Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Charles H. Preston Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1867-1868
Creator: Preston, Charles H.
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.007
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa student 1866-1873. Notes for two classes taught by Gustavus Hinrichs.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Frank Hanlin in August 1978.

Preferred Citation: Charles H. Preston Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Charles Hicklen Preston, from Oskaloosa, Iowa, enrolled in the State University of Iowa Collegiate Department (later called the College of Liberal Arts) in 1866 and received his B.S. degree in 1869, the B.Ph. in 1870, the M.D. in 1873, and the M.A. in 1887.

The Charles H. Preston papers include two class notebooks of lectures by Professor Gustavus Hinrichs in 1867 and 1868 on qualitative analysis and mineralogy.
Papers of Gustavus Hinrichs (RG99.0039)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLASS NOTEBOOKS

  • Series 1: CLASS NOTEBOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • "Qualitative Analysis" - 1867
  • "Mineralogy" - 1868

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Preston, C. H. (Charles Hicklen), 1844-1914

Topics:
Chemistry
Mineralogy
Physics

Occupations:
College students

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Archives
Lecture notes

Family Names:
Irish family

Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life
University of Iowa Administration