Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the University of Iowa Student Government Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1919-1976
Creator: University of Iowa Student Government
Extent: 4.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0007.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These records were transferred to the University Archives by the Office of Student Activities in September 1977.  Additional records have been transferred on subsequent dates and have not been processed. Guide posted to the Internet February 2005; revised December 2006.

Preferred Citation: University of Iowa Student Government Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

Student government at the University of Iowa has existed in some form since the late 1800's, with the earliest known records dating to 1919. On May 10, 1961, the UI Student Council voted to change the name of the organization to Student Senate. The Student Senate makes recommendations to the Committee on Student Life, which in turn brings issues to the Faculty Senate and other organizations and entities.

Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG01.0015.004), University Archives

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Sub-Series: Business
  • Box 1:
  • Student Council treasurer ledger - 1919-1922
  • Student Council minutes - 1921
  • Student Committee on Student Affairs minutes - 1945-1949
  • Student Committee on Student Affairs minutes - 1949-1952
  • Box 2:
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1955-1959
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1959-1962
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1962-1965
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1965-1967
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1967-1968
  • Box 3:
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions: March-October - 1968
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions: November-April - 1968-1969
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1969-1970
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1970-1971
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1971-1972
  • Agendas, Bills, Minutes, and Resolutions - 1972-1973
  • Box 4:
  • Budget Requests and Allocations - 1948-1951, 1957-1960, 1965-1967
  • Budget Requests and Allocations - 1967-1970
  • Budget Requests and Allocations - 1970-1971, 1972-1973
  • Budget Requests and Allocations - 1974-1975
  • Budget Requests and Allocations - 1975-1976
  • Box 5:
  • Correspondence - 1948-1956
  • Correspondence - 1957-1958
  • Correspondence - 1959
  • Correspondence - 1960-1965
  • Correspondence - 1966-1973
  • Box 6:
  • Presidents reports - 1949-1957, 1963-1965
  • Student Council and Student Senate Constitutions - 1953-1971
  • Rosters - 1948-1972
  • Spring Festival - 1964
  • Spring Festival - 1965
  • Spring Festival - 1966
  • Spring Festival - 1967
  • Spring Festival - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous
  • Box 7:
  • Associated Residence Halls
  • Big Ten
  • Book Exchange
  • Budget
  • Campus Newspaper in a Complex University
  • Capital Punishment
  • Collegiate Council for the United Nations
  • Council on International Relations and United Nations Affairs
  • Crisis Center
  • Dantes, Phil
  • Discrimination
  • Elections
  • Faculty Evaluation
  • Films
  • Freedoms
  • Global Life Insurance
  • Historical Material
  • Housing
  • Box 8:
  • Human Relations
  • Human Rights
  • Interfraternity Council
  • Iowa College Council
  • Iowa Student Agencies
  • Iowa Student Government Conference
  • Judicial
  • Legal Aid
  • Literary Area
  • Married Student Housing
  • National Student Association
  • National Student Association
  • Political Affairs
  • Project Course, "Refocus 1973" film and photography festival - 1973
  • Box 9:
  • ROTC
  • Rose Bowl
  • Spalding Report responses
  • Student Activities Board
  • Student Activities Board, 1968 Young Republican Election Dispute - 1968
  • Student and Faculty Committees
  • Student Responsibility Committee Report
  • Student Responsibility Project, NSA
  • Student Senate Newsletter
  • University Programming Service

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life