Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Everett E. Sterner Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1931-1943
Creator: Sterner, Everett E. (1914-1996)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.009
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa student, 1934-1940. Sterner documented UI cooperative dorms of this period. Photographs and notes.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 1

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives in September 1997.

Preferred Citation: Everett E. Sterner Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Everett Ezra Sterner was born May 28, 1914, in Batavia, Iowa. He attended the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts from September 1934 until June 1940. From 1936 until 1940 he served as the first proctor of The Gables cooperative dormitory. He married Dolores Johnson, of Logan, Iowa, on May 26, 1940. The couple met through a dinner held between residents of The Gables and Breene house, the cooperative dorm where Ms. Johnson lived. Everett E. Sterner died May 15, 1996.

The Everett E. Sterner papers include Mr. Sterner's photographs, notes, and data relating to cooperative dormitories in Iowa City during the Great Depression. He provided a brief explanation for the establishment of the cooperative dormitories by Robert E. Rienow, Dean of Men, and a list of the University of Iowa men's and women's coop dorms of this period.
Papers of Charlotte Enger Jones (RG02.0009.014)

Folder, "Rienow, Robert E.," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Subject Vertical Files (RG01.0015.005): Dean of Men; Coop housing

Records of the University of Iowa Student Government (RG02.0007.001)

Berger, Elizabeth A. "The Student Cooperative Dormitory and Democratic Group Life as Illustrated by Russell House." M.A. thesis, University of Iowa, 1939

Frederick W. Kent Collection of Photographs (RG30.0001.001): Buildings series, Kellogg Dormitory

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Photographs
    Including interior views, primarily of The Gables, Kellogg House, Whetstone House, Wilson House, Bloomington House, The Manse, Jefferson House, Breene, Coast House, and Russell House; Scottish Highlanders marching band. There are references to, but no photographs of, Clinton House, Tudor, and Folsom House
  • Proctor's records of fund-raising projects, tenant lists, and dormitory residents' activities