Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Scottish Highlanders Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1937-1988
Creator: Scottish Highlanders
Extent: 43.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0003.029
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs: Boxes 27-32; Oversize boxes 1-3; Map Case drawer 11

Access: This collection is open for research. Audiovisual materials in this collection may be viewed onsite but may not be reproduced.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Records of the University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders marching band have been transferred to the University Archives from various donors since about 1965. Guide posted to the Internet March 2008 and revised in July-August 2010.

Preferred Citation: Scottish Highlanders Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Records of the Scottish Highlanders include correspondence, committee minutes, trip and performance event notes, newsletters, programs, reunion information, photographs and other materials.
Iowa City Town and Campus Scenes Digital Collection

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: OVERSIZED MATERIALS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Governing Committee Notes and Minutes - 1962-1964
  • Correspondence - 1968-1970, 1962-1963, 1963-1964, 1964-1965
  • Performance Chart and Schedule - 1971-1974
  • Notices - 1954-1955, 1966-1974
  • Notes
  • Northwestern-Iowa, out-of-state, November 12 - 1967
  • Wisconsin-Iowa, away game, October 2 - 1965
  • Purdue-Iowa, away game, October 26 - 1968
  • Homecoming Game and Parade, October 12 - 1968
  • Iowa-Notre Dame, October 5 - 1968
  • Alma Highland Games - Michigan - 1969
  • Kansas City St. Andrew Society Highland Games - 1969
  • San Antonio, TX, Scottish Society Highland Games - 1958
  • Alma Highland Games - Michigan - 1972
  • St. Paul Highland Games - Macalester College - 1970
  • Scottish World Festival - Toronto, August 17-20 - 1972
  • Illinois St. Andrew Society - Chicago, December 7 - 1968
  • Highlander identification numbers used for registration - 1972
  • News releases, Scotland/Washington, D.C. trip
  • Box 2:
  • Bag containing 25th Anniversary Reunion announcements - 1962
  • Notes
  • St. Andrew Society Highland Games - Kansas City, May 18 - 1968
  • Banquets
  • Highlander Banquet Notes - 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966
  • Highlander Banquet Notes - 1967, 1968, 1969
    Including "A Night in the Highlands," March 8, 1969
  • Initiation Banquets Notes - 1970-1973
  • Correspondence - 1967, 1968
  • Governing Board Notes - 1966-1967, 1967-1968, 1968-1969, 1969-1970, 1970-1971, 1971-1972
  • Governing Committee Notes - 1957-1966
  • Rotary Club Trip Notes and Arrangement - Denver, June 12-15 - 1966
    Gifts from various Iowa Clubs to help finance the trip
  • Notices - 1963-1971
  • Box 3:
  • Notes
  • Highland Arts Seminar and Tartan Ball, April 14-16 - 1977
    Correspondence, information, evaluations
  • Miscellaneous
  • "In Concert" Program, April 10 - 1981
  • Membership List - 1978-1979
  • Letter to Highlander Alumni - 1981
  • Correspondence/information: Second Seminar - 1978
  • Highland Arts Seminar - 1979
  • Highland Arts publicity - 1979
  • Miscellaneous
  • Map of Scotland
  • Edinburgh information and map
  • Programs: Ohio State vs. Iowa
    With article on Highlanders: pages 8-9
  • Souvenir Programs - 1956, 1960, 1979
  • Rose Bowl Program - 1959
  • Black Watch Booklet - 1976
  • Publications
  • Highlander Manual - 1957
    Written by William L. Adamson, Director
  • Alumni Review magazine: "Breaking into the Ranks" - 1975
    Pages 18-21 (First male Highlander since World War II)
  • Notes: Practice times, members' notices, rehearsal notices, attendance records, proficiency scores - 1955-1956, 1961-1962, 1962-1963
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1969-1974
  • Box 4:
  • AWS U-Sing - 1970
  • Veishea Parade - 1970
  • Wisconsin game - 1970
  • Illinois game - 1970
  • Thanksgiving Parade, Detroit - 1970
  • Pending performances - 1969-1970
  • Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade - 1969
    Requests for funding trip, responses from requests (businesses, corporations, prominent individuals, "friends" of Highlanders) - 4 folders
  • Dunedin, FL - Scottish Festival - 1970
  • Concert: Iowa Scottish Highlanders and Michigan Men's Glee Club - 1971
  • Performance at Kirkwood Community College - 1971
  • Wilson Family Reunion, Traer, IA - 1971
  • Davenport West and Assumption High School Performances and correspondence - 1971
  • Iowa Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs Inc. 50th Anniversary, Des Moines, IA - 1971
  • VEISHEA Day Parade, Ames, IA - 1971
  • Iowa vs. Penn State Game/Halftime, September 25 - 1971
  • Homecoming: Coffee Attendees, Parade, Halftime, October 9 - 1971
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin Game/Halftime, October 30 - 1971
  • Iowa at Michigan State, Lansing, MI, October - 1971
  • Iowa vs. Indiana Halftime, November 13 - 1971
  • Iowa at Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, November 5-7 - 1971
  • Marshalltown - 1971
  • Doctors Conference, Iowa Memorial Union - 1971
  • Minnesota game - 1971
  • Erie, IL Community Schools performance, April 14 - 1972
  • Iowa vs. Oregon State, September 23 - 1972
  • Green Bay Packers Halftime, Appleton, WI, September 24 - 1972
  • Oktoberfest, Amana, September 30 - 1972
  • Iowa vs. Purdue, October 7 - 1972
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota Pregame/Halftime, October 21 - 1972
  • Homecoming Parade, October 27 - 1972
  • Iowa vs. Michigan State pregame/homecoming, October 28 - 1972
  • Holiday Inn and Iowa at Wisconsin pregame, Madison, WI, November 2-4 - 1972
  • Iowa vs. Michigan/Dad's Day, November 11 - 1972
  • WSUI Broadcast, December 12-14 - 1972
  • Highlander Talent Show, December 12 - 1972
  • Mother's Day, May 6 - 1972
  • Kahl Home for Aged and Infirm, Davenport, IA, February 18 - 1973
  • An Afternoon in the Highlands, Clapp Recital Hall, April 28 - 1973
  • VEISHEA Parade, Ames, IA, May 5 - 1973
  • Hey Days of May, Macomb, IL, Western Illinois University, Festival of Music, May 19 - 1973
  • Alma Highland Festival, Alma, MI, May 26-27 - 1973
  • Performance Faculty Club, Iowa Memorial Union, October 26 - 1973
  • Iowa vs. Michigan Halftime, September 15 - 1973
  • Tryouts, September 16 - 1973
  • Iowa vs. Arizona Halftime, October 6 - 1973
  • Iowa at Northwestern, Evanston, October 12-14 - 1973
  • Homecoming Parade, October 19 - 1973
  • Iowa vs. Purdue/Dad's Day, November 3 - 1973
  • Kirkwood College, January 25 - 1974
  • Iowa City Mason's Performance, March 30 - 1974
  • Spring Concert/Parent's Weekend, Clapp Recital Hall, April 27 - 1974
  • VEISHEA Parade, Ames, IA, May 4 - 1974
  • Alma Highland Festival, Alma, MI, May 25-26 - 1974
  • West Branch Hoover Centennial Performance, August 6 - 1974
