Skip to content
print page header

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guide to the Buildings and Grounds Vertical Files

Collection Overview

Date Span: 1855-
Creator: Buildings and Grounds (1832-1909)
Extent: 12.00 linear feet.
Collection Number: RG01.0015.002
Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Summary:

Access: This collection is open for research.

Use: Copyright restrictions may apply; please consult Special Collections staff for further information.

Acquisition: These materials were given to the University Archives by various donors on numerous occasions. Additions to the collection continue to accrue. Guide posted to the Internet 2004; revised December 2006.

Preferred Citation: Buildings and Grounds Vertical Files, The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa.

Repository: University of Iowa Archives
Address: 100 Main Library
University of Iowa Libraries
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5921
Curator: David McCartney
Email: david-mccartney@uiowa.edu
Website: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/sc/archives

The Buildings and Grounds Vertical Files of the University of Iowa Archives consist of records pertaining to over 200 campus buildings and landmarks, such as bridges, statues and other features. Maps of the campus are available in Series II (miscellaneous files), documenting the University's growth since the late 1800's. The files may include, but are not limited to, newspaper articles, building dedication programs, and floor plans. Many of the files include data sheets (goldenrod color) compiled during a 1985 survey of the campus conducted by the Historic University Buildings Committee. The data sheets note the building's name and use history, additions and other modifications, construction and demolition dates, and name of architect where available.The collection is a convenient source of information about the ever-changing landscape of the University of Iowa campus.

Each entry below represents a folder pertaining to that particular building or landmark.To access a folder in our reading room, note the title of the desired folder and the name and RG number of this collection, then contact staff in the Department of Special Collections with your request.

Browse by Series:
Series 1: A-Z FILES
Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS FILES

