Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the John Edward Chapman Papers

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1935-1939
Creator: Chapman, John Edward (1862-1980)
Extent: .25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0009.004
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Papers of John Edward Chapman were donated to the University Archives by Douglas and Beth Chapman in 2006 as Accession 2006-95. Finding aid posted to the Internet July 2007.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

John Edward Chapman was born Feb. 13, 1915, in Nevada, Iowa, where he graduated from high school in 1933. In 1939 he received the bachelor of arts degree in journalism from the University of Iowa. He served in the Army Air Corps during World War II and received the Bronze Star. He married Isabel Yeager Jan. 23, 1945, in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. They had two children.

Mr. Chapman was employed by the U.S. Post Office for several years and at Montgomery Ward for 10 years, retiring in 1980. He was a member of First Congregational Church, American Legion, and Sioux Valley Optimist Club of Sioux Falls. He died Oct. 4, 1991, at age 76.

[D. McCartney, July 2007].

The Papers of John Edward Chapman include one scrapbook containing mainly newspaper clippings, photographs of campus scenes and classmates, degree, student's course book, and 1939 commencement-related printed matter.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Scrapbook
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Photographs of campus scenes and classmates
  • Degree
  • Student's course book
  • Commencement-related printed matter - 1939

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life