Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Student-Produced Publications and Newsletters Collection

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1900-
Creator: Student produced Publications and Newsletters
Extent: 13.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0005.001
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials have been transferred to the University of Iowa Libraries at various times and continue to accrue.

Preferred Citation: Student Produced Publications and Newsletters Collection, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Student-produced Publications and Newsletters Collection consists of over 50 titles, reflecting a wide variety of campus interests: political activities, social organizations, residence halls, and humor. The earliest known titles date to the early twentieth century most were produced between 1940 and 2000.
Yearbooks and newspapers comprise separate collections as, respectively, RG02.0010.001 and RG02.0011.001.

University Serials and Journals Collection (RG01.0009.002)

Publications and newsletters pertaining to departments and colleges may be found in those collections. For example, English Department publications comprise RG06.0012.004.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: PUBLICATIONS

  • Series 1: PUBLICATIONS
  • Content Magazine
  • The Black Sheep
    .25 ft.
  • The Crest of Hillcrest
    .25 ft.
  • Currier Hall Dormstory
    .25 ft.
  • December
    .25 ft.
  • Earthwords, in University Serials and Journals Collection
    .75 ft.
  • Fisz
    .25 ft.
  • Free Environment
    .25 ft.
  • Free Voices
    .25 ft.
  • Frivol
    2.0 ft.
  • Gay Hawkeye (title varies)
    .25 ft.
  • Greek Hawkeye
    .25 ft.
  • Harbinger
    .25 ft.
  • Hallways
    .25 ft.
  • Haw-Haw-Hawkeyes
    .25 ft.
  • Hawk Wings / Iowa Literary Magazine (title change)
    1.0 ft.
  • Hawkeye Review
    .25 ft. See also: Campus Review, in University Serials and Journals Collection (RG 01.09.02)
  • Human Condition
    .25 ft.
  • Iowa City Catalyst
    .25 ft.
  • Iowa Greek Express
    .25 ft.
  • Iowa Liberal
    .25 ft.
  • Iowa Rag
    .25 ft.
  • Iowa State Liquor Store
    .25 ft.
  • It's About Time
    .25 ft.
  • Kinnikinnick
    .25 ft.
  • Light-Eater Residence Halls Newsletter
    1.0 ft.
  • Little Village
    .25 ft.
  • Magazine X - 1952-1954
    .25 ft.
  • Mercury - 1991
    .25 ft.
  • Muslim Voice
    .25 ft.
  • Nahuatzen
    .25 ft.
  • Observer
    .25 ft.
  • Off Deadline - 2008
  • Oracle
    .25 ft.
  • Pamoja (alternate titles: Challenger, New Challenger)
  • People's Alliance
    .25 ft.
  • Phi Gamma Delta magazine
    .25 ft.
  • Quadrangle publications
    .25 ft.
  • Short-lived Student Newspapers and 'Zines', varied titles
    .25 ft.
  • STUDent
    .5 ft.
  • Student Shopping Facts
    .25 ft.
  • Valencia Balloon: World's Lightest Literature
    .25 ft.
  • Women's Resource & Action Center Newsletter
    .75 ft.

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life