Maryland.

The Papers of Marilyn Nesper Hewlett include her course notes while she was an undergraduate majoring in speech between 1942 and 1945 and from some of her graduate work during 1946 and 1947. She received her B.A. in Speech and Dramatic Art in 1945 and her M.A. in 1947, both from the State University of Iowa. Of particular interest are her notes as a participant in Speaking for Victory, Iowa's wartime student speaking program. The 1945 Hawkeye yearbook described this program as an opportunity for students to speak about war-related topics such as financing the war, rationing, and post-war international organizations.
Folder, "Hewlett, Marilyn Nesper," Alumni and Former Students Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.001)

Hewlett, Marilyn Nesper. "An Analysis of Theories of Speech Arrangement as Developed by Selected Ancient Rhetoricians." Master's thesis, State University of Iowa, 1947.

Papers of Walter F. Loehwing (RG99.0034)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Voice and Phonetics - 1942-1943
  • Survey of Spanish Literature - 1942-1943
  • Literature and the Art of Writing - 1942-1943
  • Contemporary Literature - 1943
  • Public Discussion and Debate - 1943-1944
  • Educational Psychology; Measurements - 1944
  • Methods in Speech - 1944
  • Stage Direction - 1944
  • Argumentation and Debate - 1944-1945
  • Radio Broadcasting - 1944-1945
  • Speech Pathology - 1944-1945
  • Iowa's wartime student speaking program, "Speaking for Victory" - 1943-1946
  • Box 2:
  • Stagecraft - 1945
  • British and American Oratory Speech - 1945-1946
  • The European Novel, summer - 1946
  • Critical Studies in Oratorical Theory, summer - 1946

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life