Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Janet Kimpston Herz Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1919-1921
Creator: Herz, Janet Kimpston (1895-1991)
Extent: 2.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.012
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa student, 1919-1921. Received B.A. with major in English in June 1921. Course notes and papers.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 2.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Eleanor Herz Swent in June 1991. Finding aid created October 2008.

Preferred Citation: Janet Kimpston Herz Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Janette ("Janet") Kimpston Herz was born in Elkader, Iowa, on December 28, 1895. She graduated from Fayette High School in 1916. Herz attended Upper Iowa University in Fayette before enrolling in College of Liberal Arts courses at the State University of Iowa beginning in September 1919. She received her B.A. in English on June 14, 1921. While participating in a geology field course in South Dakota, Janet met and later married Nathaniel Herz. The couple resided in Lead, South Dakota. Janet Kimpston Herz died at age 96 on January 1, 1991, in Lawrence, South Dakota.

The Janet Kimpston Herz papers are class notes and reports Herz made as a student at the State University of Iowa from 1919 to 1921. Her courses for which papers exist are listed in the box list below, followed by the instructor's name and date if known. During a four-week geology field course in 1920, Herz explored the typography of the Black Hills of South Dakota. A transcript of an article from the Lead Daily Call newspaper, dated August 6, 1920, stated that several female students participated in the field course, as well as males. This field work carried a prerequisite of one year of physical and historical geology, taught by professor Arthur C. Trowbridge. During 1921, Herz was enrolled in the geology field trip to Devil's Lake State Park, Wisconsin.As an English major, Herz completed literary courses such as Short Story, Novel, Poetry, and American Literature. She studied the poetry of Walt Whitman as well as how to repair torn fabric for her sewing course. Fabric swatches bearing demonstrations of hems and button holes are among her Home Economic course notes. Her transcriptions of Latin text are preserved as well.
Papers of Arthur C. Trowbridge (RG 99.0089)

Papers of Hardin Craig (RG99.0054)

Manuscript File Collection, Home Economics records (RG01.0001.001)

Records of University of Iowa Department of Home Economics (Iowa Women's Archives)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Commencement program and course registration card
  • Psychology - 1919
  • Latin transcriptions, taught by Professor Collis, January-April - 1919
  • Shakespeare paper, taught by Miss Nichols, February - 1919
  • Othello paper, taught by Miss Nichols, February - 1919
  • Rhetoric, October-December - 1919
  • English I, October - 1919
  • Novel, October-December - 1919
  • Short Story, October-February - 1919-1920
  • Modern Novel, taught by Associate Professor Sam Sloan, October-January - 1919-1920
  • American Literature, taught by Professor Hardin Craig, (or Romantic Movement?) October-February - 1919-1920
  • Novel, taught by Assistant Professor Walter Scott, February-March - 1920
  • Novel paper, undated
  • Poetry and Religion, April-May - 1920
  • Romantic Movement paper, April - 1920
  • Romantic Movement paper, undated
  • Book reviews, April - 1920
  • Poetry, taught by Associate Professor Edwin Piper, May-June - 1920
  • Home Economics (Sewing), undated
  • Drama paper, undated
  • Public Speaking, undated
  • History of Education, undated
  • Notebook of various course notes - 1919-1920
  • Box 2:
  • Geology field notes, Black Hills, South Dakota, Assistant Professor Joseph Runner, June-August - 1920
  • "A Report on the Geology of Certain Points of Eastern Iowa," undated
    Includes photographs
  • "The Origin of the Solar System," undated
  • Geology course notes, undated
    3 folders
  • Chart of geologic eras, undated
  • Geology field trip to South Dakota, Professor Joseph Runner, summer - 1920
  • Box 3:
  • Topographic maps of South Dakota, field trip summer - 1920

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life