  • Van Buren Company Sheep Empire Association Parade, Keosauqua, IA, September 14 - 1974
  • Personnel Lists - 1973-1974
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1965-1974
  • Box 5:
  • Performances during Bill's Illness, Fall - 1965
  • Iowa vs. Purdue - Homecoming, October 9 - 1965
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota, October 16 - 1965
  • Dad's Day Tribute to Bill/Iowa vs. Michigan State, November 6 - 1965
  • Iowa vs North Carolina State, November 20 - 1965
  • Governor's Day Review, May 5 - 1966
  • Illinois Women's Club Program, Freeport, IL, May 7 - 1966
  • Rotary International Convention, Denver trip, June 12-16 - 1966
  • Cedar Rapids British Festival, Lyndale Plaza, October 3 - 1966
  • Fort Dodge Community College Homecoming Halftime, October 7 - 1966
  • Cedar Rapids Airport - Robert Kennedy Performance, October 9 - 1966
  • Iowa at Minnesota and Iowa Corn Picking Festival, October 14-16 - 1966
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern Pregame - Homecoming, October 22 - 1966
  • Dad's Day - Ohio State game, November 12 - 1966
  • Brigadoon, Southern Illinois University - 1966
  • Kiwanis Club Performance, Burlington, IA, April 13 - 1967
  • Drake Relays Parade, Des Moines, IA, April 29 - 1967
  • S.W. Band Association, Clarinda, IA, October 7-8 - 1967
  • Iowa vs. Oregon State, September 30 - 1967
  • Iowa vs. Purdue - Homecoming, Highlander Coffee, October 28 - 1967
  • Homecoming Committee, October 28 - 1967
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota, November 4 - 1967
  • Richards- Gebaur Air Force Base, Missouri, September 13-14 - 1969
  • Iowa vs. Washington State, September 27 - 1969
  • Iowa vs Arizona, October 4 - 1969
  • Homecoming Coffee, October, 25 - 1969
    Correspondence only
  • Iowa vs. Michigan State - Homecoming, October 25 - 1969
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, Bloomington, IN, November 8 - 1969
  • Iowa vs. Michigan/Dad's Day, November 15 - 1969
    Includes formation diagrams
  • Student Activities - 1969-1970
    Including September 14 and September 19, 1969, Carnival
  • News items for faculty bulletin - 1969
  • Hippee Oil Company financial assistance - 1969
  • "A Night in the Highlands," April 10 - 1970
    Guest list, stencil designs
  • Iowa vs. Southern California, September 26 - 1970
  • Iowa vs. Purdue - Homecoming, October 17 - 1970
  • "Scottish Tea and Tunes" Night in the Highlands, May 2 - 1971
    2 folders
  • Summer inventory and cleaning inventory - 1971
  • Prospective members - 1970-1971
  • Activities Carnival, Iowa Memorial Union, September 13 - 1974
  • Iowa vs. UCLA, September 21 - 1974
  • Iowa vs. Penn State, September 28 - 1974
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern - Homecoming, October 12 - 1974
  • Iowa vs. Illinois/Dad's Day, October 26 - 1974
  • Iowa at Purdue, West Lafayette, IN, November 2 - 1974
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, November 9 - 1974
  • Brigadoon UNI Cedar Falls, November 12-16 - 1974
    Correspondence: Cancelled
  • Iowa vs. Ohio State, November 16 - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence and Notes
  • Box 5:
  • Highlander Scholarship Contributions and Awards- Act# T-437 - 1953-1961
  • Highlander Inventory, Insurance - 1950-1969
  • Box 6:
  • Invitations to perform including Drake Relays; VEISHEA; DeSoto Celebration, Florida; Victor, IA - 1960-1979
  • Highlander Repertoire - 1961-1962
  • Rules of Conduct, Wisconsin Trip, December 1-3 - 1965
  • Official Program - Colorado State Fair - 1953
  • 25th Highlander Reunion - 1962
    Attendee notes, forms with shared memories. 4 folders
  • Shrine Temple - newsletter - 1969
  • Applications/correspondence regarding hiring of director of Scottish Highlanders - 1968-1973
  • Publicity - 1939-1972
  • Kansas City, Missouri, Highland Games, May 31 - 1968
  • Promotional brochures, including Schaeffer Pen Company - 1956
  • Tri-City Youth Orchestra, March 29 - 1969
  • Indiana game – Homecoming, October 12 - 1968
  • Northwestern game, November 9 - 1968
  • Public relations - 1962-1968
  • Spring tour possibilities - 1968
  • Sub-Series: Bond drives
  • Box 7:
  • Bond drive - 1953
  • Clinton, IA - 1953
  • Davenport, IA - 1953
  • Muscatine, IA - 1953
  • Fairfield, IA - 1953
  • Ottumwa, IA - 1953
  • Burlington, IA - 1953
  • Fort Madison, IA - 1953
  • Sioux City, IA - 1953
  • Oskaloosa, IA - 1953
  • Des Moines, IA - 1953
  • Marshalltown, IA - 1953
  • Springfield, IL, March of Dimes - 1953
  • Des Moines Farm Bureau - 1953
  • Sub-Series: TV
  • Box 7:
  • WOI-TV, WOC-TV - 1953
  • Sub-Series: Correspondence
  • Box 7:
  • Woodstock, IL - Performance arrangements and correspondence - 1953
  • Initiation - 1950-1951
    9 folders
  • Scholarship and travel fund correspondence - 1961-1972
    18 folders
  • Director and instructor information
  • Craig Hazelbaker, Fred Whyte, Marc Jamison, John Stewart, Roger Smallman - 1968-1970
  • General correspondence - 1968-1970
  • Al McIvor - Director - 1966-1968
  • McComb, IL performance correspondence - 1969
  • Drake Relays correspondence - 1969
  • Southeast Iowa Band Association Program Correspondence - Cedar Rapids - 1969
  • Miss Iowa Pageant, June 21 - 1969
  • Heather Fraser
  • Kathy Barnett
  • Vicki Lucas
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1952-1958
  • Box 8:
  • Bond Drive - TV and Radio - 1952-1953
  • Colorado State Fair, Pueblo, CO, September 6-11 - 1953
  • 5th Annual Pancake Day, Centerville, IA, October 1 - 1953
  • Iowa vs. Washington State, October 3 - 1953
  • Iowa at Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, October 10 - 1953
  • Iowa vs. Wyoming, October 17 - 1953
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, Homecoming, October 24 - 1953
  • Quaker Oats Company Old Timers Party, October 28 - 1954
  • American Meat Institute Banquet, Palmer House, Chicago, IL, October 5 - 1953
  • High School Football game halftime performance, Maquoketa, IA, November 5 - 1953
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota, November 14 - 1953
  • Farm Bureau Cedar County Beet Producers, Bennett, IA, January 15 - 1954
  • Jones County Shrine Club Valentine Party, Oxford Junction, IA, February 15 - 1954
  • Highlander Initiation Party, April 12 - 1954
  • Dixon, IL, May 7 - 1954
  • Eastern Iowa Band Festival, Cedar Rapids, IA, May 15 - 1954
  • Military Review, May 20 - 1954
  • Iowa vs. Michigan State, September 25 - 1954
  • Iowa vs. Montana, October 2 - 1954
  • Moline After Dinner Club, October 11 - 1954
  • Iowa at Ohio State, Columbus, OH, October 16 - 1954
  • Omaha Centennial, Omaha, NE, October 24 - 1954
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, October 30 - 1954
  • Iowa vs. Purdue, Homecoming, November 6 - 1954
  • Wellman Turkey Day - Iowa Turkey Federation, November 10 - 1954
  • Iowa vs. Notre Dame, November 20 - 1954
  • Iowa Turkey Day Federation, Cedar Rapids, IA, January 19 - 1955
