Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Phi Beta Kappa University of Iowa Chapter Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1896-
Creator: Phi Beta Kappa University of Iowa Chapter
Extent: 9.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0003.024
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: Records of the UI chapter of Phi Beta Kappa have been transferred to the University Archives from the chapter at various times. Guide posted to the Internet April 2008 and updated October 2009.

Preferred Citation: Phi Beta Kappa University of Iowa Chapter Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Phi Beta Kappa Society, using the Greek initials of the motto "Love of Learning is the Guide of Life," was founded on December 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. Originally it was similar to what are now social fraternities and was as well similar to a debating or literary society with the purpose of encouraging patriotism, scholarship and literature.
 
As time passed it became increasingly a scholastic honor society with chapters as of 2009 located on more than 275 college and university campuses throughout the country. Typically no more than ten percent of the arts and sciences graduates on these campuses are selected for membership in the Society; selection is based principally on academic achievement.
 
The University of Iowa chapter is the State of Iowa's Alpha (first) chapter, founded in 1895. The first officers of the Alpha Chapter of Iowa were Amos N. Currier, president; James A. Rohbach, vice president; and Charles Bundy Wilson, secretary-treasurer.

Records of the Alpha Chapter of Iowa, Phi Beta Kappa have been received by The University of Iowa Archives primarily through deposits from Chapter officers over the years. They are organized into seven series: History and Constitution, Administrative Materials, Financial Records, General Correspondence, Membership, High School Scholarship Awards, and Publications and Other Printed Materials. In addition to the General Correspondence series, correspondence specifically related to other series will be found in: Finance, Membership, and High School Scholarship Awards.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: HISTORY AND CONSTITUTION
Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS
Series 3: FINANCIAL RECORDS
Series 4: GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE
Series 5: MEMBERSHIP
Series 6: HIGH SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS
Series 7: PUBLICATIONS AND OTHER PRINTED MATERIALS
Series 8: OVERSIZED

  • Series 1: HISTORY AND CONSTITUTION
  • Box 1:
  • History of the UI Alpha Chapter and United Chapters of Phi Beta Kappa (national) - 1921-1980
  • Constitution of UI Alpha Chapter and United Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (national) - 1901-1959
    Includes correspondence regarding amendments/changes to the constitutions
  • Constitution of UI Alpha Chapter and United Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (national) - 1960-1988
  • Series 2: ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS
  • Box 2:
  • UI Alpha Chapter minutes - 1972-1980, 1984
    See also oversize box 1 folder 1:  Meeting minutes and various printed programs. 1894-1949
  • United Chapters of Phi Beta Kappa (National) minutes, April 3-September 9 - 1940-1946
    Incomplete
  • Manuals for Chapter officers - 1923-1984
  • Initiation ritual: Includes proposed/adopted changes, procedures, history, and related correspondence - 1928-1976
  • Series 3: FINANCIAL RECORDS
  • Box 3:
  • Financial books
  • Treasurer's book - 1906-1931
  • Savings account book - 1924-1931
  • General account book - 1915-1927
  • Bank statements - 1924-1928
    Includes cancelled checks and related invoices and correspondence
  • Loan fund - 1935-1946
    Includes loan applications and approvals
  • Box 4:
  • Treasurer’s records:  Includes account statements, requisitions, invoices, and related correspondence - 1931-1938
  • Treasurer’s records:  Includes account statements, requisitions, invoices, and related correspondence - 1938-1946
  • Treasurer’s records:  Includes account statements, requisitions, invoices, and related correspondence - 1946-1953
  • Treasurer’s records:  Includes account statements, requisitions, invoices, and related correspondence - 1953-1957
  • Box 5:
  • Departmental (Iowa Alpha Chapter) receipts
  • Chronological, November 24-November 26 - 1937-1941
  • Chronological, January 4-December 13 - 1954-1955
  • Chronological, December 5-May 20 - 1957-1959
  • Chronological, April 13-May 20 - 1954-1957
  • Series 4: GENERAL CORRESPONDENCE
  • Box 6:
  • Chronological - 1909, 1921-1938
  • Box 7:
  • Chronological - 1938-1952
  • Box 8:
  • Chronological - 1952-1967
  • Box 9:
  • Chronological - 1970-1979
  • Box 10:
  • Chronological - 1980-1981, 1983-1993, 1996
  • Series 5: MEMBERSHIP
  • Box 10:
  • Initiation programs with initiates listed - 1896-1951
    See  also oversize box 1 folder 2: Initiation and lecture programs, 1896-1912
  • Initiation programs with initiates listed - 1952-2000
  • Box 11:
  • Membership lists - 1895-1964
    See also oversize box 1 folder 3: Membership lists 1895-1964, and handwritten membership lists, 1895-1973
  • Membership lists - 1974-2009
  • Annual UI Alpha Chapter reports to United Chapters (National) - 1938-1966
  • Membership criteria and statistics, 1933 and continuing
  • Series 6: HIGH SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS
  • Box 12:
  • Award records and related correspondence - 1948-1961
  • Award records and related correspondence - 1973-1980
  • Series 7: PUBLICATIONS AND OTHER PRINTED MATERIALS
  • Box 13:
  • Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Bulletin (national bulletin): February 23, 1933 (No. IV)-May 7, 1937 (No. 20)
    Missing numbers IX (1934) and XIII (1935)
  • Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Bulletin (national bulletin): October 1943 vol. 7 no. 1-April 1965 vol. 26; September 1974 vol. 28; Vol. 29 November 1977, the Bicentennial Bulletin
  • Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Key Reporter (national bulletin): Vol. 1, no. 1 (Winter 1936); Vol. 50 no. 2 (Winter 1984-85); and Phi Beta Kappa Key Index of Leading Articles, 1922-1925
  • Index/Handbook for New Members of Phi Beta Kappa - 1934, 1938, 1940, 1950, 1955
  • Box 14:
  • Geographical Directory of the Phi Beta Kappa General Catalog - 1922
  • Delegate’s Manual to the Triennial Council of the United Chapters of Phi Beta Kappa - 1934, 1937, 1958, 1961, 1976, 1983, 1985
  • Phi Beta Kappa Annual - 1934
  • Box 15:
  • Insignia of Phi Beta Kappa - 1964
  • Miscellaneous publications of national (United) and local chapters - 1920-1964
    Incomplete
  • Addresses to UI Alpha Chapter and other chapters - 1902-1965
    Incomplete
  • Press releases and press clippings regarding membership and initiation programs - 1934-1988
    Incomplete
  • Series 8: OVERSIZED
  • Box 1:
  • Handwritten meeting minutes and various printed programs - 1894-1949
  • Initiation and lecture programs - 1896-1912
  • Membership lists - 1895-1964
  • Handwritten membership lists - 1895-1973

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life