  • Series 1: A-Z FILES
  • Sub-Series: File List
  • Buildings Index binder, compiled in - 1976, 1983
  • Sub-Series: A
  • Adler Journalism Building
  • Afro-American Cultural Center
  • Alumni Center
    See also: Levitt Center for University Advancement
  • Ambulatory Care Campus
  • Animal Research Laboratory
  • Archaeology Laboratory
  • Armory - 1920
    Field House 1920-1988/1989; razed 1988/1989
  • Armory - 1880
    Located on the Pentacrest
  • Art Building
  • Art Building West - 2006
  • Art Studios - Iowa Avenue
  • Arts Campus
    See also: individual building files by name
  • Ashton Cross-Country Course
  • Athletic Building
    See: Jacobson Athletic Building
  • Athletic Learning Center
    See: Gerdin Athletic Learning Center
  • Athletics Hall of Fame
  • Sub-Series: B
  • Baseball Diamonds
  • Basketball Practice Facility
  • Becker Communication Studies Building
  • Beckwith Boathouse
  • Bedell Entrepreneurship Learning Laboratory
  • Belin-Blank International Center for Gifted Education
  • Biological Sciences Complex
  • Biological Sciences Library
    See also: Biology Annex
  • Biology Annex
  • Biology Building
    Formerly Zoology Building
  • Biology Research Building
  • BioVentures Center
  • Boathouses
  • Botanical Laboratory
  • Botany Plant House
  • Bowen Building
  • Bowman House
  • Boyd Law Building
  • Boyd Tower (General Hospital)
  • Bridges
  • Burge Hall
  • Bus and Car Maintenance Building
  • Sub-Series: C
  • Calvin Hall
    Geology, Science Hall
  • Cambus Maintenance Facility
  • Cambus Trailer
  • Campus Mail Annex
  • Campus Recreational and Wellness Center
  • Campus Stores
  • Cannon-Gay-McClosky House
  • Canoe House
    See: Skating Lagoon House
  • Carver Biomedical Research Building (CBRB)
  • Carver-Hawkeye Arena
  • Carver Pavilion (Hospital)
  • Center for Comparative Genomics
    Formerly Old Biology
  • Center for Excellence in Image Guided Radiation Therapy
  • Chemistry-Botany Annex
  • Chemistry-Botany Building
  • Chilled Water Plant
  • Clapp Recital Hall
  • Clinton Street Buildings
  • Close Hall
  • College of Medicine Administration Building
  • College of Public Health
  • Colloton Pavilion - Hospital
  • Communication Studies Building
    See: Becker Communication Studies Building
  • Communications center
  • Consolidated Business Services Building
  • Continuation Center, proposed - 1957
  • Co-op Housing
  • Cottage Apartments
  • Curriculum Laboratory Relocatable
  • Currier Hall
  • Sub-Series: D
  • Daily Iowan - Sidwell Building
  • Dam & Water Power
  • Danforth Chapel
  • Daum Hall
  • Daycare (buildings used for)
  • Dental Science Building
  • Dey House
  • Sub-Series: E
  • East Hall Annex
  • Eastlawn
  • Eckstein Medical Research Building
  • Educational Research Building
  • Engineering Building and Materials Testing Laboratory
    See also: Seamans Center
  • Engineering Research Facility
  • Engineering Shed
    Old South Hall
  • Engineering Shops
  • English-Philosophy Building
  • Eye Clinic - Hospitals and Clinics (proposed)
  • Sub-Series: F
  • Faculty Art Studios
  • Family Housing Office
  • Farm Accident Prevention Building (Oakdale)
    Now called R.E.C.
  • Field House
  • Fine Arts Building (Iowa Avenue)
  • Fine Arts Campus
  • Finkbine Golf Course
  • Football Facility
  • Football Facility (proposed)
  • Sub-Series: G
  • Garages
  • Gehry
    See: Iowa Advanced Technology Lab
  • General Hospital - 1925
  • General Stores
  • Gerdin Athletic Learning center
  • Gibson Square
  • Gilmore Hall
    Formerly Law Building
  • Graphic Services Building
  • Greenhouses
  • Sub-Series: H
  • Halsey Gymnasium
  • Hancher Auditorium
  • Hardin Library for Health Sciences
  • Harrison Hall
  • Hawkeye Court Apartments
  • Hawkeye Drive Apartments
  • Hawkeye Park
  • Hawkeye Softball Complex
  • Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex (West Campus)
  • Hillcrest Dormitory
  • Homeopathic Hospital
  • Homeopathic Medical Building
  • Hope Lodge
  • Hospital - 1880-1897
    See: Mechanics Academy
  • Hospital - 1897-1925
    See: Seashore Hall
  • Hospital Paint Shop
  • Hospital Parking Ramps
  • Hospital Power House
  • Hospital Records Storage Building
  • Hospital School for Handicapped
  • Hospital South Wing
  • Hub
  • Hubbard Field
  • Human Biology Research Facility
  • Hutchinson-Kuhl House
  • Hydraulics Laboratories
  • Hydraulics Research East Annex