  • Iowa vs. Ohio basketball, February 12 - 1955
  • Maquoketa, IA, February 16 - 1955
  • Anamosa Performance, April 20 - 1955
  • Military Reviews/Governor's Day, May 10 - 1955
  • Iowa vs. Kansas State, September 24 - 1955
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, October 1 - 1955
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, October 8 - 1955
  • Iowa vs. Purdue, Homecoming, October 15 - 1955
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota, November 5 - 1955
  • Scots Guards Performance, November 8 - 1955
    Details: transportation, advertising
  • All Vets Day, Monona, IA, November 11 - 1955
  • Student International Festival, December 11 - 1955
  • Iowa Memorial Union Dedication - 1955
  • Ticket requests for Scots Guard performance - 1955
  • Kiwanis 25th Anniversary, Mount Pleasant, IA, February 20 - 1956
  • Creston, IA, March 23 - 1956
  • Annual Party of Equitable Life Insurance, Cedar Rapids, IA, March 24 - 1956
  • Sterling, IL, April 7 - 1956
  • Monmouth College, Illinois, April 13 - 1956
    Correspondence
  • Military Reviews, May 15 - 1956
  • National Plowing/Field Days, Newton, IA, September 21 - 1956
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, September 29 - 1956
  • Iowa vs. Oregon State, October 6 - 1956
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, October 13 - 1956
  • Belle Plaine, IA, October 15 - 1956
  • Iowa vs. Hawaii, October 20 - 1956
  • Victor, IA, March 12 - 1957
  • Highlander Banquet, February 18 - 1958
  • Box 9:
  • Personnel Lists - 1948-1957
    8 folders
  • Sub-Series: Rose Bowl Documents
  • Box 9:
  • Rose Bowl Public Relations - 1957, 1959
    3 folders
  • Rose Bowl Trip - Housing Arrangements - 1957
  • Rose Bowl Trip - Housing - 1959
  • Rose Bowl Trip - Publicity - 1957
  • Rose Bowl Trip - Itinerary brochures from Oldsmobile sponsor - 1959
  • Itinerary for Rose Bowl Trip, December 28-January 5 - 1956-1957
  • Itinerary for Rose Bowl Trip, December-January - 1958-1959
  • Rose Bowl Trip - equipment assignments - 1957
  • Rose Bowl Trip - equipment assignments - 1959
  • Rose Bowl Trip - transportation assignments - 1959
  • Rose Bowl Trip - finances - 1959
  • Rose Bowl Trip - performances - 1956-1957
  • Rose Bowl Trip - personnel - 1956-1957
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1952-1959
  • Box 9:
  • Military Reviews/ROTC Annual Fortnal Inspection - 1952-1953
  • Iowa vs. Michigan, November 3 - 1956
  • Iowa vs. Ohio, November 17 - 1956
  • Iowa vs. Notre Dame, November 24 - 1956
  • Military Reviews - 1957
  • 1st US Curling Championship, Chicago, March - 1957
  • Iowa vs. Utah State, September 28 - 1957
  • Iowa vs. Washington State, October 5 - 1957
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, Homecoming, October 19 - 1957
  • Iowa vs. Michigan, November 2 - 1957
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota, November 9 - 1957
  • Military Reviews/Governor's Day - 1958
  • Clarinda, IA Trip, March 7 - 1958
  • Muscatine, IA Trip, May 10 - 1958
  • Iowa vs. Texas Christian, September 27 - 1958
  • Highlanders/Iowa-US Air Force Academy, October 4 - 1958
  • Iowa vs. Indiana/Dad's Day, October 11 - 1958
  • USO show- offer to perform for troops - 1958-1959
  • Performance, Bondurant, IA, April 10 - 1959
  • Highlanders Questionnaire for Publicity
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1958-1964
  • Box 10:
  • Lincoln-Douglas Debate centennial, Quincy, IL, October 12 - 1958
  • Iowa at Wisconsin, Madison, WI, October 18 - 1958
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern, Homecoming, October 25 - 1958
  • Iowa vs. Ohio State, November 15 - 1958
  • Iowa vs. Notre Dame, November 22 - 1958
  • Mary Jane Chinn Variety Show, KRNT-TV, November 28 - 1958
  • Rose Bowl Performances on trip: Albuquerque, NM; Kansas City, Wichita, KS - 1958-1959
  • Rose Bowl negatives images, January 1 - 1959
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern basketball, January 24 - 1959
  • Gammer Gurton's Necolle Recording by Highlanders, March - 1959
  • Armstrong Parent's Band Performance, Armstrong, IA, April 3 - 1959
  • University Sing, May 3 - 1959
  • Military Reviews, May 21 - 1959
  • Concert Series-Omaha Symphony Orchestra, Omaha, NE, July 6-8 - 1959
  • 3rd Annual Western Iowa Band Festival, Carroll, IA, September 26 - 1959
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern, October 3 - 1959
  • Iowa vs. Michigan State, October 10 - 1959
  • Iowa at Purdue, West Lafayette, IN, October 24 - 1959
  • Iowa vs. Kansas State, October 31 - 1959
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota/Dad's Day, November 7 - 1959
  • Iowa vs. Notre Dame, November 21 - 1959
  • Military Reviews - 1960
  • Adult Education Travel - Adventure Series Program, Des Moines, IA, March 10 - 1960
  • Alumni Day Football game, May 14 - 1960
  • West Liberty Lion's Club, May 23 - 1960
  • Iowa vs. Oregon State, September 24 - 1960
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern, Evanston, IL, October 1 - 1960
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, October 15 - 1960
  • Iowa vs. Purdue, Homecoming, arrangements, October 22 - 1960
  • Iowa vs. Kansas, October 29 - 1960
  • Clayton County All Vet's Day, Elkader, IA, November 11 - 1960
  • Iowa vs. Ohio State/Dad's Day, November 12 - 1960
  • St. Andrew's Society, Chicago, November 26 - 1960
  • Oskaloosa Rotary Club-Rotary International District Conference, April 8 - 1961
  • Military Reviews/Governor's Day, April 12 - 1961
  • 1st Methodist Church, Burlington, IA, April 19 - 1961
  • Brigadoon Iowa State University, Ames, IA, April 29-30 and May 5-6 - 1961
  • "Canadian Friendship Week"-Maytag Company, Newton, IA, May 1 - 1961
  • National Archery Championships, Crystal Springs, AR, June 26-30 - 1961
  • Eureka Pumpkin Festival, Eureka, IL, September 23 - 1961
  • "British Fortnight" - Carson Pirie Scott and Company, Chicago, September 24-25 - 1961
  • Iowa vs. California, September 30 - 1961
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, October 14 - 1961
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, Homecoming, October 21 - 1961
  • Iowa at Ohio, away game, November 4 - 1961
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota/Dad's Day, November 11 - 1961
  • Iowa vs. Notre Dame, November 25 - 1961
  • Maytag Company Trip-used Highlander theme, February 27 - 1962
  • Governor's Day, May 17 - 1962
  • Iowa vs. Oregon State, September 29 - 1962
  • Iowa vs. Southern California, October 6 - 1962
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, Madison, WI, October 20 - 1962
  • Highlander Banquet, October 27 - 1962
  • Highlander 25th Anniversary Celebration, October 27 - 1962
  • Iowa vs. Purdue, Homecoming, October 27 - 1962
  • Iowa vs. Ohio State, November 3 - 1962
  • Iowa vs. Michigan/Dad's Day, November 17 - 1962
  • Request for Pipe Instructor, Ysleta, TX - 1962
