Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Campaign for Academic Freedom Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1992-1995
Creator: Campaign for Academic Freedom (1858-1927)
Extent: 1.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0006.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The collection was processed by Matthew Friedman and David McCartney in 2002. Guide posted to the Internet 2002; revised December 2006.

Preferred Citation: [Name of collection], The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

"The Campaign for Academic Freedom was formed on October 11, 1993 on the eve of a Board of Regents hearing to enact the Sexually Explicit Materials Policy. The C.A.F. argued that the policy would curtail both academic freedom and free expression, but also create a hostile and discriminatory environment for gay and lesbian faculty, staff, and students.

The hearing and the newly enacted policy came in response to a controversy dating back to September, 1991. At that time a German language professor had screened a film, Taxi Zum Klo. Some students who had attended the screening became outraged at a particularly controversial, sexually explicit scene. The offended students felt that they should have been informed of such content in advance of the screening.

Once the Iowa State Board of Regents came to agree with those students and to enforce the new policy, the C.A.F. began a vigorous campaign of rallies and protests to counter the measure. The organization disbanded by June, 1995.

The papers of the Campaign for Academic Freedom are comprised of news clippings, texts of speeches/rallies, petitions, correspondence, and an extensive array of documents relating to all aspects of the Board of Regents, University of Iowa governance, and the Sexually Explicit Materials Policy.The organization maintained records of almost every aspect of its work, including posters and logos disseminated throughout the campus. In addition to the printed documents, the collection contains a computer disk. For an additional note on that electronic record, please see the corresponding folder (Box 3).
Records of the GLBTAU (RG02.0003.018), University Archives

Other related materials at the University Archives include Code of Student Life booklets (RG24.0003.001) and student protest folders filed under Miscellaneous in the Subject Vertical Files (RG01.0015.005).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: November-November - 1991-1992
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: February-September - 1993
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: October - 1993
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: November - 1993
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: December-January - 1993-1994
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: February - 1994
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: March-April - 1994
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: May-September - 1994
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: October-November - 1994
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: December-April - 1994-1995
  • News Clippings and Press Releases: May-June - 1995
  • Newspaper Index - 1992
  • Petitions: "Petition 1," undated
  • Petitions: "Petition 2," undated
  • Petitions: "Petition 3," undated
  • Petitions - 1994
  • Petitions, undated
  • Petitions: "Inqueery Conference," undated
  • Petitions: Alumni Statements - 1994-1995
  • Petition-related Materials, undated
  • Box 2:
  • Correspondence and email - 1991-1993
    Correspondents include: Berenstein, Marvin S.; Collins, Thomas M.; Dorr, Thomas C.; Lara, Michael; O’Neil, Robert M.; Painter, Kim; Rawlings III, Hunter R.; White, J. Patrick
  • Correspondence and email - 1993-1994
    Correspondents include: Aiken, Judith P.; Chomsky, Noam; Dorfman, Donald D.; Fallow, Jean S.; Farley, Cryss; Gillespie, Marcia Ann; Grady, David L.; Knoll, Erwin; O’Neil, Robert M.; Painter, Kim; Smetak, Jacqueline R.; Wilson, John K.
  • Correspondence and email - 1994
    Correspondents include: Carroll, Joyce Armstrong; Donovan, Brian R.; Fallow, Jean S. (with Susan Wolfe); Hoffenberg, Peter; Jones, Phillip E.; Meyer, Nicholas; Rawlings III, Hunter R.; Reyes, Israel; Rhodes, Ann M.; Smetak, Jacqueline R.; Trifaro, Grace; Wilson, John K.
  • Correspondence and email - 1994-1995
    Correspondents include: Carroll, Joyce Armstrong; Eckstein, Barbara; Fallow, Jean S. (solo and with Tom Lewis, Patrick Miller, Israel Reyes); Frick, Robert J.; Jones, Phillip E.; Lewis, Thomas E.; Reyes, Israel (with Tom Lewis); Verbicky, Annie
  • Speeches and Statements - 1991
  • Speeches and Statements - 1992
  • Speeches and Statements - 1993
  • Speeches and Statements - 1994
  • Speeches and Statements - 1995
  • Speeches-Reactions - 1994
  • Posters and Logos, undated
    2 folders
  • Classroom Manuals - 1993
  • Classroom Manuals - 1994
  • Classroom Manuals-Handbook for Teaching Assistants, undated
  • Essays, undated
    2 folders
  • Journals and Newsletters - 1992-1994
  • Journals and Newsletters, undated
  • Memoranda - 1993
  • Memoranda - 1994-1995
  • Personal Notes/Informal Memoranda, undated
  • Agendas/Faculty Senate - 1993
  • Faculty Senate Memberships, undated
  • Schedules-Board of Regents - 1994
  • Esexually Explicit Materials Policy - 1993-1994
  • Police Reports - 1994
  • Proposals/Resolutions - 1993-1994
  • Plays-Special Presentations - 1994
  • Publicity, undated
  • Notices - 1993-1994
  • Timelines of Organizational History - 1995
  • Research Materials, undated
  • Photographs, undated
  • Box 3:
  • Electronic Records/Directory - 1994-1995
  • Cartoons/Newsletter Materials, undated
  • Fliers and Brochures, undated
    2 folders

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life