  • Hygienic Laboratory
  • Sub-Series: I
  • Indoor Practice Facility
  • Information Technology Facility
  • Institute for Biomedical Discovery
  • Institute of Orthopaedics, Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • International Center
    Formerly Law Commons, Law Center
  • Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories (Tech. Lab) Gehry
  • Iowa Field
  • Iowa Geological Survey Building
  • Iowa Hall
    See: Macbride Hall
  • Iowa Memorial Union
    2 folders
  • Iowa Memorial Union Parking Ramp
  • Isolation Hospital
    See: Old Music Building
  • Sub-Series: J
  • Jacobson Athletic Building
  • Jefferson Building (Hotel)
  • Jessup Hall
  • Sub-Series: K
  • Karro Athletics Hall of Fame
    See: Roy J. Karro Building
  • Kellogg House (School)
  • Kinnick Stadium
  • Kuhl House
    See: Hutchinson-Kuhl House
  • Sub-Series: L
  • Lagoon Shelter House
    See: Skating Lagoon House
  • Lakeside Laboratory
  • Laser Center
    See: Iowa Advanced Technology Laboratories [Tech. Labs]
  • Laundry - 1910
  • Laundry - 1958
  • Law
    See: Boyd Law Building, International Center, Gilmore Hall
  • Law Commons
    See also: International Center
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resource Center
  • Levitt Center for University Advancement
  • Library Building
  • Lindquist Center
  • Lodge, The
  • Sub-Series: M
  • Macbride Field Campus
  • Macbride Hall (Natural Science Building)
  • MacLean Hall
  • Main Library
    See: Library Building
  • Married Student Housing
  • Mayflower Hall
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mechanics Academy (first building used by the University)
  • Medical Building - 1882-1901
  • Medical Complex - West Side
  • Medical Education and Biomedical Research Facility (MERF)
  • Medical Education Building
    See: Psychiatric Hospital; see also: Psychiatric Pavilion
  • Medical Laboratories
  • Medical Research Building
  • Medical Research Facility
  • Medical Shed ("Sheep Shed")
  • Medical - West Campus
  • Mercy Hospital
  • Mormon Handcart Site
  • Museum of Art
  • Museum of Natural History
    See: Macbride Hall
  • Sub-Series: N
  • Navy Administration Building
    See: South Quadrangle
  • Navy Installations
  • North Campus Parking & Chilled Water Facility
  • North Hall (Pentacrest) - 1866
  • North Hall - 1825
    Formerly University School
  • Northwestern Bell Building
  • Nursing Building
  • Sub-Series: O
  • Oakdale Campus (Buildings)
    See also: University of Iowa Research Park
  • Observatories
  • Old Armory and Old Armory Temporary ("Big Pink")
  • Old Brick
  • Old Capitol
    3 folders
  • Old Capitol Town Center
  • Old Dental Building (Pentacrest)
  • Old Music Building
    Formerly Isolation Hospital (includes Old Rehearsal Hall)
  • Sub-Series: P
  • John and Mary Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building
  • Pappajohn Business Administration Building
  • John and Mary Pappajohn Education Center, Des Moines
  • Parklawn
    Continuation Center, 1960s
  • Parklawn Warehouse
  • Pearl Field (softball)
  • Pentacrest
    See also: Old Capitol, Macbride Hall, Schaeffer Hall, MacLean Hall, Jessup Hall
  • Pharmacy - pre-1926
  • Pharmacy Building
  • Pharmacy Building Addition (proposed)
  • Phillips Hall (Business)
  • Physical Plant Buildings
  • Pomerantz Center (Career Center)
  • Pomerantz Family Pavilion
  • Power Plant - 1900
  • Power Plant (heat, light)
  • Pre-School
  • President's House
  • Printing Department Building
  • Promenade
  • Psychiatric Hospital (also Psychopathic Hospital)
  • Psychiatric Hospital Storage
  • Sub-Series: Q
  • Quadrangle
  • Quonset
    See: Temporary Buildings
  • Sub-Series: R
  • Radio Transmitters
  • Recreation Building
  • Recreation and Wellness Center (east campus)
  • Residential Buildings
  • Riverside Heights Camping Ground
  • Rienow Hall (Dormitory)
  • Ronald McDonald House
  • Roy J. Karro Building (Athletics Hall of Fame)
  • Sub-Series: S
  • Sanitary Engineering Lab
  • Satellite Tracking Station
  • Schaeffer Hall
  • Seamans Center
    See also: Engineering
  • Seashore Hall
  • Security Building
  • Services Building
  • Shambaugh House
  • Skating Lagoon
  • Slater Hall
    Formerly Rienow II
  • Softball Complex
  • Solar Charging Station
  • South Hall
  • South Hall (proposed)
  • South Quadrangle
    Also as: Navy Administration Building
  • Spence Laboratories of Psychology