  • All American City Parade, Quincy, IL, April 20 - 1963
  • Iowa City Masons, April 25 - 1963
  • Junior Chamber of Commerce Parade, Davenport, IA, April 27 - 1963
  • Governor's Day, May 21 - 1963
  • Iowa vs. Washington State, September 28 - 1963
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, Homecoming, October 12 - 1963
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, October 19 - 1963
  • Iowa at Purdue, October 25 - 1963
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota, November 9 - 1963
  • Iowa vs. Notre Dame, November 23 - 1963
  • Governor's Day, May 12 - 1964
  • Sub-Series: Notes
  • Box 10:
  • Tryout Procedures - 1965
  • Rose Bowl Personnel - 1958-1959
  • Box 11:
  • Newspaper articles mounted on cardboard, including first male member to join since 1943 - 1973
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1964-1965
  • Box 11:
  • Iowa vs. Idaho University, September 26 - 1964
  • Iowa vs. Washington University, October 3 - 1964
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, October 10 - 1964
  • Iowa vs. Purdue, October 24 - 1964
  • Iowa vs. Ohio State, October 31 - 1964
  • Iowa vs. Michigan/Dad's Day, November 14 - 1964
  • Iowa vs. Michigan State basketball, January 16 - 1965
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Emmetsburg, IA, March 13 - 1965
  • Spring Festival, April 22 - 1965
  • Governor's Day, May 11 - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Music
  • Box 11:
  • "Entrance" - John Stewart - 1966-1981
  • Sub-Series: Scrapbooks
  • Box 11:
  • Scrapbook (1) - 1960-1964
    Numerous newspaper articles and photos, football games, Maytag performance in Newton, 25th Anniversary Celebration
  • Scrapbook (2): European Tour, June 15-August 9 - 1960
    Newspaper articles and photos
  • Scrapbook (3): European Tour- Barb Brewer DM - 1967-1968
    Iowa Alumni Review Magazine: "The Highlanders TV Fling" on Johnny Carson's Tonight Show (1968); photos of practice (1974)
  • Box 12:
  • Scrapbook (4) 1969-1973
  • Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade - 1969
  • Gebaur Air Force Base Show, September 14 - 1969
  • Scottish Games and Festival, Dunedin, FL, April 16-18 - 1970
  • VEISHEA, Iowa State University, Ames, IA - 1971
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, August 30 - 1971
  • Wilson Family Reunion, Traer, IA, September - 1971
  • Washington school performance, Fairfield, IA, February - 1972
  • 1972 European Tour, May 28-July 10 - 1972
    Itinerary, newspaper articles and photos
  • Highland Festival and Games, Alma, Michigan, May 26-27 - 1973
  • Scrapbook (5) 1966-1969
  • Al McIvor named Director - 1966
  • Senator Robert F. Kennedy signs drum, August 11 - 1966
  • Dad's Day, November 12 - 1966
  • Initiation Banquet, March 5 - 1967
  • Midlands Magazine-Omaha World Herald, March 24 - 1968
    Cover and article with photos
  • Initiation Banquet - 1968
  • Kansas City Highland games, May 8 - 1968
  • European Tour, June 29-August 21 - 1968
    Itinerary, articles and photos
  • Scrapbook (6) 1964-1966
  • European Tour, June 11-August 6 - 1964
    Newspaper articles and photos, preparation for trip, World's Fair, Washington D.C.
  • Rotarian Magazine, August - 1966
    Picture page 26
  • Sub-Series: 50th Reunion
  • Box 13:
  • 50th Reunion Questionnaires from Alumni - 1986
  • 50th Reunion - 1986
  • Sub-Series: Music
  • Box 13:
  • "The Green Hills of Tyrol"
  • "Dorrator Bridge"
  • "Minnesota Rouser"
  • "Notre Dame"
  • "Scotland the Brave"
  • "Iowa Corn Song"
  • "Minstrel Boy"
  • "Over the Sea to Skye"
  • "Will Ye No Come Back Again?"
  • "Nellie Gray"
    Pipes
  • "Sailor's Hornpipe"
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1963, 1970
  • Box 13:
  • Iowa Band Festival, Cedar Rapids, IA, May 18 - 1963
  • Iowa vs. Southern California - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Informational
  • Box 13:
  • Sword Dance Instructions
  • Advice to New Pipers - 1973
  • Absences Information, including absence permission request cards - 1969
    3 folders
  • Proficiency Test instructions and forms
  • Forms-"Highlander Personnel card": for foreign trip use
  • Equipment Forms
    3 folders
  • Highlander Personnel - Members lists - 1963-1974
  • Forms: tryouts for Drum Major
    2 folders
  • Applicants for Assistant Drum Major - 1969
  • Instructions: Packing for Foreign Trips - 1972
  • Performance Control Charts - 1953-1954, 1954-1955, 1955-1956, 1956-1957, 1957-1958, 1958-1959, 1959-1960, 1960-1961, 1961-1962, 1962-1963, 1963-1964
  • Burrelle's Press Service information
  • Highlander- Meacham Travel Service Scholarship Forms
  • Uniform measurement guide and assignment sheets
  • Helpful Hints for Highlander Travel (Scottish expressions)
  • Sub-Series: European Tour
  • Box 14:
  • Equipment- Foreign Tour, includes customs document - 1952
  • Trip details and vouchers: Hotels
  • Trip details and vouchers: Travel
  • Trip details and vouchers: Correspondence from England, Scotland, France and Scottish Tour Board
  • Trip details and vouchers: Letters and payment from members' parents
  • Trip details and vouchers: Questionnaires returned from parents
  • Trip details and vouchers: Correspondence from members
    Many requests from previous members to go with group in 1950; 2 folders
  • Trip ultimately cancelled
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Travel
  • Box 14:
  • News releases from Tour - 1952
    Packet
  • European Tour (Price) - foreign trip expenses, May 28-July 10 - 1972
  • Tentative Programs, Foreign Trips - 1952, 1956, 1960, 1964, 1968
  • Foreign Trip Finances, including travel and lodging - 1972
    3 folders
  • Foreign Trip - Washington, DC and New York - 1972
  • University Policies - 1968
  • Foreign Trip (PR), documents of gratitude to give while traveling, packing suggestions - 1972
    3 folders
  • Flight Arrangements - 1972
  • Roommate Assignments, Personnel - 1972
  • Questionnaire from Parents - 1972
  • Return correspondence from members planning to return to U of I; uniform orders, information - 1971-1972
    4 folders
  • Letters to parents - 1972
  • Nadine's trip ideas - 1972
  • Dunedin, FL, Scottish Games and Festival program and several newspapers - in packet - 1972
  • Box 15:
  • Journal: Payments, members, Foreign trip - 1964
  • Black binder includes list of members, equipment information - 1937
  • Other Pipe bands correspondence - 1948-1949
  • Student Manager Instructions - 1964
  • General Orders R.O.T.C. - 1938-1940
  • Correspondence: Adamson Scot House - 1959
  • Correspondence: Aberdeen, Scotland - 1952-1953
  • Correspondence: George Francois - 1949
  • Correspondence: Glasgow, Scotland - 1952-1953
  • Correspondence: Between parents and group re European Tour - 1952
  • Correspondence: Arlo Wilson - 1949-1950
  • Correspondence: American Express Company - 1948-1949
  • Correspondence: Travel Services - 1949
  • Correspondence: Transportation-Ship - 1952
  • Highlander personnel - 1950
