Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Latino-Native American Cultural Center Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1971-2008
Creator: LatinoNative American Cultural Center (1850-1913)
Extent: 17.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0003.007
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs Boxes 3,4, 8

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The bulk of the Records of the Latino-Native American Cultural Center were transferred to the University Archives in 2001. Preliminary guide posted to the Internet January 2008.

Preferred Citation: LatinoNative American Cultural Center Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Latino-Native American Cultural Center was founded in 1971 as the Chicano Indian American Student Union (CIASU).

The Records of the Latino-Native American Cultural Center, University of Iowa, consist of seven series: Administrative, Conferences, Newsletters, Audiovisual Materials, Photographs and Negatives, Artifacts, and Scrapbooks. The collection is partially processed.
Records of the Office of Special Support Services (RG24.0010.001)

Browse by Series:
Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
Series 2: CONFERENCES
Series 3: NEWSLETTERS
Series 4: SLIDES
Series 5: GENERAL

  • Series 1: ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS
  • Box 1:
  • History
  • General
  • Barcelo, Rusty
  • Ferguson, John:  “Volunteer Experience Project Report: Chicano-Native American Cultural Center”
  • García, Teresa: Conversations with Miguel Ojeda, Sylvia Ramirez, Darlene Wind, Antonio Zavala - 1978
  • Salter, John
  • Taylor, Jan:  “The Influence of Student Activism on UI’s Support for Native American Students, 1968-1993” - 1999
  • Administrative files
  • General
  • Directories
  • Grievances concerning LNACC
  • Job descriptions
  • Parliamentary procedure
  • Publicity procedures
  • Regents Interinstitutional Committee on Minority Recruitment - 1986
  • Anniversary celebrations: 10th - 1981
  • Anniversary celebrations: 25th - 1996
  • Anniversary celebrations: 30th - 2001
  • Chicano Heritage Coloring Book (mimeograph sheets)
  • Correspondence - 1979-1981
  • Correspondence: Incoming - 1986-1987
  • Correspondence: Outgoing - 1986-1987
  • Events and activities
  • Fall orientation programs - 1979-1981, 1986
    Includes slide show script
  • Flyers and Brochures
  • Grant proposals - 1973-1980
  • Newspaper clippings
    2 folders
  • Performance group: program and song lyrics
  • Proposed moving of cultural centers
  • Documents, including survey of students
  • Newspaper clippings - 1998-2001
  • Related organizations
  • Alianza Hispana Politica de Iowa
  • American Indian-Chicano Center, Iowa State Penitentiary, Fort Madison
  • CASA (Chicago, Alumni, Students and Amigos) - 1979-1981
  • Council on the Status of Latinos and Native Americans
  • Los Curanderos
  • Upward Bound Program
  • Series 2: CONFERENCES
  • Box 1:
  • Chicanos in the Midwest: A Chicago Perspective - 1972
  • Chicano '73 in Iowa - 1973
  • Chicago Conference: Nuestra Realidad - 1974
  • Chicago Conference: Reflecciones de la Raza - 1975
  • CHALE: Midwest Regional Conference - 1975
  • Symposium on the American Indian - 1977
  • Native American Chicano Week - 1978
  • The Hispanics: A Missing Link in Public Policy (Des Moines) - 1979
  • The Decade of the Hispanic: Fact or Fiction? - 1985
  • CHALE: La Raza Legal Alliance Midwest Regional Conference: “Law: A Hispanic Perspective” - 1986
  • The Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986: How It will Affect You - 1987
  • Miscellaneous, undated
    2 folders
  • Series 3: NEWSLETTERS
  • Box 1:
  • Café Chicago
  • El Labarinto
  • Nahuatzen
  • Miscellaneous
  • Series 4: SLIDES
  • Box 2:
  • Carousels (5)
  • Boxes (8)
  • Envelope
  • Folder of identification sheets for slides
  • Series 5: GENERAL
  • Box 3:
  • Photograph Albums (4 vols)
  • Box 4:
  • Photographs and Negatives
  • Box 5:
  • Scrapbooks: Newspaper clippings (4 vols)
  • Scrapbooks: 30th Anniversary (1 vol)
    Includes slides of event and of artwork
  • Box 6: Audiovisual
  • Audiotapes (reel to reel)
  • 7-inch reels (30)
  • 4-inch reel (1)
  • Slides
    3 boxes
  • Films
  • Super 8 (6)
  • Other (1 in mailing box)
  • LNACC 30th anniversary
  • VHS videocassette: Breakfast Banquet
  • Mini DV videocassette: afternoon session workshop, July 7 - 2001
  • Mini DV videocassette: Keynote speakers, July 7 - 2001
  • Audiocassette: Adele Lozano with Julie Englander on WSUI
  • Box 7:
  • Artifacts: Buttons
  • Artifacts: T-shirts
  • Posters
  • Box 8:
  • Photographs
  • Box 9:
  • 30th Anniversary Exhibit - 2001
    At Special Collections Department
  • Box 10-12:
  • Administrative files, unprocessed
  • Box 13:
  • Exhibit materials - 2008
    University Libraries

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life