Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Frances Louise Fourt Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1930-1935
Creator: Fourt, Frances Louise (-1981)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.008
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: Alumna of 1935 was a member of Seals Club and a life guard at YMCA camp in Okoboji. Scrapbook.

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Box 1.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives from the Alumni Records Office in September 1980. Finding aid created October 2007.

Preferred Citation: Frances Louise Fourt Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Frances Louise Fourt grew up in Fairfield, Iowa. She attended the State University of Iowa (1930-1935), where she was a member of Alpha Chi Omega, Phi Beta Kappa, Seals Club, YWCA, Morrison Club, and Women's Athletic Association Board. Ms. Fourt was one of 12 female students in her junior class named to the Mortar Board honorary society in spring 1933. While undergoing tuberculosis treatment at Oakdale Sanatorium for two years, she completed Extension Division correspondence courses and graduated with highest distinction on June 3, 1935, with a B.A. in Political Science. Frances Fourt died November 19, 1981.

The Frances Louise Fourt papers include one scrapbook of photographs and clippings.
Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG01.0015.004)

Papers of Everett E. Sterner (RG02.0009.009)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbook
  • Photographs, including YWCA camp at Lake Okoboji in Spirit Lake, Iowa, where Ms. Fourt was a life guard
  • Records of Alpha Chi Omega
  • Handbook for Currier Hall residents
  • Articles about students' activities
  • Homecoming button, November 15 - 1930
  • Season football tickets

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life