  • Transportation - ships, trains, planes - trains, France; trains, England - 1952
    8 folders
  • Carlton Travel Services - 1949
  • Housing-foreign trip; Edinburgh - 1950-1952
    4 folders
  • Data on Bill Adamson: death, tributes - 1965
  • Itineraries of Foreign Tours - 1952, 1956, 1960, 1964, 1968, 1972
  • Committee on Student Trips - 1946
  • Scottish Tourist Board - 1952
  • Diary - 1952
  • Performances - 1952
  • Box 16:
  • List of Drum Majors, Scholarships, Directors, Drum Dancers - 1937-1982
  • Blank publicity forms - 1965
  • Previous programs and brochures
  • Things for scrapbook - clippings, magazine articles
  • Old personnel records, attendance
  • Miscellaneous information, including magazine coverage, clippings
  • Foreign Trip info, including student health, passport forms, questionnaire forms, youth hostels, "contract" from parents - 1972
    3 folders
  • Foreign trip possibilities - 1971
  • Returned Highlanders forms - 1970
  • Correspondence - 1955-1956
  • Nadine's Diary, written for Highlanders - 1964
  • Invoices - 1955-1956
  • Foreign Trip: information, equipment, packing case information - 1964
    2 folders
  • Information on photo orders - 1976
  • Box 17:
  • Printed photographs of members - 1964
    Three folded sheets
  • World's Fair correspondence, information - 1964
  • Financial Information: Foreign Trip - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Housing Information - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Itinerary - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Immunization Information - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Travel Arrangements- Meacham Travel - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Public Relations Information - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: News Releases for hometowns - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Queen Elizabeth Cunard Line - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Travel information articles - 1964
  • Foreign Tour: Travel arrangements, baggage, railroad - 1964
  • Correspondence: Ed Sullivan Show - 1964
  • Correspondence: World's Fair - 1964
  • Literature, newspaper articles - 1964
  • Tours of European cities - 1964
  • Equipment Report: needs for work - 1964
  • Equipment Report: Practice Areas - 1964
  • Box 18:
  • Foreign Trip: Itinerary - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Insurance Correspondence - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Letters to Parents - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Members returning by plane - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Notices - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Orientation lectures - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Washington, DC- housing, etc. - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Amsterdam- housing, etc. - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: New York- Paramount Hotel - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: France- housing - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Germany- housing - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Equipment, packing case information - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Payment records - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Scotland- housing - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: England- housing - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Cunard Line Correspondence - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Performances, Scotland - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Performances, England - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Performances, New York - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Performances, Washington D.C. - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: List of Personnel - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Letters from Bill Adamson - 1956
  • Box 19:
  • Foreign Trip: Washington DC-public relations - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: England-correspondence - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Passport information - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Parent Questionnaires - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Side Trips-arrangements - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Roommate assignments - 1956
  • Foreign Trip: Darlene Jung- cancellation, etc. - 1956
  • State Tour Information, Itinerary, June 5-9 - 1956
  • State Tour Information, Personnel, June 5-9 - 1956
  • State Tour Information, June 9-12 - 1952
  • Foreign Tour: Trains-domestic - 1956
  • Foreign Tour: Side Trips-transportation - 1956
  • Foreign Tour: French trains - 1956
  • Foreign Tour: British railroad - 1956
  • Foreign Tour: Travel permits from parents - 1956
  • Sub-Series: Foreign Tour 1960
  • Box 19:
  • Trains-US - 1960
  • Steamship correspondence - 1960
  • Switzerland - 1960
  • Dating/Rules of Conduct - 1960
  • Questionnaires from Parents - 1960
  • Time Tables-train, air, ship - 1960
  • Bus Travel - 1960
  • Train Travel - 1960
  • Side Trips-notices, correspondence - 1960
  • French Railroads-time tables, fares - 1960
  • Trains- France, Germany, Switzerland - 1960
  • Correspondence- Parents, Members, etc. - 1960
  • Personnel - 1960
  • Washington, D.C., performance - 1964
  • Box 20:
  • Performances, Aberdeen (Iowa Fraternity) - 1960
  • Performances, Scotland - 1960
  • Performances, England - 1960
  • Performances, Washington, D.C. - 1960
  • Italy-literature - 1960
  • Hometown publicity release-news - 1960
  • Letters to Parents - 1960
  • Notices, Personnel List - 1960
  • Netherlands-literature - 1960
  • Orientation lectures - 1960
  • Rome, Italy-housing - 1960
  • Newspaper Articles - 1960
  • Passport Photos - 1960
  • Travel photos - 1960
  • News Releases - 1960
  • Scotland-housing - 1960
  • London, England-housing - 1960
  • Amsterdam, Cologne, Berne-housing - 1960
  • Paris, France-housing - 1960
  • Expenses - 1960
  • Itinerary - 1960
  • New York-housing - 1960
  • Washington, DC-housing - 1960
  • Insurance - 1960
  • Immunization-letters - 1960
  • Germany-literature - 1960
  • Vouchers - 1960
  • Finances - 1960
  • Receipts - 1960
  • France-literature - 1960
  • Account Sheets - 1960
  • Equipment - 1960
  • Diary-"Nadine's Diary" - 1960
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous 1977-1981
  • Box 21:
  • Piping school - 1977-1981
  • Descriptions of uniforms - 1977-1981
  • Scholarships - 1977-1981
  • Advertising - 1977-1981
  • Staff - 1977-1981
  • Box 22:
  • Newsletter questionnaires - 1979
  • Newsletter narrative - 1978
  • Highland Arts Seminar - program, advertisements - 1979
  • Prospective Highlanders - 1980
  • Scholarships
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1978-1981
  • Box 22:
  • Walt Disney World, March 19 - 1978
  • Macalester College-Country Fair, May 6 - 1978
