Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1974-1994
Creator: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union
Extent: 8.25 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0003.018
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These records were transferred to the University Archives in October 1996. Processed by Fran Murphy and Earl Rogers in October 1997.

Preferred Citation: Records of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union (GLBTAU), The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union (GLBTAU), a student organization at the University of Iowa, was founded in 1970 as the Gay Liberation Front, said to be the first homosexual student organization officially recognized at a university in the United States. Its name was changed in 1978 or 1979 to Gay People's Union, in ca. 1993 to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual People's Union, and later still to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Union.

Noncurrent records of the GLBTAU and a collection of gay-lesbian-bisexual-transgender magazines and newsletters, nearly all published in the United States, were transferred to the University of Iowa Archives, October 22, 1996. The records consist of six cartons of correspondence and subject folders, including newsletter issues, photographs, and publications.The records concern homosexuality, bisexuality, gender identity issues, related health and political issues, and social activities, especially pertaining to University of Iowa students. Other GLBT student organizations in Iowa and other Midwestern states are represented, along with the University of Iowa Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association.Organizational HistoryThe Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies Union (GLBTAU), a student organization at the University of Iowa, was founded in 1970 as the Gay Liberation Front, said to be the first homosexual student organization officially recognized at a university in the United States.
Related organizations, such as the GLBT law students' association Outlaws, are represented in the Organizations and Clubs Vertical Files (RG01.0015.004), University Archives

North American Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Studies Conference (6th: 1994: University), Inqueery, intheory, indeed: [conference program of] the sixth North American Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Studies Conference. Iowa City: The University of Iowa, 1994.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL
Series 2: PUBLICATIONS

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • AIDS
  • Bibliography
  • Bi-sexuality
  • Budget information
  • Clippings from Daily Iowan newspaper
  • Constitution of Gay People's Union (draft)
  • Correspondence, etc.
  • Gay couples or partners
  • Gay People's Union, flyers and brochures
  • Gay legal defense and political lobbies, equal rights
  • Gay/lesbian non-student groups information and newsletters
  • Gay youth articles
  • General information, homosexuality
  • Health
  • Healthy baby campaign
  • Lectures/speakers/performers and other resources
  • Midwest Gay Pride Conference
  • National Gay Alliance for Young Adults
  • National Reaching Out Day, October 10 - 1993
  • Newspaper clippings and press releases
  • Outreach support group posters etc., Gay People's Union
  • Posters and local social events
  • Rainbow graduation
  • Report of the gay/lesbian/bisexual student, staff, and faculty survey - 1991
  • Prepared packet of bulletins, business records, educational materials, etc. - 1985-1986
  • Student groups, other than University of Iowa
  • University of Iowa Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Staff and Faculty Association
  • "In Queery/In Theory/ In Deed," the 6th North American Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Studies Conference - 1994
  • Series 2: PUBLICATIONS
  • Box 2:
  • Outlook Iowa City - 2007-
  • Box 3:
  • Outlook Iowa City
  • Box 4:
  • Outlook Iowa City
  • Box 5:
  • Outlook Iowa City
  • Box 6:
  • Other publications

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life