Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Marion Miller Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1940-1943
Creator: Miller, Marion (1870-1930)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.010
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: State University of Iowa student, 1939-1943. Journals.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Marion Miller's wife, Jeannine Miller, in March 2001. Guide created in December 2007.

Preferred Citation: Marion Miller Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Marion Russell Miller was born January 25, 1920 in Henning, Minnesota. He grew up on his parents' farm in Anita, Iowa, where he attended high school. After graduation he attended the State University of Iowa from 1939 to 1943, and earned a B.A. in English.
 
Mr. Miller served as a sergeant in the U.S. Army during World War II and was wounded during the Battle of the Bulge. He married Jeannine Lalou on November 8, 1952, in Paris, and the couple had one daughter, Alice. After the war ended he continued working for the Army as a civilian in France and Belgium. One Army department in which he served was MIS-X Det, where he researched European citizens who aided American airmen who had fallen behind enemy lines. His work with this office earned him the Médaille de la Reconnaissance Française. After completing this two-year project he studied at the Sorbonne in Paris. In 1955 he moved to Verdun, France, where he worked for the U.S. Army and earned a degree in business administration from the University of Maryland through their overseas education program.
 
He returned to the United States in 1965 and worked at U. S. Army arsenals in New Jersey and Rock Island, Illinois. Following his retirement from Army employment in 1986, he earned a B.A. in French and Spanish from the University of St. Ambrose in Davenport, Iowa. Marion Miller died January 5, 2000.

This collection includes 12 journals (diaries) written by Marion Miller dated June 6, 1940, through April 30, 1943, while Mr. Miller was a student at the State University of Iowa. He wrote about his routine as a student, such as staying up late to study and meeting with friends.
Papers of Everett E. Sterner (RG02.0009.009)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: JOURNALS

  • Series 1: JOURNALS
  • Box 1:
  • June 6-December 31 - 1940
  • January 1-April 5 - 1941
  • April 6-June 4 - 1941
  • June 5-July 23 - 1941
  • July 24-September 21 - 1941
  • September 22-November 20 - 1941
  • November 21-December 31 - 1941
  • January 1-January 23 - 1942
  • January 24-March 3 - 1942
  • March 4-August 10 - 1942
  • August 11-March 7 - 1942-1943
  • March 8-April 30 - 1943

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Miller, Marion Russell, 1920-2000

Dates:
20th century

Occupations:
College students

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa -- Iowa City

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Diaries

Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life
University of Iowa Administration