  • Alma Highland Festival, May 27-28 - 1978
  • Des Moines Horseshoe Tournament, July 27 - 1978
  • Iowa at Ohio State, Columbus, OH, October 20-22 - 1978
  • Des Moines Heritage Society of Iowa, December 2 - 1978
  • Football performances - 1978
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Kansas City, March 17 - 1979
  • Highland Games and Tatoo, April 21 - 1979
  • Highland Games, Midlothiam, IL, June 6 - 1979
  • Iowa at Wisconsin, Madison, WI, October 26-28 - 1979
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Kansas City, March 17 - 1980
  • Kansas City Highland Games, April 19 - 1980
  • Macalester College Scottish Fair, May 3 - 1980
  • Int. Microwave Symposium, Amana, May 8 - 1980
  • Iowa at Nebraska, Lincoln, NE, September 19-21 - 1980
  • Band Jamboree, Clarinda, IA, October 3-4 - 1980
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Dyersville, IA, March 14 - 1981
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Chicago, March 16-18 - 1981
  • Spring Concert, April 10 - 1981
  • Administrative files - 1978-1980
    11 folders
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1969-1980
  • Box 23:
  • Presidential Inaugural Parade, January 20 - 1969
  • Sheep Empire Association, September 11 - 1976
  • Cornell College Parents' Weekend, Mount Vernon, IA, October 2 - 1976
  • Iowa vs. Ohio State, October 9 - 1976
  • Homecoming Coffee, parade, October 15-16 - 1976
  • Iowa vs. Syracuse, September 18 - 1976
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern, October 30 - 1976
  • Iowa vs. Wisconsin, November 5-7 - 1976
  • Iowa vs. Purdue, November 13 - 1976
  • Bankers Life and Casualty meeting, Altoona, IA, February 28 - 1977
  • Spring Concert, April 16 - 1977
  • Macalester College Scottish Country Fair and Highland Dance, May 7 - 1977
  • Alma Highland Festival, Michigan, May 28-29 - 1977
  • Midlothian Highland Games, Illinois, June 11 - 1977
  • Highland Games, Kansas City, MO, September 3 - 1977
  • Iowa vs. Northwestern, September 10 - 1977
  • Iowa vs. Iowa State, September 17 - 1977
  • Iowa vs. Arizona, September 24 - 1977
  • Iowa vs. Minnesota, October 8 - 1977
  • Iowa vs. Ohio State, Homecoming, October 15 - 1977
  • Iowa at Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, October 28-30 - 1977
  • Iowa vs. Indiana, November 5 - 1977
  • Iowa vs. Michigan State, November 19 - 1977
  • 3rd Annual Highland Arts Seminar Concert and Tartan Ball and Iowa Scottish Festival - 1979, 1980
  • Sub-Series: Travel and miscelleous
  • Box 23:
  • Thomas Gordon and Sons Ltd. - uniforms - 1963-1969
  • New member letters - 1968
  • Mailing Instructions for European Trip - 1968
  • European Trip Letter to parents, questionnaires, comments from Highlanders - 1968
  • Foreign Trip Information: orientation lecture - 1968
  • Uniforms needed ordered - 1968
  • Make up Orientation Lectures - 1968
  • Budget - 1967
  • Baggage Equipment shipments - Foreign trip - 1968
  • Foreign Trip - vaccinations - 1968
  • Summer Equipment check out - 1973-1975
  • Equipment delay in Des Moines Air Terminal, June-July - 1976
  • Foreign Trip Accounts - 1968
  • Foreign Trip Housing in England, Scotland, New York and Ireland - 1968
    4 folders
  • Foreign Trip Photos members - 1968
  • General Correspondence - Foreign trip - 1968
  • Foreign Trip material - Public Relations, Personnel, Contracts, Travel Questionnaire with parents' responses - 1968
    5 folders
  • New Zealand Correspondence - 1956-1957
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1959-1975
  • Box 24:
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Fall River, MA, March 14-16 - 1959
  • International Red Cross Centennial, May - 1959
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Reno, NV, March 16 - 1961
  • Iowa State University Homecoming, Ames, IA, October 28 - 1961
  • Brigadoon, Estherville Junior College, November 4-5 - 1966
  • Expo '67, Canadian World's Exposition - 1967
  • Bettendorf International Folk Festival, June 14-15 - 1967
  • Dutton Highland Games, August 7 - 1967
  • Dad's Day- Ohio State, Columbus, OH, November 18 - 1967
  • Quaker Oats Company Appearances - 1968
  • St. Patrick's Day Parade, Shamrock Club of Wisconsin Inc., March 16 - 1968
  • Proud of America Parade, Ottumwa, IA, April 20 - 1968
  • Annual Red River Exhibition, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, June 23 - 1968
  • Carson Pirie Scott and Company, November 23 - 1968
  • National Dairy Cattle Congress, Waterloo, IA, September 26-27 - 1970
  • Cedar Rapids Airport-Meet Vice President Agnew, October 22 - 1970
    Cancelled
  • Mardi Gras - 1970-1971
  • Sub-Series: Trips
  • Box 24:
  • Rejected Trips - 1956-1963, 1964-1965, 1965-1966, 1966-1967, 1967-1968, 1968-1970
  • Poland Trip Possibilities - 1974-1975
  • Foreign Trip - 1968
    Transportation, roommates, Itinerary, immunization information, Insurance documents, Performances in Scotland and England, Passport application forms and photos, suggested packing list/instructions, performance, notices
  • Tryouts, October 11 - 1970
  • Box 25:
  • Student Trip Committees - 1954
  • Band and Student Trip Committees - 1948, 1955-1957, 1958, 1959, 1960-1961
  • Student Out-of-Town Trip Committee - 1950, 1951, 1952-1953
  • Trips - Rejected - 1952, 1953,, 1954, 1955, 1971-1976
  • European Trip Questionnaire - 1976
  • European Trip Information - Director William Loftin - 1976
  • European Trip - correspondence - 1976
  • European Tour - airfare - 1975
  • European Trip - Tour Director Dennis Loftin Report
  • European Tour Questionnaire Responses - 1976
  • European Tour information - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Performances 1938-1978
  • Box 25:
  • Skits Presented at Highlander's and Band Picnics - 1938, 1940, 1945
  • Invitations for foreign performances - 1949-1959
  • Iowa Memorial Union - 1969
  • Washington D.C., London, Scotland - correspondence - 1972
  • Small Performances - 1977-1978
  • Sub-Series: Reports
  • Box 25:
  • Correspondence - William Morris Agency
  • Prospective members - 1953-1954
  • R.O.T.C. Scottish Highlander Rules, Charter and Bylaws - 1930-1939
  • R.O.T.C Instruction Requirements - 1930-1939
  • Performance Chart - 1974-1975
  • Highlanders Phonograph Record Sales, May 23 - 1956
  • Annual Picture Requests - 1974
  • Personnel Lists - 1977-1978
  • News Service Reports - 1973-1976
  • Notices - 1974-1975
  • Highlander Brochures - 1974
  • Interested People - 1950-1973, 1976
  • Sub-Series: Uniforms and Equipment
  • Box 25:
  • James Roberson, Edinburgh - order equipment - 1949
  • Hugh MacPherson Imports - equipment - 1949
  • Hall Drum Company - equipment - 1955
  • Ostwald Inc. - equipment - 1959-1972
  • Special Equipment Allocation - 1959-1960
  • New Scotland Co. - kilts and plaids - 1959-1961
  • Description of uniforms - 1960-1969
  • Thomas Gordon and Sons Ltd. correspondence - 1960-1969
  • Drum orders/purchases and other equipment prices - 1973
