Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the David Tracy Jones Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1923
Creator: Jones, David Tracy (1900-1974)
Extent: .50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.006
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa student 1920s. Notes for Zoology classes.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were transferred to the University Archives prior to 1970. Finding aid created October 2007.

Preferred Citation: David Tracy Jones Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

David Tracy Jones was born January 9, 1900, in Mount Auburn, Iowa, and grew up in nearby Vinton. He was a student at the Iowa State Teachers College in Cedar Falls, Iowa, for one year before enrolling in the State University of Iowa. At SUI he earned a B.A. and a certificate in education in July 1923. Mr. Jones worked as a graduate assistant in Zoology from 1923 until 1926 and took his M.S. in Zoology in June 1925. David Jones died in December 1974.

The David Tracy Jones papers include three class notebooks of lectures during 1923.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CLASS NOTEBOOKS

  • Series 1: CLASS NOTEBOOKS
  • Box 1:
  • Natural Science
  • Embryology
  • Comparative Neurology

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Personal Names:
Jones, David Tracy, 1900-1974

Corporate Names:
University of Iowa Department of Zoology

Topics:
Embryology
Neurology
Paleontology

Occupations:
College students

Geographic Names:
United States -- Iowa

Genre/Form of Materials:
Lecture notes

Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life
University of Iowa Administration