Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Joseph Homer Howe Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1885-1891
Creator: Howe, Joseph Homer (1865-)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.005
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary: University of Iowa alumnus of Civil Engineering in 1890. Correspondence.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were donated to the University Archives by Mrs. Luceille Howe in March 1997.

Preferred Citation: Joseph Homer Howe Papers, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Joseph Homer Howe was born January 15, 1865, in Bristol Center, Minnesota. His family later moved to Cresco, Iowa, where he attended high school. Mr. Howe taught school at Saratoga, Iowa, 1885-1886. He graduated from the University of Iowa Collegiate Department (later the College of Liberal Arts) on June 18, 1890, with a Civil Engineer (C.E.) degree. Mr. Howe delivered the commencement oration to his graduating class. As a student, he was a member of the Baconian literary club, and was a private in Company D in the University battalion during 1886.
 
Following graduation Mr. Howe worked for one year as a high school science teacher in Iowa City. In September 1890 he was hired to create strain sheets in the replacement of Roberts Ferry Bridge. In October 1891 he platted the What Cheer Co. coal mine, and the following month worked for the Kansas City, Watkins & Gulf Railway Co. in Louisiana. The railway company's chief engineer was Philetus Harvey Philbrick, a Civil Engineering professor at the State University of Iowa (1873-1887) and Mr. Howe's instructor.

The papers of Joseph Homer Howe include correspondence to his parents while attending classes at the University of Iowa, 1886-1890. The letters, which continued until December 1891, mentioned the construction progress of University of Iowa campus buildings and Howe's employment as a science teacher.
Folder, "Philbrick, Philetus Harvey," Faculty and Staff Vertical Files collection (RG01.0015.003)

Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG01.0015.004)

University of Iowa Historical Papers Collection (RG01.0001.003)

Gilson, James Edward. "Changing Student Lifestyle at the University of Iowa, 1880-1900." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1980. Dissertation Abstracts International 41: 1664-A. Religion, prohibition, 1888 investigation, YMCA, Close Hall, curriculum, literary societies, fraternities, and athletics.

Wagner, Dorothy. "The Varsity Whirl." Palimpsest 10 (March 1929): 109-126. Student social life, 1890-1899.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
Series 2: GENERAL

  • Series 1: CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 1:
  • June 20-April 16 - 1885-1886
  • September 25-April 22 - 1886-1887
  • September 14-July 28 - 1887-1888
  • September 15-June 8 - 1888-1889
  • September 14-September 7 - 1889-1890
  • February 8-December 6 - 1890-1891
  • Series 2: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Commencement speech, June 18 - 1890
  • Receipts for semester tuition - 1889-1890