  • William Darwin, Pipe Major - Australia - 1974
  • Sub-Series: Miscellaneous - Highlanders
  • Box 25:
  • Thermofax
  • Europe trip correspondence with Mr. Ross - 1976
  • Rules and Organization - 1978
  • R.O.T.C. Highlanders (male) early history
  • Uniforms - traveling
  • General information on Highlander European trip - 1976
  • Current information on Highlander European trip - 1976
  • Sub-Series: Equipment
  • Box 26:
  • Equipment - 1965-1970, 1967-1968, 1970-1972
  • Special Allocations - Equipment - 1956-1957, 1957-1958, 1958-1959, 1961-1962
  • Sub-Series: Expenses
  • Box 26:
  • Land Portion Fares due, April 1 - 1976
  • Passport photo - payments - 1976
  • General Expenses, July 1
  • General Expenses, July 1-June 30 - 1955-1956
  • General Expenses, July 1-June 30 - 1956-1957
  • General Expenses, July 1-June 30 - 1957-1958
  • General Expenses, June 30-July 1 - 1959-1960
  • General Expenses, June 30-July 1 - 1960-1961
  • General Expenses, July 1-July 1 - 1961-1962
  • General Expenses - Travel Fund July 1-June 30 - 1956-1957, 1957-1958
  • Inventory - 1949-1950
  • Insurance Inquiry - 1950
  • Correspondence - Lawrie, Ltd., Glasgow - 1967-1969
  • Budget Correspondence - 1950
  • Sub-Series: Personnel
  • Box 26:
  • Letters - "Interested People" - 1973-1976
  • Members - 1976-1977
  • Personnel - 1958-1959
  • Invite Back List - 1959-1960
  • Prospective members - 1972-1974
  • Interesting People - 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1956-1957
  • Sub-Series: Trips
  • Box 26:
  • Passport Information, "Do's and Don'ts for 1976 Trip" - 1976
  • Transportation European Tour - Motor Pool - 1976
  • Rejected Trips - 1950, 1951
  • German and Austrian Zone Tour - 1950
  • Sub-Series: Highlanders Box 27 1937-1966
  • Box 27:
  • Group Photo - 1953-1954
  • Governor Leo Hoegh, signed photo, April 27 - 1955
  • General James Gavin, Chief of Staff, HQs 5th Army, April - 1948
  • Lieutenant General James Gavin, General Paul Williams and Highlanders, including Connie Carlson, and Ginny Anderson, April - 1948
  • Photo- Doctor Earl E. Harper, Director IMU and "Father of the Highlanders" - 1955-1966
  • Photo - first all-male bagpipe band on football field - 1937
  • Lion's Convention, San Francisco, California - 1947
  • New York World's Fair - document from "Merrie England" to Highlanders - 1939
  • United States Treasury Citation, May 16 - 1953
  • Sub-Series: Four scrapbooks
  • Box 27:
  • Personal red scrapbook - 1947
    Photos of Lion's trip, Montana, British Columbia, Utah, Colorado, San Francisco Lions Convention
  • Scrapbook titled "Early Years" - 1937-1965
    Loose pages - includes 1965 William Adamson tribute (1937 and later)
  • Bound Scrapbook - 1937-1947
    Newspaper clippings and photographs
  • Highlander 1952 Foreign Trip, August-August - 1952-1953
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 28:
  • Photo - marching, Davenport, IA - 1938
  • Don DeFore signing drum - 1953
  • Group Photo - 1958-1959, 1959-1960, 1960-1961, 1962-1963, 1963-1964, 1965-1966, 1966-1967, 1968-1969
  • Photo - Director Alan McIvor and Assistant Director John Stewart - 1965-1968
  • Photo - John Stewart: Director 1965-1966, Assistant Director 1966-1970 - 1966
  • Sub-Series: Documents
  • Box 28:
  • Certificate of art donation by Mary Hawtrey - 1968
  • Letter from SUI President Virgil M. Hancher - 1964
  • Eulogy by Earl Harper at death of William L. Adamson - 1965
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 28:
  • Nadine Thornton - secretary - 1954-1975
  • Governor Hughes signing drum, May 11 - 1965
  • University of Iowa President, Howard Bowen signing drum, May 11 - 1965
  • Governing Board Member - 1967-1968
  • Group Photo Scottish Highlanders - 1964-1965
  • Sub-Series: Documents
  • Box 28:
  • Certificate for appearance at New York's World Fair - 1964-1965
  • Senate Concurrent Resolution #5 acknowledges Iowa "individuals" - 1960
  • Letter from President Eisenhower to Margaret Ladd thanking for gift of uniformed doll presented to the White House - 1960
  • Sub-Series: Certificates
  • Box 28:
  • Certificate of Appreciation from IOWA Women's Athletic Department - 1986
  • Tournament of Roses Citation - 1957
  • Walt Disney World, International Festival Program - certificate, undated
  • Sub-Series: Printed materials and photos
  • Box 28:
  • Brochures, programs - 1985
  • Issues of FYI, faculty and staff newspaper, April and May - 1987
  • Highlander newsletter - 1984-1985
    Story about 1985 Inaugural Parade, Washington D.C., including program
  • Box 29:
  • One sheet, photographs - 1935-1939
  • Sub-Series: Four scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings, programs, and photos
  • Box 29:
  • September-November - 1953-1955
  • December-October - 1958-1960
    Including Rose Bowl 1958 and foreign tour 1960
  • January-June - 1947-1952
  • December-November - 1956-1958
    Including Rose Bowl 1956-1957 and first US Men's National Championship Curling Contest (1957) - Chicago
  • Sub-Series: Photographs
  • Box 30:
  • Governor Thornton of Colorado, signing drum, September 10 - 1953
  • Lieutenant General Eichelberger R.O.T.C, Kansas City, MO signing drum, April - 1950
  • Iowa Governor Herschel C. Loveless signing drum, May 23 - 1958
  • Governor Norman A. Erbe signing drum, undated
  • Group Photo - 1955, 1956, 1957-1958
  • Sub-Series: Invoices and other documents
  • Box 30:
  • Leopard Skin Cleaning repair bill - 1975
  • Cynthia Waddell Memorial Information
  • Kilt order information, invoices - 1974
  • General Expense accounting - 1962-1963
  • Mary Jane Hawtrey - memorial fund information - 1975
  • Travel Expenses and invoices - 1958-1959
  • Invoices - 1979-1980
  • Dancer Section Rules - 1973-1974
  • Sheet Music "The Donkey Serenade"
  • Sub-Series: Five photograph albums
  • Box 31:
  • Scrapbook: photo contact sheets, roster of European Tour, Summer - 1956
  • Scrapbook of photos - 2x2 to 4x5 - European Trip - 1952
  • Scrapbook - newspaper clippings - European Tour, August-November - 1956-1957
  • Scrapbook - newspaper clippings and photos, December-August - 1955-1956
  • Scrapbook, June-August - 1952
  • Sub-Series: Documents
  • Box 32:
  • Personal Calendar - 1986
  • Eulogy given at William L. Adamson, director, funeral - given by Earl E. Harper - 1965
  • Book: "We the People, An American Celebration, 50th Golden Inaugural" - 1985
  • Book: "A New Beginning - Ronald Reagan First Four Years" - 1985
  • Sub-Series: Cloth banners
  • Box 32:
  • 2 Cardboard signs: "Scottish Highlanders"
  • 2 certificates of participation for the Iowa State Fair, August Fest - 1985
  • 1 cardboard cutout of bagpiper
  • 1 fabric cutout of Herky bagpiper
  • 1 fabric "Dundee" banner
  • 1 fabric banner from Drum Major Darwin - Australia
  • 1 fabric covered program "Initiation Banquet", March 15 - 1970
  • Sub-Series: Awards and Performances
  • Box 32:
