Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the KRUI Radio Records

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1966-
Creator: KRUI Radio
Extent: 7.50 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG02.0002.008
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Alternate Extent Statement: Photographs in Boxes 2 and 4; Ephemera in Boxes 5 and 6.

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: The records of KRUI radio were transferred to the University Archives as Accession 2011-11.

Preferred Citation: KRUI Radio Records, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

KRUI was established in 1952 as KWAD, a student-managed AM radio station whose signal was limited to the Quadrangle dormitory. Using the carrier-current mode of transmission (as opposed to over-the-air) and thus, not licensed by the Federal Communications Commission, KWAD broadcast on 570 kilocycles. In 1968 its call letters changed to KICR. In 1984, the station, by then known as KRUI, was granted a license to broadcast on FM frequency 89.7 mHz with 100 watts, enabling the station to serve the Iowa City-Coralville area. The station is supported by student fees allocated by University of Iowa Student Government. According to its mission statement in 2011, the station "serves as an educational laboratory for students interested in learning about radio and the broadcast industry, and provides the Iowa City community with a unique programming alternative in music, news, and sports".

The Records of KRUI Radio consist of expense ledgers, correspondence, fliers, posters, newspaper clippings, and such artifacts as T-shirts, buttons, and decals. The collection includes extensive documentation of the station's implementation of FM service in 1984.
Subject Vertical File Collection, Radio category, folders "KRUI" and "KICR" (RG01.0015.005).

Browse by Series:
Series 1: GENERAL

  • Series 1: GENERAL
  • Box 1:
  • Ledger: Expenses record, KWAD, 1966-June 1968; KICR, July 1968-August, 1969; KRUI, 1979-1982
  • Ledger - 1982-1985
  • Ledger - 1986-1989
  • Binder: Station history, clippings
  • Binder: Correspondence, clippings, station policies - 1985-1989
  • Box 2:
  • Binder: Proposed move to Iowa Memorial Union - 1984-1985
  • Binder: Articles - 1976-1984
  • KICR - 1969-1973
  • Broadcast equipment consultant reports for new FM station proposal - 1982
  • Ledger: Expenses record - 1979-1986
  • Photograph album - 1997-1999
  • Box 3:
  • Unprocessed, includes FM transmitter construction - 1982-1984
  • Box 4:
  • Unprocessed, includes two packets of photographs
  • Box 5:
  • Artifacts: T-shirts, buttons, decals, keychains, pens, framed certificates and awards
  • Oversize:
  • Posters and fliers - 2000-2011

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa Student Life