Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the River City Housing Collective Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1977-2007
Creator: River City Housing Collective
Extent: 5.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0003.042
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Box 10

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The Records of the River City Housing Collective were transferred to the University Archives in May 2008 as Accession 2008-21.

Preferred Citation: River City housing Collective Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The River City Housing Collective was established in 1977 as a means to provide low-cost cooperative living arrangements for University of Iowa students. Although founded as an independent, non-profit organization, the Collective at its onset was closely associated with the University, receiving the support of the UI Student Senate and renting two University-owned houses.
 
The Collective by the late 1980's grew to five houses, three of which were purchased by the organization. As of 2010, there are three houses comprising the Collective. Members are responsible for house cleaning, yard work, cooking, washing, bookkeeping, and grocery shopping, as well as much of the buildings' maintenance and repairs. In most arrangements members work 16 hours per month and attend house meetings.
 
An overall administration includes representatives from each house, as well as separate administrations for individual houses. These groups are responsible for guidelines and rules of the co-op. One of the houses documented in this collection, Bloom County House (935 East College Street), is named for the nationally-syndicated comic strip of the same name, which appeared in newspapers from 1980 until 1989. Its cartoonist, Berke Breathed, lived there during the early 1980s. The Collective purchased the building in 2003.
 
The Collective has continued a long tradition of organized and ad-hoc cooperative housing in Iowa City. Additional resources documenting earlier co-op activity at the University of Iowa are noted under Related Materials.

The Records of the River City Housing Collective consist of five series: Administrative, Houses, Issues, Cooperatives (other), and History. Included are Board of Directors minutes and meeting agendas, financial records such as rent payment histories and expense reports, and newsletters.
Berger, Elizabeth A. "The Student Cooperative Dormitory and Democratic Group Life as Illustrated by Russell House." Master's thesis, State University of Iowa, 1939. T1939.B49.

Charlotte Enger Jones Papers (RG02.0009.014)

Jones, Charlotte Enger. Memories of Co-op Dorm Living: 1931 -- 1955. University of Iowa Historical Papers Collection (RG01.0001.003)

Everett E. Sterner Papers, 1931-1943 (RG02.0009.009)

Subject Vertical Files Collection, Miscellaneous category, "Coop housing" folder (RG01.0015.005)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATION
Series 2: HOUSES
Series 3: ISSUES
Series 4: COOPERATIVES - OTHER
Series 5: HISTORY

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATION
  • Box 1:
  • Board member profiles, undated
  • Board of directors: Index to Minutes - 1978-1983
  • Board of directors - 1977-1990
    8 folders
  • Box 2:
  • Board of directors - 1991-2004
    6 folders
  • Budget and balance sheets - 1991-2000
  • Box 3:
  • Budget reports - 2002-2004
  • Budget versus actual - 2000-2002
  • By-laws and history - 1979-2002
  • Correspondence - 1981-2001
  • Credit union: General account - 1987-2005
    3 folders
  • Box 4:
  • Credit union: Maintenance - 1999-2004
  • Delinquency files - 1986-2003
  • Expenses: General - 1997-1998
    2 folders
  • Income - 1996-1997
  • Income-expenses - 1996-1997
  • Box 5:
  • Income-expenses - 1996-1997
  • Income - 1998
  • Income - 1999
  • Income-expenses - 1998-1999
  • Income - 2000
  • Income-expenses - 2000
  • Income - 2001
  • Box 6:
  • Income-expenses - 2001
  • Income - 2002
  • Income-expenses - 2002
  • Income - 2003
  • Income-expenses - 2003
  • Income - 2004
  • Income surveys - 1982-1998
  • Maintenance checks - 1996-1999
  • Box 7:
  • Perpetual Savings Bank - 1995-1997
  • Promissory notes - 1996-2000
  • Savings - 1996-2004
  • Savings: Certificate of deposit - 1998-2004
  • Maintenance Committee - 1994-2002
  • Membership - 2002
  • National Consumer Cooperative Bank - 1981-1991
  • Organization - 1990-1993
  • Rental process - 2001-2003
  • Secretary's notebook, undated
  • Vice-President's notebook - 2004-2005
  • Series 2: HOUSES
  • Box 7:
  • Anomy meetings - 1988-1990
  • Box 8:
  • Anomy meetings - 1993-2007
    6 folders
  • Bellatrix - 1991-1992
  • Bloom County house - 1992
  • Box 9:
  • Bloom County house. #1-#3 - 2003-2006
  • Bloom County house. #4-#7 - 2005
  • Bloom County house. #8 - 2006
  • Bloom County house. #9-#10 - 2003-2006
  • Haddock house - 1996-2003
  • Lametry Hall - 2002
  • River House - 1996-2002
  • Summit house - 1995-1996
  • Virago - 1995-1996
  • Woodchuck - 1991
  • 614 Iowa Avenue - 1993
  • Box 10:
  • Photographs, undated
  • Conflict, undated
  • Series 3: ISSUES
  • Box 10:
  • Discrimination, undated
  • Facilitation - 2002
  • Feminist process - 1989
  • Harassment - 1989-1991
  • Human rights, undated
  • Referral, undated
  • Series 4: COOPERATIVES - OTHER
  • Box 10:
  • North American Student Cooperative Organization (NASCO) - 2003
  • NASCO Institute - 2004
  • Series 5: HISTORY
  • Box 11:
  • Cooperatives - 1992
  • Cooperatives - 1981-1997
  • Early records and information, including newsletters - 1975-1982
    2 folders
  • News Archive, including newsletters - 1988-1999

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life