  • Award Medal from 10th National Junior Angus Heifer Show, Des Moines, IA - 1978
  • SAPADAPASO 7th Annual Parade- 2nd place Band Float - 1982
  • Plate and Stand Kansas City Scottish Highland Games- 2nd Place Grade IV, undated
  • Bronze Figure (piper) "The Highlander Mary J.P. Hawtrey 1963-1965" - 1963-1965
  • Replica of Liberty Bell (missing), Stand for liberty bell presented to Scottish Highlanders of SUI for their outstanding patriotic service thrift for security savings bond drive by the US Treasury Department, undated
  • Plaque "Chicago's 1981 St. Patrick's Day Parade First Place School Unit University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders Pipe Band" Edward F. Brabec, Chairman - 1981
  • Sub-Series: Audiovisual materials
  • Box 33:
  • Performances at Football games - 1979
  • Performances at Football games - 1980
    U-matic tape; DVD copy
  • "Lion's Convention 1946: Scottish Highlanders, San Francisco" - 1946
    Film; DVD copy
  • "Scottish Highlander half-time," November 22 - 1958
    Film; DVD copy
  • Scottish Highlanders Performances at Michigan State, Minnesota Football games - 1959
    Film; DVD copy
  • University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders, Ohio State vs. Iowa, October 9 - 1976
    Film; DVD copy (three additional short films accompany this title)
  • 4 boxes of slides-Highlander photos, undated
  • 2x16 mm films- "Adamson family, Detroit 1950" - 1950
  • 3" film Highlander and Adamson family, undated
  • Homecoming, November 6 - 1954
    Film; DVD copy
  • Box 34:
  • Spring - 1938
    7-inch film; DVD copy
  • Wisconsin game, October 30 - 1971
    7-inch film; DVD copy
  • Minnesota game, October 16 - 1971
    7-inch film; DVD copy
  • Notre Dame game, November 22 - 1958
    5-inch film; DVD copy
  • "Highlander Holiday" 1956 Europe trip - 1956
    12-inch film; DVD copy; 2 copies
  • "Will Ye No Come Back Again" 1952 Europe trip - 1952
    12-inch film; DVD copy; 3 copies
  • U-matic tape - 1985
  • Audition at Iowa Memorial Union - 1975
    1/2-inch video tape reel
  • Performances: September 27, 1958 - Texas Christian game; October 4, 1958 - Air Force game; October 11, 1958 - Indiana game; October 25, 1958 - Northwestern game; November 15, 1958 - Ohio State game; November 22, 1958 - Notre Dame game - 1958
    10-inch film; DVD copy
  • "The University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders: 1980 Kinnick Stadium Half-time Performances" - 1980
    DVD copy
  • "The University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders: 1979 Kinnick Stadium Half-time Performances" - 1979
    DVD copy
  • "The University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders Spring Concert, May 4, 1979," as televised by Iowa Public Broadcasting Network, October 17 - 1979
    DVD copy
  • Sub-Series: Promotional materials
  • Box 35:
  • Brochures from events - 1940-1979
  • Programs - 1940-1979
  • Posters - 1940-1979
  • Box 36:
  • European Tour Itinerary book - 1968
  • Rose Bowl - 1959
  • Highlanders and Marching Band book
  • European Tour Itinerary book - 1964
  • "Random Happenings-Scottish Highlander European Trip" - 1956
  • United Press Red Letter (newspaper article) - 1956
  • European Tour - 1968
  • "In Response to All Questions"
  • Documents for presentation to cities visited on European Tour - 1960
  • Public Information Program for European Tour - 1956
  • News and Information
  • Background History - 1956
  • "Aberdeen Incident" and follow-up - 1956
  • Public Information Program for European Tour - 1952
  • Midlands Magazine (front page and article) - 1968
  • Copy of letter from Dwight D. Eisenhower to Virgil Hancher - 1956
  • Photos - New York City Mayor Robert Wagner and Highlanders - 1956
  • "The Skirt of the Pipes" by S.M. Parkhill - 1966
  • Newspaper article - World's Fair Trip - 1939
  • Sub-Series: Audiovisual materials
  • Box 37:
  • Item 1: "Spring Concert 1973" - 1973
    Audio cassette; CD copy
  • Item 2: "In Elgin"
    5-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 3: Scottish Highlanders (program including announcements), undated
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 4: Highlander Selections, undated
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 6: Scottish Highlanders, April 16 - 1977
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 8: Scottish Highlanders, Saturday, April 22
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 9: "An Afternoon in the Highlands" April 10 - 1976
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 10: "Fall 1978"
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 11: Scottish Highlanders, April 19 - 1975
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 13: Unidentified - 1970-1979
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Item 14: Nine selections performed by Scottish Highlanders, possibly in studio - 1970-1979
    7-inch audio reel; CD copy
  • Items 5, 7, 12: Three 7-inch audio reels, one marked "May 3," others unidentified; unable to reformat to CD due to poor condition from sticky-shed syndrome
  • Folder containing CD copy of 1956 phonograph record accompanied by photocopied information and correspondence: University of Iowa Marching Band and the Scottish Highlanders (original phonograph record was loaned to Archives by alumna Heather Adamson Stockman for purpose of reformatting as CD) - 1956
  • Folder containing CD copy of 1956 phonograph record accompanied by photocopied information and correspondence: University of Iowa Scottish Highlanders Elgin Performance 1956, Aberdeen Performance, 1956 (original phonograph record was loaned to Archives by alumna Heather Adamson Stockman for purpose of reformatting as CD) - 1956
  • Performances: September 21, 1974 - UCLA game; September 28, 1974 - Penn State game - 1974
    1/2-inch video tape reel; DVD copy
  • Sub-Series: Photo Album
  • Box 38:
  • Mark Isaacs Photo Album - 1977-1981
  • Sub-Series: Newsletters
  • Box 39:
  • Highlanders newsletters, including correspondence with publisher - 1949-1988
    (incomplete)
  • Series 2: OVERSIZED MATERIALS
  • OS Box 1:
  • Rose Bowl trip, European tour - 1960
    (Gift of Mary Milnes)
  • Group photos in front of Old Capitol, 1946-47, November - 1943
  • Proclamation from City of Springfield, Illinois - 1953
  • OS Box 2:
  • Photograph, Ed Sullivan signing drum, undated
  • Marching in formation at the Hotel Astor, New York City, June 22 - 1939
  • Pipe Major 'Bill' Adamson, undated
  • W. L. Adamson, director, undated
  • OS Box 3:
  • Group photos in front of Old Capitol - 1954-1955, 1944-1945, 1951-1952, 1948-1949, 1947-1948, 1950-1951
  • Map Case:
  • Framed photos
  • New York World's Fair; most members identified - 1939
  • Tournament of Roses parade; Pasadena, California - 1957
  • Tournament of Roses parade; Pasadena, California - 1959
  • On Old Capitol steps - 1960-1961
  • Unframed photo
  • On Old Capitol steps, undated
  • Drum Heads:
  • Box containing original drum heads