  • Sports Medicine Center
  • Sports Medicine and Rehabiliation Institute
  • St. Thomas More site
  • Stanley Hall
  • Steindler Building (Children's Hospital - Old)
  • Storage Buildings
  • Studio Arts
    Formerly Menards building
  • Svendi Hall
  • Sub-Series: T
  • Temporary Buildings
  • Tenant Properties
  • Tennis Center
  • Tent City (Summer Camp)
  • Terrill Dam
  • Theatre Building
  • Theatre Building
    Continuation Folder #1
  • Theatre Building (E.C. Mabie Theatre)
    Continuation Folder #2
  • Theatre Dedication - 1936
  • Trowbridge Hall (Dental Building) - 1916
  • Sub-Series: U
  • Unitarian Church
  • Unity Hall
  • University Athletic Club
  • University Capitol Centre
  • University Hygienic Laboratory Annex - 219 Riverview Street
  • University of Iowa Research Park
    See also: Oakdale Research Park
  • Sub-Series: V
  • Van Allen Hall
    Formerly Physics Building
  • V.A. (Veterans Administration) Hospital
  • Visual Arts Building
  • Volatile Solvent Storage Building
  • Voxman Music Building
  • Sub-Series: W
  • Walks
  • Water Closet
  • Water Plant
  • Wendell Johnson Speech and Hearing Center
  • West Campus Tennis and Recreation Center
    See: Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex
  • Westlawn
  • Windrem House
  • Women's Resource & Action Center
  • Woolf Avenue Court Apartments
  • Series 2: MISCELLANEOUS FILES
  • Access (for Handicapped) - Architecture as Barrier to
  • Animal Laboratories
  • Architects
  • Architectural Committee
  • Architectural Drawings Index, prior to 1950
    See archives collection RG.06
  • Auditorium Committee - 1922-1948
  • Bell Systems
  • Bells (includes Old Capitol - Bell)
  • Bikeways (includes bike racks)
  • Bionic Bus
  • Boat Dock
  • Boiler
  • Building Data and Inventory - 1954
  • Building Data and Inventories - 1909-1983
  • Building Dates List - 1983
  • Building Inquiries
  • Building Project - 1933-1934
  • Bulletin of the State University of Iowa - pictorial souvenir of the campus - 1904
  • Campus Contruction/Improvements
  • Campus Development/History - 1904-1906
    Including Olmsted Associates correspondence with President MacLean regarding campus landscaping
  • Campus Planning - 1945-2014
    Articles, etc.
  • Campus Planning Committee
    Campus plans, minutes, miscellaneous
  • Capital Facilities Inventory, May 1 - 1963
  • Chapel Project - 1937-1938
  • Class Rooms, Faculty Rooms, etc.
  • Convocations and Public Events Equipment
  • Deans' Committee on Building and Grounds
    Minutes and correspondence
  • Deans' Committee on Building and Grounds
    Miscellaneous
  • Dedications
  • Elevators
  • Fallout Shelter
  • Fire Insurance - Fires
  • Fire Safety and Hazards
  • Fountains / pools
  • Grand Avenue Roundabout
  • Historic University Buildings Committee - 1985
  • Insurance
  • Iowa River
  • Landfill
  • Lands, Acquisitions, etc.
    (1 of 3)
  • Lands, Acquisitions, etc. - Binders
    (2 of 3)
  • Lands, Acquisitions, etc. - Newspaper Clippings
    (3 of 3)
  • Landscaping
  • Lawns
  • Maps - "Location of the Red Brick Campus of the University of Iowa from 1865 to 1894"
  • Maps - 1900-1929
  • Maps - 1930-1949
  • Maps - 1950-1959
  • Maps - 1960-1969
  • Maps - 1970-1979
  • Maps - 1980-1989
  • Maps - 1990-1999
  • Maps - 2000-2009
  • Maps, undated
  • Maps - Bus
  • Maps - Cambus
  • Maps - Pentacrest area
    Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps photocopied to different scales and draftings of the Pentacrest area
  • Maps - Motor Vehicle and Bicycle Regulations
  • Miscellaneous
  • Modern Architecture at the U of I
  • Monument (proposed) - 2000
    IE Monument
  • Parking
  • Plats of the Site of the State University of Iowa and adjacent Territory - to - 1939
  • Quarry Pond
  • Rague, John F. (Architect)
  • Repairs
  • Rivers - Flood Control
  • Sculpture and Statues
  • Sesquicentennial Campus Planning Framework - University of Iowa, July - 1998
  • Sewerage System
  • Signs
  • Skywalk
  • Statues
    See: Buildings Miscellaneous - Sculptures and Statues
  • Streets
  • Telephone System
  • Tours
  • Trees
  • Tunnels
  • Unidentified
  • Walkways/Trails
    Includes T. Anne Cleary Walkway
  • Water tower
  • Whistle
  • Writers' Neighborhood
  • Zoning Plan

This collection is indexed under the following subject terms.


Browse:
University of Iowa General Information and University History